Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Women's Cyber Monday Deals Week Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Indie for the Holidays egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Gifts for Her Amazon Gift Card Offer mithc mithc mithc  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage Cyber Monday Video Game Deals Shop Now HTL

Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$13.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on April 14, 2014
This is by far the best horror/slasher film I have seen so far this year and have a feeling it will make my top 5 of the year.In this sequel the action and gore start 10 minutes into the film unlike the first one where as it took almost an hour.It has one of the most brutal and realistic dismemberment scenes I have ever witnessed in a slasher film plus decapitations and the good ole "head on a stick trick".

Mick is at it again ,ridding Australia of "tourist vermin" and he let's no one get in his way,no one is safe from his vile actions.Whether he's in his hunting truck,stolen semi,horseback or on foot.

The original is a classic but I believe this will be as well.The pace of the film is perfect and we get a lot more action and a lot more kills and gore in this film.if your a slasher lover its not to be missed.
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on April 27, 2014
I first saw the original Wolf Creek in about 2010 and was absolutely amazed. I am not much of a fan of horror movies and never go out of my way to watch one but Wolf Creek was different.

Greg McLean's Wolf Creek 2 returns to follow xenophobic psychopath Mick Taylor as he hunts for new victims. Unlike the original WC, this sequel picks up on action immediately and it continues to pack in the drama all the way through. Much of action follows Paul, a British tourist as he runs from Mick.

The thing that I like about Wolf Creek 2 is that it is realistic. This isn't to say that it is accurate to history but rather that it is quite plausible. This alone makes it terrifying but adding in Mick's predatory character and you have an incredible film. The Aussie History scene between Mick and Paul brilliantly calls to mind Bilbo and Gollum's high-stakes game in The Hobbit. The realism may not be a soul-crunching psychological kind of some horror films but it's enough that I turned every light in my house on.

For the occasional horror movie watcher, this is a great pick as it will make you squirm and scream throughout. I'm just glad I watched it AFTER I got back from my backpacking trip to Australia rather than before.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on May 5, 2014
I was really looking forward to this flick. Wolf Creek was excellent and in my excitement, I forgot about sequels not being as good as the original (except in very rare cases) and my expectations were unjustly high. I had nowhere to go but down but that's my fault. The flick is fine, a must see for any self respecting horror fan. How could you pass up the opportunity to see some more Mick? In the first one, the bulk of the action revolved around 1 set of friends. Here, there are more unrelated people that are 'Micked' so the tension and suspense isn't as consistent or sustained throughout as the original. Once we get to the main protag, it settles on a decent level of tension throughout. There is a lot of atmosphere, in terms of the setting and use of rich horror visuals, once you arrive in Mick's lair. As usual, the outback is awesome. Rent it and just adjust your expectations as it is a sequel.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on April 19, 2014
Holy crap, I am absolutely amazed and thrilled to see a horror movie sequel that is actually GOOD instead of being not so great or even worse. Let's go back to Wolf Creek 1 when it was first released in 2005, this horror movie was actually an instant classic with true horror fans since this movie was not loved by all because I'm sure the non-horror fan audience was expecting more of a SAW like movie but what's so unique about Wolf Creek 1 is the fact that it is actually based on true events. Now Wolf Creek 2 has been getting a ton of great positive buzz from several people who saw the movie at festivals and such. I wanted to buy Wolf Creek 2 from Amazon but for some reason Amazon didn't allow anyone to rent the movie on 4/17 because it was nowhere to be found but I was easily able to find it on my living room television through the cable provider and rented it for $9.99 which includes 48 hour rental as well. Anyways, this movie delivered exactly what a horror sequel should be and I seriously hope directors/writers/etc are taking notes from the director Greg Mclean because he absolutely delivered. The best part about this sequel is that the director didn't rush because this sequel came out 9 WHOLE years after the first movie which is perfect. Honestly, I am not a fan of rushed sequels because even though the excitement is there but the actual film will most likely fail or even worse by going straight to dvd. I personally believe it's best to wait awhile before releasing a sequel because it can create more interest, more buzz and hopefully deliver a good film as well because by the looks of Wolf Creek 2 so far, it's been doing very well! I cannot wait for the 3rd movie if it ever happens and you will see what I mean after you watch this film! Once again, RENT THIS MOVIE! Please support this awesome horror movie for true horror fans since the horror industry is actually blowing up these days and it can be hard to get a decent horror film every now and then. Oh make sure you watch the first movie before you watch this one, trust me it's perfect! The best thing about this sequel is the lead character, Mick Taylor who is played by the talented John Jarratt since he absolutely delivers a truly horrifying performance!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on July 16, 2014
Done in a different style to the original film, I actually found the sequel to be more entertaining. It's not a big group of teen/early twenties backpackers being weeded down one by one, this time it's done a bit more like it happens in real life, one or two come across by the killer at a time. Being a movie there's obviously a couple of victims over a couple of days/nights but other than that sped up timeframe, that's what happens in the real world. In the real world a bus load size groups of kids going missing gets noticed and attention, and a lot of public pressure and police resources thrown at it, whereas a couple or a single traveller, by the time it's noticed they haven't been heard from, they could have disappeared from anywhere.

Mild spoilers - The movie claims to be based on real life events and one of the targets for the serial killer resembles the couple which resulted in the Peter Falconio disappearance where his girlfriend escaped to tell the story and ultimately the killer was convicted. There's also similarities to fictional tales such as there's a scene that pretty much follows the ending of the movie Duel. The isolated possible salvation house has been done numerous times before too. But that doesn't mean those unoriginal scenes don't make a fun horror movie in conjunction with the rest of the film.

I did find it surprising that they used a Rolf Harris song in a scene being that he's been recently convicted and jailed for crimes against children. Obviously the film would have wrapped up filming before that occurred but the accusations were around. Did they add that song to make the Mick Taylor character more creepy and his victim more intelligent for trying to lower the guard of his tormentor and bond with him by singing it in the first place knowing that Taylor would probably see Rolf as another predator?

Like most horror movies there are times when you yell at the screen at the stupidity of the victims, why are you doing that? Why aren't you running away? Why don't you just go off road since you're driving a jeep? Stuff like that, but I think this formula is in horror movies as yelling at the stupidity of the victims lets us think that if we were in this situation, we might survive. We might have a chance.

I understood what happened in the ending but not why it happened? That was the only major thing that let the film down overall.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
These Films Can’t Be Good For Australian’s Tourism

I can appreciate a quality horror franchise as much as the next bloke, but I honestly didn’t care all that much for the first installment of WOLF CREEK. The story was all well-and-good, though a bit limited to the premise of exploring how far one mad Aussie could essentially torture other people while maintaining the interest of a willing audience, but that was about it. To my delight, WOLF CREEK 2 is a better feature; it improves on the original in ways I honestly didn’t expect (including character development for Mick Taylor), and it works hard to establish exactly where writer/director/producer Greg McLean (along with others) could take the franchise.

But between the thuggish highway patrol cops, the constant reminder of torture, and the scenes of a semi-truck mowing down a herd of unsuspecting kangaroos, I can’t imagine any of this is good for tourism.

(NOTE: The following review will contain minor spoilers necessary solely for the discussion of plot and/or characters. If you’re the type of reader who prefers a review entirely spoiler-free, then I’d encourage you to skip down to the last three paragraphs for my final assessment. If, however, you’re accepting of a few modest hints at ‘things to come,’ then read on …)

From the product packaging: “Lured by the promise of an Australian holiday, exchange student Paul visits the notorious Wolf Creek Crater. His dream Outback adventure soon becomes a horrific reality when he encounters the site’s most infamous local, Mick Taylor (John Jarrat). When Paul attempts to flee, Mick pursues him across a hostile wasteland and eventually drags him back to his underground lair. After seeing the true magnitude of Mick’s monstrosity, Paul’s only hope of surviving, where no one has before, will be to use every ounce of cunning to outwit the man behind the monster.”

Well, you’ve come a long way from Crocodile Dundee, that’s for sure! The WOLF CREEK franchise is a solid modern-day entry into the stylish world of torture porn (though some may disagree with that assessment), the largest portion of the teeth coming from Jarrat’s portrayal of the snide and sneering Aussie with the worst attitude since MAD MAX. While his role in the first film (from what I recall) didn’t rely so heavily on one-liners, WOLF CREEK 2 certainly is banking on the comeback appeal crafting Mick into more of a bloody prankster than he was a vile, despicable villain in the first cinematic outing.

As far the WOLF CREEK 2 goes, it’s kinda/sorta uneven. It honestly felt like I was watching three short films that had been meshed into one single work; and – to complicate things – the tone of the three shorter works was wildly different, along with the quality. (For example, the product package’s synopsis implies that Paul is a main character … and that’s only true for the second half or maybe two-thirds of the motion picture. Clearly, he isn’t there from the beginning.)

The first segment – that involving Mick Taylor’s re-introduction for audiences as well as the vignettes involving the young German couple – had an 80’s throwback feel wherein it was far more important for the killer to have a crisp, almost anti-hero sense of humor (a wisecracking Freddy Krueger, without the glove). The second film focused on Paul’s taut captivity as the two men play an edgy, SAW-like battle of wits one against the other (my personal favorite and the creative highpoint of the film, I think). The last film – Paul’s attempted escape through the bizarre catacombs of Mick’s Aussie torture palace felt far too derivative of the vastly superior JEEPERS CREEPERS for me to enjoy it as much as I probably should have.

WOLF CREEK 2 (2013) is produced by Duo Art Productions and Emu Creek Pictures. DVD distribution is being handled by RLJ Entertainment and Image Entertainment. For those needing it spelled out perfectly, this is an English-spoken-language release; however, that first third of the film in subtitled as the two principles speak almost exclusively in German. As for the technical specifications? Bravo! Bravo, indeed! This is one smartly produced film, and director Greg McLean serves up some terrific sights and sounds consistently. Lastly – if it’s special features you want – you have a handful of deleted scenes (nothing all that grand) and a nearly hour-long documentary on the making of WOLF CREEK 2 that is quite good as it explores the ideas around building a horror franchise. Nice work!

RECOMMENDED. Hey, look: it’s a horror film, OK? This isn’t Shakespeare. WOLF CREEK 2 sets up a premise, and even while delivering on it the film manages to become a bit more than the sum of its parts (and there are plenty of parts, all of them bloodied). Don’t look for all of it to make perfect sense – how did Mick get from Point A to Point B so fast without a vehicle; how is it that Mick’s able to constantly figure out just where his victims have gone or are headed; why is it no one thinks to legitimately fight back; etc. – because those things aren’t the reasons why we watch horror films. You want to be scared? Try to imagine yourself thumbing a ride off Mick Taylor, and that’s all the scare you’ll need for two lifetimes, afterlife included.

In the interests of fairness, I’m pleased to disclose that the fine folks at RLJ Entertainment and Image Entertainment provided me with a DVD copy of WOLF CREEK 2 by request for the expressed purposes of completing this review; and their contribution to me in no way, shape, or form influenced my opinion of it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on June 26, 2014
This second installment kicks off with our villain Mick getting a speeding ticket out of his usual neck of the woods and comes out blazing with a sniper kill right off the bat. Mick is at it again and this time its a new set of backpackers that cross his path. The tension and kills are all white-knuckle moments that will leave you gasping. This sequel was even more brutal and fast paced than the first. If you like straight-forward thrillers or slashers I would highly suggest this film. It left me shocked and saying wow.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on June 1, 2014
Finally a creepy character you just want to run far away from .Even knowing running away from this lunatic would be a good idea you really want to fight back . This movie leaves you totally disturbed . Knowing this is based on a true story makes it even more scary . Totally heinous making it a good flick .
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on October 19, 2014
It's almost sad to say but this is probably the best horror movie sequel that I've seen in the last few years. So many horror sequels are given over to no-talent, 'never directed or even watched a horror movie' directors that try to do too much or too little. At least Greg McLean did what was needed and directed, co-wrote, and co-produced his own sequel. I loved the original Wolf Creek and it's probably one of the best horror films of the last decade. Wolf Creek 2 is not on that list but it's not bad for a sequel. It has plenty of action and gore and spends little, but enough, time with character development. Afterall, this is a horror movie, not an award bound drama. I recommend this movie to any fans of the first film but it's more of a rental than a buy. John Jarratt makes a great villain and the fact that his character is believable for being so simple just shows how good of an actor he is. He pulls it off flawlessly. Whether non-horror fans want to believe it or not, it does take talent to do a good job at portraying a horror movie villain. A large percentage of horror movies are worthless just because the bad guy is not good at being a bad guy. They often try too hard to be scary and therefore, aren't scary at all. Anyone that's seen Jarratt in other movies where he plays a completely different role can verify that he's a well-rounded actor, as well. Anyway, you should know by now if this looks like a movie for you or not. If you're into horror movies, check it out. It may not be the best movie you watch this year, but it won't be the worst either.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on July 21, 2014
There is a common misconception that Mick Taylor (John Jarratt) was a real person. In fact the character was created from the stories of Australia's most heinous criminals. While the crimes themselves are real, they were committed by a variety of people, not just one man. What made both films work, was the character of Mick Taylor, who while being a horrific serial killer, was still very likeable. Taylor is charismatic and most important of all very funny, and audiences in 2005 ate it up. After the success of the first film, a sequel was immediately planned, but put on hold due to the fact that some of the crimes portrayed in the film, were still being prosecuted in court. The legal issues delayed the film eight years and kept it out of theaters, which is a shame because it was better than the first and received almost no exposure. In the second installment of Wolf Creek, Mick isn't just torturing victims at his dungeon, he's chasing a man through the outback, and when they finally meet, they come to discover that they aren't entirely dissimilar from one another. Ryan Corr (Saw 3D) plays the runner and is just as witty and entertaining as Taylor himself. The chemistry between the too was terrific and gave the series a whole new dynamic, which elevated it to another level. Wolf Creek 2 is so much more intense and at the same time comedic, compared to the first film. It was definitely a risky move by Writer/Director Greg McLean, that really pays off. The Wolf Creek films are no different and no less predictable than any other slasher film. What makes them unique is a character that encompasses the personalities of multiple serial killers and gives the audience the rarest of bad guys, the one that you root for. Even if you don't like slasher films, you may enjoy John Jarratt's extremely strong performance and get a few laughs in between the carnage.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Wolf Creek [Blu-ray]
Wolf Creek [Blu-ray] by Kestie Morassi (Blu-ray - 2008)

Joy Ride 3: Roadkill [Blu-ray]
Joy Ride 3: Roadkill [Blu-ray] by Jesse Hutch (Blu-ray - 2014)

Wolf Creek 2, Cabin Fever Double Feature [Blu-ray]
Wolf Creek 2, Cabin Fever Double Feature [Blu-ray] by Brando Eaton (Blu-ray - 2015)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.