Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Former Library book. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
Sell yours for a Gift Card
We'll buy it for $2.95
Learn More
Trade in now
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Winter's Dreams Hardcover – April 30, 2012

7 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
"Please retry"
$38.78 $18.36

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

The Master Magician
Browse more popular selections in featured Fantasy books.

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 296 pages
  • Publisher: Subterranean; Deluxe Hardcover Edition edition (April 30, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1596063602
  • ISBN-13: 978-1596063600
  • Product Dimensions: 9.3 x 6.4 x 1.1 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.6 pounds
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,048,300 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 7 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful By S. Fischer on June 14, 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This book contains stories by Fantasy and Science Fiction-author Glen Cook which vary in length from short story to novella. They also have a very wide range when it comes to their contents. As you would expect from this author, the quality of the stories is very good and the book is definitely worth buying. What is somewhat irritating is that the publisher didn't bother to give any information about the stories except for their titles. Given that they were written over a span of several decades and some of the stories are connected to series by the author (and should be read in the right place within those series), the least you would have expected would have been the original publication date, ideally also some information of which series it's connected to, maybe even a little introduction by the author. This is all the more surprising, since it's really a labour of love to republish these stories, most of which haven't been available for decades. Getting them on their own, from lots of magazines and collections, would have been a real nuisance and rather expensive. As it is, this collection is a really good deal and I would recommend getting it while it's available. Subterranean Press is known for limited editions of which there is no reprint.
Now to the contents: I have made a list of the stories with their year of original publication and the series, where it applies. I won't write anything about the contents. In the case of shorter stories, a summary already is a spoiler, in my opinion.

Song from a Forgotten Hill (1971)
And Dragons in the Sky (1972)
Appointment in Samarkand (1972)
Sunrise (1973), Starfishers-series
The Devil's Tooth (1974)
In the Wind (1975)
The Recruiter (1977)
The Seventh Fool (1978)
Ponce (1978)
Quiet Sea (1978), A Dread Empire-series
Darkwar (1982), Darkwar-series
Enemy Territory (1983)
The Waiting Sea (1983)
Winter's Dreams (ca. late 90s, exact date now known to me)
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful By Manly Reading on June 12, 2012
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Subterranean Press have done some great Jack Vance anthologies, with loving introductions and notes on each story therein. How can they have bungled this so badly that there is not even a copyright list, so you cannot even tell when a particular story was written? To read the copyright note, you would think every story here was fresh-written for this volume, which is not the case. Sure, the contents of the book are great and distinct - scifi, fantasy, space opera, dystopian future earth - but so much is missing that should be there.

Maybe all that is because I'm a real Cook fan, with his Garrett series being one of the most fun things I have ever read, but I think the lack of ancillary material is even more pronounced for a casual reader.

For instance, "Darkwar" was written in the early 80's, and Glen Cook then wrote a trilogy of books as a prequel to the short story (yes, the mind boggles at the unorthodoxy). I only know that because it was in an interview I read. That's the kind of stuff that helps make a collection become more than the sum of its parts. Great parts, yes, but it could be more.

Of all the stories, "The devil's tooth" was the one I liked the best: a gritty sword & sorcery tale in a dying-earth type setting, but definitely not Vance. Really though, all were great, and its only a matter of personal taste which story you enjoy the most: Dragons in the sky was also up there, and now I am tempted to try the Starfishers trilogy after all.

If you like Glen Cook, you'll like this. If you like scifi, or S&S, or short story collections, you'll like this too.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Arthur W. Jordin on August 21, 2014
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
Winter Dreams (2012) is a SF and Fantasy collection. This volume contains fourteen stories.

- "Song from a Forgotten Hill" (Clarion, 1971) sings of fire and freedom.

- "And Dragons in the Sky" (Clarion, 1972) is a Starfishers story. It follows two agents to Star's End.

- "Appointment in Samarkand" (Witchcraft & Sorcery, 1972) observes the oldest man in the world repealing a vistor once more.

- "Sunrise" (Eternity SF, 1973) brings sunlight to Edgeward City.

- "The Devil's Tooth" (Literary Magazine of Fantasy & Terror, 1974) puts a swordsman on a quest in the light of the dying sun.

- "In the Wind" (Tomorrow Today, 1975) is a story in the Starfishers universe. It pits men against windwhales and mantas.

- "The Recruiter" (Amazing, 1977) reveals the woes of a one man press gang.

- "The Seventh Fool" (F&SF, 1978) presents the antics of a hustler during an election.

- "Ponce" (Amazing, 1978) delivers a yellow car and a dog with blue eyes to a poor family.

- "Quiet Sea" (F&SF, 1978) is a story in the Starfishers universe. It shipwrecks a spacer on a long forgotten planet.

- "Darkwar" (Asimov's, 1982) is a Darkwar story. It confronts the males on Meth with the return of the silth.

- "Enemy Territory" (Night Voyages, 1983) regards the trials of veterans after a war.

- "The Waiting Sea" (Archon, 1983) concerns a man who hears voices from the sea.

- "Winter's Dreams" (Balticon, 1997) removes fancies from the mind of a young woman.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?