Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis' Winter Wonderland
First released as a LP in 1971 which achieved a 2x platinum status, this album is a true classic. The songs on the CD are the same as those on the LP, but, of course, in a much better soundquality. This CD features some of the greatest Christmas songs sung by Elvis, e.g. "Oh Come,All Ye Faithful", "The First Noel" (very emotional sung),a very...
Published on December 4, 1999 by Mark van Hout

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Few Nice Gems, But The First Sign of Trouble.
In 1971, coming hot off the heels of a series of successes (the 1968 Comeback Special, his 1969 return to live performances, the American Sound sessions and their subsequent hit singles and albums, the hit film "That's the Way It Is," and the excellent "Elvis Country" album), Elvis Presley released perhaps his biggest career misstep since his subpar movie career came to...
Published 14 months ago by Anthony Nasti


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis' Winter Wonderland, December 4, 1999
This review is from: Wonderful World of Christmas (Audio CD)
First released as a LP in 1971 which achieved a 2x platinum status, this album is a true classic. The songs on the CD are the same as those on the LP, but, of course, in a much better soundquality. This CD features some of the greatest Christmas songs sung by Elvis, e.g. "Oh Come,All Ye Faithful", "The First Noel" (very emotional sung),a very swinging version of "Winter Wonderland" and a beautiful version of "It Won't Seem Like Christmas (Without You)". The booklet contains the songtext of all the songs that are included and an unusual cover, featuring no photo of Elvis (Except for Santa and the snowman which has a picture of Elvis as a face), which was quite common for Elvis releases. All together, this is a great release for all those non-Elvisfans wanting a Christmasalbum from The King. For Elvisfans and all those people who can't get enough of Elvis singing Christmassongs I recommend the collector's edition of "If Every Day Was Like Christmas" (See my review there).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, but..., December 13, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Wonderful World of Christmas (Audio CD)
While the music contained on this album is indeed great, you should be aware that the 1993 compilation IF EVERY DAY WAS LIKE CHRISTMAS contains everything here PLUS everything from his 1957 Christmas album. Unless you really don't care for the earlier stuff (and how can you not?), that CD is the definitive Elvis Christmas collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis' second Christmas album, December 12, 2006
This review is from: Wonderful World of Christmas (Audio CD)
This album was originally release in 1971. It reached number 1 on the Billboard Christmas/Holiday Ablums chart (from 1963 through 1973 Billboard did not include Christmas and Holiday albums on their regular album chart so it is unclear where this album would have charted overall) and it would eventually sell more than 3 million copies, being certified triple PLATINUM by the RIAA. While it is very good, it is not on par with his first Christmas album. On a few of the songs, Elvis' voice seems to be straining and the material is just not as good as the first album. I would recommend that you pass on this album and buy the "If Every Day was Like Christmas" CD instead. It includes all the songs here and all the Christmas songs from his first Christmas album, plus 4 previously unreleased alternate takes; for a total of 24 Christmas songs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brings back memories, December 1, 2005
This review is from: Wonderful World of Christmas (Audio CD)
My parents played this ALBUM when I was a young child in the 70's. It is wonderful and reminds me of Christmas' past
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Play it dirty!, December 14, 2004
By 
This review is from: Wonderful World of Christmas (Audio CD)
This was Elvis's second Christmas album, it was released in 1971. While it is not as highly regarded as his first Christmas album, it's still a great album in it's own right. Elvis is in great voice throughout. "If I Get Home on Christmas Day" is one of Elvis's best singing performances ever! The extended blues jam on "Merry Christmas Baby" is a real treat, too. The whole album is wonderful, and Elvis's fans will really love it. It should be pointed out that the live version of "Blue Christmas" from the Comeback Special that closes the album is a CD bonus track that was not on the original LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis' Christmas World, December 12, 2013
Elvis honors the Christmas season for a second time in a myriad of music styles. His warm rendering of "The First Noel" taps beautifully into his gospel leanings. His "I'll Be Home on Christmas Day" fits naturally with his country roots. Most laudable in the lot is his pure raunch on "Merry Christmas Baby", a perfect holiday-blues. The rest sounds like Elvis just going through the routine. One major exception is the inclusion of a rawer, audience-crazed "Blue Christmas" from his December 1968 Comeback Special tacked on at the finish as a very worthy CD bonus cut.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Slapdash holiday music?, December 9, 2013
The yellow label RCA album entitled ELVIS SINGS THE WONDERFUL WORLD OF CHRISTMAS (ANL1-1936) is a 1975 reissue of an LP from four years earlier (LSP-4579). Principal tracks were laid down in Nashville on May 15th and 16th, 1971, with overdubbing one week to a month later.

These may have been rushed sessions, for the King's voice is not always up to par here. He has breath control and tremolo difficulties on "Snowy Christmas Night" and "Home on Christmas Day," plus lyrics are slurred on "Won't Seem Like Christmas."

The Imperials Quartet back Elvis on all save "Winter Wonderland" and Merry Christmas Baby," the album's highlight: an extra-long bluesy number featuring Presley's core studio backing band (Chet Atkins on guitar, pianist Floyd Cramer, Charlie McCoy's harmonica, etc.). It's this set's only non-country song and is simply marvelous. "Winter Wonderland" is a rockin' Nashville production with a guitar solo from Atkins. Cramer's tinkling keys are prominent on the title track.

SIDE ONE
[2:47] O Come, All Ye Faithful
[2:08] The First Noel
[2:46] On a Snowy Christmas Night
[2:17] Winter Wonderland
[1:55] The Wonderful World of Christmas
[2:38] It Won't Seem Like Christmas

SIDE TWO
[3:46] I'll Be Home on Christmas Day
[2:50] If I Get Home on Christmas Day
[2:12] Holly Leaves and Christmas Trees
[5:45] Merry Christmas Baby
[2:27] Silver Bells

TOTAL TIME: 31:31
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas, July 8, 2008
This review is from: Wonderful World of Christmas (Audio CD)
I love Christmas music and I am a huge Elvis fan so this a bonus. Every song is great. This disc will help you get in the Christmas spirit.Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful world of christmas cd, January 11, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wonderful World of Christmas (Audio CD)
I love this cd. I bought it when I was 17 years old back in 1974, I saw elvis presley in concert too that year. It is still my favorite of all his cd's . I love wonderful world of christmas, I think that and Blue Christmas are my favorite of his songs.!! I was so happy to get it again because I lost my other one years ago, it came in great condition too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis' Wonderful World of Christmas, January 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wonderful World of Christmas (Audio CD)
I replaced this CD for my sister after hers was stolen from her car. She loves it--boy does she love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wonderful World of Christmas
Wonderful World of Christmas by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 1990)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.