Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Very usefull well writen
It takes you to the point nice and concisely , advices and teach you, it is a book to keep as reference.
It takes you to the point nice and concisely , advices and teach you, it is a book to keep as reference.
Published 13 months ago by ever

versus
18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy the book
I agree with the other reviewer. This book covers too many topics that have nothing to do with a "digital home'. Sure a computer needs power but to have a lot of the book cover the layout of basic home wiring is too much. I wanted more detailed information on how to set up cat 5 or cat 6 connectors, or how to wire compression coax connectors, or how to choose cable,...
Published on May 23, 2008 by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy the book, May 23, 2008
By 
Amazon Customer (Fruit Heights, UT United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wiring Your Digital Home For Dummies (Paperback)
I agree with the other reviewer. This book covers too many topics that have nothing to do with a "digital home'. Sure a computer needs power but to have a lot of the book cover the layout of basic home wiring is too much. I wanted more detailed information on how to set up cat 5 or cat 6 connectors, or how to wire compression coax connectors, or how to choose cable, splitters etc, or specific information on how to control a light or outlet from the computer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very Disappointed, October 31, 2006
This review is from: Wiring Your Digital Home For Dummies (Paperback)
I have been rewiring my 30 year old home over the last five years replacing all the phone and cable TV wiring and adding a computer network all to a central hub. I have read other For Dummies books on these subjects and they were rather good. These days I look for more information and I thought this new book would provide me with something I had not read of before. I would not buy this book if you have ever done anything on this subject yourself. For some strange reason about half of the book involves wiring for lights and outlets, which I have also done a lot myself, but in my opinion has nothing to do with having a digital home. I am still waiting for one book that tells it all on this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wiring your digital home, October 27, 2009
This review is from: Wiring Your Digital Home For Dummies (Paperback)
It has already paid for itself. Since buying my big screen HDTV, I found that I needed to get a new satellite receiver that would require a phone connection in a room where there was no phone jack. The Satellite company did not tell me that you can buy an electronic device to send the phone signal through the electric lines. I am sure I will find other helpful information as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very usefull well writen, February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wiring Your Digital Home For Dummies (Paperback)
It takes you to the point nice and concisely , advices and teach you, it is a book to keep as reference.
It takes you to the point nice and concisely , advices and teach you, it is a book to keep as reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Textbook, January 21, 2015
By 
Michael Price (Citrus Heights, CA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wiring Your Digital Home For Dummies (Paperback)
Textbook required for class. I do recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy this book!, April 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wiring Your Digital Home For Dummies (Paperback)
Don't buy this book. The title is misleading. It is just a plain old ordinary house wiring book and nothing more. No references to digital wiring. I would never buy a "Dummie" book again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good quality, fast service hate these reviews with a passion, April 29, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wiring Your Digital Home For Dummies (Paperback)
good quality, fast service hate these reviews with a passion
good quality, fast service hate these reviews with a passion
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wiring Your Digital Home For Dummies
Wiring Your Digital Home For Dummies by Dennis C. Brewer (Paperback - October 9, 2006)
Used & New from: $2.05
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.