Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_cbcc_7_fly_beacon $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SnS

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$9.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 30, 2007
After seeing Eric Clapton on Larry King, and hearing Larry mention that Pattie Boyd wrote a book also, I decided I wanted to read her memoir first. What a total disappoinment! Granted, Pattie Boyd is not a writer and had Penny Junor assist, but in my opinion a fifth grader could have written a better book!

Being a child of the 60s I was very interested in what she may say because I assumed her life would have been very exciting. However, her book does not seem to get to the point - she writes pages of nonsense and then jumps from one subject to the next with no continuity. And some of the remarks she makes about the wives of the other Beatles show what a large ego she has. But I could tolerate that if at least the book was interesting. Patti Boyd managed to do the impossible - she made a book about the life with a Beatle and Eric Clapton sound boring!!

I lent it to a friend without telling her my thoughts and remarkably she felt the same way. Pattie Boyd would have been better off publishing her diary then this compilation of tidbits that seem to go nowhere.

Sorry I wasted the money. Hopefully Eric's book will be better.
0Comment|20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2007
I breezed through this book during a spare hour or two sitting in one of those comfy chairs at Borders. So glad I didn't spend the money! Pattie Boyd has had a life almost anyone would describe as interesting, but you would never know it from reading this memoir. The two great loves of her life come off as extremely one-dimensional, particularly George Harrison. I wondered, reading the book, if her years with George were just so long ago she couldn't summon any concrete memories, or if her knowledge of him was truly as shallow as she made it sound. If you've ever read any books by any other Beatles insiders, like Peter Brown's account, then you won't get any new knowledge from that section of the book.

Boyd is a woman who apparently sparked enough passion in two very talented men to inspire several timeless love songs, but that part of her, and that part of her relationships with Harrison and Clapton, does
not come across in the book at all. Surely a better ghostwriter could have teased more memories and insights from her than an endless list of clothes she wore, trips she took, and people she knew. This could have been a story worthy of its era and its subjects, but it's just not. If you have a spare hour to kill in a comfy chair, just skim it at the bookstore!
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2010
I have the same complaints as others, namely a problem with the chronological order (or lack of) and a very beginner level writing style. But my biggest problem is Ms. Boyd-Harrison-Clapton's total cluelessness as to why her relationships and life may have been troubled. Could it be because everyone was on drugs or drunk - including her?

She has an amazing ability to justify her drug use as being okay. But not only was SHE high, but so were her spouses, her friends, her family - everyone. Everyone's life was falling apart yet decades later, she can't put two and two together to realize "hey maybe it's because we were all completly out of it!" She goes into detail about trying so desperately to have a child, yet still drinking in excess while trying to get pregnant. She is stuck in her glory days of the past and what she remembers and still craves is the fame which is long gone. I was hoping that the last chapter would be an admonition to steer clear of drugs and look instead for ways to live a purposeful life; then the book would have served a purpose. As it is, it told about one long party...and now she's old. Sad.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2007
I have to agree with all the negative comments made here, and then some. Where was the Editor or better yet a fact checker? This book is a mess from start to finish and isn't even worth taking a trip to your local library for. The name dropping and Patti's accounts of her endless "vacations" were enough to put me to sleep. By the time I finished this book, I came to conclusion that Ms. Boyd was nothing more than a gold digger and her final victim was me when I purchased this book!

On a side note, Patti threw a few nasty digs at Cynthia Lennon and stated she didn't get on well with Cynthia. Miss Boyd would have done herself a favor if she had read "John" by Cynthia Lennon. At least Cynthia Lennon could put together a coherent sentence and kept basic facts straight, which is more than I can say for Patti Boyd.
33 comments|35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2008
This book is terrible. I thought this book would be a little more detailed about the private life's of Eric and George and their music. Instead, it reads like a chronology of events with all relevant sections deleted. These musicians played poker with little girls' life's and, when they grew tired of the flavor of the month, they switched off. Pattie and her friends were objects that were passed around and when everyone was done, they were replaced by the next round of young beautiful girls. Why would you marry a man that sends his best friend to ask you??? I feel sorry for Pattie Boyd. I believe she thinks she was really loved and that all of the songs she quotes in her book were about her. Eric Clapton seems to need the youngest and the prettiest, Pattie just happened to be there when he was ready to switch. I do not think her life was glamorous at all, I think it was empty and sad. Pattie's life was spent with some incredible people but, there was no soul connection with any of them. It was all surface and show. Pattie never knew the heart of either of these men, she was an object and that is all she was. This book is poorly written and lacks any depth, character, or substance and is proof that Ms. Boyd did not know the depth of these men. Don't waste your time.
0Comment|37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2007
That's all it is, I'm afraid to say so. Although it claims to be an honest account but if you read with a thinking mind, a lot of things don't add up. I don't want to sound judgemental but can anyone imagine anyone with some sense of decency and dignity turned up at Harrods expecting the account her ex-husband (George Harrison) provided for her to be still there after she ran off and set up home with his best friend (Eric Clapton)? On finding that it was closed and she hadn't the money to pay for her Christmas shopping, she called her ex-husband George instead of Eric so he could write her a cheque of 5000 pounds. She said her new man Eric was furious. Of course he would be and fancy her constantly reminding us proudly throughout the book that she was well brought up with a private school/convent education! It saddens one to think that anyone would want to parade such a silly life in front of the world and in the end, one is relieved that George Harrison and Eric Clapton found happiness and stability elsewhere. It's a nice book to toss around the house as part of the home decor though, because of the beautiful artwork design and colours! Also, there are some lovely photos of Pattie.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 7, 2007
I was eagerly looking forward to reading this, but was utterly disappointed in most of it. It is poorly written and edited, jumping from paragraph to paragrah on unrelated topics, and often jumping forward or back years at a time on the same page. She glosses over her life with George, and provides very little details about the Beatles. She was there when it was happening, come on, give us some insights as to what it was like. She takes up only a few lines on George's death (or John's for that matter), but spends pages and pages on the parties she was at, dropping names of then-famous people who were there also.

She was blessed with cuteness when she was young, but seems to have used her good looks living off the men in her life. She's obsessed with money, going into great detail on what things cost (even though she didn't pay for hardly anything). She laments the fact that she was forced to move into a "small" six-bedroom house at one point in her life, and many years after her divorce from Eric she tried to get him to buy her a million-dollar house to live in (he refused). You are left with very little sympathy for her.

Read the book if you want to find out about the excesses of the 60s, the drugs, the booze, its a wonder so many of them are still functioning today. If you want to find details about George or Eric, they aren't in this book.
0Comment|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 31, 2007
Pattie Boyd was the quintessential 60's female icon and I, along with all of my friends wanted to copy her style.I have often wondered about Pattie Boyd and what her life had been like married to George Harrison and living in the thick of Beatlemania and beyond. But this book,just skims the surface of those years--in terms of information, writing style and depth. The same stories that have been written in many books are here and yet, Pattie doesn't really dig deep and give the readers any personal insight or her opinion about the major Beatle players or events. Perhaps it's because some of them (Paul,Ringo,Cynthia,Yoko,etc.) are still alive. So, the book feels like Pattie Boyd is holding back and underneath this bio-lite is probably a deeper richer story. For example, one chapter ends with the wedding to George Harrison in Jan. of 1966--the next chapter starts with 1967! What happened in 1966? The story of her life with Eric Clapton is a nightmare and here she opens up a bit more about this passage of her life. But even there she seems restrained (in her writing) when she should have really let go! I think that Bob Dylan's bio (Cronicles:vol one) is probably the best biography written to date of someone from that era. He really raised the bar and it's hard to top that book! Well, the final word is that Pattie Boyd lived one hell of a life-- but not as happy as we may have imagined. And she is sadly, one more person burned by being too close to the flame of the Beatles.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Pattie Boyd was a successful model in the 1960s whose main claim to fame is that she was married to George Harrison and then Eric Clapton. Her autobiography is both easy to read and very interesting - particularly the first half when she is with George. The second half of the book gets increasingly disjointed as she and Eric lurch from one drunken episode to another.

Pattie grew up in Kenya and went to boarding school. When she came home at the end of term, her father was gone and her mother introduced her to a stranger with the words "meet your new father". Not surprisingly, she went on to have unhappy relationships with all the men that she was involved with. She met George when she was given a small part in a Beatles movie and they immediately fell in love. She paints an intriguing portrait of life with the Beatles. Brian Epstein took control of all their affairs, so for example they would go on holiday and arrive having no idea where they were staying or what they'd be doing. Another time they all ate out in restaurant and no one had any money for the bill, as they had never had to pay before.

As I read the book I got frustrated because Pattie never gives you much sense of what people were like. Mick Jagger and Marianne Faithfull were ever-present in the 60s, but there's no sense of what kind of people they are. She and George met Frank Sinatra: we learn that he drove a limo but not what they talked about. Joni Mitchell is described as "great fun" - why? I've no idea. Even the other Beatles are only described in very cursory ways: John's indifference to Cynthia and Paul's interest in business being dominant themes. And when Eric Clapton appears, it is near-impossible to say what Pattie ever saw in him, other than that he was interested in her when her ego was badly bruised by George's infidelities and religious obsession. I couldn't help feeling that a better co-writer might have drawn more out of her and not let her get away with such a topline account.

The book jumps around all over the place and it's very hard to get a sense of when things actually happened. For example, at one stage she refers to an event being 3 years ago, when the dates that she gives mean that it could only have been 12 months earlier. So you are always trying to work out how different pieces fit together. At another stage Pattie refers to the fact that of course she is painfully shy - not something that has been evident up until that point. The book badly needed more structure.

The epilogue is quite interesting. Pattie talks about the way that her childhood and modeling career ate away at her self-esteem and how she perceives that affected the choices that she made in her relationships. It would have been nice if she had put herself under more self-scrutiny throughout the book. There were all kinds of little things that I wanted to call her out on - the way that she said she would never have an affair with a married man but somehow it was okay to sleep with Eric Clapton when he was dating her sister. Or her belief that Eric's heroin addiction was "because of her" and that she should leave her husband because she owed Eric for the hell that he went through. It's an interesting book, but its flaws mean that it was only a three star read for me.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2007
What a boring book! Save your money and either borrow it from the library or just wait a few months when it ends up on the discount bin at your local book seller. This reads like a preteen writing 'what I did during my summer vacation'. Whatever you thought of this women will be shattered as you realize she is only in it for the money and that the story you want to read just isn't here because she won't tell or she just doesn't remember. If you care about her obsession with money, clothes, vacations and friends but not her marriages then this is the book for you. Otherwise, buyer beware!

ANYONE who knows the story of the Beatles know who Pattie Boyd is and has read this entire book from other sources over the last few decades. Sorry to disappoint the masses here but unless you are totally oblivious to the story of the Fab Four you won't learn a thing new here. Oh sure, there are some here who believe its a new revalation into the behind the scenes account of a women in the midst of two highly cretive musicians but I ask, what did you learn? Nothing new. A bored, out of work but somewhat well known fashion model finds Beatle hubby engrossed in eastern religion and music to keep her well stocked in drugs and the latest fashions and decides to flirt with his new best friend knowing full well the guy will go crazy for her beauty. Instead of making Beatle hubby jealous, he retreats and now she has to face the music so to speak. She leaves for new guy thinking the 'grass is greener' only to find out nothing is new; oh bother, what to do? Lets just drink and pretend we don't notice the affairs, the drugs and the drinking. We know all this - what's the point of this autobiography except to garner royalities to pad the bank account? Or to promote her pictures?

And to add insult to injury, it reads like a sixth grade composition; there is no meat here and a bore to finish. It seems rushed and barely edited. Sorry, can't recommend this book. Let's hope the Clapton bio is better otherwise save your money.

Layla has nothing wonderful tonight to say. Something in the way she writes just doesn't attract me.
22 comments|41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.