Professional restaurant supplies BDD_MSW16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Shop now Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on November 13, 2011
The camera I got was branded EasyN, but the box art shown on the product info page matches the box I got. Some people claim they have Foscam, Apexis, Hootoo, etc. brand, but I think it's the same camera branded in different brands to accommodate different markets. I admit, it would HELP if you are tech savvy or at least have some knowledge in network configuration to expedite the set up and get the camera running, but that's not required. This camera isn't exactly the most fool-proof camera in the market, but its feature make up for it.

The instructions are readable, albeit choppy due to the poor Chinese-to-English translation. OK here's the deal. I'm going to write a lengthy semi-review, semi-how-to for this awesome IP camera seeing the need for an instruction for Mac users. First of all, I am a Mac user running on OS X 10.7.2 Lion and I got this bad boy up and running within an hour. For all you Mac users out there, you'll need to have temporary access to a Windows machine.

If you don't have a Windows machine, see UPDATE 4 at the end of this review - then follow steps 3 and forward. I'm writing this review under the presumption that the typical user has no knowledge of MAC access control list or WiFi DHCP client table from your router to set-up the camera it via WiFi. You need it to run the application that allows you to detect and configure the camera's IP. Unfortunately, this application is written for Windows only. But that's all you need a Windows machine for. Once you configure the camera's IP address to work with your LAN, then you can use the web interface and configure a whole sleuth of other options, including the alarm feature, FTP, Mail and other. So without adieu, let's do this!

I've taken screenshots to help accommodate the mini guide below. So check out the user-submitted images for 7+ images I've added for directions on how to proceed. The instruction is for connecting the camera to a LAN - I chose this route because my WiFi network is secured over several layers of security (Sonic Wall fire wall, MAC control, etc.) and it's just easier to get the cam up and running through the LAN.

0.) Connect your IP camera to your LAN via ethernet and plug in the power supply.

1.) Get access to a Windows machine. I dual-booted to Windows Vista via Boot Camp. Make sure this Windows machine has access to your LAN.

2.) Run the application with the file name, DevFind.exe - you can find it in the directory, /EasyN F2 series IP camera installation CD/software. My included install disc was a blank CD-R disc!!! so I had to download the CD content ZIP from the manufacturer's web site: "easyntech . com / ShowDownload . asp ? id = 34" you can download the manuals in PDF format from the site too).

3.) Run the DevFind.exe to locate your camera, then modify the camera's IP address so that it matches your LAN's IP range structure, subnet mask and gateway. The default IP address assigned to the camera should be indicated in a silver sticker located underneath the camera. The same sticker can also be found on the exterior of the box. Basically, the default IP should be something along the line of 192 . 168 . 1 . 126 and access port 81 (it could be different). Since my LAN's IP range structure is 192.168.0.x, I have assigned the camera an IP address of 192 . 168 . 0 . 155. I changed out the default port of 81 to 310. Understand me so far? Once you got that down, click on the "APPLY" button to make the changes.

4.) Click on the "OTHERS" tab under the Equipment Information field. Take note of the information located in the "MAC" field, it should be a 12 letter/number string of characters.

5.) If you have access controlled enabled in your router, then follow this step. If not, you can skip. What access control means is you only allow certain network devices permission to connect to your LAN. Even if the connecting client knows your WEP/WPA/WPA2 password, they still will not be able to connect to your Wi-Fi unless their device is registered to the access control list. The unique identifier of the network device is its MAC address. If you have this enabled, then add the camera's MAC address you've just jotted down in the previous step to your router's access control list. The convention should be XX:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX where X is a number or a character from the alphabet. So if your camera's MAC address is 00A8F700F341, enter it as 00:A8:F7:00:F3:41 Update and restart your router after entering. If you have the means to reserve IP address designation on your router, I would do so. Since I assigned the camera an IP address of 192 . 168 . 0 . 155, I would reserve this address on the router to the camera's MAC address so that this IP doesn't get reassigned by the DHCP to another network device by accident.

6.) You'll definitely need to port-forward your camera if you plan to remote view from outside. In your router setup, go to the "Port Forwarding" page - it's usually under "Advanced setup" or something similar. Since I assigned the camera a custom port of 310, I would enter the port range starting and ending at 310 to be forwarded to the camera's IP address of 192 . 168 . 0 . 155 .

7.) Next, you should be able to punch in the IP address and port number you've assigned to the camera as noted on step #3 onto your web browser and launch the web-based utility app e.g. 192 . 168 . 0 . 155 : 310. When you first try to access the camera through a web browser, it will ask you for a username and a password. This information is located underneath the camera and also on the box. It's usually "admin" for the username and a blank password, but double check your equipment.

8.) Select the viewing method; if you are using IE select the first link, if you're using Firefox, select the second link, etc.

9.) View your camera, control it, etc

10.) Click on the OPTIONS icon to access the web-based configuration app, or punch in 192 . 168 . 0 . 155 : 310 /admin2.htm to access it directly

11.) Configure all sorts of other goodies, such as FTP access, Email, alarm, DDNS, Alias, etc.

12.) If you want to view your camera from remote (i.e. outside of your home network), assuming you have a static IP, then you need to punch in your ISP assigned IP address, followed by your port. You can find out your ISP assigned address by going into your router and looking at the information located in the "basic setting" area. Thanks to daniel for pointing this out. If you have a dynamic IP address, then I recommend signing up for a dynamic DNS server, such as dyndns.org. Be sure to update the DDNS area of the web utility with the appropriate login credential to your dynamic DNS provider.

I'm working on the wireless LAN setup, so I'll edit this review once I have a sure fire way to set it up so I can append a simple how-to to help folks get started. Any question, just comment. Again, this is from a Mac OS X Lion 10.7.2 user (at the time of this writing). *** Wireless instruction added, see Update 5 below ***

Since I am a Mac user, the IP Camera utility is USELESS (unless you're using Parallel or Fusion to run Windows). I rely solely on the web-based interface to view the camera. It works like a charm so far. The camera's pan and tilt feature is SUPER fast. Of course, that's because I set it at the fastest level; you can set it according to your taste. You can set up the Alarm feature so that its motion detector can pick up motion contingent on how sensitive you set the camera to behave. Once the alarm mode is triggered, you can further instruct the camera to upload screenshots at set intervals to an FTP server and/or email you the screenshots to an email address (see pictures). You certainly don't need to be Cisco or A+ certified to get this camera to work.

EDIT: As for scheduling the motion-detector, it works if you set it correctly. From the web-configuration utility, click on "Alarm Service Setting." Set the sensitivity level, etc., then check if you want to have the camera email you and/or take screenshots of events triggering the alarm and upload to a designated FTP server. I checked both. For the scheduler, check "Scheduler" to bring up a week calendar with hour. Click on the hours you'd like the camera to trigger its motion-detector, then press "Set". Note that the alarm mode won't go into affect after about 30 seconds after rebooting. I didn't know this at first and thought this feature was defunct from factory. I'm guessing the camera is giving you time to evacuate the premise before arming itself. The scheduling calendar is very cumbersome, so it's probably easier to just turn on or turn off the motion detector.

Also since you need Internet Explorer to use the ActiveX enabled web interface, Mac users will luck out. The IE version of the web interface allows you to record video (AVI format), take a snapshot, listen and talk through your camera, along with the ability to command multiple cameras. It also appears that the remote on/off switch works with the ActiveX IE control interface, but doens't for the other interfaces. I haven't had time to fully test them.

UPDATE 2: I live in an apartment complex where I gave permission to the leasing staff to deliver packages into my apartment when I am not home to sign for it. I set up the camera for motion detection and it picked up the delivery, snap a few shots and emailed to me in addition to continuously snapping shots in 5 seconds interval and uploading it to the FTP server. Simply awesome for $5x.00.

I'm so impressed with this camera I'll be purchasing two more units, possibly in white so they can blend with the white walls.

UPDATE 3: For WiFi, make sure your router is 802.11 a/b/g compatible and set at 2.4ghz frequency. The IP camera will not pick up your router if it's set at 5 ghz at N-mode only. For MAXIMUM WiFi performance, do not obstruct the WiFi antenna. Swivel it downward if you have to as the antenna is not as sophisticated and is extremely sensitive to obstruction.

UPDATE 4: Thanks to Jean-Pierre Ciudad, you can download a program called "IP Scanner for Mac" from cnet.com. It will detect the IP address of the IP camera seamlessly. Once the IP address is noted, simply punch it in your web browser to make the subsequent changes. First thing first is to change the IP address for the camera to match your network. You can find this under "Basic Network Setting" of the web interface - no need for a Windows machine.

UPDATE 5 - How to configure your camera for wireless access: After playing around with the wireless set up, I think I've found a sure-fire way to set up your IP Cam for wireless connection. The first thing you need to do is connect it to the LAN via Ethernet and configure your camera for LAN access, basically if you've got your IP Cam up and running by following my instructions above or through your own mean, you're ready to go wireless. Now the trick here is to keep in mind that when you go wireless, your wireless router will assign the IP Cam a new IP address via DHCP, meaning most likely you will not be able to access the camera at the LAN-assigned IP address. I think this is the main reason if not THE reason why a lot of folks are having a hard time getting the IP Cam to connect wirelessly. Also keep in mind that the IP Cam is only compatible at 802.11 a/b/g at 2.4ghz only. Not a problem with dual-band Time Capsule but you may need to configure your router accordingly.

So back to the setup procedure, once you get your IP Cam up and running on the LAN, go to your IP Cam's web UI and click on "Wireless Lan Settings" on the left navigation menu to configure the IP Cam for wireless access.

* Make sure the "Using Wireless Lan" box is checked.
* Under "SSID", enter your full wireless network name. You may click "Scan" multiple times until your wireless network shows up on the list (you may need to scan up to 4 times before it appears) or you can just type in the name of the SSID of your network. If you have Access Control List enabled, be sure to add the IP Cam's MAC address to the ACL.
* For "Network Type", select "Infra"
* Under "Encryption", select your security type. It's usually WPA2 (AES), but again, you need to do the research on your own network.
* For "Share Key", type in your wireless network access password.

Click SET and let the IP Cam reboot (30 secs). Next disconnect the Ethernet cable from the IP Cam and power down the camera, wait 30 seconds. Reconnect the power supply but leave the Ethernet cable unplugged and wait another 30 seconds for the IP Cam to boot up. Now your IP Cam should be connected to your wireless network. Run IP Scanner 2.5 or above to discover the newly assigned WAN IP address on the network (you can find this in your router's DHCP list via your router's admin page as well); this should be the new wireless IP address for your IP Camera. If the WAN IP for the IP Cam is 192 . 168 . 0 . 4, then you'll need to punch in 192 . 168 . 0 . 4 : 80 (or 192 . 168 . 0 . 4 : 81) to regain access to the web UI - again, your LAN assigned IP for the camera will usually no longer work. If you've changed the default access port for the IP Camera to something else other than 81, be sure to use the custom port instead when accessing the new wireless IP address. If you plan on a 100% wireless connection you'll need to reconfigure your port forwarding settings, reserved IP setting (if you did this for LAN), access port, etc. Proceed with your WiFi configuration as if you're configuring the IP Cam for the first time on LAN. If you're considering an outdoor IP camera solution, be sure to check out my Agasio M105I Outdoor Wireless Wifi Waterproof Bullet IP Camera with IR-Cut Filter, Two-way Audio, Night-Vision, Email & review.
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
185185 comments|673 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2012
Let me preface this review by saying:
I) This is one of the best purchases I ever made -- as other reviewers may have already said, the cheap price you pay (I paid $50 for mine) gets you a quality product, a rare commodity these days.
II) This item is solidly built and for its price, it has many good features: full rotation scan, e-mail and ftp capabilities, remote administration and much more.
III) Yes, installation does require you to have a bit of a working network knowledge -- if you know how to set up a home LAN or WLAN and configure a router, you probably wouldn't need the manual it came with as it is pretty much useless.
IV) You can go to Wansview.com, on the "Service and Support" menu, there's a "Download" link that you can click on to get to the full user manuals, documentations and software (firmwares, utilities, etc...).

With that said, the following are instructions on how to setup your IP camera with your LAN/WLAN using a Windows PC. Note that some steps were piggy backed off another reviewer (justChill) and I just did a little bit of refinement based on steps I took to set up my camera.

All the things you need are in the box. The software/driver CD that came with my camera does not work, this is a problem that other users also reported. So, if you're one of the unlucky ones to receive a useless CD, no worries, you can download some of these utilities from the Wansview website as I pointed out on step item IV above. As a matter of fact, you only need 1 utility to do the initial setup and once you connect the camera to your network, the camera itself has a user interface (UI) that includes settings which you can customize, such as e-mail and ftp uploads. The utility can be downloaded from the Wansview site and it's called "NCB Search_en.rar" However, I didn't use this utility because I followed justChill's link and ended up downloading and using a software called "Search IP Camera" from the site easyntech.com. The instructions below refer to the latter software (Search IP Camera).

Again, I can't stress enough that you must have at least a basic understanding of router and network terminology and configuration before proceeding; otherwise, STOP here, educate yourself or ask your geek buddy to help you.

1) Using the provided ethernet cable, connect your IP camera to your LAN or WLAN router via ethernet port at the back of the router, and plug in the power supply of the camera, also included. The camera's LED front light shall light up and the port where the ethernet cable is hooked in should be blinking, indicating your camera has been recognized by your network (LAN/WLAN).

2) Now go to your Windows PC (laptop/desktop) and run the software "Search IP Camera." Alternatively, you can use the one from Wansview but I did not use that so I won't provide instructions on that.

3) Search IP Camera has two options for configuration. The Wizard and Advance modes. The latter takes you directly to the screen where you can change the IP address and port of your camera. The default IP of your camera can be found on a sticker at the bottom of the camera and it should match the IP that this software detects. The admin account username and password are also on the sticker. Regardless which config option you chose, you will need to set the IP of your camera to match the first 3 segments of your subnet and the 4th segment is the number that will make your camera identifiable within your LAN/WLAN. For example, my WLAN's subnet is 192.168.1.1 up to 192.168.1.255. My camera's default IP is 192.168.0.1 SO I changed this to 192.168.1.3 because 192.168.1.2 is used by my laptop and the 3 is used by my TV.

4) After you set up your IP, set your port number. This is the port that will listen for signals and which relay those signals to the camera's IP. You can chose a number between 1 - 65535. Here's some more information on ports:

The Well Known Ports are those from 0 through 1023.
The Registered Ports are those from 1024 through 49151.
The Dynamic and/or Private Ports are those from 49152 through 65535.

Whatever port you chose, this is where your camera will listen for request.

5) Now, once you established your IP and port for the camera, click Apply and give the camera a few seconds to acknowledge the new settings.

You are done with configuring your camera's IP. Even if you disconnect your camera from the ethernet or turn the power off, it will retain this address and port. But if you have a Wireless network (WLAN), also known as Wi-Fi, do not disconnect it or unplug it just yet. You will need to set up the Wireless settings and you can do this using the camera's built-in UI.

6) Now for the good stuff: open your internet browser, using the address bar, go to your camera's IP and port. For example, if the IP address you assigned to your cam is 192.168.1.100 and port is 49500, you would type into the address bar the follwoing: 192.168.1.100:49500 and hit Enter or click GO.

7) The camera will now ask you for user credentials. Use the user account you found on the sticker at the bottom of the camera. I think the user name is admin and password is 123456

Click OK or Enter after you provided the required credentials.

8) You should now be in a web page that has a title "Device(xxxx)" and presents 3 modes you can use to view the camera and its settings. I used Mode 2 because it is compatible with any browser (IE, Firefox, Chrome and Safari, even on my iPhone). For the sake of this instruction, you can't go wrong with Mode 2 so click on it.

9) Your camera should now be active and the next page shall display your camera's viewing as well as 5 navigation options at the top: View, Network, Alarm, Advanced, Maintain.

a) VIEW- this option allows you to view your camera, rotate it and take snapshots.
b) NETWORK- allows you to configure network settings such as changing IP, wireless settings, DDNS and other network-related configuration
c) ALARM - this is where you will go to set alarm triggers and specify what you want the camera to do when an alarm occurs (email or ftp pictures, etc...). This section also allows you to set up a link between your camera and your alarm system, if you have one.
d) ADVANCE - this is where you will go to change the camera's default user and also add additional users. If you plan to access your camera via internet, I suggest you do change your default username and password to something more secured. In the advance section, you can also configure other cameras if you have additional and also other camera settings, like turning off the LED lights on the unit itself.
e)MAINTAIN - this option allows you to reset the camera to factory settings, upgrade firmware and change camera's date/time.

You can play around with all these features at your leisure. For now, keep reading IF you want to set up your camera wirelessly (Wi-Fi) and remotely accessible.

10) To configure the camera for Wi-Fi or wireless networks, click on the NETWORK link.

11) Then on options on the right side, click on Wireless Settings.

12) Click on Scan to scan for available wireless networks or if you know your SSID (wireless network name), manually type it in the SSID box.

13) Select the encryption method that your WLAN uses (mines is WEP).

14) For Authentication, if your encryption method is WEP, you can leave it at Open or chose Shared Key if your router's wireless settings is configured for this.

15) Enter your passphrase (network key) on the Key or Shared Key box.

16) Click Submit. The device shall reboot.

17) After reboot, you could now set your camera anywhere and you should be able to access it anywhere around your house so long as you're within range of your Wireless Network.

The following are steps I took to open my camera for internet access so that I can view it anywhere I go (mobile phone, work, friend's house, etc...). You will need either a static IP address given to you by your Internet Service Provider (ISP) or you can sign up for a DynDNS service (try noip.com --it's free). I periodically renew my dynamic IP address assigned by my ISP and I don't want to pay for DNS, I chose a 3rd option and may not work for everyone. The only reason why I chose to do the following is because I have been renewing my IP manually for security reasons and it has worked for me for other remote services I ran at home. So far it's been working and I'm able to access my cam anywhere.

Here's what I did (note that steps and screens will differ for other routers; therefore, since, I don't know what router you have, I will generalized these instructions):
A) I went into my router's administration page. You can do this by typing the IP address of your gateway on your browser's URL/address box. For example, my gateway IP is 192.168.1.1 which is the router's IP address.

B) The router asked for a username and password (this is from step 9d above), I provided them and hit ENTER. I'm IN.

C) Went to Port Forwarding (usually in Advance section) and created a Port Forwarding rule for the camera's IP address (192.168.1.4). I told the rule to forward all signals from and to port that I assigned to my camera earlier. Saved the rule.

D) Now, I went into the DMZ section where I can tell my router which IP in my LAN I can expose to the internet. I told it to expose the IP of my camera which is 192.168.1.4. If you're not familiar with DMZ, please research. But for a quick analogy, think of DMZ as the front yard of your house. Anything you put in the front yard is visible to everyone. Well if you configure your router for DMZ zone and told it to expose the IP of your camera, your camera will be visible via internet; but, though visible, will require you to enter the camera's user credentials when accessing via internet. That's why it is important that on step 9d, you create complex passwords for your camera users to prevent/minimized unauthorized access.

E) Now, to test this, get the IP address assigned to you by your ISP, usually found in router basic settings. This is an internet or public IP address.

F) Go to a computer that is not part of your network. Perhaps a mobile phone with internet access that does not connect to your wifi.

G) Launch an internet browser from that non-networked device. On the address bar of your mobile brower, type in the public IP address of your cam (found on step E) and a colon (:) plus the port number of the camera. For example: 255.255.255.255:49500 and hit ENTER

H) The camera shall now ask you to enter user credentials. Enter one of the users you configured in step 9d. VOILA!

Again these steps may not work for everyone.

Sleepy yet? We're almost done. To set up your camera to take pictures and e-mail them to you (there's also an FTP option but I didn't use it because I don't have an FTP server), follow these instructions:

Go to ALARM
a) Enable "Motion Detect Armed"
b) Click on "eMail Settings" to the right
c) Provide your smtp server address and if authentication is required, provide the username and password.

I have an old sbc yahoo e-mail account so I was able to use that to send from and to images that my camera takes when it detects motion. I just checked my e-mail and got about 50 e-mails just from it. My DOG triggered all of them. So make sure you adjust the motion sensitivity so that it doesn't react to everything (including light). The higher the sensitivity the more sensitive.

Finally, if you want to access your camera via your mobile devices, there's several apps out there that you can use to do this. Just search for IP Camera. The one I use is called LiveCams Pro and I bought it for $1.99.

Sorry if this was long, I was hoping to give some clear instructions to those that may need it, especially the ones that bashed the item because of poor setup instructions. It is really a BANG FOR YOUR BUCK and worth every penny.

Hope this helps somehow...
2929 comments|199 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2012
I am so glad I ignored all the negative reviews slating the camera for being too hard to get working. People really shouldn't be buying wireless devices such as this if they have no idea how to administrate their home networks. While the instructions included aren't great, they aren't nearly as horrible as people make them out to be. I just received my Wansview camera, and I was able to follow each and every step in the included manual and everything worked just perfectly. Granted, I am savvy with administrating my local network, port forwarding, etc, but even without all that work, I was able to get the camera working while wired to my router in no time. Heck, my Brother Wireless printer was a lot harder to get working on my local network...and Brother is a big name, reputable brand!

Sometimes I really am amazed at how entitled people can be. This is a $50 product! Good Logitech webcams alone cost more. This does not cost $200+. If it did, you could whine and bitch about the instructions being a little difficult to understand or installation being too complicated. Let's look at what you get for $50:

For $50 you get:
- A wireless camera
- IR (night) imaging capabilities
- Pan and tilt (that can be controlled remotely)
- Audio capture (remotely)
- Ability to have two way communication remotely (need to attach a speaker to the camera)
- Access via Web browsers, Android and IOS
- Complex functions like Motion detection and corresponding Alarm functions and automated emailing of pictures, or uploading to an FTP server of choice
- Free Dynamic DNS forwarding provided by Wansview. This is really useful and makes things a lot easier than having to manually muck around with using a separate dynamic DNS provider.

Now, to contrast this, "Blue Iris", which is a premium software for administrating Wireless/Network surveillance cameras costs $50 alone. That's just for the software, no cameras included. And Blue Iris doesn't even include any IOS or Android application!

I received this product yesterday and it was a breeze to get running. I haven't messed around with advanced features like Motion Detection + Automatic emails yet, but port forwarding and accessing the camera via the internet from my laptop and phone wasn't too difficult. I really like the free Dynamic DNS provided as it makes life easier and additionally, is not blocked by my workplace firewall (most dynamic DNS providers are blocked).

A word of advice - Don't bother with the Android/IOS apps. They are very bare bones and not necessary. Once you have the camera set up for remote access, you can use a number of free or $3 apps to access your camera with far better interfaces. I'd highly recommend IP Cam Viewer Pro on both Android and IOS.

Get this product if you're interested in the feature set advertised in the product description. It does everything it says it does and is probably the most feature packed product I've ever purchased for 50 bucks. I still can't get over how cheap it is considering all that you can do with it.
77 comments|110 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 2, 2012
I've seen a lot of reviews of this product that suggest it is difficult to set up or fails do work as advertised. I got mine and had none of the problems listed. The camera itself had a different brand name than the one shown in the product listing, but the features and location of connections were exactly as shown.

The enclosed (printed) directions are barely understandable. Fear not! Very well written directions are on the enclosed cd. The full user manual has all you may need to know to use the camera in a wide range of applications. If you don't feel like reading them, let me give the you way I set mine up. You do need to do these steps in the exact order I give them if you want the painless install.

1. Unpack everything. Find the antenna and screw onto the camera. Be sure you have the network cable and power supply.

2. Plug the network cable into the camera and then into your router (wireless router I assume).

3. Plug the power cord into the camera and a wall socket. The reason you do this in order is that the camera will sense your network and get an IP address from your router instead of the default that is hard-coded into the camera.

4. Load the CD into your PC and install the setup software.

5. When you see the menu, select "Detect the camera"

6. Pick the "Advanced" button when the detect screen appears. Do NOT pick the "Wizard".

7. When the detect window opens, on the top left you see a dropdown with network adapters. You will also see various IP addresses. If you don't see a value for "Gateway", go to the dropdown and chances are you will see a 2nd network adapter. The first one is frequently the Microsoft default (on PC's). Select the 2nd adapter. If you see the gateway IP appear, you are in business.

8. There is a window on the bottom left that should show your camera. If it isn't there, click the "Find" button. If your network connection is correct, it will appear as a line in that window (with the IP address your router assigned it).

9. When you click on the camera line, the addresses to the right should appear the same (at least for the camera) as the one on the camera line you selected. Be sure that the gateway address is populated. Write down the camera's IP address. Don't worry you are almost done.

10. You will see that there are to web addresses (URL's) on the bottom of the right column. The bottom one is a service to let you see your camera on the web. Set that up at your own peril. The upper one is the address you need to use to access your camera from inside your house. Note it. Also click the button to go to it. A browser will open.

11. The browser opens with a bunch of choices. Make the one appropriate for your setup. If you are using Internet Explorer, use the one for IE. Click "Sign In".

12. You will get a user name and password box. The user name is "admin" (no quote marks). Leave password blank. and click "Ok"

13. You now will see the camera working. Cool! But wait! Just a bit more to do. If you want to password protect the camera, go to the "Users" link on the left. You can add new users, or just add a password for the admin user. Remember the password you selected! Click "Apply".

14. Almost done! The camera will reboot. Now on the same menu (on the left) select "wireless" (or something to that effect). When that page is loaded, it will find any wireless networks you have. If it doesn't, click the "Find" button. Give it a minute or two. This isn't a very fast function.

15. Select your network (click on it in the window). Now if you have a password protected network (you better!), you can select your network type. See your router instructions if you aren't sure. Then, in the case of most typical home networks, type your password in the correct box.

16. Click Apply. The camera will reboot.

17. After reboot, disconnect your network cable and unplug the camera. Wait ten seconds and plug it in again (power not network).

18. Try to go the URL you copied down...[...] numbers and periods you copied...i.e.: 198.204.1.34) and click the "Go" arrow (or hit "enter"). YOu should get the password screen. Type in your user name and password and click OK. You should see your camera.

Now unplug and put it wherever you want it and plug in the power. It will work!

The quality of the picture isn't great, but it is certainly within expectations for a security camera. At the price, this ia an amazing deal. I love mine.
11 comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 13, 2012
I've bought two of these and they're easy to set-up and use. However, they DO connect periodically to a server in China. Don't know what they do during this connection, but I will figure it out. I'm putting a rule in my router to block these connections. Below is the traffic as logged on my router. Obviously the 192.168 addresses are my internal and the 58.61.155.158 is the server in China.

192.168.1.130 to 58.61.155.158:www is accepted
192.168.1.131 to 58.61.155.158:www is accepted
55 comments|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2012
SHORT REVIEW

Totally worth the money spent. Will purchase another and different version.

LONG-WINDED RANT & SARCASM

Listen, if you are expecting to buy a P/T/Z, WiFi security camera that will hold your hand, give you a warm hug and tell you everything is OK for around $50, please give us a break.

This camera is for people who have experience setting up devices from Ethernet interfaces, those who are familiar with UNC protocol and those comfortable using IP navigation methods. If you have to look up those two acronyms, then you might be disappointed when you buy it, BUT.....Call your nerd friend (you know, the one who is really geeky or talks about Linux or setting up a domain at his/her house) and they can can come over and get it running for you in about 30 minutes.

It has a self-explanatory GUI once you are able to address it, and all is configurable over WiFi once configured by wired connection to your particular WiFi setup.

I am truly impressed with the quality of the image and the update rate of the images, both daylight and night. I am actually planning on purchasing and trying the exterior non-PTZ version of this camera to try out their multi-camera interface.

All I can say is that I have had this camera for a couple of months now and I couldn't be happier. BTW, did I mention that it has motion detection alarm features that will FTP or email or both? Yeah, I know. It also has a rudimentary scheduler that allows you to only detect alarm conditions during certain periods. It also has an alarm input, which I haven't had occasion to test yet.

If you are someone who complains about things being 'cheap' when you spend significantly less for something than the average price of competition products, then you will probably complain. If you are someone who is impressed when you spend significantly less for something than the average price of competition products and get some great features and the item just plain works, then you and I would probably enjoy setting up a home network or flying R/C planes!
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2011
Now that I have it configured, this product performs admirably. Had a heckuva time getting it to work with my wireless LAN - every time that the Ethernet (Cat 5) cable was pulled the connection died because the router wouldn't assign a wireless LAN IP. Turns out that the unit will not enable the assigning of a wireless IP if the router has MAC filtering enabled. Disabled MAC filtering and Voila! - the wireless IP was assigned and the camera is working perfectly locally as well as over the Internet via dyndns. Satisfied customer.
99 comments|79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2011
Beware of this cam unless your have good network and webcam setup experience. The instructions are so poorly translated into English that it's laughable. The setup software will stump you quickly unless you know your way around network config, IP cams and the particulars of your existing home network. The included "Super Client" software appears to be a trial product that you must buy if you want to use it longer than one hour per day. I don't recall any mention of that in the Amazon product descriptions. At least I can't find any included reg code and every time your run the software you are prompted to download a new version...the same version you just downloaded.

The cam displays good quality video. Pan and tilt work fine. Ftp options are literally non-existent. For example, I need to ftp during daylight hours only. There is no way to schedule ftp...it's either on or off. Period.
1313 comments|85 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2011
Camera is awesome! I read all the reviews and was not too concerned about not having audio. I do want to say I got HOOTOO brand and it works flawlessly with the Iphone CamViewer (free app).

I didn't even need to read the instructions because it was that easy to setup.

I have all MAC computers works fine with them. You just need to know networking.

After plugging into the router (you must do this to setup the wireless), checked out DHCP Clients Table. It was listed as IPCam_#### (where #### is the wired interface's mac address). Send browser to that IP and login (I guessed admin and no password.... voila).

You also do not have to leave your MAC filter off... add this things MAC address to your filter then turn it back on.

If you can setup a router, you can set this up.
44 comments|50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2012
PROs:

This thing is a stellar deal! I will be buying several more! (since the bundled software supports multiple camera recording and monitoring.)

I was a manager in the security trade for years and that software has the same features as the high end corporate security suites, the only difference is the resolution and frame rate, but for a home or small business this is great! Since they are wireless, very flexible in where they go. I also use this in conjunction with SplashTop (found in Amazon Appstore for Android) to monitor my system from any mobile device.

It came with some crazy banzai bandanna thing? I'm flattered, but I don't get it. Its not tech, it's a "freebie" i guess. Thanks China!

The IR is really good I think, it lights up the whole room I have it installed in, even in total darkness.

CONS:

The ceiling/wall mount isn't as clean as I like, but it DID have one.

At 640x480 the capture rate is 2FPS, lol, but its still very useable.

The LED is ANNOYING AS HELL. And since the interface is strongly "Engrish" its a little odd to find where to turn it off. Which you can! So, stealth operation. But to do it, you have to use the browser interface for the specific camera. Pretty much everything else is available via the monitoring software.

Conclusion:

If your looking for a good PTZ camera, night vision, indoor camera system that records on schedule, motion, or scheduled motion to a PC via wired or wireless network and works well under many different lighting conditions from very bright to total darkness.... you ought to buy this thing. Especially if you're on a budget.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 207 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.