Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Start
Very interesting stuff. Wolf Parade shows great promise. For a band of only four, methinks they've already mastered a lush, layered sound.

Granted, this is only an EP. As a single, I'm gladly awarding five stars. I'm hoping they've saved some equally strong songs for the album, Apologies to Queen Mary.

There isn't any extraordinary variety in the...
Published on August 4, 2005 by Zeb Matteson

versus
15 of 83 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please enter a title for your review
Wolf Parade is like what would happen if you took all the worst parts of Franz Ferdinand and Interpol and left them out in the sun for a week to rot. And then took a dump on it. Wolf Parade is everything that is bad about dance punk distilled into band form. They're like that river of pink slime in Ghostbusters 2. I bet that's how Wolf Parade formed.
Published on August 10, 2005 by pancake_repairman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Start, August 4, 2005
By 
This review is from: Wolf Parade (Audio CD)
Very interesting stuff. Wolf Parade shows great promise. For a band of only four, methinks they've already mastered a lush, layered sound.

Granted, this is only an EP. As a single, I'm gladly awarding five stars. I'm hoping they've saved some equally strong songs for the album, Apologies to Queen Mary.

There isn't any extraordinary variety in the way the songs sound. Which isn't necessary, but definately a plus to see a band strive to reach different places within a release (usually there's more room for exploration in an LP, so I'm cutting them some slack on this one).

To be honest, they sound a little like a blend between Arcade Fire and Modest Mouse. Hah. Bet you didn't see that one coming. However, there is definately a uniqueness to their music, something that hopwfully they'll be able to capitalize upon in their developement as they find their own blend.

The guitar is a little grungy fuzzy wuzzy, which is personally how I like it. The keyboards add a great effect. Drumming is strong. It works very well (nothing that attracts attention to itself, but at the same time is a pleasure to single apart and listen to seperately). I personally can't hear much bass. Maybe I'm mistaken. But that too, also works for them, (and, coincidentally, the White Stripes, too, although they sound nothing alike).

From the first few listenings, I believe the non-LP tracks are around the same caliber of quality as the first couple. I expecially enjoy the strange turn Lousy Pictures takes towards the end.

Um... you should purchase this EP. Thanks.

It's really fabulous. Trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wolfy baby, November 19, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wolf Parade (Audio CD)
One of the more popular indie bands to emerge this year is Sub Pop's Wolf Parade. I heard rumblings about this band months before the "Wolf Parade" EP came out, allowing me to hear this energetic new fuzz-pop band.

It's certinly a good introduction for anyone who might be uncertain about this bands sound, letting them hear plenty of bang for their buck. And it's a good sound -- new wave synths laid over psychedelic fuzz, all dancey and most quite good.

It opens on a rather ordinary note, with a standard dancepunk vibe that quickly blossoms into a transcendant pop melody -- that's "Shine A Light." It's quickly followed by the bizarre "You Are A Runner, And I Am My Father's Son," an artier and less catchy song, made up of staccato bursts of percussion and synth, before sliding into chaos, then static. Wow.

"Disco Sheets" is a more fun song -- very new wave-retro, energetic and dancey, heavy on the synth and the handclaps. And finally the EP rounds off with another expansive fuzz song, bursting with exotic riffs and surreal dancepunk. Takes guts to do that kind of thing.

At first listen, "Wolf Parade" sounds a bit messy. The instrumentation doesn't instantly mesh together, so it sounds like it was just thrown together with whatever sounded cool. But listen to it again, and even a third time. Then those elusive melodies and intertwined instrumentals will start to emerge.

This EP displays what they can (and can't) do -- they excel at the messy fuzzpop, but the synthy dance sound should be avoided. It isn't bad, but it isn't great either. They are at their best when combining the fuzz guitar, almost invisible bass, and shimmering synths into one big mishmash, topped by vocals that I really can't decipher.

Imagine Modest Mouse doing dance music, or Franz Ferdinand trying the arty route. That's a description of the debut EP of Wolf Parade, giving listeners a taste of their debut album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth having for the extra tracks, November 28, 2005
By 
somethingexcellent (Lincoln, NE United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Wolf Parade (Audio CD)
Pretty much every year for the past five (and more, really), there's been at least one band hailing from Canada that has cracked through the consciousness of the indie rock world and made a huge name for themselves. Two years ago was Broken Social Scene and last year was The Arcade Fire, and if Wolf Parade can parlay the songcraft they show on this four song EP into an equally interesting full length to be released later this year, they might very well be the newest Canucks on everyone's tongue.

One of the most strange things about the group is how they manage to snag little bits of different musical styles (and even individual groups themselves) and pull them together into a short batch of songs that sound both familiar and new at the same time. On "Shine A Light," the group turns in a buzzy-synth indie rock track that jangles with a touch of a Modest Mouse feel (the group was brought to the attention of Sub Pop by Isaac Brock) while the lead singer has some of the same vocal intonations (and lazy drawl) of Beck. "You Are A Number" follows with a waltzing dirty organ track that stumbles along rhythmically before slathering on an equally gritty guitar melody.

"Disco Sheets" changes things up even more as the group cranks up the BPM and tosses a dance-punk entry on the pyre that chugs along raucously before breaking off into quiet segments that recall a synth-based Interpol before slamming things back home again. The album closes with "Lousy Pictures" and it's another cowbell-clanging, overdriven organ/guitar track that works just about perfectly alongside the howling vocals. In the end, the cheaply-priced four song, thirteen minute EP does just what it's supposed to in raising the excitement level for what the group will plop on the table next. At least we don't have long to wait.

(from almost cool music reviews)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very cool cd, February 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wolf Parade (Audio CD)
Love Wolf Parade. I was completely bummed when these guys split and had to own all of their stuff. Also picked up the Handsome Furs and Sunset Rubdown CDs to add to my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wolf Parade: EP (Sub Pop), August 31, 2005
This review is from: Wolf Parade (Audio CD)
It's rare to fine a concept in music set up in an EP. My concept of an EP is an introduction tro music that we don't know about. Arcade Fire did it. Brooklyn bands TV On The Radio, Yeah Yeah Yeahs and Liars have done it before. If only The Hold Steady has done it and I can get into them a lot sooner. Also, even for a CD like this, an EP can be made only because those listening to underground music may not stand their music, so they are introducing their music and seeing what you think. THEN they plan to release a full length, at the non-fans expense. In fact, from what I have heard, many may thank the fact that EPs were made.

I listened to this album, and it was obvious that this band wasn't going to please everyone, as well as Interpol has. Even on Sub Pop. Wolf Parade is for those who enjoy the likes of Franz Ferdinand, The Fever, The Hold Steady (of course) and Modest Mouse. Or just wondered what they sound like if they came together to form an Indie Supergroup with less than 5 members. with "Shine A Light", their sounds make it a little more easier on all of our expectations before it hits you with a song-of-the-year in underground songs "You Are A Runner" which is hte type of music that coined Franz Ferdiand since the music has a certain Modest Mouse-meets-Hot Hot Heat at their darkest hour feel to the song. The music also has a certain Tim Krashner feel to the music. "You Are A Runner" is accused of being one of the songs that messes up dance-rock, when the truth is this music needs no business being in any subgenre cubby. "Disco Sheets" is where Franz Ferdinand comes in with a sound as if a British Sea Power member took part. The truth is whenever a song is called dance-rock you had better crash those cymbals at the right time after those drums. "lousy Pictures" at 2:30 is where the music takes on sounding like sideshow bringing up a Fever-like feel making the entire experience on such an EP wonderous. it will keep any other person wishing that their were more to come. So the music is more feelgood, but doesn't fit the moniker accurately. In other words, Wolf Parade are a band doing just fine in music. They should be able to get along with indie hipsters and curious cats just fine.

(It is one of those EPs that gets you wishing for more sounds if another magazine doesn't accuse it for being intelligible and compared. I suggest iving that cd a purchase and another spin, eh?)

Rating: 7.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, August 29, 2005
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Wolf Parade (Audio CD)
this cd while not the best i have ever boght it is still a great cd for a band comein from a litle town in canada with a great start for fame
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 83 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Please enter a title for your review, August 10, 2005
This review is from: Wolf Parade (Audio CD)
Wolf Parade is like what would happen if you took all the worst parts of Franz Ferdinand and Interpol and left them out in the sun for a week to rot. And then took a dump on it. Wolf Parade is everything that is bad about dance punk distilled into band form. They're like that river of pink slime in Ghostbusters 2. I bet that's how Wolf Parade formed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wolf Parade
Wolf Parade by Wolf Parade (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.