Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mythology in a nutshell
With each chapter written by an expert, plus beautiful illustrations, this is a great anthology for those seeking a bird's eye view of the World's myths and legends. It is also fun to read and is not dense to the point that it cannot be read from cover to cover. I took off a star because there was nothing on Finnish mythology. Also, the mythology of Persia was just one...
Published on January 4, 2003 by Joseph F. Ragusa

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Broad overview of world mythology
It is a heavy book giving an overview of world mythology. There are little original texts and the myths are not told in great detail.
Published on August 6, 2012 by Enzo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mythology in a nutshell, January 4, 2003
With each chapter written by an expert, plus beautiful illustrations, this is a great anthology for those seeking a bird's eye view of the World's myths and legends. It is also fun to read and is not dense to the point that it cannot be read from cover to cover. I took off a star because there was nothing on Finnish mythology. Also, the mythology of Persia was just one page long, which I felt was too little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I lusted for this book!, May 17, 2000
By 
C. Seawell (hammond, la United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was doing a paper on Greek Mythology and found this book in the Reference section of our library. There was so much great infomation in it that I had the librarian xerox half of it! The layout includes vivid pictures of ancient artifacts and art work on just about every page. The book also has sidebars and "boxes" of information that are helpful--kind of like the impulse buy section at the check-out! As the title says--it shares myths and religious practices from all over the world; each country is broken down into logical topics. I really enjoyed this book and had to own it! It's ideal for anyone taking a Humanities, Literature or Anthropology course! I know I will use it again in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overall, Excellent, September 7, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Mythology: The Illustrated Guide (Paperback)
First, its strong points:

The prose was intelligent, the rich images of ancient artwork on every page added a great deal of context to the myths, and coverage of the subject matter was very comprehensive as a whole. I was impressed with the quality of the book itself. The pages were thick, high quality paper (almost like card-stock) and the full color images were beautiful. It was a pleasure to hold and read.

Second, its weak points:

In the sections on several cultures, the stories were summarized so much that at times I had trouble following them. In the myths I as familiar with from previous study, I realized part of the problem was that key details were skipped over in the telling that would have made future details (which were included) have made more sense. While the slangy tone of Mythology for Dummies was aggravating, it did a better job than this book of telling the individual stories it covered. That having been said-- this book covered much more ground than Mythology for Dummies, which was concerned largely with Greek Mythology (it dedicated half its pages to this culture alone). This book covered the mythology from many more world regions, which is doubtless why the author gave fewer details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Overall Text, February 11, 2008
By 
S. Martens (Grand Rapids, MI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World Mythology: The Illustrated Guide (Paperback)
I have used this text in my World Mythology college classes for several years now and expect to continue for some time. I like the way it is set up, with the overview of common mythological themes, then covering each of several world myths in separate chapters. The text is easy to follow -- let's face it, today's college students are visual learners -- and has many illustrations and examples of art for the various cultures. Several students have told me they also like the text and intend to keep it. They also appreciate the reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN EGREGIOUS COMPHENDIUM!, June 15, 2006
The great myths of the world gather significance since the fundamentals events of the human life: birth, death, conflict, loss reconciliation, the cycle of the stations. They talk us about the own life in an understandable tune, but filled of a fascinating mystery.

This text is an extensive compendium, well documented of the main mythological traditions, in which the interest of the narrations blend with the required information for its total comprehension.

Roy Willis is investigator of Social Anthropology in Edinburgh's University, author of Man and beast(1975) about the animal symbolism in the beliefs of the African nations.

Robert Walter, is Director of Joseph Campbell's Foundation, entity without profit purposes destined to preserve, protect and perpetuate the work of Joseph Campbell(1904-1987) one of the most eminent and zealous studious of our age.

An essential reference text!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An in-depth beginers guide, February 8, 2009
By 
Bethany J. Fish "Neptune's Gal" (Pittsford, New York United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World Mythology: The Illustrated Guide (Paperback)
I'm using this as a text book for my mythology survey course and I'm finding it quite useful. Make sure you've got a dictionary handy to look up some words, but otherwise I find it easy to use, well organized and full of usefull information like pronounciation guides and regional timelines.
There is a strong emphasis on Europe and the Near East though biblical myths are compleatle ignored which to me isa major dissadvantage having not been raised in a Judeo-Christian house hold. All of the Americas are also rather thinly covered as in Oceana.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Broad overview of world mythology, August 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Mythology: The Illustrated Guide (Paperback)
It is a heavy book giving an overview of world mythology. There are little original texts and the myths are not told in great detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Ilustrations, February 5, 2009
This review is from: World Mythology: The Illustrated Guide (Paperback)
This book was purchased by me for my class in Fantasy, Myth and Enchantment. The general consensus is that the illustrations are beautiful, the history of where the myths come from are great and the myths themselves although good can be a bit dry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book on mythology, July 16, 2014
This review is from: World Mythology: The Illustrated Guide (Paperback)
As the title implies, this book is a comprehensive collection of mythical stories around the world, spanning a variety of cultures and time periods. The book covers the well-known ones like Greek, Norse, Chinese, Japanese and Indian. There are also lesser known ones like African, Southeast Asian and Mesopotamian. I liked that there was a section on Tibet and Mongolia. My only gripe is that there's no Vietnamese mythology, but that doesn't detract from me enjoying this book overall. It's very helpful, entertaining to read and easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well illustrated comprehensive text book, April 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Mythology: The Illustrated Guide (Paperback)
This is a college level text book with good illustrations and broad coverage. I like the organization by theme and geographic regions, and appreciate the attempt to draw parallels when appropriate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

World Mythology: The Illustrated Guide
World Mythology: The Illustrated Guide by Roy Willis (Paperback - June 29, 2006)
$29.99 $18.98
Temporarily out of stock. Order now and we'll deliver when available.
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.