Customer Reviews


4,096 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,448)
4 star:
 (613)
3 star:
 (499)
2 star:
 (502)
1 star:
 (1,034)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


734 of 819 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Misunderstood Film
I think the treatment of this film is very unfair.
Yes, the film is vulgar, it is shocking, and it is offensive, but guess what......so are the characters. They are greedy, morally reprehensible characters, but this film does not reward them. In this film, they are the butt of the joke. A very angry joke. If you can't see that, and only see the cussing, the drug...
Published 10 months ago by Brandon L. Houser

versus
25 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but I liked it better as "Boiler Room"
The the multitude of other reviews have pretty much covered it, but here's what I'll say.
- If you've seen "Boiler Room," you basically know the story - "pump and dump" stock scheme ensnares brokers and clients both. This is the story as told by the "Michael and/or Jim" characters from Boiler Room, rather than the story told by one of the...
Published 6 months ago by GadgetChick


‹ Previous | 1 2410 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

734 of 819 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Very Misunderstood Film, February 17, 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD) (Blu-ray)
I think the treatment of this film is very unfair.
Yes, the film is vulgar, it is shocking, and it is offensive, but guess what......so are the characters. They are greedy, morally reprehensible characters, but this film does not reward them. In this film, they are the butt of the joke. A very angry joke. If you can't see that, and only see the cussing, the drug use, and the sex, then maybe this is not a film for you. I found it wildly funny, and I for one am happy Mr. Belfort, while not dismissing the film, is unhappy with various ways in which he was depicted (even though he still tries to get publicity from it). Unlike the system, this film does not let him off the hook.
I do think it's fair to say this film should be NC 17 though. How it got an R, I'll never know. That being said, any ad or poster for this film clearly states the following: This movie is rated R for "sequences of strong sexual content, graphic nudity, drug use and language throughout, and for some violence." If you like angry, bitter satire, give it a shot. If you are part of the easily offended, and can't tolerate any of the content listed above, then do us all a favor, and don't watch. Don't even try. Don't put it on , only to take it out after an hour or less, and get on the website to write a review. If you can't watch the whole film, don't write a review. No one is brilliant enough to watch an hour or less of a 3 hour movie and completely judge it.
Had to chime a review because there are tons of people out there who just don't get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


541 of 611 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the year's dirtiest masterpiece, December 30, 2013
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD) (Blu-ray)
Nine Things about “The Wolf of Wall Street”

1. This is a raunchy, foul-mouthed tale of American greed based on the memoirs of Jordan Belfort, a stockbroker convicted of market manipulation.

2. I think this movie contains more drugs, sex, and swearing than all the other movies I saw this year put together. Of course it’s gratuitous – this guy’s whole lifestyle was gratuitous. So it works.

3. This movie is also an acidly funny satire on Wall Street.

4. Leonardo DiCaprio stars as Jordan, a money-hungry young man with more ambition than brains.

5. Jordan hires his knucklehead weed dealer friends to start a small semi-legal stockbroker firm. As they get more successful, they get less legal.

6. DiCaprio has always been an excellent actor – but this may be his best performance ever. And Jonah Hill is also great as the douchebag friend.

7. Jordan’s schemes were complicated and hard to understand for us regular folk, but the movie does a good job of dumbing it down – mostly by telling us that all we need to know is that he’s doing really illegal things.

8. The scene where Jordan overdoses on Quaaludes is a minor masterpiece of physical comedy and is one of the single best scenes of the year. I didn’t know DiCaprio had it in him.

9. The movie is three hours long, so, like the stock market, this movie is an investment of your time. But it’s worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


126 of 143 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Smartest Guys in the Room"...uncensored...., March 30, 2014
By 
Jameson (In the SW desert) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Not for the faint of heart by any means. DiCaprio and Hill are amazing in this film. Throughout the film my husband and I were laughing out loud over the sheer ridiculousness and over the top-ness of the characters' behavior. We have sick senses of humor but you just can't help it with some of the conversations with these guys.

While I thought it was a little long at 3 hours but that's my only gripe. For those who have given 1 or 2 stars because it's "porn" and non-stop debauchery- THAT'S THE WHOLE POINT! This movie wasn't created to make you actually LIKE these people, it's to show how greed, fortune, and success completely warps your morality and sense of self so far from what is "normal" that it's vile, disgusting, and corrupt. As the film goes on you can see the progression (or regression) of the characters. Think of it like Lord of the Flies- your perception of reality and right and wrong will warp based on your surroundings. About 2/3rds of the way into the film, DiCaprio says something along the lines of "Of course this is disgusting and wrong to the normal person. But we're not normal people and in our world we only want more at any cost."

If you've ever seen "The Smartest Guys in the Room" (the documentary on Enron), it hints at a lot of this type of behavior that is actually shown (rather than implied) in "Wolf of Wall Street." There's no warm up or "easing into" the raucous of this film, if you're offended in the first 5 minutes then you probably should turn it off. But don't just rate it low based on the first 5 minutes, you sissy. And FFS, don't let the kids watch this. I've known folks who have worked in the financial industry and even off of Wall Street they have described that the behavior in the film is common place (the term they used was, "you're compensated in hookers & blow"). That pretty much sums it up and this film is true to that.

Overall, I thought the film was fantastic. You have to look beyond what they're showing on the surface to truly appreciate it. The performances were well done and had Jordan Belfort not made a few missteps due to greed, he probably would not have been busted at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


82 of 104 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Belfort's tale is grim., March 9, 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
I have great respect for the directorial prowess of Martin Scorsese and the acting ability of Leonardo Dicaprio. I just like watching their movies. For The Wolf of Wall Street, I enjoyed it and was bothered by it at the same time. Bothered because it was untrue to the tale of suffering in general. People don't pay because of their sins, in one lump sum, they pay by their sins day by day. An irrelevant fine point? I don't believe so. When suffering is not a part of the full matrix where so many people are damaged then there is danger a movie will be toxic to someone's sensibility. (Yes I worry about America)

This movie portrayed Belfort's climb as stainless steel excitement with only escalating misery and disintegration at the end. I think the seeds of the misery should have been shown more early on... in ways the audience could acutely feel. Dicaprio's smile is an effective Febrese and keeps the misery at bay.

The Wolf of Wall Street was the Animal House of Wall Street. And I wince because the victims are so easily forgotten in this drama. I found this movie was seductive octane for the greed I have in me. Scorsese would have made a bigger movie if the victims could have had a face. I wonder--- without this movie what would Belfort be to the public today? I am afraid despite all the morality lip service I hear about this movie---this movie will raise Belfort to some mythical stature. As a figure he will be the bad boy of Wall Street you might want to shake hands with because of how deviously clever he was? Belfort's tale is grim. Very grim. I don't want him to suffer more for what he did. I just hope this movie doesn't propagate more ignorance. Of special note: Matthew McConaughey's chest thumping scene--- Whew... Pure Gold. You could see the whole story in his drunk eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 88 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SELL ME THIS PEN,, January 13, 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
Golden Globe winner Leonardo DiCaprio stars in the title role of Jordan Belfort. Belfort works his way up the ladder making money in penny stocks, i.e. "selling garbage to garbage men." His scheme is to sell these garbage stocks to rich investors due to the high commissions. Along the way he does some illegal transactions as he runs his corporation like a frat party in "Animal House." Having not known money, he and his crew are ill equipped to handle it.

I thought that Jonah Hill gave one of his best performances. The production is awfully long, not wanting to miss out on any details. The film goes into detail to explain to the audience things like IPO and the history and effects of quaaludes. If you note the ludes he took early in the film were crumbly. Those were non-prescription ludes made from a pill press in uncle Vinnie's garage and not too potent. Later they score some real ludes. Having taken the fake ones for so long, they didn't know how to handle them causing them to crash, like the money it was too much too fast.

The main criticism of the film is that it featured over 500 F-bombs. It really didn't seem like that many due to the length of the production. Besides you get numb to it after the first few hundred or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Temptations of THE WOLF OF WALL STREET, March 1, 2014
By 
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (DVD)
Director Martin Scorsese’s ongoing collaboration with actor Leonardo DiCaprio has yielded highly entertaining, prestigious films (The Departed, The Aviator). Their latest venture is the true, astonishing tale of Wall Street crook Jordan Belfort whose appetites for money, sex and drugs are a detailed observation on greed and temptation.

An eager, young executive, Jordan Belfort (Leonardo DiCaprio), experiences the Wall Street disaster of 1987 which wipes out investors and costs him a job. Anxious to bounce back, he discovers the art of selling unregulated penny stocks and starts his own brokerage. Soon he is making a lot of money often at the expense of low income earners but also wealthy clients, and with the help of some cronies including new follower, Donnie Azoff (Jonah Hill), begins to expand exponentially into a major force in the financial world. The emotional stress and pressure heighten his need for women, sex, drugs and then drugs upon drugs. As his excessive lifestyle spirals out of control, the FBI and Securities and Exchange Commission begin investigating his company’s illegal activities that signals the beginning of the end.

DiCaprio (Inception) gives his all as the out-of-control executive whose wealth is surpassed only by his defiance and greed. It is interesting to contrast his younger, innocent broker with his later, drug addicted shark. With maniacal fervor, he inspires and rallies a company’s corporate culture. You are mesmerized by his bold, flamboyant salesman and yet, you look for any semblance of redeeming qualities. In a sense, Jordan is a metaphor for our corporate society’s love of money and its ultimate corruption.
Hill (Moneyball) really shows a good range as Belfort’s second in command. Can this be the same Jonah Hill who had a supporting role in Knocked Up? Matthew McConaughey has a memorable supporting role as a mentor to Belfort, and their scene together at a rooftop restaurant where McConaughey shows a ritual of self motivation is a hoot.

Margot Robbie is well cast as the beautiful woman who captures Jordan’s heart and more. Rob Reiner has an amusing supporting role as Jordan’s dad who sees the company as a sinking ship. In fact two other directors, Jon Favreau and Spike Jonze, have bit parts or cameos. Playing an FBI agent, Kyle Chandler, who has become the go-to actor for government types, is a good foil in his scenes with Jordan aboard a yacht.

There are some memorable vignettes such as the outrageous attempts to smuggle millions in cash to Europe, the crazy office parties, and an especially hilariously pathetic attempt by Jordan to drive home at the same moment he has a very bad drug reaction. When the justice system corners him, Jordan faces a decision not unlike the protagonist in Prince of the City. You know how this is going to go down, and when it does, it is an astonishing reversal of fortune.

At three hours, it is constantly engaging and well paced from start to finish courtesy of veteran editor Thelma Schoonmaker. The sweeping camera shots and rapid cuts show Scorsese at the top of his craft. He tells much of the film through DiCaprio as narrator and voiceover. In fact much of this film will remind you of the style and structure of his Good Fellas and Casino, and the ending recalls another Scorsese classic, The King of Comedy.

Make no mistake, despite excellent performances and a strong narrative, this film has scenes that are bordering on NC17; some scenes are so over the top in suggestiveness and explicitness that it would be hard to believe if it wasn’t true. The film’s depictions may lead some to question the filmmakers’ intent, but Scorsese, without passing judgment, wanted to honestly show greed and power at its worst in the boardroom and the bedroom. Consider The Wolf of Wall Street as a supremely effective, cautionary tale of abuse of wealth at a time when such behavior flourished unchecked. You might not like the passengers on this flight, but it is a fascinating ride.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Vile And Probably 100% True..., May 6, 2014
This review is from: The Wolf of Wall Street (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD) (Blu-ray)
I delayed seeing this movie because I'd heard such horrible things about it: that it glamorized the dirtiest sorts of financiers, that these monsters didn't pay for any of their crimes against salt-of-the-earth folks, that it was just one oversized, overzealous and overwrought bacchanal of drugs, hookers and sociopathy for the members of The Unholy Church of Our Lady of the One-Percent. Alas, the other night, I had one beer too many and was in the mood for something kind of greasy, so I threw caution to the wind and rented The Wolf Of Wall Street and, mea culpa, I really enjoyed it.

The central focus of the film is the dubious "rise" of Jordan Belfort, king of the penny stock, and the merry band of heartless beasts he brings along for his wing-melting ride to the sun. Yeah, there's cussing, there's nudity, there's fraud, there's enough drug use to grate on the last nerve of a dyed-in-the-wool Hunter Thompson acolyte. And for half of the film's ample (perhaps excessive) three-hour running time, that's pretty much what you see. Jordan recruits this cur and that hellion...then he makes this deal and burns that little, old lady out of her pension...all so he might know the pleasure of wrecking a $300,000 sports car while getting road-head and snorting coke-powdered boogers into the depths of his brain.

Only insofar as it appears that Belfort (DiCaprio) is having fun could one argue that Scorsese is making his life look sexy. I truly don't envy someone that drinks a bottle full of high-powered quaaludes before flying a helicopter wonkily away from a party filled with his peers: criminals and skanks, most of whom are sleeping in their own vomit. I don't see things like that and think "...ohh, the GLAMOUR!..." hence, I had a hell of a time seeing how this movie made Belfort's life of overpriced explosions that left craters behind his every step appealing, although some reviewers panned the movie heartily for just that.

The other negative reviews come from those who were more offended at Belfort & Company's collective desire to all but anthropomorphize vice and become its favorite Porta-Potty. There aren't a mere one or two scenes of depravity, oh no. They are virtually beyond counting. Nevertheless, I find it rather bizarre that this is a griping point. It would be kinda like going to see a slasher film and whining afterward about all of the nasty murders and gore. Anyone who has even passing knowledge of social mores on Wall Street knows that s*** like this used to happen all of the time, and probably still does. This movie might be gross, it might be amoral or even immoral...most damning of all, though, I'm certain it's entirely on target. And I bet Scorsese was more concerned with being honest about his subject rather than with being nice to an audience. Wild guess.

As the film crosses its halfway point, Belfort still parties like a lunatic and has tons-o-fun, however, it starts taking its toll and his destructiveness draws the attention and the ire of people who would like to see his non-stop orgy, funded by comparative innocents, get shut down permanently. And so begins Belfort's well-deserved and curiously moving (bravo to the acting chops of DiCaprio) fall back to Earth. And what a landing it is.

This movie isn't flawless. It's not groundbreaking. But it's pretty damned good and likely very, very true. Hell, Matthew McConaughey's "Money Chant" alone is worth the price of admission. If you think your virgin eyes and ears can take it, give The Wolf Of Wall Street a whirl, and watch it all the way to the end. It's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 35 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, but I liked it better as "Boiler Room", June 9, 2014
The the multitude of other reviews have pretty much covered it, but here's what I'll say.
- If you've seen "Boiler Room," you basically know the story - "pump and dump" stock scheme ensnares brokers and clients both. This is the story as told by the "Michael and/or Jim" characters from Boiler Room, rather than the story told by one of the brokers. It does not make for a more interesting story, as told by the guy at the top who had more drugs, hookers and excess than the rest. What Boiler Room had, but this movie lacks, is the story of the average people who were swindled out of their life savings by slick brokers who only cared about commissions. There is absolutely no perspective given in "Wolf of Wall Street" about the people who were victimized by Belfort and his lumpy minions, and I think the story is incomplete without that perspective.

- Whoa, NELLY does this movie have a lot of naked people in it. Originally, I planned to see this in the theater with my parents - I am REALLY GLAD we decided against that idea as I would have been mortified, the entire time. WARNING to ALL sons and daughters, of any age, anywhere - this is not a movie to see with your parents, no matter how cool or open-minded they are. If you think Game of Thrones has a lot of nudity and sexual content? Watch this movie. It makes Game of Thrones look like Reading Rainbow.

- I have to really question glorifying the activities and attitudes of a guy like Jordan Belfort, in a THREE HOUR movie. There are some really funny parts to the movie, to be sure. I really enjoyed the interactions between Leonardo DiCaprio and Jonah Hill - Hill is honestly just great in this movie, he gave a stellar performance. I really liked Rob Reiner as Belfort's dad. But overall, the movie doesn't really make it seem like being a drug and sex addict with no sense of morals, decency or responsibility is a bad thing. There's no real denoument in which Belfort gets any kind of comeuppance whatsoever, barring maybe one scene (involving his wife) towards the end of the movie. Also, as has been pointed out, the movie glosses over the fact that Belfort sold out ALL of his friends and almost all of his colleagues, sang like a canary, and bought his light sentence by rolling over for the feds. I think, for the sake of responsible storytelling, the movie could have covered that in greater depth.

- Finally - this was WAY too much like Goodfellas. Come on - even DiCaprio's narration, at times, sounds almost exactly like Ray Liotta's voiceover narration in Goodfellas. It's like Scorsese just remade Goodfellas with an even more reprehensible main character, in a longer movie, with a LOT more naked people.

I'm not going to say I didn't enjoy the movie; I did, or at least parts of it. There's some dialogue and a few scenes I'm still laughing about, as I remember them. I just don't think this is a masterpiece of cinema the way some of Scorsese's other movies have been. The depictions of debauchery really did overshadow the storytelling and character development. I felt several times that just as the movie was really getting somewhere, WHOOP - never mind that, let's cut to a scene with more naked people! And I don't mind naked people in movies/TV as a rule, but there is a line when nudity/sexuality crosses the line from interesting/artistic to egregious and unnecessary. And I think this movie crosses that line. It's not so much that I find the salaciousness disturbing or amoral or whatever, just that whatever story was in there couldn't get told because the movie was so focused on depicting excess. After the third or fourth naked party scene - okay. We get it already.

It's worth a watch if you like DiCaprio - he's great in this. If you like Scorsese, you might be a little disappointed. If you need something you can watch with your mom - please, PLEASE pick something else. Your mom will thank you for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Fortunately it's early in the movie so you don't have ..., October 19, 2014
By 
Riley J. Reagan (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
3 Hours?! Soft porn, excess, repeat...for 180 minutes. An episode of American Greed would have been plenty. Matthew McConaughey's cameo was amusing. Fortunately it's early in the movie so you don't have to watch the whole train wreck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The Wolf of Wall Street, August 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The movie was too long way to long. The nudity got ridiculous after a while. The acting was terrific but everything did not gel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2410 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The Wolf of Wall Street (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD)
The Wolf of Wall Street (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital HD) by Martin Scorsese (Blu-ray - 2014)
$26.99 $13.69
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.