Customer Reviews


6,649 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,376)
4 star:
 (1,085)
3 star:
 (820)
2 star:
 (770)
1 star:
 (1,598)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


889 of 993 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Misunderstood Film
I think the treatment of this film is very unfair.
Yes, the film is vulgar, it is shocking, and it is offensive, but guess what......so are the characters. They are greedy, morally reprehensible characters, but this film does not reward them. In this film, they are the butt of the joke. A very angry joke. If you can't see that, and only see the cussing, the drug...
Published 11 months ago by Brandon L. Houser

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needlessly too long...
I love DiCaprio, but for me this movie was a disappointment. I get the hyperbole of what's wrong with Wall Street -- the blatant greed and exploitation of the every-day working man so the few, greed-driven wealthy can indulge in monstrous homes, boats, and of course sex and drugs. Hyperbole, however, needs to be capitalized. The first hour of constant sex and drugs was...
Published 5 months ago by Mary


‹ Previous | 1 2665 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

889 of 993 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Misunderstood Film, February 17, 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD) (Blu-ray)
I think the treatment of this film is very unfair.
Yes, the film is vulgar, it is shocking, and it is offensive, but guess what......so are the characters. They are greedy, morally reprehensible characters, but this film does not reward them. In this film, they are the butt of the joke. A very angry joke. If you can't see that, and only see the cussing, the drug use, and the sex, then maybe this is not a film for you. I found it wildly funny, and I for one am happy Mr. Belfort, while not dismissing the film, is unhappy with various ways in which he was depicted (even though he still tries to get publicity from it). Unlike the system, this film does not let him off the hook.
I do think it's fair to say this film should be NC 17 though. How it got an R, I'll never know. That being said, any ad or poster for this film clearly states the following: This movie is rated R for "sequences of strong sexual content, graphic nudity, drug use and language throughout, and for some violence." If you like angry, bitter satire, give it a shot. If you are part of the easily offended, and can't tolerate any of the content listed above, then do us all a favor, and don't watch. Don't even try. Don't put it on , only to take it out after an hour or less, and get on the website to write a review. If you can't watch the whole film, don't write a review. No one is brilliant enough to watch an hour or less of a 3 hour movie and completely judge it.
Had to chime a review because there are tons of people out there who just don't get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


614 of 691 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the year's dirtiest masterpiece, December 30, 2013
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD) (Blu-ray)
Nine Things about “The Wolf of Wall Street”

1. This is a raunchy, foul-mouthed tale of American greed based on the memoirs of Jordan Belfort, a stockbroker convicted of market manipulation.

2. I think this movie contains more drugs, sex, and swearing than all the other movies I saw this year put together. Of course it’s gratuitous – this guy’s whole lifestyle was gratuitous. So it works.

3. This movie is also an acidly funny satire on Wall Street.

4. Leonardo DiCaprio stars as Jordan, a money-hungry young man with more ambition than brains.

5. Jordan hires his knucklehead weed dealer friends to start a small semi-legal stockbroker firm. As they get more successful, they get less legal.

6. DiCaprio has always been an excellent actor – but this may be his best performance ever. And Jonah Hill is also great as the douchebag friend.

7. Jordan’s schemes were complicated and hard to understand for us regular folk, but the movie does a good job of dumbing it down – mostly by telling us that all we need to know is that he’s doing really illegal things.

8. The scene where Jordan overdoses on Quaaludes is a minor masterpiece of physical comedy and is one of the single best scenes of the year. I didn’t know DiCaprio had it in him.

9. The movie is three hours long, so, like the stock market, this movie is an investment of your time. But it’s worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


162 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Smartest Guys in the Room"...uncensored...., March 30, 2014
By 
Jameson (In the SW desert) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not for the faint of heart by any means. DiCaprio and Hill are amazing in this film. Throughout the film my husband and I were laughing out loud over the sheer ridiculousness and over the top-ness of the characters' behavior. We have sick senses of humor but you just can't help it with some of the conversations with these guys.

While I thought it was a little long at 3 hours but that's my only gripe. For those who have given 1 or 2 stars because it's "porn" and non-stop debauchery- THAT'S THE WHOLE POINT! This movie wasn't created to make you actually LIKE these people, it's to show how greed, fortune, and success completely warps your morality and sense of self so far from what is "normal" that it's vile, disgusting, and corrupt. As the film goes on you can see the progression (or regression) of the characters. Think of it like Lord of the Flies- your perception of reality and right and wrong will warp based on your surroundings. About 2/3rds of the way into the film, DiCaprio says something along the lines of "Of course this is disgusting and wrong to the normal person. But we're not normal people and in our world we only want more at any cost."

If you've ever seen "The Smartest Guys in the Room" (the documentary on Enron), it hints at a lot of this type of behavior that is actually shown (rather than implied) in "Wolf of Wall Street." There's no warm up or "easing into" the raucous of this film, if you're offended in the first 5 minutes then you probably should turn it off. But don't just rate it low based on the first 5 minutes, you sissy. And FFS, don't let the kids watch this. I've known folks who have worked in the financial industry and even off of Wall Street they have described that the behavior in the film is common place (the term they used was, "you're compensated in hookers & blow"). That pretty much sums it up and this film is true to that.

Overall, I thought the film was fantastic. You have to look beyond what they're showing on the surface to truly appreciate it. The performances were well done and had Jordan Belfort not made a few missteps due to greed, he probably would not have been busted at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


97 of 128 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Belfort's tale is grim., March 9, 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
I have great respect for the directorial prowess of Martin Scorsese and the acting ability of Leonardo Dicaprio. I just like watching their movies. For The Wolf of Wall Street, I enjoyed it and was bothered by it at the same time. Bothered because it was untrue to the tale of suffering in general. People don't pay because of their sins, in one lump sum, they pay by their sins day by day. An irrelevant fine point? I don't believe so. When suffering is not a part of the full matrix where so many people are damaged then there is danger a movie will be toxic to someone's sensibility. (Yes I worry about America)

This movie portrayed Belfort's climb as stainless steel excitement with only escalating misery and disintegration at the end. I think the seeds of the misery should have been shown more early on... in ways the audience could acutely feel. Dicaprio's smile is an effective Febrese and keeps the misery at bay.

The Wolf of Wall Street was the Animal House of Wall Street. And I wince because the victims are so easily forgotten in this drama. I found this movie was seductive octane for the greed I have in me. Scorsese would have made a bigger movie if the victims could have had a face. I wonder--- without this movie what would Belfort be to the public today? I am afraid despite all the morality lip service I hear about this movie---this movie will raise Belfort to some mythical stature. As a figure he will be the bad boy of Wall Street you might want to shake hands with because of how deviously clever he was? Belfort's tale is grim. Very grim. I don't want him to suffer more for what he did. I just hope this movie doesn't propagate more ignorance. Of special note: Matthew McConaughey's chest thumping scene--- Whew... Pure Gold. You could see the whole story in his drunk eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Temptations of THE WOLF OF WALL STREET, March 1, 2014
By 
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
Director Martin Scorsese’s ongoing collaboration with actor Leonardo DiCaprio has yielded highly entertaining, prestigious films (The Departed, The Aviator). Their latest venture is the true, astonishing tale of Wall Street crook Jordan Belfort whose appetites for money, sex and drugs are a detailed observation on greed and temptation.

An eager, young executive, Jordan Belfort (Leonardo DiCaprio), experiences the Wall Street disaster of 1987 which wipes out investors and costs him a job. Anxious to bounce back, he discovers the art of selling unregulated penny stocks and starts his own brokerage. Soon he is making a lot of money often at the expense of low income earners but also wealthy clients, and with the help of some cronies including new follower, Donnie Azoff (Jonah Hill), begins to expand exponentially into a major force in the financial world. The emotional stress and pressure heighten his need for women, sex, drugs and then drugs upon drugs. As his excessive lifestyle spirals out of control, the FBI and Securities and Exchange Commission begin investigating his company’s illegal activities that signals the beginning of the end.

DiCaprio (Inception) gives his all as the out-of-control executive whose wealth is surpassed only by his defiance and greed. It is interesting to contrast his younger, innocent broker with his later, drug addicted shark. With maniacal fervor, he inspires and rallies a company’s corporate culture. You are mesmerized by his bold, flamboyant salesman and yet, you look for any semblance of redeeming qualities. In a sense, Jordan is a metaphor for our corporate society’s love of money and its ultimate corruption.
Hill (Moneyball) really shows a good range as Belfort’s second in command. Can this be the same Jonah Hill who had a supporting role in Knocked Up? Matthew McConaughey has a memorable supporting role as a mentor to Belfort, and their scene together at a rooftop restaurant where McConaughey shows a ritual of self motivation is a hoot.

Margot Robbie is well cast as the beautiful woman who captures Jordan’s heart and more. Rob Reiner has an amusing supporting role as Jordan’s dad who sees the company as a sinking ship. In fact two other directors, Jon Favreau and Spike Jonze, have bit parts or cameos. Playing an FBI agent, Kyle Chandler, who has become the go-to actor for government types, is a good foil in his scenes with Jordan aboard a yacht.

There are some memorable vignettes such as the outrageous attempts to smuggle millions in cash to Europe, the crazy office parties, and an especially hilariously pathetic attempt by Jordan to drive home at the same moment he has a very bad drug reaction. When the justice system corners him, Jordan faces a decision not unlike the protagonist in Prince of the City. You know how this is going to go down, and when it does, it is an astonishing reversal of fortune.

At three hours, it is constantly engaging and well paced from start to finish courtesy of veteran editor Thelma Schoonmaker. The sweeping camera shots and rapid cuts show Scorsese at the top of his craft. He tells much of the film through DiCaprio as narrator and voiceover. In fact much of this film will remind you of the style and structure of his Good Fellas and Casino, and the ending recalls another Scorsese classic, The King of Comedy.

Make no mistake, despite excellent performances and a strong narrative, this film has scenes that are bordering on NC17; some scenes are so over the top in suggestiveness and explicitness that it would be hard to believe if it wasn’t true. The film’s depictions may lead some to question the filmmakers’ intent, but Scorsese, without passing judgment, wanted to honestly show greed and power at its worst in the boardroom and the bedroom. Consider The Wolf of Wall Street as a supremely effective, cautionary tale of abuse of wealth at a time when such behavior flourished unchecked. You might not like the passengers on this flight, but it is a fascinating ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needlessly too long..., August 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
I love DiCaprio, but for me this movie was a disappointment. I get the hyperbole of what's wrong with Wall Street -- the blatant greed and exploitation of the every-day working man so the few, greed-driven wealthy can indulge in monstrous homes, boats, and of course sex and drugs. Hyperbole, however, needs to be capitalized. The first hour of constant sex and drugs was ok if not a bit over the top. The second hour was more of the same, and actually became tiring. Mind you, I've done my share of youthful drug experimentation, and I don't mind soft porn -- I even like it if done tastefully within the plot line, and the plot indeed needed these. This was nonstop, however. At one point, I asked my husband how these brokers earned any money at all since they were depicted as a 24/7 orgy in the office, on the trading floor, virtually everywhere. The last hour did complete the plot and tone down the sex and drugs, at least a bit. I can't say I didn't enjoy the film, but it could've been much better with an extra hour or so of editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the wolf...., June 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was OK. Seemed to long and there wasn't much of q story lime. I know each scene was different but it felt like they were the same. A lot of repetition. It was boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars White collar crime is boring, and so is this movie, November 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Jordan Belfort really isn't that interesting. He's a short, hairy little scam artist who was portrayed by one of the leading men in Hollywood. That being said, don't expect much of anything in this film to be nonfiction. Leo, as always, is absolutely stellar. He plays the Hollywoodized Belfort with passion and really nails how awful of a human being Belfort is. The drug use is ridiculous. I mean, I enjoy a good cocaine and Quaalude filled evening with prostitutes and midgets as much as the next guy, but this movie would make Charlie Sheen cringe. Oh and this movie feels like it's 20 hours long. I don't mind long movies. Goodfellas could have gone on another two hours and I would be happy. But this movie was excruciatingly long. I constantly kept checking the remaining time on my Kindle. It was like waiting for the microwave to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I would not recommend, January 4, 2015
Very long movie for a very short story. Sex, drugs, and cheating people. Not an interesting plot. I would not recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SELL ME THIS PEN,, January 13, 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
Golden Globe winner Leonardo DiCaprio stars in the title role of Jordan Belfort. Belfort works his way up the ladder making money in penny stocks, i.e. "selling garbage to garbage men." His scheme is to sell these garbage stocks to rich investors due to the high commissions. Along the way he does some illegal transactions as he runs his corporation like a frat party in "Animal House." Having not known money, he and his crew are ill equipped to handle it.

I thought that Jonah Hill gave one of his best performances. The production is awfully long, not wanting to miss out on any details. The film goes into detail to explain to the audience things like IPO and the history and effects of quaaludes. If you note the ludes he took early in the film were crumbly. Those were non-prescription ludes made from a pill press in uncle Vinnie's garage and not too potent. Later they score some real ludes. Having taken the fake ones for so long, they didn't know how to handle them causing them to crash, like the money it was too much too fast.

The main criticism of the film is that it featured over 500 F-bombs. It really didn't seem like that many due to the length of the production. Besides you get numb to it after the first few hundred or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2665 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Wolf of Wall Street (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD)
The Wolf of Wall Street (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD) by Martin Scorsese (Blu-ray - 2014)
$26.99 $15.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.