Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Finest Book of Wine Region Maps Yet!
Basically this is an indespensible text for anyone in the wine industry of wishing to expand their technical wine prowess. I am a Master of Wine student and this is one of the three cornerstones of my library including the Oxford Companion to Wine and the Sotheby's Wine Encylclopedia. The maps are a bit much for beginners but that is what the colorful Sotheby's maps are...
Published on November 24, 2007 by Christopher Barrett

versus
12 of 81 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Sonoma County Coverage
While the book is very big, I felt Sonoma County California's wineries deserved more than about one page of coverage. This book seems to have a strong European bias.

If you want much better coverage of California wines, try Matt Kramer's "New California Wine" also available at Amazon.
Published on March 20, 2009 by Patrick


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Finest Book of Wine Region Maps Yet!, November 24, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Atlas of Wine (Hardcover)
Basically this is an indespensible text for anyone in the wine industry of wishing to expand their technical wine prowess. I am a Master of Wine student and this is one of the three cornerstones of my library including the Oxford Companion to Wine and the Sotheby's Wine Encylclopedia. The maps are a bit much for beginners but that is what the colorful Sotheby's maps are for. These maps highlight elevation and exposure as well as vineyard land and forested land, all are important aspects for advanced wine studies.

This edition expands upon the notable regions, including a massive increase in the US and Australian sections, Hugh Johnson giving a nod to the increasing popularity and success of these countries.

This should be one of the first three books purchased for any wine enthusiast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Note - this is the SIXTH edition!, November 29, 2008
By 
New England Yankee (Northern New England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: World Atlas of Wine (Hardcover)
The editorial notes for this listing refer to the 5th edition, but the listing itself is actually for the new, 6th edition. I own the 5th and have gone through the 6th in some detail. It is worth buying the newer edition if you have an earlier edition. The authors have not only added a couple dozen entirely new maps, but the format itself is nicer, in my opinion, and of course, the contents have been comprehensively updated. New editions of this book are not as frequent as the annual pocket guides (co-author Hugh Johnson's is excellent - Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book 2009: 32nd Edition (Hugh Johnson's Pocket Wine Book). The 5th was published in 2001, and I would not expect the 7th edition for several years.

This is a favorite wine book, and, unlike ratings-focused books, not quite so readily replaceable by software and not particularly suited for mobile devices. A wonderful use of this book is to read about a region then go buy a few representative wines, which will help enormously in fixing the reference information in your mind as well as increasing the enjoyment of the wine itself. It's also a nice companion to wine articles in Wine Spectator and other magazines to supplement the tasting and travelogue information typical in such articles.

It is a shame that there isn't a "Look Inside" for this book. If you are unfamiliar with it, the World Atlas' maps are quite wonderful. Not just plain-Jane maps, but viticultural maps, with chapters and pages of accompanying commentary to help you understand the unique characteristics of each region as it pertains to wine. It is a delightful book to leave lying around, as you can read a page or two casually - each region stands on its own, i.e., this is not a book you have to slog through cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The World According to Wine, October 27, 2007
This review is from: World Atlas of Wine (Hardcover)
At 400 pages, British wine experts Hugh Johnson and Jancis Robinson have created their most exhaustive atlas yet, and a tremendous resource. The book is gorgeous - with a generous amount of color illustrations, photos, and maps, including 2 page spreads. All told there are 48 extra pages over the previous edition.

The 6th edition contains 200 maps, all revised and updates, including 20 new maps. The introduction contains essays on wine in the ancient world, vine types, grape varieties, weather, terroir, the wine growers calendar, how wine is made, etc. etc. Robinson has said this new edition took two years of concentrated effort. It was worth it!

Then the authors dive deep into wine regions organized by country. Each region or country covered has a colored map, an essay about the characteristics of the reason, vital statistics, and a few wine labels. France has the most with 55 regions featured, indeed, a quarter of the volume (100 pages) is on France. Italy features 18 regions. Spain 9. Portugal 6. Germany 12. United States 17. Australia 12. New Zealand 4. Other countries covered include: England and Wales, Switzerland, Austria, Hungary, Czech Republic, Slovenia, Western Balkans, Bulgaria, Romania, Former Soviet Republics, Greece, Eastern Mediterranean, North Africa, South Africa, China, Japan, and the rest of Asia. I find the information scant on Chile and Argentina, which is odd given their increased market exposure and rising excellence of wines.

The authors have expanded New World coverage, in keeping with expanded exposure and quality of the wine produced in these regions, for Australia, New Zealand, Argentina, South America, and South Africa. These are additions, with nothing taken away from the previous fabulous coverage of Old & New World wine regions.

Since the first edition in 1971, the World Atlas of Wine has sold more than 4 million copies and I'm happy to add this new 6th edition to my library, especially at such a reasonable price. It's always a pleasure to look up some background information on tonight's glass of wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best wine atlas out there, December 12, 2008
By 
D. Sayed "Catbertman" (Kirkland, WA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World Atlas of Wine (Hardcover)
While there many quality books out there that provide more detailed information about a particular type or style of of wine (Bordeaux, California, etc.), none approaches the scale and scope of this phenomenal book.

Now in its sixth edition (and the third edition I've purchased), The World Atlas of Wine, just keeps getting better and better.

If you are looking for an overview of the world of wine, information on the geography and provenance of different wines from around the world, this is the book you must have.

For instance, after returning from Italy a couple of months ago, I wanted to learn more about Italian wines, an area I understand less about than the wines of the USA or France, which I have studied and tasted extensively. I wondered about the difference between Barolo vs. Barbaresco in Piedmont, and the difference between Brunello di Montalcino vs. other Sangiovese-based wines from Tuscany. With just a few pages of reading and studying the maps, I learned more about these wines than I could have ever imagined.

If all you care about is a certain type of wine, there are better and more comprehensive books available to you. But, if you want to learn about the WORLD of wine, there is no better place to start than The World Atlas of Wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Master's Secret..., September 10, 2008
This review is from: World Atlas of Wine (Hardcover)
I am a Master of Wine Student. I have own 5 editions of this atlas during my wine career. I thought I wouldn't need to upgrade to this new edition because, well, honestly, I didn't think this book could tell me any more than I already knew. Wow, I was wrong. The details of New World regions alone is reason to buy this book. The maps are always the BEST, but now they are more informative and more realistic of the wine world at large. You can also see the maps on the [...] site, but the book is still a great reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The One Book you must have on Wine, October 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Atlas of Wine (Hardcover)
If I were limited to only one book on wine it would be the new edition of The World Atlas of Wine. It is the one book no collection of wine books should be without. An absolutely beautiful book, it full of fascinating information on wine regions throughout the world. What ultimately makes the essential reference book is that it combines the wisdom and knowledge of the two most authoritative writers we have on the subject. Among the thousand books available on the fascinating subject of wine, this is the most complete, entertaining and useful book for anyone having even the vaguest interest in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars World Atlas of Wine, September 2, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Atlas of Wine (Hardcover)
Great update to a reference work well-known among wine educators and consumers. The geographical context of the knowledge base about wine and winemaking is exceptionally well done and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing atlas of wine, January 12, 2008
This review is from: World Atlas of Wine (Hardcover)
I absolutely love this book. However, the reason why I gave it only 4 stars is because this is the second time I've ordered it and it came without the CD. Otherwise, I find it fulfills all of my expectations. I often browse through it with my husband while opening a new bottle at the dinner table. This allows us to peak through sections of the book as desired. Most books this size make great coffee table props, which people don't even read. This one is meant to be read. Great text, great pictures, well organized!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Wine-lovers Bible, September 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Atlas of Wine (Hardcover)
I had been eyeing this book for months, but was waiting until the price went down before purchasing it. I was able to buy the book used for almost half as much as I would pay if I bought it brand new or from a Brick-Mortar bookstore. When the book arrived it was in pretty good condition, as described by the ad. Besides the physical condition, I love this book and use it every day for my job! The writing style is entertaining, not boring and bland as you would expect an atlas to be. The photographs are gorgeous and maps are well drawn. There is endless information packed inside, it is presently my favorite reference book. This is a fantastic item for wine lovers and professionals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and informative, October 12, 2010
This review is from: World Atlas of Wine (Hardcover)
I wanted a good book to take my rather modest knowledge of wine to the next level, and to put it on a more systematic basis. This book fit the bill. Also of the several dozen top titles I've looked at so far, this is my favorite just to read and enjoy. The encyclopedia type format is very convenient for reference, but the text is a lot more interesting than your typical encyclopedia. The maps are beautiful, detailed, and a useful learning tool for getting to know the details of the terroir. I often pick this book up just to browse, or to get a quick handle on a particular region or type of wine. This new addition adds about 20 new articles especially on southern hemisphere wines, reflecting their increasing importance. A truly great book on wine and rightly deserving of its reputation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

World Atlas of Wine
World Atlas of Wine by Hugh Johnson (Hardcover - October 1, 2007)
$50.00 $41.42
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.