Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just about all that most people need to know
The reference to the word "complete" in this book's title correctly suggests that almost anyone can read (preferably re-read) and then apply what is learned when creating a website or blog "from scratch." In my case, I had retained professionals to do much of the work for me but reading this book as well as others published by Packt enabled me to become a much...
Published on May 13, 2011 by Robert Morris

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
The glowing reviews that induced me to purchase this book have been followed by reviews that more closely mirror my own disappointment. Indeed, the book is concise, easy to read, and covers a lot of stuff appropriate to wordpress.org users, but is far too vague in guiding the user through the details of wordpress website implementation. Chapter 10, pertaining to setting...
Published on December 8, 2011 by greytourist


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Aging pretty well, February 16, 2014
By 
Mark Polino (Altamonte Springs, FL) - See all my reviews
Despite its age, WordPress is up to v 3.8 at this review, there is still a lot of relevance here. The book is complete, so there is a large amount of info for beginners and plenty of advanced items too. One caveat, there's a lot of code in there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The simplest book to understand about Wordpress., July 14, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WordPress 3 Complete (Paperback)
The book is really good, for people that never work with wordpress. It will guide you to every process including how to install your own theme. Simplicity at its best, chapters are well explain and it will teach the different ways to install workpress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not much to learn from it, November 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WordPress 3 Complete (Paperback)
I bought this book because I thought it's about latest version of the WordPress. After read it, I found that you wouldn't learn much more from this book than from wordpress codex which is free from codex.wordpress.org/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Had to purchase a more comprehensive book! Would not recommend for beginners, better ones available., July 30, 2014
This review is from: WordPress 3 Complete (Paperback)
Did not provide information I needed. Had to purchase "Professional Wordpress Design and development". After the 3rd chapter it states you should already be familiar with HTML5 programming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good guide, March 7, 2013
By 
Big Red (New Hampshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WordPress 3 Complete (Paperback)
Helpful, informative but not overwhelming. Easy to follow and understand. I would recommend it to people who need to learn word press, with or without additional schooling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It's Okay, August 29, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WordPress 3 Complete (Paperback)
With WordPress you have to have a site already hosted and this program on it. I don't have that so I didn't find it as helpful as I would have liked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not for beginners, November 6, 2011
By 
Vicmt (Hamilton, MT, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WordPress 3 Complete (Paperback)
This book is not for beginners. Convoluted, and using terminology that has not been explained. I was more lost after reading the book than before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Right on time., October 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Right on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Read, January 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WordPress 3 Complete (Paperback)
Very readable but no obvious advantages over the on-line documentation.
A good read however, so if you want a paper book, this is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought it would be more helpful, August 27, 2011
This review is from: WordPress 3 Complete (Paperback)
Being a beginner at web design, seeking the knowledge to build a blog, I bought this book. It seems pretty helpful at first but it fails to explain key concepts. One of the concepts it fails to explain is how to link the stylesheet to your html and provides code that does not function. You may find yourself searching for answers elsewhere in certain occasions. I'm new to this so sadly I don't have much to compare it too. It would be nice to find an "all knowing" source for creating your own wordpress blog! Or at least an author who covers all the bases!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

WordPress 3 Complete
WordPress 3 Complete by April Hodge Silver (Paperback - January 21, 2011)
$39.99 $35.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.