Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Majestic Gift Beautifully Translated
The Dhammapada (in Pali/the Lankan scriptural language as derived from the original Pankrit), or the Dharmapada (in Sanskrit), the Pali being the original, in this case, is a pocket-size selection of the "essence" of Gotama Buddha's thought (the dhamma, or dharma) culled from the massive Tripitaka, the comprehensive collection of all of the Buddha's recorded discourses...
Published on February 9, 2004 by cvairag

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Edition for those whose pocketbooks are on a diet
I had to read this edition for my World Literature course and I was happy with the price (can't beat it!) and happy with the fact that it is free of scholarly interpretations, which can color the reader's opinions and/or perceptions. It also leaves the reader to come to their own conclusions.

But one can entirely misinterpret the Buddha's teachings, especially...
Published on March 7, 2006 by Donna Di Giacomo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Majestic Gift Beautifully Translated, February 9, 2004
By 
cvairag (Allan Hancock College) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wisdom of the Buddha: The Unabridged Dhammapada (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
The Dhammapada (in Pali/the Lankan scriptural language as derived from the original Pankrit), or the Dharmapada (in Sanskrit), the Pali being the original, in this case, is a pocket-size selection of the "essence" of Gotama Buddha's thought (the dhamma, or dharma) culled from the massive Tripitaka, the comprehensive collection of all of the Buddha's recorded discourses. The selection was made by the Sangha (the Buddhist community (in those days monks and nuns) somtime between 200 to 700 years after the death of Gotama Buddha in the fifth century B.C. The succintness, gravity, and beauty of these verses has more than stood the test of time.
The Dhammapada is, in my opinion (I first heard the dhamma formally in this lifetime in 1970), the best introduction to the buddha/dhamma: a bedside book, a wake-up book, a wonderful and lifelong friend.
This translation was among the first in a European language. Muller was an enormous figure in religious studies, who in the late nineteeth century conceived, edited, and contributed to the encyclopediac fifty tome collection of translations of Sacred Texts of the East of which this work is one volume. The original companion texts seemed to have been deleted for this paperbound edition. In any case, Muller's notes have been included and are useful, though at times, obscure.
The translation is strictly nineteeth century prose, and exhibits both pros and cons of the genre. At times the translation may not suit our criteria for either accuracy or aesthetic refinement. However, as Gracian has said, to be first is to be great, and Max M was most definitely, along with Szekeley the elder . . . first.
Which ever translation of the Dhammapada you choose, please do chose one. The work is exqisite and explains the dhamma (if possible) better than any book I know (Shobogenzo 2nd at this moment). Although I still have my Muller, I myself prefer the diminuitive translation with commentaries by The Mother (not Anadamayi, but the French sanyassin who hung out with Sri Aurobindo in the the mid twentieth century. The commentaries in this tiny book are brief talks she gave in the late fifties and always appropriate. The book can be procured through Auroville, Aurobindo's ashram, or perhaps on Amazon). However, the Muller is quite sufficient and inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diet Dhammapada, April 13, 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Wisdom of the Buddha: The Unabridged Dhammapada (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
I found this edition to be more than adaquete to the casual reader desiring to become better acquainted with Buddhist beliefs. Its lack of lengthy commentary (no more than a 2-page introduction and brief, explanatory footnotes) actually serves to make it highly accessible to the casual reader. This is the Dhammapada in its rawest form, free of someone else's interpretation.
For those wishing to thoroughly research the Dhammapada, however, another edition containing scholarly annotations would be more useful. (For that purpose, I would recommend the edition by Eknath Easwaran.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quick translation of the Dhammapada..., July 27, 2001
This review is from: Wisdom of the Buddha: The Unabridged Dhammapada (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
This book is not a quick read if you wish to take something from it. Like most Buddhist writings, it is divided in to smaller parts for discussion (like "Old Age," "The World," and "Happiness"). Within each of these parts, there is an explanation trying to illustrate this idea of the reader. It is not intended to be scanned. If you read one of these sections a day (they are usually one or two pages), just reflect on that. You will walk away with a much better understanding. It is designed to assist your personal meditations.
I think it is a quick translation because I sometimes feel that "Western" words come into the translation rather than the intended word. For instance, I think "temple" would be a much better translation than "church." It would keep an Eastern feel to the writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Edition for those whose pocketbooks are on a diet, March 7, 2006
By 
This review is from: Wisdom of the Buddha: The Unabridged Dhammapada (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
I had to read this edition for my World Literature course and I was happy with the price (can't beat it!) and happy with the fact that it is free of scholarly interpretations, which can color the reader's opinions and/or perceptions. It also leaves the reader to come to their own conclusions.

But one can entirely misinterpret the Buddha's teachings, especially if you've never read a single Buddhist text (like myself) and that's why I'm not too keen on this edition.

The Dover Thrift Editions, to me, are meant to whet the appetite for more in-depth writings about a particular book. Sometimes it *does* help to have a scholar's insight - whether that person's take on the subject threatens to color your reading experience or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok, if you've never heard of Buddhism before., August 4, 2008
This is a quick little read (about 50 pages) that I found to get the general point across. It often reverts to juxtaposing paraphrases, repeating itself over and over, and often alludes to many Christian concepts such as sin, Heaven, Hell, and paying homage to the church. I have come to the conclusion that this book would come in handy to the as-of-now Christian who is looking into other religions and can't yet quite grasp the concept of a religion without a god, sins, or a heaven and hell. This book I believe was originally written in 1900, so it is fairly understanding as to why it is partially ignorant of some of the vital teachings of Buddha and why it curtails the full Buddhist perception.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cheap and small, February 12, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wisdom of the Buddha: The Unabridged Dhammapada (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
The book arrived in perfect condition and is exactly what I thought I was buying. Just ensure you want this particular version of this famous piece and you can't go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Namaste, March 7, 2013
By 
nmart (over the rainbow) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wisdom of the Buddha: The Unabridged Dhammapada (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
A super book on Buddha. The price is great for such a good collection of the Buddha's wisdom. Would definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Eh..., November 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wisdom of the Buddha: The Unabridged Dhammapada (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Not bad.

Some concepts, in my own humble opinion, were expressed poorly; not the best translation, basically.

Can't hate too much. Clumsily gets the point across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable wisdom, December 24, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wisdom of the Buddha: The Unabridged Dhammapada (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Whatever your faith may be there's a ton to be learned from Buddha. I'm a Christian myself but I reference this book as well as the Bible quite often. Simple principles but it's amazing how much truth there is behind it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kinda makes you think, October 20, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wisdom of the Buddha: The Unabridged Dhammapada (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
This book has a lot of great philosophy in it and it isn't too hard to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wisdom of the Buddha: The Unabridged Dhammapada (Dover Thrift Editions)
$2.50 $2.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.