Your Garage botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer WienerDog WienerDog WienerDog  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars29
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 16, 2011
The Wizards of Wavely, Vol. 2: Supernaturally Stylin' is a very good series. All the actors do a great job of playing a loving family who are undercover wizards striving to create the happiest and most productive life for themselves. The plots to the episodes are well-developed, and it is very hilarious to see the characters of Alex Russo (played by Selena Gomez), Justin Russo (played by David Henrie), Max Russo (played by Jake T. Austin) use their magical abilities to get themselves out of situations that turn out more comedic than what they may have initially planned for. David DeLuise and Maria Barrera play their parents (Theresa and Jerry Russo). Jennifer Stone plays the best friend of Alex Russo (the fashion dynamo Harper Finkle). The episodes total out to 90 minutes. They were all so good to watch, that I only wish that there was more episodes added. My favorite episode was the final one where Alex, Harper, and her two brothers went on an adventure involving her magical journal (Alex's). One of the popular girls at Alex's school somehow found a way to get into Alex's journal (in the similiar spirt as the video to "Take On Me" by AHA). Alex and her brothers work together to get into the journal to try to stop the one popular female who managed to get inside her "magic journal". The "magic journal" contains many of Alex's secrets, and drawings that reveal alot about her. The person that is trying to obtain information from Alex's journal is trying to gather it to reveal her secrets to the whole school. The positive message of the "magic journal" episode is to be proud of who you are. I also found it interesting that the character of Alex Russo mentions in this episode what type of prom that she would like to attend. I say this only because I watched this dvd for the first time less than three hours ago (this dvd is from 2009). In addition, earlier in the evening I saw an episode (that was made in 2011) on the Disney Channel about Alex attending the prom that I saw before I even viewed the 2009 dvd, and saw the closing 2009 episode (on dvd) where the prom is mentioned. "The Wizards of Waverly" Place is such a unique and creative show on Disney (involving supernatural themes with magical and multidimensional characters) that it would be nice if more Disney shows were created similiar to the fashion of "The Wizards of Waverly". I highly recommend this dvd if you are into watching uplifting television that can be viewed by anyone, and that has magical and supernatural themes to it.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I happened to be flipping through the channels late one night and came across Wizards of Waverly Place. I new the show existed, but I never tried watching because I don't care today's kids series. After watching a few minutes I was hooked.

The episodes on the DVD are:

Credit Check
Smarty Pants
Beware Wolf
Graphic Novel

The problem I have with Disney releasing the series to DVD is that they never release full seasons. Typically, they release four to five episodes on DVD at a low price, which can make a great birthday or Christmas gift.
22 comments|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2012
Wizards of Waverly Place is an excellent series for kids of any age. There is a lesson to be learned in each episode and it is played out for us in a very wittingly and sometimes hilarious, enjoyable way.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2011
I did not expect to enjoy, appreciate or even feel anything but mild dislike for this show. I was proven wrong when I sat down to actually watch it. This show is aimed at the preteen and middle school population, and it shows in the dialog and the plots that revolve around good lessons. The devil and the genius of this show is in the details.

For once Disney has not given us a protagonist/heroine who is not a "good" girl who is simply learning how to be a better girl. Selena Gomez's character, Alex Russo, has a good heart and is intelligent, but she is also lazy, slovenly, deceptive, manipulative and a poor student. She is everything mischevious male teen characters have been on family sitcoms for years with viewer approbation, but girls have not been allowed to be. Her older brother is a nerd, but a nerd written by and for other nerds, which makes all the difference. Her parents are similarly imperfect creatures who love their children but are fully aware of their shortcomings. Alex's best friend, Harper, is an eccentric fashion disaster who sometimes seems to be living in her own private Idaho. (And props to the show for giving us a female character who is on the higher end of a normal body weight - not super skinny or massively overweight.) The only character who is not nuanced, at least in these episodes is the youngest brother Max, but the show may be forgiven this flaw - there are so many other, well developed character who more than fill the meager amount of time set for a sitcom that there isn't room in these eps to develop Max.

The setting and the mundane background of the show is a prop and nothing more. It is humdrum and ordinary and not extraordinarily well drawn because it does not have to be. Some of the production team of this show seems to be drawn from the team that gave us Stargate, a TV show that, as time went on, figured out that people did not care how perfect the props were, they were there for the story, and this lesson has carried over to Wizards, which is sheer genius. Instead of wasting precious moments explaining the humdrum, Wizards condenses, shortens the ordinary, because we know the ordinary, we don't need to be shown it.

It is in the introduction of the Wizard world that the production staff and writers show their genius. Word play put into action rules; in one episode in this set, Alex puts on a pair of "smarty pants" to answer difficult questions in a quiz bowl, a joke worthy of Rowling. In another episode, we are treated to the realization of personal fantasy that is unlike anything you will see anywhere else on TV - it could be a typical Disney teen gag, but somehow comes off a little skewed and odd, like everything else on this show.

This set isn't the best of Wizards: we don't get to visit the wonderfully insane Wizarding world where students go to Wiz Tech and not a British Public School (although they obviously buy their robes as the Universal Outlet the week after Halloween) or hear some of the best word plays (Like the Wizard Court which functions as both a Tennis Court and a Court of Law - a bit of nonsense worthy of Jasper Fforde). But it's a pretty solid set. You will come away from it thinking "it's a pretty good show" but may not understand why the entire oeuvre has garnered so many awards for excellence in children's programming.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2015
I love wizards of waverly Place please get a collection of all the seasons of wizards,of waverly place and I love Love Every witch way please,get wizards of waverly place and Every witch way collection of both on Blu-Ray I love both shows
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2012
This is a really fun dvd to watch. Wizards is a nice children show, and the dvd came brand new and works wonderfully
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2015
"Wizards" is currently on the Disney channel way after midnight, so my daughter now so appreciates being able to watch this video anytime she wants. Thank you, Amazon and retail friends!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2009
This is one of the best Wizards show i've seen that's good for kids too
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2013
My daughters love this movie and series. They have been watching it nonstop since Christmas Day!! Good price on the DVD as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2013
My daughter loved this show when it was on Disney Channel. I liked watching this show also. Selena Gomez is very talented.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.