Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 100 Women Who Shaped World History
I think this is an excellent book for girls to read because it shows them that there are women who changed or help change world history.The author tells about the troubles the women went though and what they accomplished. This book does not just talk about queens and princesses, but also includes less privileged women who made important changes. It goes all the way back...
Published on March 24, 2000

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 100 Women Who Shaped World History
I think this book is a wonderful book to read. It shows how women changed the world history by what they accomplished and how they stand up from their troubles. At the end of the book there's a really interesting trivia quiz. On top of each page, there's a map that shows where the women lived/lives. The only flaw in this book is that the pictures are not well drawn.
Published on April 2, 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 100 Women Who Shaped World History, March 24, 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: 100 Women Who Shaped World History (100 Series) (Paperback)
I think this is an excellent book for girls to read because it shows them that there are women who changed or help change world history.The author tells about the troubles the women went though and what they accomplished. This book does not just talk about queens and princesses, but also includes less privileged women who made important changes. It goes all the way back to Queen Makare Hatshepsut in 1530 BC and ends with Rigoberta Menchu. This book includes a trivia quiz and maps to show you where the women lived/live. Overall, I believe this is an excellent book because many of these women have been left out of school history books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 100 Women Who Shaped World History, April 2, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: 100 Women Who Shaped World History (100 Series) (Paperback)
I think this book is a wonderful book to read. It shows how women changed the world history by what they accomplished and how they stand up from their troubles. At the end of the book there's a really interesting trivia quiz. On top of each page, there's a map that shows where the women lived/lives. The only flaw in this book is that the pictures are not well drawn.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is hard to be a woman in a men s world!, July 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Very good! Brief and useful! I was looking a book for Emilie du Chatelet ( an amazing woman in Renaissance) and found it! Sophie Germain, Helen Keller, Agatha Cristie, Ypatia and many other great women! Scientists, poets, artists, writers, wives, leaders, teachers, they shape the world history but they are not mentioned! As Voltaire said about Emilie du Chatelet << she was a great man whose only fault was that she was a woman>>. I only wish Lise Meitner was among them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love short bios, April 17, 2014
By 
Y.Castilla (forest hills, New York USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Women Who Shaped World History (100 Series) (Paperback)
With this book I have learned a lot about women that influenced so much on this world. Their bios are short but very interesting. Thanks Y.Castilla
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great walk through history!, April 28, 2013
By 
K.M.Meyer (Chicago, Il USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Enjoyed reading information on impact women have made throughout history. Good read for anyone that is interested in women's history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect gift /hostess gift, December 26, 2011
By 
Valerie Terry (Los Angeles California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Women Who Shaped World History (100 Series) (Paperback)
This is a beautiful book looks good on coffee table and also a great read. these women are amazing in their own fields and we should feel their lives have touched us in some way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very cool book, February 17, 2009
By 
This review is from: 100 Women Who Shaped World History (100 Series) (Paperback)
Simple, easy to read and highlights the great acts of many women I would not have otherwise known of!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, September 2, 2014
This review is from: 100 Women Who Shaped World History (100 Series) (Paperback)
Nice book for girls
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not engaging, February 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Women Who Shaped World History (100 Series) (Paperback)
The book is like a summary of "book reports" on women throughout history. It's not engaging or exciting to read. I am disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 15 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ugly drawings, April 2, 2001
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: 100 Women Who Shaped World History (100 Series) (Paperback)
The pictures in this book are very off putting. Yuck! If I had realized what the pictures looked like I would never have bought this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

100 Women Who Shaped World History (100 Series)
100 Women Who Shaped World History (100 Series) by Gail Meyer Rolka (Paperback - April 1994)
$7.95 $7.07
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.