Customer Reviews


1,077 Reviews
5 star:
 (755)
4 star:
 (161)
3 star:
 (41)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (85)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Rude And Juvenile (and Oftentimes Hilarious) Comedy For Those That Appreciate Silliness
Despite its title, the Comedy Central produced "Workaholics" is not a traditional work place sitcom. It is a quintessential stoner/slacker comedy featuring three friends as they adapt (or refuse to adapt) to the increasingly complex world of adulthood. The guys are continuously rude, obnoxious and/or clueless and yet the bonds of their friendship may stretch, but never...
Published on July 27, 2011 by K. Harris

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny
If you're looking for comedy that tackles more serious topics, try "Louie" or "Girls." "Workaholics" is good dumb fun, and there's nothing wrong with that.
Published 4 months ago by Maneki Neko


‹ Previous | 1 2108 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

46 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Rude And Juvenile (and Oftentimes Hilarious) Comedy For Those That Appreciate Silliness, July 27, 2011
This review is from: Workaholics: Season 1 (DVD)
Despite its title, the Comedy Central produced "Workaholics" is not a traditional work place sitcom. It is a quintessential stoner/slacker comedy featuring three friends as they adapt (or refuse to adapt) to the increasingly complex world of adulthood. The guys are continuously rude, obnoxious and/or clueless and yet the bonds of their friendship may stretch, but never break--even when they behave in the most horrifying ways to one another. Unabashedly silly and crude, and oftentimes hilarious, this comedy makes no apologies for what it is. Not for sensitive viewers, this is in-your-face aggressive without a concern for political correctness or appropriateness. It is the irreverent "anything can happen" feel that is the core selling point for this ridiculously appealing show. I suspect that if you enjoy the wild antics of "Workaholics," you will become a fervent and vocal supporter of the show. If, however, it all seems a bit juvenile for your taste--there is a good chance you will absolutely loathe this program. This could very well be a love-it or hate-it proposition.

Season One lines up ten episodes which spend about equal time between work and other recreational activities. Some of the strongest episodes do deal specifically with the job site. In one episode, the boys vie for a promotion and their warfare against one another becomes increasingly brutal. In another, the boys organize a strike when the bosses won't recognize a completely ridiculous holiday. The season finale (with an invaluable assist by guest Chris Parnell as the company's CEO) has the guys fighting to save the company itself! It's all over-the-top and silly but that's the charm. In one of the show's most uncomfortable episodes, the boys befriend a child predator because he's a cool guy. Hey, you can't argue with that kind of reasoning!

The show succeeds on the chemistry between its leads--Anders Holm, Blake Anderson, and Adam DeVine. While all fill their particular niche to perfection, it is Holm that is the stand-out for me. The only character that straddles the worlds of adolescence and adulthood--he is oftentimes made the stooge for trying to be successful. Jillian Bell provides great support as an off-beat co-worker that gets into her share of trouble as well, and Maribeth Monroe is delightful as the boss consistently pushed over the edge of reason. This is a deft comedy of slapstick and silliness. Its humor is crude and juvenile. If you don't like that sort of thing--then, by all means, stay far away. If, however, your looking for a good fix of rude and rollicking laughs--give it a shot. KGharris, 7/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Workaholics, hmmm. Sounds questionable.............., September 16, 2011
This review is from: Workaholics: Season 1 (DVD)
I was advised to check this show out by my youngest brother who is only 19. I have a hard time finding new shows to watch because I hate taking the time to see If I even like a show. Workaholics was easy to digest. I went to school at San Diego State where slackin off is appreciated as more of an art form. Watching this show makes me think I lived with these guys sometime around 2003. I was smoking a lot of green back then so it is possible that we all lived together and I just forgot. If only for street cred, I still own a device that could be classified as a "Vape Tron", although mine does not have an aluminum chasis.

This show is beyond hilarious. It is done so well that it never comes off as fake, forced or lame. The characters are all great and you really learn to appreciate their little intricacies as you watch one episode to the next. I highly recommend this show to people who think it is funny to play pranks on thier friends and laugh at topics that most people get uncomfortable with. I DVR'ed the first season and still watch it on the regular. So good. There is also an abundance of great lines that you can steal from this show and use in society. Definitily check out: To Friend a Predator, and the Body Building episode. I garauntee if you give this show a chance and watch atleast two episodes, you will love Workaholics. I would love to tell you a lil bit more about this comedic masterpiece but I clocked a resy at a schiek lil bistro downtown and I'd hate to be late. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Innovative, smartly written, well acted and very addictive, October 21, 2011
By 
DVD Verdict (Santa Monica, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Workaholics: Season 1 (DVD)
Ike Oden, DVD Verdict --The scenarios for each episode are more or less your typical sitcom fare: the boys scheme to pass a drug test, the boys lie to some girls in order to get dates, the boys spend a night locked in their office, etc. Workaholics knows this well-worn territory intimately and filters it through a haze of drugs, pop culture obsession, and frat boy perversion. Scatology, substance abuse and sexual deviance drive Workaholics' creative engine not as gratuitous gross-out humor but as serious philosophical and personal issues for our protagonists. Pop culture is approached with a similarly solemn face, meaning boys don't reference Nickelodeon's Double Dare, Dateline's "To Catch A Predator" and The Insane Clown Posse as one-off jokes, but as major story points within episodes.

None of these innovations would coalesce if actors/creators Anderson, DeVine, and Holm didn't have such spectacular comedic chemistry with one another. The trio created the show after accumulating years of improv and viral video experience together, making their "best friend" interplay organic and believable. Each represents a different archetype of buddy comedies--Holm is the responsible one, Anderson is the quirky guy, and DeVine is the clueless leader. With the meta use of their own names and storylines culled from real life experiences, the guys are play stylized versions of themselves (comparable to Larry David's work in Curb Your Enthusiasm) giving the show a naturally spontaneous feel that's refreshing in a sitcom.

This meta premise also adds extra dimensions to the characters, letting the performers take their characters down roads that border skirt the lines of insanity and narcissism without freeing the characters of conscious and empathy. They're bros, after all, and always rely on the bond their friendship to claw their way out of whatever ridiculous problem they face each episode. Unlike the characters populating the similarly anarchic It's Always Sunny In Philadelphia, it's hard not to sympathize with stoners like Blake, Adam, and Anders. They love each other, and we love them for it.

Great praise must also be showered upon the show's writing. Dialogue consistently crackles with pseudo hip-hop slang and some of the most creative profanity ever realized on the small screen. Not only that, but the show's ability to consistently subvert audience expectations without relying on gimmicks or false plot twists deserves a rousing applause. Though their numbers are too large to list here, accolades must be given to the writing staff and showrunners of Workaholics as some of the freshest comedy writing on television.

As if I couldn't recommend Workaholics enough, Comedy Central comes through with a DVD absolutely stacked with content.

The technical specs check out solidly. The show is shot on a fairly small budget, so the somewhat fuzzy 1.78.1 transfer won't blow minds, but proves serviceable for a shot-on-digital show about workaday potheads. The 5.1 Dolby Digital track fares a little better, boasting very clear dialogue and a thumping hip-hop theme that you'll never tire of hearing.

The extras that are where Workaholics: Season One really shine. Included in the set is cast interviews, deleted/alternate scenes, Workaholics digital originals, a live Workaholics sketch (as performed at Bonnaroo), outtakes, and (fittingly inebriated) audio commentaries for each episode. Rather than pick apart each extra bit-by-bit and step on the jokes, I will only say every supplement sampled here made me laugh as hard as the show itself. If the bonus material is to be trusted, the Workaholics crew are just as hilarious outside the show as they are on it. For fans, the extras are a veritable feast of funny that spans several hours beyond the episodes featured.

-Full review at dvdverdict.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome series, July 10, 2011
This is a great series I've just gotten caught up on. It reminds me of Office Space in a sense, but much funnier. The characters fit together so well and they each have their own specific personality. Check out just part of an episode, a youtube clip, or a preview on Amazon and you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty tight butthole overall, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Workaholics: Season 1 (DVD)
I have been a fan of this show since it premiered and bought the first season on dvd right as the second was airing on cable. I would say the second season is the most well put together of all the ones to air to date ( 3 and counting) but the episodes that comprise the first season are a great introduction to the antics and comedy of Anders, Adam and Blake. My only issue with the dvd release is, knowing the Workaholics previous effort as Mail Order Comedy, the lack of the 5th Year web series pilot that spawned this show. Anyone who isn't aware of this web series from the guys at TeleAmeric Corp won't care and neither do I really. Just would've been a cool...but def worth buying overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This show is tight butthole!, November 23, 2011
This review is from: Workaholics: Season 1 (DVD)
I'm 31, co clearly I don't think I'm the target demographic for this show. But I still tune in every week to check it out. It never disappoints.

So funny.

Great to have the 1st season available for repeated viewings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this show!, May 17, 2014
Hilarious show, inappropriate themes so don't watch it with the kids or in front of grandma! Can't wait for more seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid, December 10, 2013
By 
It's a funny show. If you were a kid who was raised by 90's pop culture like I was, you'll be tickled by all the references and jokes the show has to offer. While I really enjoyed the first two seasons, the show has a tendency to be very over the top and will probably annoy some. Either way, fun show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta be Fresh., August 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Workaholics: Season 1 (DVD)
These guys are hilarious! Every single episode is awesome perfection. If Workaholics was the last show on earth, I would be just fine.
And Season 2 is probably the best one yet!
I love Carl.
I love Jillian.
Gotta be fresh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wild, absurd, relentless fun!!, April 14, 2012
This review is from: Workaholics: Season 1 (DVD)
If the boys in this show have sought to make viewers envious of their characters' carefree, reckless lifestyle that favors weed and beer and partying over anything resembling responsible behavior, then mission accomplished. As I watch this hilarious show, I am left with a void, knowing I will never be able to lift weights while on the clock, make a fort in my cubicle (I actually don't even work in a cubicle), run down my boss in my car, surf for porn, set up a sting operation for a pedophile, and constantly frame and prank my co-workers. Ridiculous, offensive, moronic. Wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2108 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.