Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great with Panasonic G5
So, I wanted a wireless remote shutter for my new Panasonic G5 since I am always looking to get those self portrait, hanging off a cliff or standing on top of Half Dome shots. Or the long exposure shots with no vibration. The Lumix G5 was not listed but since the G5 calls for the same Panasonic brand Remote Shutter Release as the G3 (DMW-RSL1), this seemed a pretty safe...
Published 17 months ago by P. Petrillo

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning - Cable is not reversible!
As mentioned in some of the other reviews, the picture on the box shows the right angle connector fitted to the remote, with the straight connector fitted to the camera. With my DMC FZ20 this didn't work. Neither the remote control's instructions, nor the camera manual gave any clues as to which way is correct (or indeed how many contacts a remote control connection into...
Published 15 months ago by Mr Timothy Brooks


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works great with Panasonic G5, October 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100M Wireless Remote Control Shutter Release for Panasonic DMC G3, FZ50, FZ100, 50K, 50S, 30, 30K, 30S, 20, 20K, 20S, LC-1, L1, Leica Digilux 2, 3 (Accessory)
So, I wanted a wireless remote shutter for my new Panasonic G5 since I am always looking to get those self portrait, hanging off a cliff or standing on top of Half Dome shots. Or the long exposure shots with no vibration. The Lumix G5 was not listed but since the G5 calls for the same Panasonic brand Remote Shutter Release as the G3 (DMW-RSL1), this seemed a pretty safe bet. I have tested the single shot and delayed shutter mode from up to about 60 ft with no problems. Dandy unit, especially for the price.

I did have trouble getting the cable installed with the correct end in the camera initially, even with all the seemingly helpful tips in the other reviews. Folks said the 3 ring (or 3 pin) connector goes in the camera, 2 ring receiver. I was counting the number of distinct gold electrical connections (which there are 4 & 3, silly me). The picture on the cover of the box shows the 90 degree connector going into the receiver and the straight connector going into the camera - WRONG! The picture on the instruction sheet shows a straight connector on both ends (not helpful). For the sake of others as stupid as I, I'll be painfully clear:

- The 90 degree connector with 3 BLACK rings goes in the Camera.
- The straight connector with 2 BLACK rings goes in the Receiver that mounts on the hot shoe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect remote control solution for the GX1., May 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100M Wireless Remote Control Shutter Release for Panasonic DMC G3, FZ50, FZ100, 50K, 50S, 30, 30K, 30S, 20, 20K, 20S, LC-1, L1, Leica Digilux 2, 3 (Accessory)
I was looking around for a remote control solution for the Panasonic GX1. The official RSL1 is a wired solution Panasonic DMW-RSL1 Remote Shutter Release for Panasonic DSLR and FZ50, and at $50, it is pretty expensive.
While looking around for other options, I came across this one - and even though the GX1 is specifically not mentioned in the descripton, I did some digging around and found out that it can actually work with the GX1. Also, at half the price of the RSL1, it works as a wireless remote. The description says 100 meters, but I will be more than happy if it works in the 10 meter range.
The product came nicely packaged. It works perfectly with the GX1.
Just make sure that the 3 pin connector goes into the camera, and the 2 pin connector goes into the remote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great unit that could use a couple of improvements or upgrades, December 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100M Wireless Remote Control Shutter Release for Panasonic DMC G3, FZ50, FZ100, 50K, 50S, 30, 30K, 30S, 20, 20K, 20S, LC-1, L1, Leica Digilux 2, 3 (Accessory)
I purchased this for used with my Panasonic Lumix fz200
Boxed as Oppias RW-221 by PIXEL Products
It works quite well

Although I do have one nitpick..
Specifically about how it works with the built in pop up flash. on the FZ200
IMO the cable included should be a double right angle OR a right angle at the other end. (the 2.5mm 3 ring end)
the receiver end is straight the camera end is right angle. (the 2.5mm 4 ring end)
Normally it's a non issue EXCEPT when using the unit with the built in flash.
The receiver either has to be turned 90 deg or 180 to allow room for the flash to pop up.
That's not an issue except that at 90 deg the straight connector prevents use of the viewfinder
and at 180 deg the receiver itself prevents use of the viewfinder.
Because of that issue I can't just leave it on there most of the time
but that said the unit does work with and allow use of the built in flash if rotated to either of those positions.

IF it came with or I had a cable with 90 deg on both ends the receiver could be rotated 90 deg (so it extends to the left) and you could still make use of the viewfinder. with a right angle plug the flash would also work with the unit rotated to the right 90 deg but the unit would obscure the view of the control knobs and buttons.
IN addition, a 90 on both ends would just be a cleaner looking set up and extend the cable reach a little.
As it is, for non flash use I face the receiver forward an route the cable back under the flash, around the bottom of the lens then back up so the right angle 4 ring plug plugs snugly against the camera body

It would really be nice if the the unit could be left in the shoe all the time AND be able to use the viewfinder AND the built in camera flash.

Minor issue, the instructions are very much translated into English.
fortunately the pictures are fairly understandable.

I read reviews concerning removal of the batteries.
It appears that leaving batteries in the unit is not an issue.
the back button on the top is the on/off button so you can turn the unit off
and the remote likely doesn't consume power unless the button is pushed.
Just make sure you turn it off (red light no longer flashing) and try to make sure the button doesn't get pushed in the camera bag to turn it back on.

Oh and although the remote does have a lanyard connector point, no lanyard was included. Force of habit already from using wired shutter remotes I've drop this one twice. Neither time with any damage but I'll be looking for a small wrist lanyard for it, the lanyard connection is on the front rather than the back so it actually requies a longer than normal lanyard possibly a 10" long or so would work well.
And of course looking for either a double right angle cable or simply a right angle adaptor to make it more used friendly. (easier to say than actually find)

And note although I'm stressing the negatives this unit as fair warnings, it's overall a great little unit, just needs a couple of small upgrades to make it about perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A clever bit of kit, April 26, 2012
This review is from: 100M Wireless Remote Control Shutter Release for Panasonic DMC G3, FZ50, FZ100, 50K, 50S, 30, 30K, 30S, 20, 20K, 20S, LC-1, L1, Leica Digilux 2, 3 (Accessory)
The Pixel RW-221 Wireless Remote Control features a wired receiver that can also serve as a simple release with an eleven inch cable. The receiver is palm sized, except for the flash foot (fitted with a locking collar) optionally used to secure it to a flash shoe. One of the receiver's two buttons powers it up and the other operates the shutter. The shutter button has two steps, a half-press for auto focus and a full press to shoot. It will function as a cable release even when the receiver is not turned on, as long as batteries are installed. An LED at the top of the receiver lights green when the transmitter signals a half-press, and red when the transmitter signals a full press. The LED also signals when the receiver is being turned on or off, and flashes occasionally to indicate the receiver is on. The light does not work when the receiver button is used as a cable release. The receiver is rated at 300 hours of operation per battery set (2 @ AAA), and has four DIP switches in the battery compartment to match up with switches inside the transmitter for setting frequencies.

The transmitter, a bit taller and narrower than the receiver, provides a hole to attach a lanyard. It has a shutter button and a four-position sliding function switch. It has no on/off control, but the batteries are rated to last three years. An LED above the shutter button lights green on a half-press, and red on a full press, matching the light on the receiver. The function switch can be set for single or multiple exposure, bulb or timer delay. The multiple exposure function is controlled by the transmitter and not by the camera (which should be set to single exposure). It transmits a half-press followed immediately by a full press once every second for as long as the shutter button is held down. The bulb function requires the camera be set to bulb (in its manual exposure mode). The first press will open the shutter, the second press (a half-press will do) closes the shutter. While the shutter is open, the LED on the transmitter flashes red, and the light on the receiver is a solid red. The timed delay, like the multiple-exposure function, is controlled by the transmitter and not by the camera (set to single exposure). The delay is about 4.5 seconds, by my estimate.

The provided instructions make an interesting challenge to read, written as they are in Chinglish. Based on my experience with the remote control attached to a Panasonic GH2, using it with camera settings other than single exposure (or bulb) is different from the instructions: In order to use the camera's multiple exposure setting, set the transmitter to bulb. With the camera set for multiple exposures, the first press on the remote starts the sequence; the second press ends it. Similarly, to use the remote to control the camera's bracketing sequence, set the remote to bulb and press the shutter release. The camera will shoot the entire bracketed sequence and then stop (press the remote button again to exit its bulb sequence). To use the camera's delay timer, use the single exposure function on the remote control.

The kit comes nicely packaged, and is quite the clever bit to use. Its construction is hobbyist grade, not up to rough use. Were it to break, I would probably replace it with the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warning - Cable is not reversible!, December 25, 2012
By 
Mr Timothy Brooks (Abbots Langley, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 100M Wireless Remote Control Shutter Release for Panasonic DMC G3, FZ50, FZ100, 50K, 50S, 30, 30K, 30S, 20, 20K, 20S, LC-1, L1, Leica Digilux 2, 3 (Accessory)
As mentioned in some of the other reviews, the picture on the box shows the right angle connector fitted to the remote, with the straight connector fitted to the camera. With my DMC FZ20 this didn't work. Neither the remote control's instructions, nor the camera manual gave any clues as to which way is correct (or indeed how many contacts a remote control connection into the camera should have, and what their functions are ) Took the risk and tried it the other way round (right angle end - 4 pole - into camera / straight end - 3 pole - to remote trigger) and presto - it worked fine!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works good so far, needs better manuel., February 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100M Wireless Remote Control Shutter Release for Panasonic DMC G3, FZ50, FZ100, 50K, 50S, 30, 30K, 30S, 20, 20K, 20S, LC-1, L1, Leica Digilux 2, 3 (Accessory)
I purchased this for my Lumix DMC FZ100. The ad states that it works with my camera but when I got the box my camera was not listed. It did however work. Please make sure you insert the 3 ringed jack in your camera not the 2 ringed one. This is important and is not in the rather limited instruction manual. So far the farthest away I have used this is about 30 feet and it has worked fine.
Over all the product seems good if it came with better instructions I would have given it another star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pixel for Panasonic FZ200, February 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100M Wireless Remote Control Shutter Release for Panasonic DMC G3, FZ50, FZ100, 50K, 50S, 30, 30K, 30S, 20, 20K, 20S, LC-1, L1, Leica Digilux 2, 3 (Accessory)
Bought this for my new Panasonic FZ200. Thanks to previous reviewers, insert the right angle into camera and it works . Wired release or wireless both work. Great price and great performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Works with Panasonic DMC-G5KK, January 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100M Wireless Remote Control Shutter Release for Panasonic DMC G3, FZ50, FZ100, 50K, 50S, 30, 30K, 30S, 20, 20K, 20S, LC-1, L1, Leica Digilux 2, 3 (Accessory)
I couldn't tell from other reviews if this would work with my new Lumix G5, so took a chance and ordered it. It works fine. The plug into the camera is a little tight because of the size of the molded-in stress relief and the narrow opening to the remote receptacle in the camera body, but it does work. If you mount the receiver on the hot shoe, it restricts the flash from popping up, but you can just dangle it from the cord if you need the flash. Overall, a good remote for not a lot of money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice functionality at a bargain price!, March 12, 2013
By 
E. Andrews (North Conway, NH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100M Wireless Remote Control Shutter Release for Panasonic DMC G3, FZ50, FZ100, 50K, 50S, 30, 30K, 30S, 20, 20K, 20S, LC-1, L1, Leica Digilux 2, 3 (Accessory)
This system seems to work just fine. The remote has a variety of triggering modes (single, continuous, bulb, delay) which makes it very versatile. The kit includes batteries for both remote and sensor as well as the appropriate cable for Lumix G3/G5 hookup. The build is average plastic, but seems adequate. If it holds up, it's a fantastic deal for a wireless remote release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TOO HARD TO GET GOING!, September 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100M Wireless Remote Control Shutter Release for Panasonic DMC G3, FZ50, FZ100, 50K, 50S, 30, 30K, 30S, 20, 20K, 20S, LC-1, L1, Leica Digilux 2, 3 (Accessory)
The remote is used on a Panasonic FZ200.

I hope the following remarks will help (the instructions sheet is close to worthless):

1) Pay particularly attention to the markings on the receiver body (and not to the springs) when inserting the batteries. I inserted one of the batteries backwards.

2) Make sure all the little switches in the bottoms of the transmitter and receiver are all facing the same way (toward the numbers)

3) The angle connector goes on the camera, the straight one on the receiver

4) The transmitter is always on

5) Hold the on/off switch on the receiver down until the light starts flashing red

6) Hold button on transmitter half way down for focusing (green light on both transmitter and receiver)

7) Press button on transmitter all the way in for shutter release (red light on both the transmitter and receiver)

8) Make sure the connectors are fully inserted

Only the single shot option was tested so far. It works. I hope the other options work as well!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0x9979c39c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.