Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic
I first saw this in the movie theatre circa 1987, and it has always been one of my favorite movies. Watching it again 20 years later, I can see that it hasn't lost any of its magic. The DVD contains a "making of" feature that's interesting, as well as commentary by the director/writer and producer.

The plot is pretty simple. The opening scene is a party, where...
Published on February 22, 2008 by Pugmom

versus
12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.99 STARS: "Hey, I don't talk to cardboard." -Jim
"Witchboard" is better than many people think. Is it a classic? Well, maybe not, but if it's not in the elite of the horror movie genre, it's clearly one of the better ones. You've got: some great/fantastic kills, a witchboard which is a transmitter to ghosts and demons and ultimately a window for possession of one of the main characters by a demon named Malfador...
Published on May 20, 2005 by HorrorMan


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, February 22, 2008
This review is from: Witchboard (DVD)
I first saw this in the movie theatre circa 1987, and it has always been one of my favorite movies. Watching it again 20 years later, I can see that it hasn't lost any of its magic. The DVD contains a "making of" feature that's interesting, as well as commentary by the director/writer and producer.

The plot is pretty simple. The opening scene is a party, where someone suggests playing with a Ouija board. Not surprisingly, a spirit is contacted, and strange things began to happen. Tawny Kitaen, the main character, becomes "addicted" to the board and is soon possessed by an evil spirit. The ending is well-done and really cool. The acting from all of the characters is top-notch, and the effects are good. One of the best things about the movie is the actors make it work, making you care about the characters. Also, there are numerous "jumps" or "scares" that keep you on the edge of your seat throughout the movie.

Definitely a must-see for any horror fan, especially of supernatural-themed horror.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.99 STARS: "Hey, I don't talk to cardboard." -Jim, May 20, 2005
By 
HorrorMan "HM" (The Marsten House) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Witchboard (DVD)
"Witchboard" is better than many people think. Is it a classic? Well, maybe not, but if it's not in the elite of the horror movie genre, it's clearly one of the better ones. You've got: some great/fantastic kills, a witchboard which is a transmitter to ghosts and demons and ultimately a window for possession of one of the main characters by a demon named Malfador.

The acting in this movie is pretty good for a horror flick and I really thought the movie was well directed too. The characters are dynamic and there is good character development evident throughout the movie which is more than I can say for about 100% of today's trash coming out in theaters. Also, I really liked the plot and storyline. "Witchboard" is an imaginitive and creative horror movie which is based in large part upon a supernatural element involving an evil force is which is released through a Quija board.

It's much more difficult for a horror movie to be successful and effective based on supernatural subject matter as opposed to real life horror...the problem is that as a screenplay writer and director, you have to be able to sell this supernatural element to the audience or the movie is a total joke...in short, it's got to make sense at least as far as the imagination is concerned because even in the metaphysical, there has to be some rules, some logic that makes the story work and stimulate the viewer's mind. The directers and writers of "Witchboard" were successful in this area and that makes the movie scary, interesting and good.

The movie starts out at a party in which Linda's friend named Brandon brings a Quija board and they obviously have no idea what they are dealing with. Consequently, an evil and malevolent spirit is released which terrorizes and torments Linda ultimately to the point where it can possess her. It is up to Brandon and his rival Jim to stop this from happening.

I think "Witchboard" is very effective and successful as a supernatural and metaphysical horror movie. Frankly, I don't see any evidence of this "cheese" that other reviewers refer too. Of course, the viewer has to clear the mental hurdles and keep an open mind since the movie deals with the supernatural, but such is the case with any supernatural horror movie including "Halloween", "The Exorcist", "The Shining", "Salem's Lot" and "The Omen", all of which are classic horror movies. "Witchboard" is brilliant with its own logic and delivers the goods as a horror movie. No, the movie isn't terrifying, nor is it scary enough to be considered a horror movie classic and that's why it doesn't quite get four stars, but it's interesting and chilling enough to be a very solid horror movie which is quite effective on its own merits, strong in substance and quite elegant in style as well.

In short, "Witchboard" delivers an interesting storyline/plot, suspense which carries the viewer to and through the climax, a couple of great kills, solid characters and an evil and mysterious villain which is based in the supernatural. What more can you ask for in a good solid horror flick? I highly recommend "Witchboard" and I consider it a must own horror movie for the serious horror movie fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Makes you feel so good!!!, April 15, 2005
This review is from: Witchboard (DVD)
This is and will always be one of my most favorite movies of all time! My best friend John and I used to watch this movie when we were teenagers. "Mom Tina", who was John's Mom, worked at a local video store in Sturtevant, WI when we were growing up. Back then, mom and pop video stores were all the hype before the blockbusters and hollywood video stores came into being. John and I use to use the ouija board in his Mom's basement, strange things occurred...the TV shut off by itself, the lights flickered... it was a little scary, but yet we thought it was cool.

Watching Tawney Kitaen, in the Heavy Metal, Whitesnake videos, and knowing Stephen Nichols who played "Patch" on Days of our lives in the 80's...made it cool... For a long time Witchboard was not available at all, it was out of print, and I'm so glad that it has finally been made available on DVD. No matter how old or young you are, I highly recommend the movie! Witchboard 2 isn't bad either, a good sequel... There is also a Witchboard part 3, which isn't the best, but not a bad film... The original, of course, is by far the best!

Also, no one can get over Kathleen Wilhoite, who plays the cool, and layed back, "Zarabeth" the medium who tries to exorcise the spirits from "Jim and Linda's" apt. I could go on... but, I'll stop here... and say...

TTFN...

watch the movie and you'll know what I mean...

Don't play it alone!

haha ha... evil wicked laughter echoes in the distance...Malfeitor is waiting for you you to play!

"A cut above the rest" New York Post...

Tony in Wisconsin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fun palor game, or portal of the damned?, September 11, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Witchboard (DVD)
I think a good number of people have tried a Ouija (a combination of the French and German words for yes, Oui - Ja) board at least once in their lives, most likely when they were younger, as we're generally more open and accepting in believing in the supernatural possibilities inherent within the game. For those of you unfamiliar with it, it's a board inscribed with all the letters of the alphabet, numbers from 0 to 9, and the words yes, no, maybe, and good-bye. There's also a piece called a planchette, which is a movable three-legged device people would put their fingertips on, and then pose questions that would be answered by whatever supernatural elements may be around at the time, spelling out words or pointing to the words printed on the board. Do spirits actually move the planchette, sending messages from beyond the grave? No...the movements are really caused by unnoticeable, and usually unintentional, forces of the persons whose hands are on the planchette, and usually end up spelling out gibberish and unintellible words.

Witchboard (1985), written and directed by Kevin Tenney, presents the notion that the Ouija board is actually a link to supernatural, even a portal at times, and what happens when a particularly nasty spirit decides to try and make use of the portal. The film stars Tawny Kitaen (yes, the girl from the Whitesnake video), Todd Allen, who appeared in the very excellent western Silverado in the same year, and soap opera regular Stephen Nichols. As the film begins, we are in the midst of a party, hosted by Linda (Kitaen), and her boyfriend Jim (Allen). It seems to be going alright, although it seemed like there was something lacking from your typical 80's party, namely the cocainia...anyway, for some unknown reason, Linda has invited her old beau, Brandon (Nichols), and the tension soon rises between Brandon and Jim, as they used to be best friends, and Brandon blames Jim for stealing Linda away from him...whether he did or not, we will find out later, but mostly this just established Linda as a real bonehead for not taking more care in making up the guest list. As a tension breaker, Linda suggests they play a game Brandon has brought, an Ouija board. Brandon, a true believer, claims to have contacted many spirits, and also claims it's all the real deal, and not some hokem pokem child's game. To prove it, he demonstrates the boards' power by trying to contact a deceased boy named David. Contact is made, but there are a few who aren't convinced, Jim being one, and he basically says it's all a bunch of hooey, which seems to agitate the spirit, and causes some unexplained phenomena included the popping of the tires on Brandon's car. As the guests leave, Brandon forgets to take his Ouija board, and so Linda starts using it by herself, which is dangerous as she soon starts acting strange as the spirit begins taking possession of her. Questions begin arise, after a couple of particularly gruesome death of a friend, regarding the true nature of the spirit, its' intentions, and its' true identity. Jim and Brandon manage to put aside their differences as they see changes within Linda, and fear she may be suffering from her contact with the unknown. Who is the spirit and what does it want? You'll find out...

This really isn't a bad little movie, as there seemed to be more emphasis on the suspense elements within the story rather than just a usual slasher picture that was so very common throughout the 80's. The direction was capable, much better than I would have though, considering this was Tenney's first film, although the script did suffer some fairly lame dialog. One thing I found highly annoying was the character of Jim and his constant use of the word `babe' when talking to his girlfriend Linda. The development of the characters was a bit weak, especially the point of Jim's inability to say the words, "I love you" to his girlfriend. His standard reply whenever she would speak the line was "I know you do". This hardly endears him to the viewing audience, but it does set up for him to profess his love later on, as he and Linda endure much by the end of the movie, and allows him to appear to have grown through the ordeal...it was just such an obvious plot device. Ms. Kitaen did better than I would have thought, as she does appear to possess a modicum of talent, and maybe with a stronger script, she might have come off better (there's even a brief nude shower scene). I felt a little disconnected from the story, as the protagonist was an invisible spirit throughout, whose motives were a bit murky until near the end. We finally do meet him, but I couldn't help think the movie would have benefited had he appeared sooner in the film. The plot does manage to stay on track through, avoiding major plot holes, and wraps up nicely with a less than shocking twist. It did plod along at more than one point, causing the film to run longer than I thought necessary, at a whopping 98 minutes. The worst part about the film was that of character Zarabeth, a medium, played by character actress Kathleen Wilhoite. You may remember her starring opposite Charles Bronson in the 1986 film Murphy's Law. I find her so completely annoying on so many levels.

The wide screen print here looks great and special features include a commentary track by the director and a couple of producers. Also included is a 23 minute `making of' documentary, a theatrical trailer, and a couple of TV spots. Finally, inside the case, is a mini reproduction of an Ouija board, complete with pointer. Anchor Bay does a great job with the release, so while the film is three stars, I am giving one extra for the overall release.

Cookieman108
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Redheads are nuts, June 29, 2009
This review is from: Witchboard (DVD)
At a party, a guest brings out a Ouija board, and they attempt to contact a spirit he knows. The spirit does appear, but it becomes apparent to the one who brought the Ouija board that this is an evil spirit that is impersonating his spirit, and despite warnings not to use the board alone, a woman uses it alone, and becomes harassed by the evil spirit, his goal to possess her so he can walk the earth again.

So, as a child I was exposed to many great horror movies of the 70's and 80's, and Witchboard was one of them. It always stuck out to me from all the other horror movies from that era. I couldn't really put my finger on it, but I always made a point of watching it when it was on TV. Now that I own Witchboard on DVD, I watch it all the time. If you're a fan of 80's horror movies, this is a must have movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What's all this "cheesy 80's horror" name calling??, September 21, 2005
This review is from: Witchboard (DVD)
Cheesy 80's horror?? hummmm??? what's good 90's horror?? Scream? I know what you did last summer, Jeepers Creepers!!! blah, blah, blah!! Some of the best horror flicks to ever come out were between the late 60's and late 80's. Sorry guys, the rest of the stuff you have now just doesn't make the "cut" and/or is ripped off from "80's cheeze". I wish you were born in that "cheezy era" because eventually the 90's and even 2010's (10"s) will be cheezy. At least we and our films had an identity and didn't have to be ok'ed by Ludicrous, P diddy, or 50 Cent...what a sad joke. Sorry.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic 80's horror, May 10, 2004
This review is from: Witchboard (DVD)
I'm very pleased this was finally released on DVD. Since it's release in 1987 it has been an underappreciated cult horror and
nearly impossible to find on VHS (found my copy at a pawn shop).
Transfer to DVD will no doubt be crystal clear, something my VHS
lacks, and it will capture new fans as well. If your cup of tea is witchcraft, or eighties horror, or just horror in general, I recommend you check this out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent 80's cheese, September 3, 2004
By 
Matthew King (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Witchboard (DVD)
I first started watching horror as a youngster in the mid-to-late eighties and "Witchboard" is one of those films that holds a special nostalgic place in my heart. The craze back in those days was the slasher film and innumerable amounts of such movies made it into my VCR. But despite being released in the middle of the slasher craze Witchboard dared to be different, a supernatural horror film involving witchcraft through a Ouija board. This one hit especially close to home since in those days me and my friends would often gather into our basements with a Ouija board of our own, in a vein attempt to conjure spirits of the dead. Finally, this 80's gem sees a release on DVD (complete with a pullout mini ouija board) thanks to Anchor Bay, who have also just released the equally excellent 80's classic "Night of the Demons."

Guests at a house party for 30-somethings start fooling around with a Ouija board and conjure up the spirit of "David" a 10-year old who died in a tragic boating accident. The day after the party, Linda begins experimenting with the board on her own in an attempt to learn more about the spirit of David. As it turns out, using the Ouija board alone is a big no-no and soon Linda finds herself being stalked and terrorized by the spirit inside of the Ouija board. Her husband and a friend take a drive to the town where David died to try to uncover the reasons for the spirit's hostility towards Linda. But as the two soon find out, David is not the only spirit communicating through the Ouija board...

"Witchboard" is a horror film that relies more on suspense than gore or a high body count. The first half of the movie has a slow pace, although it still manages to entertain. This is a movie that is unabashedly eighties: the clothing, the hairstyles (Mullets for the guys, Cindy Lauper do's for the gals), a punky-looking psychic chick and some kicking heavy metal music. Ah, the joy. Where the movie picks off is when the two guys go on a roadtrip into the town where the spirit of David died. The action picks up and builds to an exciting climax featuring a demon with a Linda Blair type of voice-over. The acting is not great by any stretch but it's not horrible either. It's refreshing to see an eighties horror film that doesn't focus on horny teenagers as fun as that can be, and instead has a cast comprised exclusively of adults who try their best to look serious despite the ridiculous premise. With the death of VHS, movies like these have become very hard to find and that's why I'm glad many studios have started re-releasing these movies for a new generation to enjoy. Kudos Anchor Bay!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you Anchor Bay, September 3, 2004
This review is from: Witchboard (DVD)
I received my DVD recently. In keeping with the theme of the movie, there is a large imprint of a planchette on the disk. There's a paper insert with the scene selections on one side and a Ouija board on the other with a little planchette that can be removed to play the game.

Five stars go to Anchor Bay for their time and effort on this DVD. Now how about "Witchboard 2", "Witchtrap", and "Pinocchio's Revenge"?

"Witchboard" is a noteworthy movie from the 80s, revolving around an evil spirit that passes through a Ouija board and possesses a young woman.

This DVD is an excellent addition to my collection. Once again, thank you Anchor Bay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Witchboard on 2-Disc Blu-ray/DVD Combo, January 30, 2014
This review is from: Witchboard (BluRay/DVD Combo) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Witchboard scared the hell out of me as a kid. It still retains its charm with a great cast and moody music. Tawny Kitaen stars as Linda Brewster and Malfeitor is still one of my favorite horror movie villains. The picture quality is great and the audio quality is fairly good. Special features include a new audio commentary and new interviews with the cast and crew. My only complaint is that there could have been even more supplements for this cult classic but overall fans will be pleased with this release.

Video Resolution/Codec: 1080p/AVC MPEG-4 | Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1
Audio Formats: English DTS-HD Master Audio Mono
Subtitles: English

Special Features:
* New Audio Commentary With Writer/Director Kevin S. Tenney and Actors Stephen Nichols, Kathleen Wilhoite And James Quinn.
* Audio Commentary With Writer/Director Kevin S. Tenney, Executive Producer Walter Josten And Producer Jeff Geoffray
* New Interviews With Kevin Tenney, Tawny Kitaen, J.P. Luebsen, James Quinn, Walter Josten, Todd Allen And More.
* Theatrical Trailer
* TV Spots
* Still Gallery

Buy this Blu-ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Witchboard (BluRay/DVD Combo) [Blu-ray]
Witchboard (BluRay/DVD Combo) [Blu-ray] by Kevin Tenney (Blu-ray - 2014)
$26.99 $18.96
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.