Start reading With God on Their Side on the free Kindle Reading App or on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.
OR
Read for Free
with Kindle Unlimited

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Enter a promotion code
or gift card
 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Sorry, this item is not available in
Image not available for
Color:
Image not available
 

With God on Their Side [Kindle Edition]

John Frye
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (10 customer reviews)

Kindle Price: $3.99
 
Kindle Unlimited Read this title for free and get unlimited access to over 700,000 titles. Learn More
Prime members can borrow this book and read it on their devices with Kindle Owners Lending Library.

Free Kindle Reading App Anybody can read Kindle books—even without a Kindle device—with the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets and computers.

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Kindle Daily Deals
Kindle Delivers: Daily Deals
Subscribe to find out about each day's Kindle Daily Deals for adults and young readers. Learn more (U.S. customers only)

Book Description

Virginia. 1865.

The southern states have joined together and formed the Confederacy.

Fighting against the abolition of slavery the Confederates are marching to meet Lincoln’s Unionists throughout Virginia, Maryland and Pennsylvania.

Among them is Brigadier General Page, a preacher in his hometown, who is drafted in to train the troops.

After a series of spectacular victories Page is praised for his heroics but as the death toll rises and bloodshed increases Page finds himself questioning his faith.

As he fights to protect those he loves and cherishes back home Page must reconcile his faith with his bloody profession or risk losing himself in the process.

‘With God On Their Side’ is a thrilling historical drama set amid the turmoil of the American Civil War. Fast-paced and brilliantly researched, it is sure to have you on edge of your seat from the first to the last page.

It is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Charles Frazier.

'A classic Civil war story that is both moving and memorable." - Tom Kasey, best-selling author of 'The Dante Conspiracy'.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.


Product Details

  • File Size: 2433 KB
  • Print Length: 361 pages
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd. (September 2, 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00EYFEGV6
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #417,971 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just Does Not Live Up to the Promise of Its Title January 2, 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I am a huge student of the Civil War. I own more than one hundred books (fiction and non-fiction) on the topic, a fact that my wife tolerates but only sort of understands. I think that there is something to be learned in well-researched historical fiction as well as the history texts because excellent historical fiction has the ability to place the reader in someone's shoes at the moment.

Taking on the topic of the Civil War in historical fiction can be a thankless undertaking - misstate the caliber of a weapon and the purists are all over you. Go on about slavery too much and the revisionists are after you. Fail to mention it at all and everyone else is after you. I thought Frye did just fine with all of those aspects in this book. I read nothing that did not seem correct as far as the details went.

The book is about a Confederate General named William Page. Page is an expert in artillery and attended West Point before he became an Episcopal minister. He has a keen interest in the politics that led to the war but he has serious doubts about the role of a minister in the army. Eventually, he is pressured by his friends and neighbors into becoming their officer when they join up and he has great success at the the First Battle of Bull Run/Manassas.

Page seems to be very decisive in that battle but, in reality, he has much more in common with Union General George McClellan - he is easily spooked, overly concerned about protecting his guns rather than using them and is a genius at training and organization and a disaster at the actual business of war. He seems to be loosely based on an actual Civil War figure - William N.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It Felt Like I was There! October 16, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
John Frye's "With God on Their Side" took me back in time to the Civil War, and I felt I was there with the characters, many of them historical figures we've read about in the history books. In particular, I was impressed by an Episcopal priest who left his pulpit to serve as an artillary officer for the Confederacy. He had graduated from West Point before feeling called by God to walk a different path, then returned to serve in the military when called to protect his family, home, and the life he knew from an invading enemy.

General Page was torn in many directions, from his aversion to killing other human beings to his staunch beliefs about protecting the life he knew and believed in. As a man of God, the carnage of war sickened him, but he truly felt that God was on the side of the South, and he carried out his duty in what he felt sure was a just cause. The story of this man and his family, the officers and soldiers he served with, and his faithful slave who served at his side all through the war truly brought history to life for me. I highly recommend it.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Story That Brings History to Life. November 7, 2014
By GB
Format:Kindle Edition
Enjoyed this book very much! Having read a fair amount of Civil War history, the author's approach brought the stories to life through the use of memorable characters in very human situations who provide a variety of view and reactions to the country at war. In particular, I liked the 'Wilson' , the slaved owned by the main character 'Page'. Wilson provides a point of view seldom found in stories from this period, as he is conflicted about his role as a slave, his desires to be free and his loyalty to Page, his master. The recounting of some of the major battles in Virginia and Maryland are highly accurate. However, they are not center stage to the story line. Rather, they provide the background, the setting and the underlying conflict that drives the story about the people who are caught up in the conflict of war, destruction and slavery. The main character, Page, is divided between what he believes is the righteous position of the Confederacy and his growing despair at the ever increasing toll of war.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read October 24, 2013
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
One of my favorite subjects is the civil war so I really enjoyed this story. Gen Page and Wilson were very good characters that I enjoyed.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book December 28, 2014
By tanner
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I would recommend this book to anyone on earn.
I like the characters an the overall story of the page family.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?

More About the Author

John H Frye was born in Alabama, to a family with a southern heritage, but roots that go back to New England prior to the Civil War. He spent his childhood in Pennsylvania and moved with his family to Tennessee, following World War II.

In Tennessee, he became interested in writing, turning out several short stories during high school summer vacations and shipping them off to the popular magazines of the day.

After graduation from college, he served almost three years on active duty in the Army and then attended Vanderbilt University School of Law. In 1965, he came to Washington where he engaged in private law practice until 1973, when he joined the Nuclear Regulatory Commission as counsel to its judges. He became a judge in 1981.

At the NRC, he heard controversial cases concerning nuclear power plants. In 1992, he joined the judges at the Occupational Safety & Health Commission, where he presided over trials in which OSHA sought to levy fines on employers. He has received numerous awards for his legal service.

His first novel, The Seventh Trumpet, was published in 2001, and his second, The Scoundrel and the Spy, in March, 2008. Both were well received and have generated much interest in his just finished his third novel, Underwood. He is now hard at work on his fourth.

In addition, John H Frye has published in the Washington Post, The Yale Angler's Journal, and numerous legal journals. He resides with his wife, Ethel, in Frederick, Maryland, and Reedville, Virginia.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Look for Similar Items by Category