Customer Reviews


229 Reviews
5 star:
 (183)
4 star:
 (40)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


126 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic: Solving Murders For 50 Years
Clue is one of those transcendent games that's maintained it's viability for over 50 years. Why? It still feels fresh and is flat-out fun to play.

Here's a quick synopsis for the unfamiliar: There's been a murder at the mansion and you're a character in a race to figure out who did it, what weapon they used, and which room the murder occurred in. Be the...
Published on October 24, 2010 by P. Kingsriter

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars i was disappointed in this item
i was disappointed in this item. i bought the classic edition because i expected it to be the version i grew up with. it has all of the essentials, but everything's been updated, and i'm not too enthused with it. also i think it's a bit overpriced for a board game.
Published 25 days ago by Jenna Coffey


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

126 of 127 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic: Solving Murders For 50 Years, October 24, 2010
By 
P. Kingsriter "R.N. Guy" (Lakeville, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clue The Classic Edition (Toy)
Clue is one of those transcendent games that's maintained it's viability for over 50 years. Why? It still feels fresh and is flat-out fun to play.

Here's a quick synopsis for the unfamiliar: There's been a murder at the mansion and you're a character in a race to figure out who did it, what weapon they used, and which room the murder occurred in. Be the first to get your accusation right and you win the game.

The suspect, weapon, and room combo changes every game through a brilliantly simple process involving cards and a CONFIDENTIAL case file envelope. It takes about 5 minutes to set up and usually between 20 - 40 minutes to play. Clue can be played with as few as 2 people, but 3 - 6 is ideal as it adds layers to uncovering clues (without increasing the complexity). The game states it's appropriate for ages 8 and up, and my 8-year-old understands the concepts well enough to have lots of fun and often be competitive (if I leave my cut-throat self at the door). The learning curve for this game is really quick, especially if you have a seasoned player helping explain the rules. If not, don't worry. You'll be solving murders in no time.

The "Classic Edition" bills itself as having the "Original Suspects, Rooms, & Weapons". (There have been a few updated editions released that included extra weapons and rooms.) If you grew up on Clue or are familiar with editions released prior to 1990, this will very likely be the format you're familiar with. The character pawns are stained wood and all weapons are metallic. The only difference I detected from my 1980s edition was the artwork on the cards. It looks as though the manufacturer resurrected the original 1949 artwork as well, giving the game a very classic, whodunit-y feel. All in all, the stellar gameplay remains the same.

In addition to rating fun and durability at 5-stars, I gave Clue's educational value a 4-star rating. Why? This game effortlessly teaches logic and deductive reasoning. It may seem funny to be wholeheartedly recommending a game that centers around a murder as a wholesome family-friendly activity, but oddly enough, it is. The "murder" aspect of the game is very downplayed, almost an afterthought. The entire fun and point of the game comes from the discoveries of the "who", the "where", and the "what" details.

If you're looking for a fun board game to add to the collection, or relive some fond game-playing memories, I can't recommend Clue highly enough. And take it from me: Clue is best played on a dark and stormy night...

;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a wonderful taste of childhood memories, January 18, 2011
By 
C. Quinn (Washington, DC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clue The Classic Edition (Toy)
Now this is the Clue I so fondly remember from childhood! This game calls to mind the golden age of British mysteries; I am always surprised not to find Hercule Poirot or Jane Marple wandering through the story. Same classic rooms, same old weapons, same great characters- this is the version of Clue to play if you want to recall those rainy childhood afternoons. I was delighted to find it after seeing the new version which is not at all to my taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still fun after all these years, January 24, 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clue The Classic Edition (Toy)
I played clue as a kid. Was looking for the classic version for my 7 year old son for this past Christmas. We played it together and he LOVED it. Still the same game, still lots of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, November 21, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Clue The Classic Edition (Toy)
My family always plays a lot of games, and during the past year I guess we've been playing very regularly (TV viewing time has decreased dramatically by design). Lately, we've been rotating between the 'new' and the 'old' and, when Clue's turn came around, well... we had the usual great time. Teaching my kids about reasoning and how to apply deductive logic seems so abstract until you play this game. Process of elimination? Clue illustrates it in spades. Who did it? Where? Using What? The basic premise - solving a mystery - is an intuitive and fundamental part of our essence, regardless of what the mystery actually is. That's why playing this game is more than just being a 'detective'. Unsurprisingly, I still haven't come across anybody who doesn't like it. A classic in every sense of the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clue game, September 13, 2011
By 
sowhat (jacksonville fl) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clue The Classic Edition (Toy)
I could not find this edition of "Clue" anywhere except on Amazon. Its the old and the good version
of this classic game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift, December 31, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clue The Classic Edition (Toy)
This was a Christmas gift for my 7 year old cousin and he was thrilled with it. It arrived in time and in great condition (new). From what I hear from the family, he is enjoying it immensely. This was ordered from his wish list and I think wish lists are the best thing ever. I try to order from Amazon when an item is available from them and am always satisfied. Thanks and Happy New Year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Way to Bring Back the Memories, December 29, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clue The Classic Edition (Toy)
I remember playing this game when I was growing up and all the fun it was. While there are newer versions of Clue available they have been slightly changed from the original so I was ecstatic when I found that a classic edition of Clue was available. The 'murder weapons' are all made out of quality material as well as the cards and board. I was definitely recommend this product to friends and family (and even strangers).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Family Time, June 22, 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clue The Classic Edition (Toy)
Time a family spends together is priceless. This game is an excellent addition to your families game arsenal. We were concerned our seven year old might not be able to participate, but she caught right on. Take a night off from TV to play as a family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Durable, high quality edition of a classic game, November 27, 2013
By 
This review is from: Clue The Classic Edition (Toy)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
In a time when it seems that the classic board games are being produced and sold at the cheapest price point possible, this edition of Clue might make someone pause. After all, when big box retailers are offering games at $5 each, why pay almost three times that amount? This item answers that question well.

According to the box, Clue has been around since 1949, which predates me by more than a few years. When you open the box, you will find the game board that is folded in half and measures approximately 19"x19" when unfolded. The printing on the game board is well-done, and the thickness of the board reminds me of the board games I played back in the 70s and 80s.

The game pieces continue the classic feel. Rather than some lightweight plastic material, the suspected weapons have a metallic feel and weight to them. The game tokens are plastic, but that's also something that I'm accustomed to outside of Monopoly and its metal tokens. The game cards are sturdy and should hold up to repeatedly play and the normal wear and tear that come from use by kids of various ages.

Clue is a game that requires a little more from players than just rolling a die and moving a piece. Players must use deduction skills to figure out who did it, where, and how. The box says that it's good for those aged 8 and above. A test group of kids from 9-13 enjoyed playing the game, but I do think that kids younger than 7 or 8 will probably lose interest before the game is completed.

It's nice to see a classic, well-built edition of a popular game. I would much rather pay the money to have something that will last for years than to get something that is not durable and just doesn't have a good feel while playing it just because it was on sale for $5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Clue, December 12, 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Clue The Classic Edition (Toy)
I so enjoyed playing this game as a child -- and am now so glad to play it again with my grandchildren. It is a terrific game. Always fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Clue The Classic Edition
Clue The Classic Edition by Winning Moves
$19.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.