Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, October 16, 2011
This review is from: With Child (Hardcover)
This book is magnificent! With Child is a photographic study of pregnancy and the relationship between the newborn and mother. The visual images in With Child are stunning, displaying the beauty of the human form with grace, sensuality and strength. More than just a coffee table book, the book captures the beauty of the human form in pregnancy. Being a father myself, this book brings me back to the early days when my wife and I celebrate our own daughter's birth. I would highly recommend buying this gorgeous book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, May 9, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: With Child (Hardcover)
Schatz has assembled one of the most spectacular tributes to women's beauty. This collection dedicates itself to impending mothers at their most impending moments - and then, usually, in the moment just after. Most two-page spreads feature the young women at her most gravid moment on one page, then her child (or children) on the next.

Drama inheres in the pregnant body. Her form transforms in the most obvious way. Subtler changes tranform her too. Her breasts prepare themselves to nourish. Her hormones tranform her skin. Her navel tranforms in ways that remind me (forgive me, please) of the popup thermometer that says "it's done." And, through all that, the woman remains herself - just herself with more.

Photographing these women and infants brings out all the best in Schatz's abilities. I never realized that he had medical training, but his attention to bodies' details shows that. And, his impartial delight in all of a woman's tranformations comes through, too. Changes in her skin, body hair, coloring, and other details all appear with clinical appreciation and artistic precision.

I've enjoyed other of Schatz's photo collections before. I enjoy this more than any other.

-- wiredweird
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, November 19, 2012
This review is from: With Child (Hardcover)
I have had the honor of reviewing Howard Schatz' photographic book entitled "WITH child".

Schatz' study of the pregnant form spans 20 years and includes stunning black and white photographs of pregnant women, new mothers, and their infants. He is a genius of lighting, texture, and form - creating awe-inspiring, breathtaking works of art from the human canvas. The captured images are dramatic, sometimes soft and pure, sometimes unnerving, other times dark, always powerful.

Graceful, pure, powerful, primitive, goddess... these are all words that came to mind while flipping through the pages. He captures dancers, acrobats, performers, and the everyday woman. They are frozen in time in leaps, struts, coy turns, full stretches, birthing squats, en pointe, curls, twists, and at rest. It is a celebration of form and beauty, bounty and miracle.

And then the infants are photographed. The circle is brought full as the newborns and, sometimes, their mothers, are photographed. The internal, sensual power becomes an outward expression of love and life. It is breathtaking.

I am so happy to have this book in my library to show other women. It truly shows what's 'inside'. Women who doubt their power, their ability, or their beauty. Women who need a reminder of the miracle that they are taking part in - they will be the ones who will find this work most powerful. Howard Schatz has done a remarkable job accomplishing a masterpiece en pages - this truly is a brilliant contribution to (wo)mankind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SCHATZ DOES IT AGAIN !, February 24, 2012
This review is from: With Child (Hardcover)
Howard Schatz is brave to pursue the theme of childbirth. It could have been commonplace and hackneyed. Instead, another eye-pleasing, mind-jolting, culturally-transcendant, deeply-satisfying, thoroughly-human engagement of form(s) and idea(s).

Also read Vicki Goldberg's insightful essay, "Pregnant with Meaning." I especially like Howard's question posed in Goldberg's Foreword: "What can the pregnant body be while it remains itself?" A provocative query for the serious exploration of anything which attracts the photographer's attention.

I also enjoyed the narrative on the iconic Demi Moore photograph by Annie Leibovitz, and its impacts on art, advertising, and popular culture. Hard to believe that was more than 20 years ago. As an art historian I appreciated the refrences to Magritte and Lachaise. Made me think of Edward Steichen and his cucumbers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A gorgeous portrait of motherhood, November 16, 2011
This review is from: With Child (Hardcover)
This gorgeous and moving book dramatically captures the beauty of pregnancy and the bond of mother and infant. The stunning photos are a powerful testament to the grace and ingenuity of the human body. Both a beautiful work of art and a celebration of the female form and it's powerful potential for life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars treasue, November 5, 2011
This review is from: With Child (Hardcover)
An intimate look into the ephemeral state of pregnancy. The photos in this book range from raw to refined--as varied as the subjects' bodies. Howard's photos make palpable the life ready to burst from these ripe bodies. And finally the babies! The miraculous reward at the end of the journey... Just the beginning! All captured in this treasure of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Looking at the body as sculpture, October 29, 2011
This review is from: With Child (Hardcover)
I found the book not only a photographic gem but compelling as a study of form and light. Many references in art history to the female body in it's fecund state. I recommend it. Linda B Horn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars With Child, October 27, 2011
This review is from: With Child (Hardcover)
Mind-blowing! Howard Schatz brings his extraordinary talents to what has been a recent cultural phenomenon - photographing naked pregnant women. But, as with his 17 other books. Howard's vision is a unique work of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent, October 25, 2011
This review is from: With Child (Hardcover)
Outstanding and astonishing- a presentation of the beauty of life. Usually hidden from public view, this photographic wonder displaying women during pregnancy and the beautiful babies (the result) was magnificent and educational. The sensitivity of Howard Schatz's work in his past books and photographic essays is internationally recognized. His choice to explore this topic is bold, unique and inspiring. Thank you for this wonderful work. We had to turn every page in this book before we could put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars With Child, October 23, 2011
This review is from: With Child (Hardcover)
Really a fantastic book. The images are spectacular and show off pregnancy in a totally unique way. Perfect gift for the mother-to-be. Plus, as a psychologist, I appreciate that this book will help women who may feel unattractive while pregnant. It is guaranteed to transform their self image.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

With Child
With Child by Howard Schatz (Hardcover - November 16, 2011)
$95.00 $63.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.