Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Winter Gardening in the Maritime Northwest: Cool Season Crops for the Year-Round Gardener
Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars13
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 5, 2012
Clearly authored by someone who has done the work and knows what they're doing.

Having said that, if you're looking for a book which would really help you to get started in "Winter Gardening in the Maritime Northwest" -- this probably is not the book that would be the best choice.

It is poorly edited resulting in a somewhat disorganized approach, flow, and layout. The content itself is helpful, but it is heavy going to navigate, things are grouped in ways that may be intuitive to a professional/seasoned gardener but not at all intuitive for the average gardener looking to learn how to eat out of the garden for a few more months every year.
22 comments|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2012
This is a VERY useful book for everybody in the NW and its specific conditions for growing vegetables. The author has a lot of experience and it shows in how systematical the book leads new and accomplished gardeners to success.

I am very glad I found this book and will use it to provide even more vegetables during the winter. In the long term it will make one pretty independent from the grocery store as long as one do not want fresh green peppers, tomatoes or strawberries in January ;-).

If you are interested in growing veggies for your family during winter get this book.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2013
Was not quite what I was expecting. Good reference book to have. I read it during the summer so maybe the timing just wasn't right for me to truly appreciate it. It did motivate me to have a goal of gardening year round, but now that the crappy weather is here, I'm not as stoked. Was a bit too wordy and not visual enough for me, but I'll give it another go this winter and maybe get motivated to set up my spring garden to be ready to do year round gardening next year.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2016
I really love how strait forward this book is. The author tells you what you need to know so you can use it right away. Unlike some other books that give you a large amount of information that your brains says "there is a lot of information here were do I begin?." The author just jumps right in so you can learn what she learned, and try it for yourself. Learning is the best teacher.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2013
I have lived all over the country, and each area has its own set of problems and advantages -
If you live and garden in the Pacific NorthWest, particularly in the "Maritime" regions, then this book is a must.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2014
This book did not contain more than basic beginners information-lacked substance.I would not recommend this book to any experienced gardeners.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2013
Gardening here on the west coast and very close to the ocean is tricky, the author is even further north, so I just knew it would be a great resource for me and it is. Thank you Binda.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2016
Love the specific notes for our area and tips from years of experience.

The annual guide allows you to plan your year of planting in advance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2014
Wonderful book, Full page and picture for each type of vegi, this is going to be my gardening bible here near Olympia....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2014
The author has gone to a lot of trouble to share her experiences and shown them in a very impartial manner
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse