Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
53
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$15.17+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 10, 2004
Well, I'm sure you all have heard the problems this band went through, so I won't even go into that. I will say this though, this recording seems to be focused on what was going on around the band at the time...tough pill to swallow. Just over 30 minutes, this album broke new ground, a different approach then previous releases. I won't sit here and insult anyone's intelligence by stating this is their greatest work. Personally, its my favorite. From start to finish, no bad tracks, some medley's (including important contributions from Mike), some excellent choices of intruments never used before on a Badfinger record. This is by all means, the last record of the Classic Badfinger lineup. The comparisons to Abbey Road are prevelent...but it stands to this day as a Classic Lost Album that will go down in history as just that...Lost. No hit songs here, no tradmark sounds, just pure brilliance.

If I could possibly improve this great release, I would have included "Timeless" (similar time signature to "I Want You, She's so Heavy") somewhere in between the original's release first side and second. Would have been a nice compliment to the Abbey Road theory?!?

This document should not be overlooked by any casual, hardcore or any Beatle fan!
44 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2004
The two albums that Badfinger recorded for Warner Brothers after leaving Apple were among the easiest to find in the days before cd's. They could usually be found languishing in used bins for relatively low prices, and it was this that initially threw me off. Finally, faced with the prospect of little known Badfinger over no Badfinger at all, I went ahead and purchased both albums. Imagine my surprise when I got home and found that both albums were loaded with songs on par with, and at times better than, the songs that the band did while with Apple. The whole album is strong, with leadoff shouldabeenahit "Just A Chance" Pete Ham is in fine voice, and one is left to wonder what could have been. "Know One Knows" and "Dennis" are equally strong, but it's the rather odd cut and paste songs "In The Meantime/Some Other Time" and "Meanwhile Back At The Ranch/Should I Smoke" that show the band's true brilliance. Within months Pete Ham would be dead and with his passing rock and roll lost one of the truly great songwriters as well as a hugely underrated guitarist. This album demands and deserves a listen and it's a risk you won't regret.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2008
Wish you were here is one of the top 5-6 classic rock albums of the 1970's. And for my money the greatest Badfinger album EVER. It has the feeling of, "hey let's just let it all out, the hell with the record execs."

No pre-packaged ideas here. No let's try hard to write a top 40 single here (although there are a few gems). This is Straight Up on amphetamines. No Dice rolling lucky 7's!! This is classic rock at it's classic best. Breathtaking musicianship, some great orchestra arrangements and even the Average White Band horn section lending to the genius.

Wish you were here is a MUST buy for classic rock fans, or just fans of great music period. Obviously never straying too far from the nurturing tree, Wish You Were here, has that Beatles sound here and there, what do you expect " the Snoop Dog sound"?? But this is a powerful, passionate record that if you like the genre, you will like Badfinger's Wish you were here. Makes me wish the Band was still here. Sadly they are not, so don't miss this opportunity to purchase a piece of Rock history.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2004
I've picked up all of Badfinger's album and this one is the best. My favorite tracks include Got To Get Out of Here, Dennis, In the Meantime, and Meanwhile Back at the Ranch. The Production is fantastic - Big thanks to Chris Thomas - and the band is tight! The guitar ending to Meanwhile Back is thrilling. The songwriting of the group throughout the album stands head and shoulders above any of the other albums. Any potential hit singles to go along with Day After Day or No Matter What? No, but there's not a weak song in the whole album. It flows perfectly, pulling you along with its sound, craftsmanship, and melody. What a crime it was for Warner Brothers to pull it after only 3 weeks! A definite overlooked gem.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2007
Possibly the best Badfinger album released. Brillant music and songwriting emerging from the shadows of the Fab Four.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2005
that chose to sue the band rather than understand what Pete, Joey, Tom and Mike were going through. The shame of it all is while rock was going into that transitory phase from British Rock and Roll and California Country Rock to Disco, Punk and whatever Springsteen calls his music??? Badfinger in 1974 had recorded an album that not only sounded like "Abbey Road" or even elements of the Beatles' "White Album", but evoke that same magical lyrical imagery so prevalent in the latter Lennon-McCartney era.

Peter Ham, disillusioned and broke, would take his life less than a year after recording this album, but some of his finest songs - maybe not hit tunes like "Day After Day", "No Matter What" or "Baby Blue" - were recorded here. Songs like "Just A Chance", "In the Meantime", and "Meanwhile Back at the Ranch". Tommy Evans contributed the cute and very Lennonsque "King of the Load" with a sweeping guitar solo (Ham? or Molland) that rivals George Harrison's best Beatle solos. Mike Gibbins stepped from behind the drums to sing "You're So Fine" with the three main singer Badfinger boys. The epic, chugging, masterpiece "Meanwhile Back at the Ranch-"Shall I Smoke" with an opening lead vocal by Ham and ending vocal by Joey Molland and with dual lead guitars by Ham and Molland is a breathtaking finish to a wonderous work. A work that sadly enough ended up in the bargain bins - and left the band in desperate debt because a label chose to punish an act over the misdeeds of its mismanagement.

Joey Molland once told me that yep, "Gotta Get Out of Here" was a blunt reference to what the band was experiencing due to lousy management and a label that really didn't care. A band that came directly out of being the Beatles' proteges, being outstanding musicians and composers in their own right and keeping the tradition of the Fab Four did not deserve such a terrible fate. Both Ham and Evans died needless, tragic, early deaths that shouldn't have been, and Molland deserves much more acclaim - at least Badfinger has been acknowledged as a major influence by bands like Cheap Trick, the Records, the Bangles and others.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2007
Horay for Collector's Choice for reissuing this almost-long-lost classic. The remastering is very similar (if not identical) to the German import released a few years back. The CD booklet is just a gatefold (four pages, including the back cover and front cover) with some liner notes. No photos, but I'd take a great-sounding CD with a crisp printing job on the front and back artwork over a muddy release with more detailed liner notes anyday. Definitely worth it. Badfinger fans won't be disappointed. The same for Collector's Choice's reissue of "Badfinger," which in parts is just as strong as "Wish You Were Here." Pick 'em both up if you can ... :)
33 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2004
Badfinger's second album for Warner Brothers was recording during two sessions - the first took place at The Caribou Ranch, Colorado in April/May 1974; the second at AIR studios, London in June. Though financial worries had begun to have great influence on the 4 members; they all felt that they had to put everything they had into these recordings. And this really shows on the album - another masterpiece - one of the really great albums of the seventies. It has been called "The Sergent Pepper of the 1970's"; personally I feel that it has more in common with "Abbey Road".
Badfinger had grown into an albums-band, and this album really works as a whole, especially the original side 2 which features two very succesful medleys. The album opens with Pete's very powerful Just A Chance and with Mike's light and catchy You're So Fine song by Joey and Pete - once again Mike proves himself as a competent songwriter. Know One Knows is another powerful melodic rocker by Pete - I love the Japanese voice that meddles with leadguitar part. The first side closes with another grand production which characterizes most of the album; Pete's Dennis written to his step-son. Besides the two medleys side two features Tom Evans' King Of The Load ( one of my favourite Tom Evans songs) and Joey's quiet Love Time. No singles were released from the album; this was a period when hit-singles didn't matter much to the progressive/ambitious bands. Just a Chance or Know One Knows might have been able to make the charts with the right promotion, though none of them have obvious hit-potentials.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2008
Nothing short of a pop/rock masterpiece. In my opinion, the band's best album. Unfortunately it was overlooked by just about everyone and received very little or no airplay in the US during a time when airplay was crucial to an album's sales and success.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 1999
This is the last Badfinger album to feature the classic lineup of Pete Ham, Tom Evans, Mike Gibbins, and Joey Molland. The quality of material found in this collection rivals and sometimes surpasses that found on the better-known "No Dice" and "Straight Up." Pete Ham is in fine form on "Know One Knows," "Just A Chance," and "Dennis." The Gibbins-penned "You're So Fine" is a real treat and the rip-roaring "Meanwhile Back At The Ranch/Should I Smoke" is a grand finale to an album that will leave you breathless.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.