Automotive Deals Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
53
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 14, 2011
Just finished reading Witch Hunt by Devin O'Branagan via Kindle. If you haven't read this book yet, get YOUR copy now! This book is a hard one to put down. The author takes you through generations of blood witches starting before the Salem Witch Trials to the "modern witch hunts". And she (the author) takes you through countless emotions, from tearful joy to outrageous fear and morbid terror, and many surprises along the way. The story is not predictable, which I like (which is why, for me, this book is a page-turner)! I really liked the way Ms. O'Branagan changed the time and scenery ~ seductively pulling me in for yet another chapter at midnight when I should be catching my z's ~ in every other chapter that lead up to the ending of the story, which was the most surprising and shocking for me. Great story/subject!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2011
When I picked up this book I was looking for a great supernatural thriller.... Here's what I liked about this book. I loved how the author didn't repeat details over and over again as some authors do. This book has well written characters. I loved Craig Hawthorns witty humor and Rose's in-dependency and strength. Witch Hunt offers a fantastic story line with lots of twist and turns. It's too bad that Mrs. O'Branagan didn't feel that this alone made this book stand out. Here's what I didn't like....This book has entirely way too many sex scenes, not one chapter goes without lurid details. I am not a prude by any means, it just became too over the top. I wasn't looking to read a trashy porn. I reached my limit when she used the word "incestuous" to describe one of these little tryst GROSS. And if that wasn't enough she added a rape scene of a pregnant teenager. I wished other reviewers had mentioned that in their review before I bought this one. I would never recommend this book to teens or young adults. The ending was just plain stupid and of course the author couldn't pass the opportunity to add just one more sexual scene. For that I can only give this book 2 stars.
33 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2011
"Do you want to find out who witches have been in history; what type of people they were likely to be? Do you want to know in our recent history what witches have faced? Are you interested in what the future might hold for witches?
Witch Hunt can help you travel through time and back again for answers to those questions. If you've had any of these questions, you won't be able to put it down!
I have waited a lifetime for someone to truly *understand* the nature of witches, who witches are, what may lie in their souls, what matters to them. Sure Witch Hunt is a novel and not another How-To book. That's why it works.
Let your imagination soar with magic and come live under the skin of a witch; know her, understand her.

Witch Hunt just went to the top of my suggested reading list.
Grab your broom and go with this one! You'll tell everyone you know to read it, too.
What a gift this book was to me.
Thank you Devin,
Sabrina
The Ink Witch"
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2015
After a decade of marriage, Leigh Hawthorne learns that she has married into a family of witches. When a firebrand, Preacher Cody, starts a global witch hunt, Leigh is forced to take sides – she must choose between her family, or running for her life.
When Leigh decides to stand by her family, witches and all, the battle is well and truly joined.
Witch Hunt, book 1 in the Witch Hunt series by Devin O’Branagan, is a chilling look at what can happen when people’s emotions are manipulated by external forces. The author paints a frightening portrait that could very well be of some of our current-day politicians in Preacher Cody. A book that is part paranormal, part political thriller, Witch Hunt will cause your blood to run hot and cold by turns as the author takes you on a journey that you’ll not soon forget.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2010
Posted December 30, 2010, 7:15 PM EST: Leigh married into the Hawthorne family without being told its biggest secret. They are all hereditary witches. She finds out when her young son goes into a trance like state and starts talking about modern witch hunts. Now she has to deal with her husband's family and make a choice that will alter her life forever. Does she stand with the witches or take her children and run? Witch Hunt follows the Hawthornes through history, focusing on several instances where the family of witches have had to deal with some extreme hardship and face eradication. The historical parts of the novel are well researched and believable and the modern aspect is truly frightening. Could we have a modern day witch hunt? Let's hope we don't have to find out. I really enjoyed the book. The story is solid, the characters believable, though not all of them are likeable and the writing is clean.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I always like reading books that are about the Salem Witch Trials and witches in general. So when I read the description for Witch Hunt I knew I had to read it. I love how Witch Hunt goes from present to past filling us in on the lives of the Hawthorne family. We get to read about witch trials in 1692 all through the years up until present day. We get to read about the Hawthorne family and all the things that they lived through and all the things that they lost or gained in their lifetimes.

In present day Craig Hawthorne's father and brother was killed in a plane crash. Craig is taking his wife, son and daughter home to his mother's for their funeral. Craig and his family are witches but his wife, Leigh has no knowledge of this. Craig moved away from his family a long time ago.

There was a preacher, an evangelist on the plane with Craig's father and brother. This evangelist, Preacher Cody was so afraid that he was going to die that he didn't even help his wife or daughter try to escape all he was worried about was himself. His wife called for him over and over. She just kept repeating his name but he wouldn't listen to her. Craig's brother and father starting chanting some spell that save Preacher Cody, his wife and their baby's lives. But Preacher Cody saw a way to become famous and put his name in the papers and on tv. So he saw evil in what Craig's brother and father did for him and everyone else on the plane.

Preacher Cody called them witches and had the whole town out helping him to prove that the Hawthornes were witches and that they need to be punished for their evil doings. But the Hawthornes are not evil people they are good and decent human beings and would not cause harm to anyone.

Why do people look at others and judge them just because they are different than them or they don't believe the same way that they do? Why can't they get to know that person to find out what in his their heart? Just because someone doesn't believe in the same things as you do doesn't mean they are cruel and evil people. It definitely doesn't mean you are going to be mean to them or hurt them.

I really loved reading Witch Hunt as I said before I love reading books about witches. I loved all the characters in the book. But I wasn't too fond of Preacher Cody I mean here he is claiming to be a child of God and look what he does to the Hawthorne family. Isn't a preacher, a child of God supposed to love all creatures? What was he doing? He was playing God judging these people. When he probably had more evil in his heart than they had in their little finger. Look at what he did to his wife and baby on the plane. How he explained that to her I don't even know. How could she stay with him and pretend it didn't happen the way it did? I don't even want to know what went through this man's mind. Because if I did then that would make me just like him and in no way do I ever want to be like that. How can anyone claim to be a child of God and want to hurt people like that? I just don't get it.

Enough of me ranting and raving. If you like reading and learning about the Salem Witch Trials then you would love Witch Hunt. It is well worth the price you would spend on it. And I honestly don't think you would regret it. So why don't you go on over to Amazon and get your own copy and start reading it today. Just click on the Amazon link below to pick up your copy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2015
I'm usually not so eager to read any "Book 1" in a series without knowing a little something about the author but I'm glad I took a chance with this one. I've not read anything by O'Branagan prior to this but I'll be sure to pick something up in the future especially if it's in this series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2014
Intelligent, thrilling and compelling, I was placed under a spell by this novel! Smooth transitions through time and generations are punctuated by spine-tingling notes like a hot touch on a cold arm. History, folklore, ancient wisdom, the layers of religions and spirituality all meld and dance, gyrate into a thing made new like an uncharted philosophy here in this exciting novel! The explorations of prejudice, egotism, hatred and fear are wise, but never dull. We are always living on the edge of falling prey to the ignorance of those qualities of humanity, but here is a literate example of the beauty of defending family and future generations and incarnations. I wait eagerly to see what else is contained in this author's carpetbag of magical treasures!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2012
This book made me weep, shake in fury, and laugh - not necessarily in that order. The overwhelming thought I had when I finished was that history does indeed repeat itself, and in this day and age of modern witch hunting, the scenario as depicted in the book is definitely plausible. The characters are well-fleshed out, eccentric and flawed - just like everyone I know :D!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2015
I absolutely loved this book!

What do you do when you find out that the family you married into isn't exactly what you thought, that they are hereditary witches? What about finding out that your children are witches too? What if a large part of your new family would never accept you because you weren't of magic blood? Leigh Hawthorne feels like her world has been turned upside down when she finds herself in exactly this situation.

We've all heard about how horrible the witch hunts were long ago---so many people tortured and killed. What if it was all about to start again? What if it was your family right in the middle? Would you stay and fight for them or would you run?

Discover what Leigh does and good luck putting this book down once you've started. I promise you won't want to stop until you've finished, and you will still want more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.