Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Resource!
This book provides extremely useful information for preparing and getting ahead in the robotics competition. As a rookie coach, I wish I had access to this book prior to this year's FLL tournament. It can be very helpful to both rookie and experienced teams/coaches as it discusses many design and programming topics that teams will encounter so that teams can achieve...
Published on December 20, 2010 by luv2teach

versus
18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Horrible printing - useful material
Unfortunately, the book preview is completely wrong for this book. The actual book uses very cheap B&W printing. As a result, the pictures of robots and the instructions for building models are completely illegible. As an adult, I was able to piece together the models with some guesswork. However, the target audience for the book is late elementary/middle school kids. My...
Published on October 27, 2011 by NXT dad


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Horrible printing - useful material, October 27, 2011
This review is from: Winning Design!: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT Design Patterns for Fun and Competition (Technology in Action) (Paperback)
Unfortunately, the book preview is completely wrong for this book. The actual book uses very cheap B&W printing. As a result, the pictures of robots and the instructions for building models are completely illegible. As an adult, I was able to piece together the models with some guesswork. However, the target audience for the book is late elementary/middle school kids. My kids found it extremely frustrating to use the book. I ended up purchasing the PDF version of the book. The illustrations in the PDF are in color and are much higher quality than the printed book! I would recommend the PDF version for anyone considering this book.

The actual contents of the book are quite useful for kids interested in the competitions with the NXT robot. There are lots of good ideas and some basic designs to get started with. Among the books that I have seen for contests like FLL, this is the best from a technical content point of view.

So... 1 star for the printing and 4 stars for the content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Resource!, December 20, 2010
This review is from: Winning Design!: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT Design Patterns for Fun and Competition (Technology in Action) (Paperback)
This book provides extremely useful information for preparing and getting ahead in the robotics competition. As a rookie coach, I wish I had access to this book prior to this year's FLL tournament. It can be very helpful to both rookie and experienced teams/coaches as it discusses many design and programming topics that teams will encounter so that teams can achieve consistent results with their robots. There are lots of typos but a small distraction for what this book has to offer. I highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Done!, December 22, 2010
This review is from: Winning Design!: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT Design Patterns for Fun and Competition (Technology in Action) (Paperback)
I've participated in many FLL tournaments as a technical judge, and I've seen many good robot designs hampered by a lack of understanding of some basic design principles. I've now completed reading the book and I'm quite impressed with the author's decision to break the book into four sections, each focusing on a particular skill (or skills) and providing plenty of real world examples of HOW and WHY things are done... or should be done.

The book is HEAVY on figures... and that's a good thing. Many of the concepts that the author writes about simply cannot be understood well without some hands-on explanations. That's why teams will be pleased to see diagrams and examples using real NXT parts to explain concepts such as turning, squaring up along a wall, and line following. And he didn't leave out some great discussion on attachments - one of the most important concepts for teams who wish to successfully accomplish multiple game table elements.

Finally, the author provides some tips and suggestions for managing your programs as well as presenting them (and the robot) to the technical judging team. And you'll also find complete building instructions for the DemoBot... a real robot that the author uses to demonstrate techniques throughout the book... build it and THEN read the book!

All in all, I'm very pleased with the book - I think new/rookie FLL teams will receive the most benefit from the book, but experienced teams are sure to find some stuff in here that will improve their scores and successes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Resource, February 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Winning Design!: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT Design Patterns for Fun and Competition (Technology in Action) (Paperback)
If you're interested in creative ways to solve NXT problems, then this book is for you. It offers both software solutions and building solutions. I coach an NXT team and have 10 boys ages 9-14, after reading this book we all learned something!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, inclusive book, March 23, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Winning Design!: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT Design Patterns for Fun and Competition (Technology in Action) (Paperback)
This book delivers what it promises: winning design. It's especially useful for teams or coaches for First Lego League (FLL). If read thoroughly, it covers just about every detail you'd need to know to get a novice team up and running. If this is your first FLL team, I'd suggest going through before the season starts, or as soon as you get started. It also will even help an experienced team to think in the way that judges are most impressed by when designing your robot. Does it cover every aspect and every possibility for robot design? No. Should it? No. If there were typos, they didn't distract me. I'd consider it high on my list of my reference books for FLL.

Part of the process for FLL IS figuring out how to look at a situation and take an iterative approach to process improvement. This book more than gets you there, if you use the information as a sound jumping off point.

FYI-- Here would be my list of other reference books, in order my frequency of use:
The LEGO Technic Idea Books: Simple Machines, Fantastic Contraptions, and Wheeled Wonders all by Yoshihito Isogawa
First Lego League, The Unofficial Guide by James Floyd Kelly and Jonathan Daudelin
The Lego Mindstorms NXT 2.0 Discovery Book by Laurens Valk
Building Robots with Lego Mindstorms NXT by Astolfo, Ferrari and Ferrari
Forbidden Lego by Pilegaard and Dooley
Lego Mindstorms NXT-G Programming Guide by James Floyd Kelly
Benchmarks for Science Literacy, Project 2061, published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Illustrations not useable, May 3, 2012
This review is from: Winning Design!: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT Design Patterns for Fun and Competition (Technology in Action) (Paperback)
I am capable of building robot models but could not build a full robot that was useable with this book. I did not buy the additional Online E-book that accompanies this book, I am not sure if it's worth the extra cost. I have seen others on youtube use these robots so maybe the E-book helps. (I tested the waters by borrowing this book from the library, didn't like it.)

The Legoeducation.us website has a book called "Preparing Your Team for FIRST Lego League" by KK Quah that is helpful for beginner level teams. The author has coached a team that won 1st place in the FLL in 2010, and he serves as a Judge, along with continuing to coach teams for the FTC and VEX robotics competitions. The book features a very simple robot, not even with a motorized attachment, but has illustrations and a cd-rom with a few color illustrations to build a good base robot with simple mechanical attachments, and also features some simple programs, has some ideas for how to guide the teams with certain skill building lessons, and has some worksheets that can be given to the kids to help guide their design and mission solving process, but some of the attachments are also hard to see but more buildable than this other book. The "Preparing" book is expensive though, rivaling this book's cost if you add on the E-book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winning Resource, January 26, 2011
This review is from: Winning Design!: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT Design Patterns for Fun and Competition (Technology in Action) (Paperback)
The author's purpose for this book is to help coaches and teams better understand what it takes to successfully compete in the Robot Performance and Technical of the FIRST LEGO League and other LEGO(R) robotics events. He offers insight into what it takes to develop hopefully a winning robot; and what comes across in the book is planning: planning robot design, planning the order of executing the missions, planning in programming.

It is a book for both rookie teams as well as veteran teams. It is one of those "everything you need to know" books about building a robot for the FLL tournament. Coaches/instructors will find the book well organized so they can go directly to one of the four major areas of discussion and find the information and advice they need; it is full of helpful tips.

The focus of the book is on using the LEGO(R) Mindstorms(R) NXT kit and NXT-G programming, but the author also included a little about RoboLab(R) software. In Appendix A there are building instructions for the DemoBot. Perhaps you would want to build the DemoBot before reading this book, so reading the book could be a hands-on experience as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, April 14, 2014
This review is from: Winning Design!: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT Design Patterns for Fun and Competition (Technology in Action) (Paperback)
This is the first book of this type I have read cover to cover. It is well organized, systematic, and extremely helpful! As a 3rd year FLL coach whose team has improved a little each year, I was looking for a way to drastically improve our programming/building. This book provides what I was looking for -- and am looking forward to implementing the concepts next season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic resource, but get the PDF too!, November 22, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Winning Design!: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT Design Patterns for Fun and Competition (Technology in Action) (Paperback)
As many others here have already stated, this is a wonderful reference for anyone entering Lego robotics competition, but the diagrams are less-than-well printed. I read the reviews ahead of time and picked up the PDF version at he same time as the printed version. Together they make the best resource I 've found for my daughters. If the publishers would put up a "deluxe" printing in colour, I (and several other team coaches, I think) would be glad to buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for FLL Coach, November 1, 2013
By 
Kevin Lund (Minnesota, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Winning Design!: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT Design Patterns for Fun and Competition (Technology in Action) (Paperback)
Very detailed, very informative book for a First Lego League coach. My team even decided to use the DemoBot described in this book as their robot for the season (it's this group's first season). Unless you are a Lego Robot Master, you will learn something from this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Winning Design!: LEGO MINDSTORMS NXT Design Patterns for Fun and Competition (Technology in Action)
$29.99 $20.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.