Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Luxury Beauty Mother's Day Gifts Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback May4th

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$7.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 24, 2000
I think this is an excellent book for girls to read because it shows them that there are women who changed or help change world history.The author tells about the troubles the women went though and what they accomplished. This book does not just talk about queens and princesses, but also includes less privileged women who made important changes. It goes all the way back to Queen Makare Hatshepsut in 1530 BC and ends with Rigoberta Menchu. This book includes a trivia quiz and maps to show you where the women lived/live. Overall, I believe this is an excellent book because many of these women have been left out of school history books.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2001
I think this book is a wonderful book to read. It shows how women changed the world history by what they accomplished and how they stand up from their troubles. At the end of the book there's a really interesting trivia quiz. On top of each page, there's a map that shows where the women lived/lives. The only flaw in this book is that the pictures are not well drawn.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 24, 2015
100 WOMEN WHO SHAPED WORLD HISTORY, Gail Meyer Rolka, 1994, Bluewood Books. Fascinating!!! Begins with Queen Makare Hatshepsut (d. 1483 BC) and ends with Rigoberta Menchu (b 1959). Brief biographies of these 100 women. I came across this book while seeking something else on Amazon.smile (I get lucky that way, sometimes). It's a thin paperback, but, Oh, so worth it. These are amazing women we should know about and remember. five stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2016
This book is formatted having one women per page in chronological order from BC 1483-AD 1959. Nice, concise introduction to each person.
There is much need for books about influential women so I am glad this is available. However, it is disappointing that it seems to have been made hastily. The drawings are unappealing and I am not sure what the process was to select the '100 women who shaped World History' was as the women are mainly from Europe and America apart from a few. Don't claim 'world history' if it is not.
review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2014
Very good! Brief and useful! I was looking a book for Emilie du Chatelet ( an amazing woman in Renaissance) and found it! Sophie Germain, Helen Keller, Agatha Cristie, Ypatia and many other great women! Scientists, poets, artists, writers, wives, leaders, teachers, they shape the world history but they are not mentioned! As Voltaire said about Emilie du Chatelet << she was a great man whose only fault was that she was a woman>>. I only wish Lise Meitner was among them!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2011
This is a beautiful book looks good on coffee table and also a great read. these women are amazing in their own fields and we should feel their lives have touched us in some way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2014
With this book I have learned a lot about women that influenced so much on this world. Their bios are short but very interesting. Thanks Y.Castilla
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2013
Enjoyed reading information on impact women have made throughout history. Good read for anyone that is interested in women's history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2009
Simple, easy to read and highlights the great acts of many women I would not have otherwise known of!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2014
Nice book for girls
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse