Truck Month Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Tile Wearable Technology Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer starwars starwars starwars  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite UniOrlando Shop Now STEM

Price:$11.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 26, 2012
This is a great glue for model scenery. We use it for model trains, gluing anything from ballast on the track to sand, dirt, grass, etc. It works great, dries with matte finish and hardly leaves any trace. It's water soluble and cleans up and washes easily.

It is a runny glue, not to be confused with Scenic Glue, 8oz from Woodland Scenics. Scenic Glue is thick and used to clue model trees or posts in place. Scenic Cement is runny, dispenses easily and penetrates porous material intended to be glued very well.

One trick that helps in applying Scenic Cement for gluing material like track ballast is to dampen the material with plain rubbing alcohol first before applying Scenic Cement. Wetting it with alcohol first helps Scenic Cement get through the material even better. It makes a lot of difference. We use a simple medicine dropper to apply both alcohol and Scenic Cement. For laying down ballast on an N-scale track, dropper is sufficient. We prefer to use the dropper even for larger areas rather than a spray bottle as the spraying can move your material, such as grass out of place.

As mentioned earlier, the glue is quite runny and takes some time to dry. Plus when you're gluing ballast, grass or any other scenery material it's good to soak it well. So don't expect it to be dry in minutes. We typically leave it alone overnight. But when it dries it has matte finish and is rock solid.
22 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
Purchased the Scenic Cement not to use with Woodland Scenics scenarios, but to use on an intricate, elaborate 3-D family-related decoupage artwork. The artwork contained family pictures, raised to give a 3-D effect, as well as raw materials applicable to the scenery or theme. Finally a few Miniature Fairy Garden items were included to add humor to the scene. To simplify handling and assure (invisible) adhesion of the raw materials Scenic Cement was applied. The cement proved to function perfectly for its intended purpose. The final product shows no evidence of any type of adhesive material and all objects appear soundly bonded.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2008
Good product with the right consistency for diorama makers. You can brush it on or use a spray bottle to spray it on. Holds things tight and dries clear. Perfect for applying textures to your terrain.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2015
This stuff works great for keeping scenery down but you really have to soak it which means this is really expensive when you compare it to a home made solution of elmers white glue diluted 50/50 with water.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2009
This is an excellent product. It does what it claims to do. It is easy to use and easy to clean up, if necessary.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2013
for the price, you can do better and use something from home depot or lowes BUT this does a great job for what it's worth in the diorama world! it can be rationed out very well and used up to a 4x4' sized diorama board!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2015
I'm very happy with this product. I will probably buy more in the future.
review image
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2011
I used this to affix grass and dirt and it worked perfectly. So far, everything I have gotten from Woodland Scenics has worked well and been easy to use and realistic. Whether it is for toy soldiers or railroads, this company seems capable of filling the need.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2014
A well engineered product. There was some trepidation during my first application of the product, as the Scenic Cement has very low surface tension, and tends to envelope and saturate everything. I had sprayed it on tiny leaves that were being used in a wooded diorama, and it looked initially like milk was poured onto my landscape. But faithfully, the cement dried, leaving the leaves posed as if they had just fallen onto the surface and were ready to be picked up again by the slightest breeze. Amazing stuff.
Sometimes a certain phase of one's diorama needs a product that has been sorted and dialed in, with the modeler relying heavily on it, to pull it through that particular phase. This is my feeling towards the Woodland Scenics Scenic Cement. It saturates without any observed tendency to bead up, it dries without any trace of an enveloping plastic film, and any darkening due to wetness of the diorama parts is restored to it's original color and tone, when dried. Again, amazing stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2013
I have used this allot and once you let it dry for a day or so it works great with the fine turf. I mix it up an put it in a cereal bowel and apply a layer with a sponge brush then extra layers with an eye dropper.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.