Customer Reviews


219 Reviews
5 star:
 (175)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "THE CHAMPION OF ALL REFERENCE BOOKS!"
Sarah Janssen chronicles the most useful reference book known, an excellent resource with a notable reputation. I have been collecting 'The World Almanac' for years, and have never been disappointed. My daughter and I spend quality time as we read through it for hours, and it's a great conversational piece for any home when you plan social gatherings. This entertaining...
Published 21 months ago by Geraldine Ahearn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2013 World Almanac
Almanac does not offer -

Direct addressing of each of the 50 individual US states
Direct addressing of each of US president biographies
Direct addressing of each of the 197 Nations of the world summaries
Published 20 months ago by Robert Shura


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "THE CHAMPION OF ALL REFERENCE BOOKS!", December 4, 2012
Sarah Janssen chronicles the most useful reference book known, an excellent resource with a notable reputation. I have been collecting 'The World Almanac' for years, and have never been disappointed. My daughter and I spend quality time as we read through it for hours, and it's a great conversational piece for any home when you plan social gatherings. This entertaining book is great for learning skills, and is a treasure trove of updated statistics and facts on economic, scientific, and political information. In addition, it contains answers to trivia questions, includes the 2012 election results, and much more. Interesting facts are also presented on pop culture, geography, and history. My daughter enjoys the facts on sports the most, as she becomes fascinated with information she never knew. The concise information offered by 'The Wall Street Journal' is educational,easy-to-read, and informative. It's impossible to become bored with this amazing book as thousands of facts are presented.The more you read, the more curious you become. One fact is more interesting than the other as you crave for more. A book that's hard to close, and return to later. I will continue to collect the updated versions. Enjoyable, intriguing, and fun-filled. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An authoritative, well-organized, tangible compendium of essential information about our world, December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As great of a resource as the Internet can sometimes be, there is still nothing like personally owning and browsing through a single, authoritative, well-organized, tangible compendium of essential information about our world. It is easy to get lost in all the information on the Internet, but browsing through the "World Almanac" can be an enjoyable, educational, linear-path "guided tour" through much of the most important and relevant information about many aspects of the world.

The "New York Times" and "Time with Information Please" almanacs have ceased publication in recent years, so it is good that the "World Almanac" is still going strong. Its only major remaining competitor is the "Time Powered by Britannica". The "World Almanac" is clearly the better of the two, as it has color photo plates for the year in review, is more up-to-date, is 144 pages longer, and, most importantly, makes much better use of space. For example, "Time's" listings of the nations of the world covers 297 pages, while the "World Almanac's" covers only 107, even though the "World's" is arguably more comprehensive. Similarly, both have essentially the same coverage of Olympics, but the "Time" takes 68 pages to do it while the "World Almanac" takes 25. Thus, there is much more total information in the "World Almanac." Nevertheless, there are some good things in the "Time" not in the "World" (such as more detailed information about state governments; listings of Fields Medal, National Medal of Science, and National Medal of Arts winners; tables of nutritional values of foods; and listings of great symphonies and opera companies of the world along with their directors), so, if you like almanacs, I would still recommend getting both. (Also see the "Sports Illustrated Almanac" if you are most interested in sports coverage.)

Despite being named the "World Almanac", it is clearly geared for a U.S. audience. Nevertheless, it does have strong international coverage, and roughly half the almanac would be of equal interest to Americans and non-Americans (i.e., sections such as Science and Technology, World History and Culture [World History, Historical Figures, Exploration and Geography, Religion, Language], Nations of the World, and significant portions of the Economics, Personalities, Year in Review, Buildings Bridges and Structures, and Sports sections [including tables of past winners of major European soccer domestic leagues and Champions League]).

Some highlights of this year's edition, aside from all the typical annual updates, for those familiar with previous editions:

* Outstanding coverage of the 2012 election, including Presidential election returns from every county
* A completely reorganized "100 Most Populous Cities" (of the U.S.) section, with much more relevant statistics than in previous editions
* Full coverage of the 2012 Olympics
* Includes news coverage through the beginning of November 2012, including Hurricane Sandy
* A new "Words and Expressions in Common Languages" table in the "Language" section that is a good replacement for the former "Names of the Days" table
* "Major Actions of Congress" and the return of "Leadership of Selected Congressional Committees"

A few things that were removed this year:

* To make room for more Olympics coverage, coverage of some other sports was cut a little, including the listings of college basketball conference standings and historical results of all college football bowl games except the Rose, Sugar, and Orange
* The "Road Mileage Between Selected U.S. Cities" table
* The "Gods and Goddesses in Egyptian, Norse, and Classical Mythology" table
* The threshold for inclusion in the listings of "Tall Buildings in Selected North American Cities" was increased from 400 to 500 feet

Overall, this is an outstanding, up-to-date reference work that is a terrific value at this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World Almanac 2013 improved over previous kindle editions, December 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2013 (World Almanac & Book of Facts) (Kindle Edition)
I just downloaded my Kindle Fire edition. Unlike previous e-book versions, the 2013 edition is vastly improved. No longer are charts and tables so small that they are a struggle to read. All charts and tables are now adjustable by changing font size. Very pleased by formatting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I check the election results in the WORLD ALMANAC the first thing I look at., December 28, 2012
By 
LEROY B. BRACE (GREEN VALLEY, ARIZONA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I feel lost if i don't have the latest WORLD ALMANAC . Hardly a day goes by that I don't look something up,and I usually find it. The WORLD ALMANAC solves many discussions by proving or disproving arguments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bought as a gift, February 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I bought this as a gift for my son. He likes it very much (he referes to it as "Google" in hard copy). It was fulfilled by Amazon (need I say more?). It was received in a couple of days; their awesome!

I'll get this again when 2014 comes out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy this every year, December 28, 2012
By 
tojogar (Oklahoma, USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I know we have the internet to look up anything we want to know now, but I still love to have this just for reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 2013 World Almanac, December 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2013 (World Almanac & Book of Facts) (Kindle Edition)
Almanac does not offer -

Direct addressing of each of the 50 individual US states
Direct addressing of each of US president biographies
Direct addressing of each of the 197 Nations of the world summaries
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mixed feelings, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2013 (World Almanac & Book of Facts) (Kindle Edition)
I was excited that they came out with a Kindle edition. There are pros and cons. I think the biggest con is that graphs and tables are very difficult to read. I think that with a book you can just randomly pick it up and read something more easily than you can the Kindle version. I think it was a good first effort but it needs more tweaking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars trouble with kindle edition, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World Almanac and Book of Facts 2013 (World Almanac & Book of Facts) (Kindle Edition)
This is a great reference book. Been buying them every few years for a long time. So why only three stars whe it warrants five.

Well I bought the Kindle copy, and i'm having trouble advancing the pages. For whatever reason a page will hang up no matter how much you attempt to move on to the next page it constantly presents you with the same page. Will have tpo contact Amazon Spt. for help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The standard in almanacs, December 4, 2012
By 
Brian Melendez (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There are many imitators on the market, some of them quite good, but this almanac has set the standard for more than a century. The New York World newspaper began publishing an almanac in 1868, "a 120-page volume with 12 pages of advertising." The newspaper suspended the almanac's publication in 1876, but publisher Joseph Pulitzer revived it in 1886 as a "compendium of universal knowledge." The almanac has been published annually since, outliving the newspaper whose name it still bears. (The World Almanac is not the oldest almanac in publication, though: that distinction belongs to The Old Farmer's Almanac, which is "North America's oldest continuously published periodical," founded in 1792.)

The World Almanac contains much useful information that belongs in any serious basic-reference set. For the world, the almanac presents basic statistics about each nation, and about the world's major religions; and summarizes world history, with more detailed histories of the United States and of the preceding year. For the United States, the almanac reprints the nation's organic documents, the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution; contains a directory of the entire Federal government; presents basic statistics about each state and major city, and a short biography of each president; and much more. The almanac also contains bountiful information about education, science, sports, and many other topics.

While the 2013 edition is out in early December, a couple weeks later than the 2012 edition, the 2013 edition contains complete coverage of the 2012 election -- although regular news coverage ends in October 2012, consistent with recent editions. (The preceding year's news had been ending earlier and earlier in recent editions -- in the 1999 edition the last entry was 3 November 1998, in the 2004 edition it was 16 October 2003, and in the 2008 edition it was 12 October 2007 -- so the end of October is an improvement.)

Overall, the 2013 World Almanac continues to set the standard, and is well worth the price. No other single volume offers such a wealth of information on such a variety of subjects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 222 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.