Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting my life back!, March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book, along with my Happy Light, is helping me feel almost like myself again! It is very clear that the author truly has the condition and thoroughly understands it. I learned of many symptoms that I did not realize were part of SAD. Best of all, I learned many techniques for managing the condition and they are working wonders! I highly recommend this book to anyone who suspects that they or someone they know is adversely affected by the seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for SAD folks, April 26, 2013
By 
J. Gray (Pacific Northwest) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Winter Blues, Fourth Edition: Everything You Need to Know to Beat Seasonal Affective Disorder (Paperback)
I read this book cover to cover before purchasing my lightbox. This book's advice and the use of the lightbox has nearly saved my life! I tell people about it all the time. Even if you decide to move to sunnier lands, if you think you have SAD or winter depression of any kind, this will guide you to feeling better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complete guide for anyone interested in SAD., November 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Winter Blues, Fourth Edition: Everything You Need to Know to Beat Seasonal Affective Disorder (Paperback)
I'm really glad I bought this book! I was recently diagnosed with SAD and i knew some general information about it, but what I love about this book is that it lives up to it's title. It REALLY is everything you need to know and it's convenient and helpful for me to have it in one place instead of having to research on the internet and such. Dr. Rosenthal's writing style is also very accessible and you can tell he has a lot of personal experience about the topic, not just professional. I also appreciate the stories from other people and his patients. It's encouraging to know that they've dealt with and are happily living with SAD, so I can too. Overall, very recommended, especially if you don't know much about SAD, literally everything you'd want to know about it and how to treat it is in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for us with SAD, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Winter Blues, Fourth Edition: Everything You Need to Know to Beat Seasonal Affective Disorder (Paperback)
Offers good insight to the problems facing those with SAD and useful information in its treatment.Author also has this condition so the advice seemed more helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very thorough book with good resources, April 3, 2013
This review is from: Winter Blues, Fourth Edition: Everything You Need to Know to Beat Seasonal Affective Disorder (Paperback)
Rosenthal's book has more than enough information for those with SAD, or those who suspect they might have SAD. I like that Rosenthal combines a variety of sources--anecdotes, scientific reviews, individuals' recollections--and offers readers the ability to self-diagnose. Rosenthal explains which specific light-therapy products might be best for you, and, it turns out, he's willing to reply to emails if you have questions. Nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, March 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Winter Blues, Fourth Edition: Everything You Need to Know to Beat Seasonal Affective Disorder (Paperback)
The author has done a great deal of research on the subject of SAD, and provides good suggestions for dealing with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winter Blues Everything You Need to Know About Seasonal Affective Disorder by Dr. Norman Rosenthal Review by Shira Goldberg, October 13, 2012
This review is from: Winter Blues, Fourth Edition: Everything You Need to Know to Beat Seasonal Affective Disorder (Paperback)
Winter Blues Everything You Need to Know About Seasonal Affective Disorder by Dr. Norman Rosenthal Review by Shira Goldberg

Aptly named, Winter Blues is the "Everything you needed to know about seasonal affective disorder but were afraid to ask" go to expert resource.
Through years of clinical research Dr. Rosenthal breakthrough efforts have resulted in the most well-known treatment, light therapy, which is included in great detail.

Just as with any disorder SAD can affect people more than others, in varying ways and degrees. He discusses the use of antidepressants, his remarkable pioneering treatment for the SAD diagnosis, light therapy, and even the use of meditative techniques, allowing for a comprehensive understanding and course of resolution, through ample information.

SAD affects millions of people worldwide and through Dr. Rosenthal's research and initial diagnosis, SAD can be reduced or perhaps its symptoms eliminated altogether if one understands what causes it and how to lessen it
Although SAD was initially diagnosed as a disorder in the 1980's, it remains an enigma, especially for those that suffer along empathetically albeit without a true understanding of how devastating it can be for those that primarily affects. Dr. Norman understands this and has even included a section for friends and family to learn about it and as a result, become more effective at helping by becoming a more knowledgeable and supportive source of comfort.

In its fourth edition, with over a 100,000 copies sold, it is an understatement to say this is just another book about seasonal affective disorder. It is the quintessential resource for those that suffer from SAD and for that wish to be of assistance in a more knowledgeable and caring capacity.

It is still a disorder that is often overlooked or misunderstood, and as there continues to be more research done on the subject there will continue to be more comprehension and compassion with Dr. Rosenthal's research leading the way.

Shira Goldberg, Recovery Coach
[...]
FB: LivingSoberLifeCoaching
Twitter: LivingSober
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good for SAD, February 21, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you have the winter blues or just think you may have them, you should read this book. It's a really good resource, and I learned a lot from reading it. I plan to read it again in the near future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, November 10, 2012
By 
P. Fears "Meditator" (Spring Valley, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Winter Blues, Fourth Edition: Everything You Need to Know to Beat Seasonal Affective Disorder (Paperback)
This book is with out a doubt the best source for information on SAD. The forth edition is worth buying even if you read a previous edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winter Blues, January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A very thorough look at sunlight affective disorder. It explains the condition and treatments. If you or someone you know suffer from SAD this is a book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Winter Blues, Fourth Edition: Everything You Need to Know to Beat Seasonal Affective Disorder
$17.95 $14.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.