Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Good copy with moderate cover and page wear from being handled and read. Accessories or dust jacket may be missing. Could be an ex-library copy that will have all the stickers and or marking of the library. Some textual or margin notes possible, and or contain highlighting.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Wonder Kid Meets the Evil Lunch Snatcher (Springboard Books) Paperback – April 2, 1990

See all 6 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
"Please retry"
$33.91 $0.01
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

The Boys of Fire and Ash
Interested in middle grade fantasy novels?
Check out The Boys of Fire and Ash by Meaghan McIsaac.Learn more | See more

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Brian and Sarah's family moves to a new town when their out-of-work father is offered a job. The children's first day at school is marred when their lunches are confiscated by Matt, a sixth-grade bully. But they do make friends with Robbie and Lisa, a brother and sister who empathize with the new kids' dismay over Matt. Sharing a love for superhero comic books, Brian and Robbie invent a persona, Wonder Kid, and use special effects to scare off Matt. This entry in the Springboard Book series is composed of short chapters and easy vocabulary, but it is sharply tuned in to genuine concerns of third and fourth graders. Matt, of course, seems a bit gullible to be falling for these tricks, but the end of the bully's reign is worth cheering for. Ages 7-9.
Copyright 1988 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From School Library Journal

Grade 3-4 When Brian and his sister are mugged for their lunches by the school bully and his gang, a fellow comic book fan and his sister help him cook up a plan involving a superhero called Wonder Kid, and the bully soon has his comeuppance. While this plan is set up well through stories in the school newspaper, it seems too easy to convince the bully and his friends of Wonder Kid's powers. Overall, the plot moves smoothly, although Brian sometimes seems to think of himself in adult terms, and the dialogue is not always convincingly child-like. The friendship between the two pairs of siblings grows naturally, and Brian does become better friends with his own sister because of the experience. This is a serviceable book, but not an outstanding choice. Annette Curtis Klause, Montgomery County Department of Public Libraries, Md.
Copyright 1988 Reed Business Information, Inc. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Age Range: 9 and up
  • Lexile Measure: 640L (What's this?)
  • Series: Springboard Books
  • Paperback: 76 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown (April 2, 1990)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0316195618
  • ISBN-13: 978-0316195614
  • Product Dimensions: 5.2 x 0.2 x 8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 2.4 ounces
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #522,697 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Lois Duncan was born in Philadelphia, PA, and grew up in Sarasota, FL.
She knew from early childhood that she wanted to be a writer. She submitted her first story to a magazine at age 10 and became published at 13. Throughout her high school years she wrote regularly for young people's publications, particularly Seventeen.

As an adult, Lois moved to Albuquerque, NM, where she taught magazine writing for the Journalism Department at the University of New Mexico and continued to write for magazines. Over 300 of her articles and stories appeared in such publications as Ladies Home Journal, Redbook, McCall's, Good Housekeeping, and Reader's Digest, and for many years she was a contributing editor for Woman's Day.

Lois is the author of over 50 books, ranging from children's picture books to poetry to adult non-fiction, but is best known for her young adult suspense novels, which have received Young Readers Awards in 16 states and three foreign countries. In 1992, Lois was awarded the Margaret A. Edwards Award, presented by the School Library Journal and the ALA Young Adult Library Services Association for "a distinguished body of adolescent literature." In 2009, she received the Katharine Drexel Award, awarded by the Catholic Library Association "to recognize an outstanding contribution by an individual to the growth of high school and young adult librarianship and literature." In 2015 she was named a Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America.


Although young people are most familiar with Lois Duncan's fictional suspense novels, adults may know her best as the author of WHO KILLED MY DAUGHTER?, the true story of the murder of Kaitlyn Arquette, the youngest of Lois's five children. Kait's heartbreaking story has been featured on such TV shows as Unsolved Mysteries, Good Morning America, Larry King Live, Sally Jessy Raphael and Inside Edition. A full account of the family's on-going personal investigation of this still unsolved homicide can be found on the Internet at

Lois Duncan's personal web page is at

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet.
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Share your thoughts with other customers

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?