Customer Reviews


110 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the heat of the moment
So I play an unhealthy amount of videogames. I tend to go to the gamestore at least once a week. I go through a lot of games in a year and I've been playing since Attari.To be honest I don't finish many games because over the years I have developed very specific tastes that are rarely satisfied. I keep getting new games and I tend to give most everything an even...
Published on August 20, 2009 by A. R. Allocco

versus
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flying Nazis... does it get any better?
Wolfenstein continues to try to juggle the various beaten-to-death knives of WWII shooter, occult storyline, and "interactive" NPC's, and amazingly, does all three with only a handful of cuts and dropped pieces. Up front I'll say this is only for single player, as for some reason I can't even access multiplayer.

Wolfenstein continues to follow the...
Published on August 23, 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars In the heat of the moment, August 20, 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wolfenstein - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
So I play an unhealthy amount of videogames. I tend to go to the gamestore at least once a week. I go through a lot of games in a year and I've been playing since Attari.To be honest I don't finish many games because over the years I have developed very specific tastes that are rarely satisfied. I keep getting new games and I tend to give most everything an even shot.

All that being said, I think I'm going to finish this one. (-)I have to say I think the visuals are pretty basic - the level designs don't seem particularly interesting and I really don't care much for "powers" in this or most any other games. (+) What is great about this game though is the fluidity of the combat. You feel powerful, but not invincible. All of the guns have a solid/real feel to them. The sound quality is good too. When you fire off a round, youre going to feel it.

This game also seems to reward both reckless and calculated approaches to situations. You can pick up an explosive barrel, run into an area and toss it right into the middle of a group of enemies - its really satisfying. You can also pick up melee weapons - thus far all I've found is a hammer and a pick axe and they work great (you can also toss 'em). The melee is great too. In most 1st person shooters (all of the populars) the melee really doesn't feel powerful - but here its just fun to charge a guy and bludgeon him repeatedly. I think there are also baonette upgrades- but that might just be for the rifle. In terms of calculated, there are parts where you can sneak up behind some enemies and take them out quietly, you can also upgrade your rife - with a scope and be all sniper style.

(+) This game also has a central hub where you can pick up and participate in various missions of your choosing, upgrade both your powers (slow down time, block bullets, see interdimensionally, magic bullets)and your guns and look for gold/intelligence reports. What I like most about the game so far is that you can just keep following the star compas and fun stuff happens.(Aside from the short loading screens) The game is really fluid you can run into a house and come out the other side pick up a mission, head through another house find gold, upgrade your stuff, kill nazis,go to a new location, kill nazis, find intelligence,pick up a new gun complete a mission. It never seems to slow down much and you feel empowered the whole way through. Thus far I have not died (normal difficulty) from any of my fire fights.

So there you have it. I've played all the shooters out there for 360 and aside from call of duty 2 - this one is doing it for me more then the rest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Flying Nazis... does it get any better?, August 23, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wolfenstein - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Wolfenstein continues to try to juggle the various beaten-to-death knives of WWII shooter, occult storyline, and "interactive" NPC's, and amazingly, does all three with only a handful of cuts and dropped pieces. Up front I'll say this is only for single player, as for some reason I can't even access multiplayer.

Wolfenstein continues to follow the occult-riddled Nazi escapades of agent B.J. Blazkowicz. Agent BJ (which an alarmingly large number of people call him without getting shot in the face) is dropped into Germany after sinking a German cruiser and finding a medallion that can both ward off bullets and flense thirty men down to the bone. Upon arriving, you discover a similar medallion, just prior to being given a briefing by a member of the Golden Dawn (Alister Crowley makes no appearances to my knowledge) and are tasked with preventing General Zetta from opening a portal to the realm of the Black Sun and stealing the power of the Thules. While so much of this seems hackneyed and dried out, not too mention rather over the top, considering that amount of story gets rammed down your throat in the first ten to twenty minutes, its delivered in such a way that it doesn't seem like the same ol thing.

Interactions are a bit strange. Some NPC's are interactive, and will calmly hold a discussion while a German platoon is attempting to fill you with lead. You purchase upgrades through the black market by finding bags and bars of gold(because cash is apparently for sissies), though after finding five dozen bags or so, I'd probably have absconded to buy a Hawaiian island. The finding quests are actually worthwhile, finding blueprints to unlock new weapon upgrades and inject some nice side pieces of backstory, but while being in plain sight, rather than being buried under boxes or tucked behind impossible to spot hidden doors, they require you to scour every square centimeter of every level, since we know most people leave a bag of gold on the sidewalk tucked between two crates, where no one will ever find it, as opposed to in a safe. Searching is rather neat, a simple button hold that actually shows going through the motions of searching cabinets or threading bombs, but its surprisingly rarely used.

Combat manages to be exciting and annoying in turns. Most of your eyes have telescopic night vision, able to spot and alert to your presence when they appear as a speck in the distance even on high end TV's. the sorcerers you encounter are rather overpowered, and can soak up almost as many bullets as you can. Health is ridiculous, and reminiscent of the Getaway, basically hide long enough for the blood around your screen edge to fade, making this a cake walk even on Uber difficulty assuming that there's decent cover available. Several of the effects, namely the anti-gravity which allows you to pick off soldiers like slow flying skeet are entertaining.

Overall, this game is okay. Not great by any stretch, as they lock you out of too many neat bits and spoon feed you too much story too soon, but not as disappointing as I'd been led to believe. After all, who doesn't like a good Nazi shoot? A decent plot and some entertaining asides that manages to stop just short of being grindy make this a solid rent-to-own, though emphasis is on rent. And if your looking for MP Wolfenstein, I'd just as soon stick to the online freeware.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the more underrated games, May 2, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wolfenstein - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I am a HUGE wolfenstein fan. First played RtCW and absolutely loved it. Then Wolf:ET came out and I played that for way too long. I might add that it's still a very fun mp game. Now I got Wolfenstein for my 360 and I have to say that I'm quite impressed. The graphics and textures are amazing; don't mind with what the others say. At certain points it looks photorealistic which is kind of creepy. You'll notice this when you look at a wall coming out of a building, the lighting seems to do the trick. Anyway without spoiling too much info the campaign is great so far. It's like a combination of Zelda, Medal of Honor Airborne, and Half Life. You van upgrade your weapons; which you can do in MOH:A- coincidentally when you run it's almost the same as the running animation in MOH:A. The bosses require SOME thinking and creativity which impressed me greatly- no Virginia you can't just shoot the enemy you have to put some creative effort into killing it! Veil plays a HUGE part in combat as you might expect but it's really more important than you think. But it's quite satisfying as you'll end up thinking to yourself countless times: "Hmm should I use this power or that?" you get to decide how to fight your battles!
With that being said, the campaign is very short- perhaps around 6-7 hours and I haven't tried the mp but I heard it's not like the original RtCW mp which I find disappointing. RtCW had one of the best mp around because it's really based on teamwork and from what I hear Wolfenstein just sounds like another forgettable mp. Though to me mp isn't as important because if deva focus completely on mp then they're lacking creativity for not being able to write a good sp story.
Anyway, the game is def worth checking out for $20, but that's all I would pay for it. It was definitely unreasonable for $50-$60. I got it on sale for $9 on amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Old fashioned run and gun with modern graphics, September 5, 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wolfenstein - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
BJ is back, once again, battling the Third Reich! As usual, those industrious Nazis are trying to exploit any edge they can get, and they certainly aren't thinking inside the box. Very quickly in the game you learn that the Nazis have discovered an interesting and questionable source of, well, interesting and questionable power. You, as BJ, spend this game getting to the bottom of this and attempting to thwart these new efforts.

There is a short list of "modern" ideas in this game... a centralized map with a very light RPGish quest style method of breaking up the basically linear game play. There is an upgrade system, and of course, some "special powers" you obtain along the way. Besides that, the game is very much a nod to Return to Castle Wolfenstein style run and gun play. The game play is outdated in that regard, but that doesn't necessarily detract from the fun in the game. There are a few different weapons in the game, but you get them as time goes on... so there isn't a huge variety, effectively. Also, not all weapons are useful (or even feasible) given different conditions. Towards the last part of the game you end up using whatever you have ammo for.

The story isn't bad, but it is nothing earth shattering. You fight Nazis, you discover Nazis are doing strange stuff, and you try to stop them. There are a few cinematic moments, and some very light character dialog. Other than that: killing, killing, killing. Not a problem, just don't expect much in the story line area. Nothing like cinematics that bluntly explain what is happening in case you can't be bothered to actually pay attention to the game. :)

I did everything I could and I completed the game in under 12 hours -- as evidenced by the Achievement "Blitzkrieg". I didn't feel it was that long of a game, but it certainly wasn't the shortest game I've played. I haven't even bothered with the multiplayer as I haven't been interested. I played uncountable hours of RTCW: Enemy Territory, but for some reason this game doesn't inspire me to even try.

To summarize: Old school run and gun linear action with good graphics and a vaguely entertaining plot. Nothing ground breaking, but I don't think it was intended to be. It's a good game, and I enjoyed playing it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Totally satisfying game and a good intro for older wanna be players, December 17, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wolfenstein - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I'm not a hard core gamer. I'm in my 60s and don't spend that much time playing games. I get frustrated with games like GTA and Red Dead that make you do boring things over and over to progress in Campaigns. But having said that, I do love video games and this is a satisfying game throughout.
I played it on the easiest skill level. I get frustrated if I have to do a mission over and over and would rather take the trip the game offers rather than proving that I can mash buttons. I think this would be a great game for someone who wonders what the fuss is all about for video games. On Easy it's fun there's plenty to explore and weapons to upgrade and cool ass superpowers.
I've been playing games since Doom came out on the pc and always have a special place for games like Quake and the original Duke Nukem.
Since Duke nukem Forever was a chore to play and i just gave up on it, I'm so glad I got this and though I admit I did get bored with Wolfenstein's final boss battle (yawn) and did give up on it, I can't wait to play it over again, even though i'll be doing it on 'easy' once more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Like Indiana Jones but even Cheesier!, March 22, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wolfenstein - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I'll admit it, I'm not a huge fan on online multiplayer. This game really brings the single player campaign back to the forefront and yes, they still make these. Wolfenstein is a pretty long game and I really took alot of time to find all of the collectibles as finding them equals big rewards, more on that in a minute.

You jump into the combat boots of B.J. Blazkowicz in his triumphant return form 2001. Return to Castle Wolfenstein was a remake of the original and this here is the direct sequel. Here you start off in a small fictional town Isenstadt, which becomes your base of operations for you and the several factions that you help, whose goal is to liberate the township from Nazi control. Your goal is to take on various missions which further the story and allow you to obtain gold, intel, and tomes. In the story, you manage to discover a powerful magic medallian (the veil) which allows you to use cool abilities which you will need against some of the stronger enemies and the even stronger epic boss fights.

Gold allows you to upgrade your weapons which adds really noticeble improvements like recoil dampening alterations to cool things like scopes and bayonets. The whole thing is pretty addicting and will have you looking all over for Nazi treasure. Intel plays a key role in the upgrades as well, oftentimes you have to find blueprints behind enemy lines to get some of the additions to your guns. The medallian can be upgraded as well but to improve your abilities even more, you have to locate tomes (books that unlock new skills). I had a lot of fun with the system used here and I wish more fps games did this.

The graphics are really decent here. Some areas, like the part in the underground lab flooded with water are well done in particular. Most of the environments are pretty standard to the WW 2 shooter genre, air fields, farms , and things like that, but others like the zepplein feel fresh and new. The whole game seems really campy and more colorful than Return to castle Wolfenstein which was much darker.
This game is good cheesy B movie fun. In fact, I rather enjoy the Indiana Jones feel of this game as opposed to the last games that aped their style from Doom. You still have Nazi dominatrix chicks and Nazis flying around in jet packs and a huge arsenal at your disposal. Back as well are the crazy particle guns and rocket launchers which are staples of developer id. The powers of the medallian are a cool new feature and do a good job of making you feel really powerful but not indestructable.

If you want a really strong campaign driven fps, this game is for you. The story is kinda ridiculous but it does enough to keep you going and the cut scenes are good but short and infrequent. Overall, the presentation is very good and I really enjoyed playing through this. I can't think of a better way to spend an afternoon with a couple of beers and a comfy couch, besides, what other world war 2 shooter has a giant spider boss from another dimension that looks like the queen alien from Aliens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nazis, mysticism, robots--what more could you ask for?, February 6, 2012
By 
Scrooge McDuck (Newport Beach, CA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wolfenstein - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I'm a geezer game player. I'm not very good at any of them, and any 11-year old could kick my ass on just about any game. Nevertheless, I have about 20 games, and this is my favorite.

It's a crazy-quilt combination of wartime shooter, fantasy, and sci-fi. Sure, there are Nazis, but you get to tool around between dimensions, fighting soldiers, robots, mystical priests, supernatural assassins. I really don't understand the weak average rating here, because the game is really satisfying to play.

It is extremely cinematic. The "production design" is fantastic, bringing you into a parallel world with 40s aesthetics and technologies. It pulls in many of the same tropes as Indiana Jones: the Nazis experiment with mystical powers, and you get to kill a lot of them. The "soundtrack" score is compelling, and enhances the action nicely, in a very showtime-y way.

The mechanics of this game are very satisfying. You have a number of conventional weapons--guns, rifles, machine guns, flame-throwers--in addition to the weirder ones, like particle beams. All of them feel solid and real, and a lot of fun to hunt and fight with.

In short, this game is like Indiana Jones come to life. It's goofy, but imaginative, and a whole lot of fun to play. If I had to choose two "desert island videogames," I would have to choose this one and BioShock.

At the time of this writing, it's only $10.99 at Amazon. If you have some time and money to waste, try out Wolfenstein. Cause really, what's more fun than killing interdimensional Nazis?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOLFENSTEIN RELOADED!, August 23, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Wolfenstein - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
People have to stop giving negative, biased opinions of great games that don't focus on the multiplayer aspect. C'mon everyone we already have the Call of Duty series and Halo games for that. It's great to have a game focus mainly on the single player campaign. I loved and enjoyed RTCW's single player story back in the day and this newest installment does not dissapoint. This new version has above par graphics. The story line is deep and engaging. You can do a lot of unique things. For example: Jumping onto to rooftops of buildings to get an advantage on youre target or find hidden treasures. The game has some open territory to explore. What I don't understand by th negative reviews on this page is that " THIS IS WOLFENSTEIN ". It plays very close to the same as RTCW did for the original XBOX. It's even set up in a very similar and familar fashion. Wolfenstein has always been a singal player, first person adventure game at it's core. Who cares about the multiplayer aspect all of the time. Like I said earlier, we already have an overabundance of solid multiplayer games out on the market. It's time we got back to the good ol' day's of great single player extravaganzas! Even the violence and gore in this version is fantastic. The Nazi's die in a very dramatic fashion. I shot one and while he was on the ground dead I blasted him again and turned his face into hamburger helper. What I also find interesting is you can go onto other game sites and the majority of gamers is giving Wolfenstein great reviews. I don't know what's wrong with people on Amazon's website. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most enjoyable game since Halo 3, September 28, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wolfenstein - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This game is so unbelievably under-rating in the gaming press, although it did get good reviews, it is simple awesome! I was absolutely surprised by the gameplay, which was deep, complex, but not frustrating. The weapon upgrades are a hoot, and the futuristic weapons scale up with the difficulty of the tougher enemies. Being able to upgrade weapons means you can keep the old WWII-era machine guns and awesome sniper rifle even later in the game to take down bad guys, due to the other upgrades to your character's abilities. Some of the bosses are unbalanced in their difficulty, requiring dozens of attempts to take them down but once you learn their weaknesses a second run through the game goes much more quickly. I've played the COD series, Battlefield series, and this game stands alone as a real gem. Ironically, I didn't touch it for YEARS because the old Xbox version was so horrible! What a surprise that the 360 version is so great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We in tha nazi killin bidness and cousin, bidness is a boomin!, May 7, 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wolfenstein - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Love it! Took my favorite game of the genre return to castle wolfenstein and gave it a overhaul sporting a awesome new "powers" ability adding another level of nazi killing bliss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wolfenstein - Xbox 360
Wolfenstein - Xbox 360 by Activision Inc. (Xbox 360)
$39.99 $36.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.