Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolfroy goes to Town
A far cry from the lush country arrangements of yesteryear, this is a whole new Bonnie, though still lovable and eerily familiar. He's back to making albums under his own, um, name, minus Cairo Gang. The esteemed Emmett Kelly is still in tow however, along with Angel Olsen (of Babblers "fame"). The results are fantastic, but not at all like Wonder Show, nor Beware, Lie...
Published on October 18, 2011 by Michael A. Albert

versus
1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Aaargh!!!!!!!
How dreadfully boring and pretentiously serious this all is. Been reading a lot about how wonderful and innovative this supposed "artist" is...never guess that from listening though. Not remotely in the same league as someone like Richard Thompson...now there's a true singer/songwriter...feeling, tunes, serious chops and a sense of humor.
Published on April 13, 2012 by Pamela J. Knight


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wolfroy goes to Town, October 18, 2011
This review is from: Wolfroy Goes To Town (MP3 Music)
A far cry from the lush country arrangements of yesteryear, this is a whole new Bonnie, though still lovable and eerily familiar. He's back to making albums under his own, um, name, minus Cairo Gang. The esteemed Emmett Kelly is still in tow however, along with Angel Olsen (of Babblers "fame"). The results are fantastic, but not at all like Wonder Show, nor Beware, Lie Down in the Light, or The Letting Go. Spare and dark, yet complex and ultimately uplifting, Wolfroy Goes to Town requires multiple close listens to unravel its beauty and complexity. Lead single, Quail and Dumplings, is one exception: a lush, inviting tune, but with lyrics that invoke hardship as well as hope (we got empty tummies/but that won't always be).

If you have liked any prior works of Will Oldham, you'll find something to like here. If you're expecting the full country arrangements of his last couple of albums, you won't find much of that. But you will find some comfortingly familiar voices, and songs that you won't soon forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How the hell does he do it?!, February 26, 2012
By 
This review is from: Wolfroy Goes to Town (Audio CD)
Okay, we ALL know how prolific Bonnie Prince Billy is all throughout his career. I don't know...I just can't explain it and I'm speechless. How the, HOW??? HOW did he make something THIS GORGEOUS after being on the scene THIS LONG? I mean other artists would be exhausted by now if they were him! Wells got to dry out eventually, right? Words cannot describe this music. That cliche I just typed can't describe this music. I'm not even going to go into any detail. I'm just...oh my I'm dumbstruck. This man can do no wrong. Just listen and imbibe on the imminent and enigmatic beauty that is this shiny new BPB record, and be as astounded as I am at the originality and perfection all these years later. This one's gonna spin for a long time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another collection of grand Mysteries., December 4, 2011
This review is from: Wolfroy Goes to Town (Audio CD)
I can't say enough good about this album and the works of Will. However, you will have to listen to this at least twenty times to even begin to fathom its depths. I'll leave that for you to do and say, Get this, get them all, and listen until it strikes the depths in you. If that does not happen, I wonder about your humanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wolfroy, February 9, 2012
By 
james gray (SENECA, SOUTH CAROLINA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wolfroy Goes to Town (Audio CD)
There are times Billy seems to get whether uneven and by that I mean you never know what to expect from one Billy recording to the next. Years ago there was an interview with Nick Cave about music he listened to or found good and he said Bonnie Prince Billy and The Dirty Three, both coming from very different musical directions. Both are minimalists. This cd by Billy rates among his best (The Letting Go, I see a darkness), with Billy, you never know quite sure which direction he's heading, in this one he's going towards his best material ever. If you are a fan of Billy 'darkness' and 'letting go' material, this one is for you. If you like his more country music oriented material, stay away from this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars oh yes., March 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wolfroy Goes To Town (MP3 Music)
His best album. Period. Will's voice continues to get more and more amazing. You'd be a fool to not own this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gift for my son., January 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wolfroy Goes to Town (Audio CD)
I purchased this as a Christmas gift for my son. He has enjoyed it. This service was good and fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Aaargh!!!!!!!, April 13, 2012
This review is from: Wolfroy Goes to Town (Audio CD)
How dreadfully boring and pretentiously serious this all is. Been reading a lot about how wonderful and innovative this supposed "artist" is...never guess that from listening though. Not remotely in the same league as someone like Richard Thompson...now there's a true singer/songwriter...feeling, tunes, serious chops and a sense of humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wolfroy Goes to Town
Wolfroy Goes to Town by Bonnie Prince Billy (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.