Customer Reviews


153 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (51)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High quality for the price!
Very nice quality wine rack - wood is of good quality, straight, and should take paint, varnish, or stain well. Far nicer than the similarly styled and priced units found at World Market. Easy assembly if you have an electric screwdriver, just have a friend there to help you hold the pieces in place while you screw it together. I bought 2 of these, and will purchase...
Published on February 13, 2008 by Lee Cornelius

versus
91 of 93 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to assemble. Useful size.
This rack is very easy to assemble. (If you have a good electric screwdriver, or drill with screwdriver bits.) You should be quite aware that it is cheap, unfinished wood, and it will NOT be a piece of furniture that you'll want to display to you wine buddies. Mine is under the stairs in my basement. It's easy to get to the wine, and pretty much out of the way...
Published on July 1, 2007 by Edward Hass


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 93 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Easy to assemble. Useful size., July 1, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wooden Wine Rack-Holds 44 Bottles-Unfinished Pine (Unfinished Pine) (40.5"h x 17"w x 10.5"d) (Kitchen)
This rack is very easy to assemble. (If you have a good electric screwdriver, or drill with screwdriver bits.) You should be quite aware that it is cheap, unfinished wood, and it will NOT be a piece of furniture that you'll want to display to you wine buddies. Mine is under the stairs in my basement. It's easy to get to the wine, and pretty much out of the way.

There is one important point you should be aware of. The spaces for each bottle of wine are designed for you typical 750ml bottle, and are separated from the other bottles by small wooden spacers. They are not in what you'd consider separate compartments. I placed a bottle that was somewhat wider than normal in the rack, and when I removed it, it dragged the bottle underneath it out as well, which smashed on the floor.

If you use this rack with any odd shaped bottles, be very careful inserting them, and removing them. This rack will definitely not hold 1.5 liter bottles, or any of my Chamoagne bottles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High quality for the price!, February 13, 2008
By 
Lee Cornelius "Lee" (Amherst, OH United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wooden Wine Rack-Holds 44 Bottles-Unfinished Pine (Unfinished Pine) (40.5"h x 17"w x 10.5"d) (Kitchen)
Very nice quality wine rack - wood is of good quality, straight, and should take paint, varnish, or stain well. Far nicer than the similarly styled and priced units found at World Market. Easy assembly if you have an electric screwdriver, just have a friend there to help you hold the pieces in place while you screw it together. I bought 2 of these, and will purchase more as my wine collection grows! Fits most regular 750 ml wine bottles, but not some champagnes or wide chardonnay style bottles. Remember, if you are going to store wine for long periods of time, it keeps best at 55 degrees fahrenheit, away from light or excess dryness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ok but..., July 16, 2008
This review is from: Wooden Wine Rack-Holds 44 Bottles-Unfinished Pine (Unfinished Pine) (40.5"h x 17"w x 10.5"d) (Kitchen)
A good solid starter rack. The only problem is it only fits straight bottles. If you are a Pinot Noir drinker this is not the rack for you. Easy to put together. Price is right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good rack for the price!, September 3, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wooden Wine Rack-Holds 44 Bottles-Unfinished Pine (Unfinished Pine) (40.5"h x 17"w x 10.5"d) (Kitchen)
Ok Folks, this is pine, and they are inexpensive, so don't expect fine-sanded mahoganony...But, a good rack for the price, and I knew what I was getting. I purchased (8) total to fill out a wine cellar. I stained mine, which must be done before assembly. This is a lot of work given all the nooks and and crannies, about 45mins per rack. Do not plan to wipe off the stain, impossible - just leave it on and let it dry. I'm not planning on varnishing them - too much work and mess. They look good, but a couple other comments. I suggest countersinking the screw holes to improve the look, improve strength, and reduce risk of splitting. Buy a coutersink bit if you dont have one. Use a hand screwdriver to final-tighten all the course thread screws, as its very easy to blow through the pine and split the pieces with a drill. Althoough it may not be necessary I used a finish nailer to attach the top to all the vertical spars/pieces. Pretty sturdy once assembled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for The Narrower Wine Bottle!, August 5, 2009
By 
P. Mascorro (Santa Rosa, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wooden Wine Rack-Holds 44 Bottles-Unfinished Pine (Unfinished Pine) (40.5"h x 17"w x 10.5"d) (Kitchen)
This wine rack is excellent for those who would rather spend their money on wine and not storage! Inexpensive but sturdy and easy to set up. The only negative I've experienced to date is the rack will only take the narrower 750ml bottles. Those shaped like a champagne bottle won't fit, even though they are also 750ml's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does what it should, April 17, 2010
By 
Jeffrey (Connecticut) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wooden Wine Rack-Holds 44 Bottles-Unfinished Pine (Unfinished Pine) (40.5"h x 17"w x 10.5"d) (Kitchen)
It holds wine. Pretty simple. Easy to put together IF you have an electric screwdriver or a drill.

Doesn't hold odd shaped bottles, just cab 750s. Stout pinot bottles are a tough fit.

Cheap and good for the basement. It's not a fancy pants display, so load it up next to the Christmas decoration storage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good inexpensive wine rack, May 8, 2009
By 
T. Snellgrove (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wooden Wine Rack-Holds 44 Bottles-Unfinished Pine (Unfinished Pine) (40.5"h x 17"w x 10.5"d) (Kitchen)
Not the height of fashion or stability but it gets the job done. If you're looking for a wine rack to put in the living room or needed it to be free standing you should probably spend more to get a better looking / more sturdy unit. But if you're planning to put it in the basement against a wall (which is where mine is) the price is right and assembly is easy (if you have a power screwdriver).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good simple wine rack, September 11, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wooden Wine Rack-Holds 44 Bottles-Unfinished Pine (Unfinished Pine) (40.5"h x 17"w x 10.5"d) (Kitchen)
If you're looking for a simple, non-fancy wine rack, this is a good choice. Assembly was fast and easy, and the instructions were straight-forward. It fits all my 750ml bottles, even the odd-shaped or narrow bottles. It's height/width also allow it to fit snugly in a tight corner or spot where a larger, fancier, bulkier rack might not.

My only real problem with the rack was that, since it's made of unfinished pine that might warp a bit easily, once it was assembled the legs weren't exactly even. If you're putting it on a hard level surface like a linoleum or wood floor, I'd recommend getting something to level it out so it doesn't wobble. I placed mine on a carpeted floor, so I didn't need to level it. Another gripe is that, once assembled, finishing and/or staining the wood is darn near impossible, with all the small cracks and crevaces. I would recommend staining/varnishing it before assembling, if that's your intent. The only other thing to note about this wine rack is that, strictly cosmetically speaking, the screws show all over.

However, if it's just a simple wine rack you want to sit in your kitchen/closet to function as a simple sturdy wine rack that holds lots of delicious wine - and not as a beautiful/trendy living room wine display/conversation piece - this is a great rack at a great price. It was definitely a worthy buy for me! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tight Wooden Wine Rack, July 16, 2010
By 
Chef Bill (Williamsburg, VA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wooden Wine Rack-Holds 44 Bottles-Unfinished Pine (Unfinished Pine) (40.5"h x 17"w x 10.5"d) (Kitchen)
Fat bottles won't fit and no back so put it up against a wall or just be careful. Otherwise good deal for the money; less then $2 a bottle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Does not take all common wine bottle sizes, August 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wooden Wine Rack-Holds 44 Bottles-Unfinished Pine (Unfinished Pine) (40.5"h x 17"w x 10.5"d) (Kitchen)
Came promptly, simple to put together, looks exactly like I thought it would, so it would get an A+, EXCEPT that I bought it because i had just come back from wine tasting in the Willamette Valley in Oregon, with two cases of wine from three different wineries, and not a single bottle fits in the rack. The bottles these wineries are using are just a bit larger in diameter than the most common wine bottle size in past years. I have a wine refrigerator with about 40 bottles in it from local wine stores, and about 75% fit and the other 25% do not. So these larger wine bottles are not at all rare, and a wine rack that won't hold them is useless to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.