Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY STUNNING
I bought Zuckerman's Wisdom based on excerpts I read in Reader's Digest. Now that I've received the book and had a chance to read it, I am blown away. It is stunningly beautiful, both the pictures and the words. I'm only 39 so I don't have the "perspective" someone 65 or older would but I can appreciate every line, every word, every image in this book. I teach high...
Published on October 30, 2008 by Stacy Miller

versus
87 of 95 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What A Disappointment!
I just received my copy yesterday, eagerly tore the wrappings off and started on it. The book is WONDERFUL! The photos are FABULOUS! The insights are AMAZING! Here's the DISAPPOINTMENT; the text, as important as it is, is set in light weight, small type, impossible for people the same age as those represented therein, to read comfortably or at all, without a...
Published on October 13, 2008 by A. M. Pavlisin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good history, January 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wisdom: The Greatest Gift One Generation Can Give To Another (Hardcover)
This is a good history book. With the hardcover it is a keeper and tells a good story of each of the people it covers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful and Wonderful, May 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wisdom: The Greatest Gift One Generation Can Give To Another (Hardcover)
Excellent! Excellent! The book also comes with a dvd of the actual live interviews. What a nice surpise that was! Great value for the book and dvd. The photography is outstanding. The interviews are thought provoking. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, April 17, 2011
By 
Mikaela Lynn (Brooklyn, NY 11225) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wisdom: The Greatest Gift One Generation Can Give To Another (Hardcover)
I worked an event where these photos were blown up to 40x40, and fell in love. I came on Amazon to find the book at a better price! The quotes are inspiring, and the photos are remarkable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wisdom, April 9, 2011
By 
Michael Flynn (Dedham, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wisdom: The Greatest Gift One Generation Can Give To Another (Hardcover)
This is book that does not stop giving enjoyment. I have read and then gone back to read an article again later. It reflects wisdom of people who have lived long enough to have perspective. Great research was done preparing the book. It has a wonderful variety of subjective viewpoints on many topics. The photography is remarkable and catches the individual's personality. Good buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Piece of Work, March 21, 2011
This review is from: Wisdom: The Greatest Gift One Generation Can Give To Another (Hardcover)
This is a great book with amazing photography and words. I really like Zuckerman's style of equalizing all his subjects by using white backgrounds and asking the same questions. It really highlights each person's differences and similarities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth every penny!, January 19, 2009
This review is from: Wisdom: The Greatest Gift One Generation Can Give To Another (Hardcover)
This book is full of older people sharing reflections on life and the lessons they have learned in their lifetime. It was full of insightful and interesting perspectives. The photographs are rich. Overall an amazing book for someone who desires to learn from others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very unique book., December 16, 2008
This review is from: Wisdom: The Greatest Gift One Generation Can Give To Another (Hardcover)
A very unique book than everybody needs to read, so different people, so different prespectives but you will find wisdom, experience and expertise on everyone of them, you may not agree with all but you will recognize they are in the position to say what they believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great images. Good wisdom., April 29, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wisdom: The Greatest Gift One Generation Can Give To Another (Hardcover)
Makes for a great gift. Just be sure the person who is receiving as a gift is okay with their age. I can imagine that some people might take offense to receiving a gift like this. I think it's great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY PLEASED........, January 11, 2009
This review is from: Wisdom: The Greatest Gift One Generation Can Give To Another (Hardcover)
Exremely pleased with shopping experience with Amazon, as always. Prompt, accurate service with no problems whatsoever. Loved the purchase at most fair of prices to be found. Thanks.

cc
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent addition to photography collections that celebrate humanity, enhanced with an accompanying documentary DVD, December 9, 2008
This review is from: Wisdom: The Greatest Gift One Generation Can Give To Another (Hardcover)
Crafted by multiple award-winning photographer and filmmaker Andrew Zuckerman, Wisdom is a coffee-table compendium of fifty original, black-and-white portraits of the world's leading writers, artists, designers, actors, politicians, musicians, and religious and business leaders. Among the people features are Clint Eastwood, Jane Goodall, Billie Jean King, Henry Kissinger, Nelson Mandela, Andrew Wyeth, and many more. All individuals are in their elder years, have dedicated much of their lives to their craft or service. The photographic portraits for each include a full page headshot and a bodyshot, and the text includes inspirational quotations and insightful essays from these renowned figures, such as Kris Kristofferson's statement "The heart is what matters most of all." An excellent addition to photography collections that celebrate humanity, enhanced with an accompanying documentary DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wisdom: The Greatest Gift One Generation Can Give To Another
Wisdom: The Greatest Gift One Generation Can Give To Another by Andrew Zuckerman (Hardcover - October 1, 2008)
Used & New from: $0.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.