Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Horror Film From Korea: Atmospheric And Suspenseful!
I picked up this DVD, "Bunshinsaba," along with about 14 other Korean and Japanese DVDs a few years ago when one of the Asian Video stores where I lived was relocating and having a bargain sale. All were new and in packaging: And since I never saw any of these horror films, and the price was great, I decided to purchase them. I don't regret it one bit. This is a very good...
Published on January 29, 2007 by Ernest Jagger

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'M GOING TO LIGHT YOUR HEAD ON FIRE
Yu-Jin is the new girl in school and gets picked on. Along with two other girls, they invoke curse 29, a spirit that Yu-Jin is in contact with. Yu-Jin gets possessed by the spirit which who gives her a cloudy set of contacts, memory blackouts, and a bad hair day. Soon the bullies start to kill themselves by setting their head on fire. The town goes crazy as the spirit of...
Published 7 months ago by The Movie Guy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Horror Film From Korea: Atmospheric And Suspenseful!, January 29, 2007
By 
Ernest Jagger (Culver City, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Witch Board (Bunshinsaba) (DVD)
I picked up this DVD, "Bunshinsaba," along with about 14 other Korean and Japanese DVDs a few years ago when one of the Asian Video stores where I lived was relocating and having a bargain sale. All were new and in packaging: And since I never saw any of these horror films, and the price was great, I decided to purchase them. I don't regret it one bit. This is a very good film. I have seen my share of Korean and Japanese horror films, and think that the director, Byeong-ki Ahn, who also directed Nightmare [aka: Gawi] and "Phone" did an excellent job with this film. First of all, it was very different from many in the horror genre in terms of suspense and creepiness.

Some of my friends do not particularly care for this film, therefore, I would suggest you rent the film first. But I do think it is well worth the purchase. And although there are similar traits in this film as with other Asian horror films, this does not detract from the film one bit: due to the fact that this film is very well acted and directed. There is not too much scare factor in this film, [although it does have its share] as much as there is suspense. The film begins with a bullied classmate at an all-girls school named Lee Yu-jin (Se-eun Lee). Being fed up with the constant harassment, she decides to put a curse on the other girls who are picking on her. Moreover, two of her friends participate in this activity. They make a special numberboard; and after chanting the name 'Bunshinsaba' a few times, the curse is in effect.

The girls who were picking on them begin to die. A sort of self-suicide, as each student sets themselves on fire on different days. As these students begin to die one by one, the film veers towards another area at the school: The administration. It appears that the principal and his entire staff, along with the people of this town have been covering up a terrible deed from long ago. Yu-jin does not realize that a student was killed over 30-years-ago [no spoilers] and her name was Kim In-suk (Yu-ri Lee). Also, (Yu-ri Lee) did a very convincing role in her part. Plus, there is something peculiar with the new teacher in class, Lee Eun-ju (Gyu-ri Kim). There is more to her than meets the eye. The ghostly haunting and revenge in the film is great, and the conclusion is very good. If you like Asian horror, then I recommend this film highly. [Stars: 4.5]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Creepy- good plot!, January 26, 2007
By 
This review is from: Witch Board (Bunshinsaba) (DVD)
I liked this film. It kept my attention, and the plot wasn't as confusing as other Asian films. "Bunshinsaba," however, is just like most of the Asian films circling around today. The CREEPINESS (not so much the plot) is very similar to "The Ring," and the "The Grudge," amoung others. But it works! No matter how many times I see movies with a female ghost and long black hair in her face, who walks funny and suddenly appears right behind you--- it still freaks me out! I also enjoyed the film, because although it is horror, it was also very sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Spooky Ghost-Vengeance Tale..., April 29, 2013
This review is from: Witch Board (Bunshinsaba) (DVD)
Bunshinsaba, or Witch Board, follows Yoo-Jin and her friends after they set a curse on their bullies. During the Bunshinsaba curse, Yoo-Jin opens her eyes, despite giving the warning herself, causing the ghost to possess her. It's a bit more complicated, but for the sake of this review's length I'll leave it a that. Bunshinsaba is a spooky ghost vengeance tale.

The story is very creepy and effective, using jump-scares, tension, and disturbing imagery wisely. It does have a rough start, but eventually smoothens out and becomes easier to follow. It's consistent, as in it's a balanced story that doesn't solely rely on one type of scare and it moves at an acceptable pace. The ending of the film was also creepy. It really is a scary film, although it is similar to other ghost-revenge stories from the region. The acting was great, and so was the music. The visual effects/make-up was also creepy and effective.

Overall, Bunshinsaba is a creepy supernatural horror film, with great jump-scares and eerily disturbing imagery. I recommend a purchase for fans of horror, and a rental otherwise.

Bunshinsaba has strong violence and blood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story line!, July 16, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Witch Board (Bunshinsaba) (DVD)
This is korean horror at it's finest. The plot is good. The acting is good and the story line moves at a fast pace with little scary suprizes. It has a classic revenge theme featuring some young (and rather attractive) korean females which I thought was just fantastic! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I'M GOING TO LIGHT YOUR HEAD ON FIRE, May 23, 2014
This review is from: Witch Board (Bunshinsaba) (DVD)
Yu-Jin is the new girl in school and gets picked on. Along with two other girls, they invoke curse 29, a spirit that Yu-Jin is in contact with. Yu-Jin gets possessed by the spirit which who gives her a cloudy set of contacts, memory blackouts, and a bad hair day. Soon the bullies start to kill themselves by setting their head on fire. The town goes crazy as the spirit of seat #29 that of Kim In-suk (Korean for Carrie?), who was killed 30 years ago finds her way back.

The film didn't seem to scary. A young girl with smokey contacts making people off themselves. It has its moments, but there are better Tokoyo Shock films out there for the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Calling on Wtichboard Demons, February 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Witch Board (Bunshinsaba) (DVD)
Be careful what you want, you will surely get it. Three girls conjure up a demon using the witchboard. The school girl bullies die cruelly one by one, but the demons don't stop. The three girls are next. Are Korean high schools so bad girl's need to call on demons to exact revenge. Wouldn't a transfer be as effective?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Creepiness without blood and guts., October 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Witch Board (Bunshinsaba) (DVD)
The acting is really good and in this dubbed version the voice acting is great, there is only one girl who’s voice seems a bit off. Witch board is a story of the typical “bully and the misfit”. A young girl is shy and happens to be new at a school in a mountain village, so she becomes the prime target for a click of social queens who decide to bully her at school, after school, and on random encounters around the village. It just so happens that a similar incident happened in the town many years ago that led up to the mysterious death of a girl that use to go to school there. The new girl gets tired of all the crap and decides to call upon a curse. The curse once invoked will punish all the people who’s names are on the “Bunshinsaba” by slow-painful death. The ghost is creepy, but don’t expect a huge scare and scream viewing. The story has a mystery that is unraveled, the story is creepy, but not full of gore. A nice haunting tale that will give you that eerie feeling without causing night mares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars OMG, August 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Witch Board (Bunshinsaba) (DVD)
I watched this with my younger sister and she was sooooo scared! LOL. The acting is surprisingly good in this one. I didn't find it as scary as my sister did--she scares easily--but, I still think it was worth purchasing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great movie on a moonless night., March 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Witch Board (Bunshinsaba) (DVD)
From the same director as Nightmare and Phone comes Witchboard. A very good movie for the creepy atmosphere. A story of classmate torment and the resultant unholy spirit revenge that always goes too far. I am a big fan of the Asian horror genre and this is a great movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oh Yes!, January 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Witch Board (Bunshinsaba) (DVD)
Part of that great Whispering series. Incredible acting by all the players in this deeper than most Psychological Horror flick.
Will not run over the plot...it is always the same. The talent is in how they put a different spin on an old story...Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Witch Board (Bunshinsaba)
Witch Board (Bunshinsaba) by Ahn Byung-Ki (DVD - 2006)
$9.98 $6.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.