World of Geekcraft and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $19.95
  • Save: $6.05 (30%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
In stock on June 6, 2015.
Order it now.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
World of Geekcraft: Step-... has been added to your Cart
Condition: Used: Good
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 3 images

World of Geekcraft: Step-by-Step Instructions for 25 Super-Cool Craft Projects Paperback – March 23, 2011


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$13.90
$1.98 $0.78

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
$13.90 FREE Shipping on orders over $35. In stock on June 6, 2015. Order it now. Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

World of Geekcraft: Step-by-Step Instructions for 25 Super-Cool Craft Projects + The Star Wars Craft Book (Star Wars - Legends)
Price for both: $28.00

One of these items ships sooner than the other.

Buy the selected items together


Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Susan Beal writes for CRAFT, Stitch, ReadyMade, CraftStylish, Geekcrafts.com, and her own blog, Westcoastcrafty.com. She lives in Portland, Oregon.

Jay B. Sauceda is one of the seven founding partners of the creative collective Public School. He lives in Austin, Texas.
If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for only $2.99 (Save 50%). Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 192 pages
  • Publisher: Chronicle Books (March 23, 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0811874613
  • ISBN-13: 978-0811874618
  • Product Dimensions: 8 x 0.8 x 8.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 1.4 pounds (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (25 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #125,122 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Alison on April 18, 2011
Format: Paperback
This book is loaded with enough projects to delight the geekiest of nerds; Star Wars, Steampunk, Harry Potter, Buffy, it's all here! The instructions are thoughtfully detailed and ample templates are provided. Some of my favorite projects inclue the Star Wars terrariums (3 different terrains!), the Wii Holster, and amazing steampunk pendant. The photos and illustrations really pull the book together, it's a blast to flip though. Highly recommended!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Dr. Bojan Tunguz HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWER on April 30, 2011
Format: Paperback
Geekiness is a particular state of mind, tied to certain technological and cultural icons and themes. In recent years it has gained a lot of mainstream recognition and appreciation, as witnessed by the popularity of the show "The Big Bang Theory." Thanks to this little book, anyone can express their inner geekiness through a fun and colorful set of projects.

Overall, this is a very well done and beautifully illustrated book. The projects are accompanied with fairly detailed instructions, although you should be prepared to experience a certain amount of frustration if you have not used these techniques and tools before. Nonetheless, if the projects seem interesting and appealing to you, you should not get frustrated with the setbacks. Rather, persisting in these pursuits can be immensely gratifying when accomplished with a sense of achievement.

My one criticism of this book is that it contains too many embroidery, decoration and jewelry projects, and not enough of the "hard-tools" crafts that many geeks (myself included) really relish.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By GridGoodGal on June 22, 2011
Format: Paperback
Okay, so there wasn't any real Star Trek related projects (maybe the only minus for me) but regardless this book rocks! It has a plethora of ideas, and full of the kind of geekiness I can get behind! A very big favorite of mine - the Morse code quilt!!! Definitely the best. Now I wish I knew Morse code so I could create my own renditions!! This makes a great gift, and my grandmother even loved the idea. (She wants to make it for me...sorry grandma, you have to get your own!) Also very cool - the planet mobile. Great for baby or just for fun!
The instructions are simple enough, the provided patterns useful, and it's all written with all the sorts of geek-snark necessary. Now I only wish there were more of it!! Where the sequel?
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Ryan Herron on April 19, 2011
Format: Paperback
World of Geekcraft is such a blast. This has to be the brightest, most colorful DIY book on my shelf. Fans of WOW, Lost, and even the Oregon Trail will find something in here to occupy their weekend. Makes a great coffee table book and would be the perfect gift for that cute designer in the office. I'm really digging it.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Christa M. Harrison on May 14, 2011
Format: Paperback
i found the projects in this book to be engaging. my crafty side is totally thrilled to hang out with my inner geek and cause some trouble. the instructions for the projects are clear and the projects themselves range from sciencey projects (Star Wars Terrariums!), to things to make with thread or yarn, designs that encourage recycling, creations inspired by the geek canon (tribbles!), stuff to keep you warm (how rad is a Secret Message Quilt?!), shiny goods to wear (d20 Deluxe!), tasty treats to eat, and even a new take on old school basics (LOVE the buffy project!). not only is this book filled with deliciously geeky projects, it caters to geeks of all ages with built-in nostalgia (oregon trail!) and newfangled nerdiness (consider the title's wink!). plus, the assortment of projects varies in skill level offering crafty adventures for the beginning or novice crafter all the way to the crafter extraordinaire.

the layout is aesthetically pleasing and the geeky stories from the contributors adds more pizzazz to an already personality-filled text.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Kathy Cano-Murillo on May 14, 2011
Format: Paperback
When it comes to delivering quality craft books, Susan Beal has it covered. Just like all her other creative titles, this one is specific, wholehearted and written with mucho detail!

World of Geek Craft is dedicated to those who love all things sci fi, fantasy and more. Rather than solely relying on collectibles to purchase, Susan shares how to make our own pieces of pop culture gold.

What I love the most is that this book is perfect for guys and boys. With the right theme, they too can be lured into the world of cross stitch, mosaic art and sewing! I'm talking Buffy and Einstein to Star Wars and Harry Potter.

The reason every crafter needs this book is because at some point they'll come across a geeky family or friend that will need to specialty gift. This book is the best source for that!

The only trouble is, where to start?
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Mama_Z on May 9, 2011
Format: Paperback
If you've ever wanted to show your geeky love through handmade crafts, this is your book!

There's a variety of projects for every level of crafter, from easy Star Wars terrariums to a rather involved Morse-code quilt. There's also a great cross-section of geek icons, from old classics like The Day the Earth Stood Still to modern favorites such as Battlestar Galactica.

Not only offering good "how-tos" for specific projects, World of Geekcraft is chock-full of interesting interviews with "professional geeks" like Star Wars crafter Bonnie Burton, author Chelsea Cain, and Wizard of the Coast's Kim Mohan.

This book will nicely bridge the gap in your library between your sci fi and crafting sections.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?