Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best war series produced on TV
"Wish Me Luck" has everything a good WWII series should have: interesting characters, suspense, triumph and tragedy, as well as a good dose of realism about the terrible pressures faced at all times by the incredibly brave men and women who went undercover to work with the French Resistance groups. I only wish that the entire series was available in North America - I...
Published on October 22, 2010 by Historyfan

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Second season flagging
Episodes fall of a bit during second season. Editing, acting and writing are a little lacking and I miss the feisty, working class operative from the first season.
Published 10 months ago by donald morrison


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best war series produced on TV, October 22, 2010
By 
Historyfan (Victoria, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wish Me Luck: Series Two (DVD)
"Wish Me Luck" has everything a good WWII series should have: interesting characters, suspense, triumph and tragedy, as well as a good dose of realism about the terrible pressures faced at all times by the incredibly brave men and women who went undercover to work with the French Resistance groups. I only wish that the entire series was available in North America - I have series 1 only - and it's awful to be left hanging without seeing series 2 and 3. I did see these when "Wish Me Luck" was originally shown on TV, but I would like to be able to show this story in its entirety to the younger generation of my family. I feel that this series is an education for young people, now so far removed from the Second World War.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good British Historical Drama, January 12, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wish Me Luck: Series Two (DVD)
This is very good, it's interesting to see things in history that we never heard about, can't wait until the next one comes out. You can't find any better period pieces than the ones the British make.
I had not heard of this, but thanks to Amazon sending me emails with things they think I might like, I have discovered many new series that I have never heard of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOMEN OF THE SPY WORLD in WWII EUROPEAN FIELD, December 10, 2010
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Wish Me Luck: Series Two (DVD)
SOE thriller, action, suspense, top-notch. British women in the Special Operations Executive branch of the war fought in silence, often leading men, risking all they had, and in the case of these great episodes also finding romance occasionally along the way. But duty also preceeded any romance. Beautiful, but tough women, all taking place in 1943. It's a different part of the allied War on the European Front. Women in strong roles, history (based on real stories), and tense episodes. 7 excellent episodes that do run a continuing story, picked up from the previous season. So good my wife and I could not stop and watched all 7 one after another in a single day, breaks only to fix food.

This series 2 is even better than "WISH ME LUCK: Series 1" and could be used alone, but if you've not seen the first, you might want to consider finding both sets. More military/spy action/fighting in this 2nd series. And there surely will be a final coming some day. WISH ME LUCK ran on TV for 3 years. Excellent historically accurate war drama. Fantastic period viewing for 1940s London and France.

Returning cast: HQ-Faith (Jane Asher-Death at a Funeral ,Holby City).....Spy Kit (Michael J. Jackson-The Glory Boys, Mobile).....HQ-Liz (Kate Buffery-Trial & Retribution ).....HQ boss-Cad (Julian Glover-Troy, Star Wars, The Avengers ). Faith & Liz were spies in series one under spy leader Kit, whom one had a relationship with, oops.

Episode details for those interested. Each average 54 minutes.
All have SUBTITLES, the only bonus material.
1
SW France, 1943 and e Brit agents are shot in a public square, no blindfolds, by Nazis. London HQ staffer Liz assigned to inform a widow. 2 new recruits who will lead this series: NaÔve Emily (Jane Snowden-All Passion Spent , The Frog Prince ) (radio op) and Vivien (Lynn Farleigh-Castles, Pride and Prejudice , Murder Most English-a good DVD!) (the new widow.) Colin Jeremy Northam-Emma, A Village Affair, Gosford Park, Miami Medical) is sent as their Sec. 7 leader. There is romance sparking as agents come and go.

2
Em now Zoe, Viv now Salonge, & Colin now Andrea drop into France. Emily arrives with a difficult surprise. Colin crashes and turns a females head. Kit returns to UK & ordered to take a month off. Kit & Liz déjà vu?

3
Colin shoots a girl, Liz questions marriage, Emily opts for more of France, Cad makes some huge decisions about staff.

4
Dissention amid the French resistance force. Liz & Vivien have some difficulty with their present missions. Lots of military raid action.

5
The resistance considers a traitor, informer in their ranks. Nazis find a radio plus further complications cause Cad to take a new look at the team.

6
Brothels make a good hide-out? Interesting new agent `cover.' The team is spread out but all yet survive. Liz & Kit rejoin--but for what purpose? Then HQ command gets news unwanted.

7
Arms factory supplying Germany is planned for attack. The team's exit goes as badly as other Sec.7 raids; but plenty of action. A great warp for this season of shows. Can't wait for series 3.

Action, Suspense, Romance, World War Two, Spies, Intrigue, 1943 period perfection, Astounding cast, Gripping drama, and women as tough as they are beautiful. It's got it all, blended together, like the forces serving behind enemy lines.
It's like Foyle's War (a must, must see 6 stars) but with women replacing Foyle and the action in France.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish Me Luck Series 2, February 18, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wish Me Luck: Series Two (DVD)
Wish Me Luck Series 2 continues the exploits of the members of the SOE agents dropped into France during WW II. This series is an excellent characterization of life during those years, with rationing, loss of family and friends and women taking on new roles. Churchill told the SOE to set the world ablaze, and these agents certainly did. The characters are engaging, and action is exciting. The historical significance is outstanding. England was struggling in the War against Germany. The SOE and their cadre of spies made a huge difference in the War's outcome. This series is certainly worth the cost and would be a wonderful addition to your DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars WWII Occupied France, March 11, 2012
By 
S. Twohy (Novato, CA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I first watched this series, Season one, on streaming Netflix. I loved it. Brave women eager to fight Nazis, fight for their country, and help Europe endure and eventually repel Fascist rule. Specifically France, in this case. Acting is typical British high standards, heavy on the stiff upper lip school. Each episode has detailed character development and introduces a new danger or situation that demands you watch the next episode to see what happens next. Beautiful settings, sets, scenery, costumes and vintage machines. I love the big wooden tables with the French loaf and the knife on a cutting board in just about every stone farm kitchen. Female heroines very sympathetic, human failings and fears, very engaging. Nazis were more wily and calculating than crude villains, which made the plot interesting cat and mouse game. So bottom line, I had to have more, more, more. Since Netflix only offered Season 1, I ended up buying Seasons 2 and 3 from Amazon, and that's pretty much all I watched with great enjoyment until I was finished with it all. I'll probably watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A BIT BETTER THAN THE FIRST SEASON, October 24, 2011
By 
This review is from: Wish Me Luck: Series Two (DVD)
Tale focuses on the British SOE (Special Operations Executive) who recruit and train British women who have backgrounds that will let them pass as French women in Nazi occupied France during WWII. For those so interested the SOE really existed and was created in 1940 by Prime Minister Winston Churchill and Minister of Economic Warfare Hugh Dalton to conduct guerrilla warfare against the Axis and to instruct and aid local resistance movements. The main characters include an aristocratic woman and a factory worker who train together with others and are later sent to the same area of Nazi occupied France to go undercover and gradually gain crucial pieces of information. This series is much more interested in the characters and dialogue, especially how the war wears them down and affects the heads of SOE as well as loved ones back in England. I enjoyed this one more than the first season though the first season was good. They got rid of the jazzy music which didn't feel right during chase scenes. The aristocratic woman (Vivien) who's trained is multifaceted and gives the series a controversial ending. Liz's marriage crumbles and gives her an additional incentive to return to operative work. STORY/PLOTTING: B; CHARACTERS/DIALOGUE: B to B plus; FOCUSES: B plus; OVERALL GRADE: B plus; WHEN WATCHED: September to October 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars women of the European Front spy world, October 19, 2011
By 
Harold Wolf "Doc" (Wells, IN United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
SOE thriller, action, suspense, top-notch. British women in the Special Operations Executive branch of the war fought in silence, often leading men, risking all they had, and in the case of these great episodes also finding romance occasionally along the way. But duty also preceeded any romance. Beautiful, but tough women, all taking place in 1943. It's a different part of the allied War on the European Front. Women in strong roles, history (based on real stories), and tense episodes. 7 excellent episodes that do run a continuing story, picked up from the previous season. So good my wife and I could not stop and watched all 7 one after another in a single day, breaks only to fix food.

This series 2 is even better than "WISH ME LUCK: Series 1" and could be used alone, but if you've not seen the first, you might want to consider finding both sets. More military/spy action/fighting in this 2nd series. And there surely will be a final coming some day. WISH ME LUCK ran on TV for 3 years. Excellent historically accurate war drama. Fantastic period viewing for 1940s London and France.

Returning cast: HQ-Faith (Jane Asher-Death at a Funeral ,Holby City).....Spy Kit (Michael J. Jackson-The Glory Boys, Mobile).....HQ-Liz (Kate Buffery-Trial & Retribution ).....HQ boss-Cad (Julian Glover-Troy, Star Wars, The Avengers ). Faith & Liz were spies in series one under spy leader Kit, whom one had a relationship with, oops.

Episode average 54 minutes.
All SUBTITLED
1 SW France, 1943 and e Brit agents are shot in a public square, no blindfolds, by Nazis. London HQ staffer Liz assigned to inform a widow. 2 new recruits who will lead this series: NaÔve Emily (Jane Snowden-All Passion Spent , The Frog Prince radio op) and Vivien (Lynn Farleigh-Castles, Pride and Prejudice , Murder Most English-a good DVD! the new widow.) Colin Jeremy Northam-Emma, A Village Affair, Gosford Park, Miami Medical) is sent as their Sec. 7 leader. There is romance sparking as agents come and go.

2 Em now Zoe, Viv now Salonge, & Colin now Andrea drop into France. Emily arrives with a difficult surprise. Colin crashes and turns a females head. Kit returns to UK & ordered to take a month off. Kit & Liz déjà vu?

3 Colin shoots a girl, Liz questions marriage, Emily opts for more of France, Cad makes some huge decisions about staff.

4 Dissension amid the French resistance force. Liz & Vivien have some difficulty with their present missions. Lots of military raid action.

5 The resistance considers a traitor, informer in their ranks. Nazis find a radio plus further complications cause Cad to take a new look at the team.

6 Brothels make a good hide-out? Interesting new agent `cover.' The team is spread out but all yet survive. Liz & Kit rejoin--but for what purpose? Then HQ command gets news unwanted.

7 Arms factory supplying Germany is planned for attack. The team's exit goes as badly as other Sec.7 raids; but plenty of action. A great warp for this season of shows. Can't wait for series 3.

Action, Suspense, Romance, World War Two, Spies, Intrigue, 1943 period perfection, Astounding cast, Gripping drama, and women as tough as they are beautiful. It's got it all, blended together, like the forces serving behind enemy lines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish Me Luck is an excellent mini-series, February 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wish Me Luck: Series Two (DVD)
I very much enjoyed all three seasons of Wish me Lck. In fact, I now am doing my own studing of the actual spy & Free French Fighters. Wish Me Luck is an excellent mini-series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 11, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wish Me Luck: Series Two (DVD)
I like this series a lot. Music is a bit out dated, but the story lines are good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun period piece, March 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a fun series, it gives you a little insight into the world of world war two spy operations and the lives of these people. I enjoyed that it was more than one season so you were able to watch some of the characters develop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wish Me Luck: Series Two
Wish Me Luck: Series Two by Gordon Flemyng (DVD - 2011)
$39.99 $18.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.