Customer Reviews

269
4.3 out of 5 stars
World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade Expansion Set
Edition: Burning CrusadeChange
Price:$16.50 + Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

92 of 94 people found the following review helpful
on January 18, 2007
Edition: Burning Crusade
People who want to know about the expansion in general should also look at the standard Burning Crusade edition. I'm just going to add some information here about what's different with the Collector's Edition.

The most important thing to know is that each copy of the expansion, for either version, comes with a key code that you have to put in to upgrade your account. Without the code, you won't be able to access the new content even if you have the software installed. [Edit: As of January 22, 2007 Blizzard has announced on their forums that they're working on allowing players who already upgraded using the basic expansion to then also upgrade using the collector's edition in order to get the limited edition pet. You'll have to call Blizzard's billing service line with the unused collector's edition expansion key, so it's slightly more work than upgrading directly with the CE, but it can now be done.]

The only real difference between the versions so far as playing the actual game goes, is that those who buy the CE will receive a special pet called a netherwhelp on all of their characters. It's basically a baby version of the flying mounts available in Outland.

Most of the benefit of this version is outside of the game. You get a nicer box with it, of course. Inside that box you'll find that you get the game in both CD (4 of them) form, and DVD form (just 1, so you don't have to mess around with changing the one in the drive).

In addition to the game itself, you get a number of other items. There's a very nice mousepad with a map of Outland on it (though I've heard that the glossy surface works poorly with laser mice). There's a hardcover book of art from World of Warcraft. They include some cards from the WoW collectible card game, along with directions for those who want to play. If you love the music you find in Burning Crusade, you'll also be happy to see that there's a soundtrack included in the box. Finally, there's an additional DVD that contains two hours of behind the scenes material, including things like interviews.

Keep in mind, however, that the only in game benefit is the pet. If you don't want the pet but want everything else, you'll probably be able to get the other items cheaply from someone who wanted the pet and not the rest. Or, you could buy the set and then sell the activation code to someone who wants the pet, while you keep the extra items for yourself.

Due to the need for an activation code, though, be careful about buying this item used. Make sure that you confirm with the seller that the activation code in their set has NOT been used, because it can only be used to upgrade a single account. After that, even if you use the software in the box to upgrade the version on your computer, you WILL NOT have access to the new content. An expansion upgrade code is REQUIRED and it must be one that has never been used.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
152 of 160 people found the following review helpful
on January 18, 2007
Edition: Burning Crusade
This expansion pack introduces the new continent of Outland. This continent can only be accessed with a character that is at least level 58. If you're either just starting to play World of Warcraft, or you have no characters even close to level 58, you may just want to wait to buy the expansion at a later time.

However, the expansion also grants you access to two new races, the Draenei (Alliance) and the Blood Elves (Horde). You won't be able to create characters of either of these races if you don't have the expansion. So, if you want to play one of them you'll need to get it. If you're a new player who's just trying out the game, I'd suggest just getting the basic version and playing one of the original races, rather than spending the extra $40 before you even know whether you like the game.

You should also be warned that if you're upgrading from the original version of the game, even if your copy is already fully patched, you'll have to install the patches again after installing Burning Crusade. This is because they printed the CDs with version 2.0 of the client you use to play the game, but they've issued patches after that which you need to log into the server (up to version 2.05 as of this writing). If you look in the Patches sub-folder of your World of Warcraft folder on your computer, you should already have some of the patches present and be able to simply double click them to install. If you were to try to log in before doing that, you'll have to redownload the patch before it installs instead, which will naturally take more time.

Some people have complained about lag, crashes, and lines to log into the more popular servers. These are all short term problems. A lot of people are very excited about the expansion, and so there are far more players than usual logged in at once, which is straining the servers. Give it a week or two after release and it should begin to settle down.

For the basic version of WoW, the level cap is 60. If you install the expansion, the cap is increased to 70. If you have a level 60 character and want to continue to advance, you MUST upgrade your account with the expansion pack.

Additional level brackets for the Battlegrounds (Player vs Player areas) have been added to accomodate the new higher levels in the game. Also, a new battleground called Eye of the Storm has been made available for characters of level 61 and above. Additionally, around the zones of the new Outland continent, there are PvP tasks you can perform such as taking over control of towers, with the faction that controls all of the towers in a zone gaining a small bonus such as a 5% increase to damage anywhere in that zone.

They've also added a number of new instances/dungeons. The new ones have two settings, allowing you to go through them at either 'normal' difficulty, or 'heroic' difficulty. The heroic setting makes the enemies tougher, and provides increased treasure rewards. This keeps the instances useful for advancement over a larger span of levels than would normally be the case.

Most players will find that, as they do quests in Outland, they quickly begin to get armor that's superior to what they've previously been using. The monetary rewards in the new areas are also increased. Additionally, professions have been expanded to cover the additional levels in the game and tailoring has been expanded to include specialties similar to the way blacksmithing and leatherworking work.

Flying mounts are available on the continent of Outland for those who purchase them. However, these are not available to be used in the two original continents. This is because those areas were designed with the intention that they would only be accessed from the ground and a lot of work would have been required to make all of the quests and visuals work as intended if characters were permitted to fly around freely.

Be cautious about buying this item used. Each copy of the expansion includes a key code that is required to upgrade your account to allow access to the new content. If you buy a used copy of the software where the seller has already used that key to upgrade his account, you'll still be able to install the software upgrade, but the lack of an unused key will mean that you won't be able to apply the upgrade to your account that's required to actually access the new content.

If you install the expansion on a computer where more than one account is used (for example, if you and your spouse each has your own account) then you can only use the key to upgrade one of those accounts. The other account will continue to work, but it will not be given access to the expansion pack content. Therefore, you need to obtain one expansion pack for each account you or your household has if you want to access the new content on all of them.

Edit: As of January 22, 2007 Blizzard has announced on their forums that they're working on allowing players who already upgraded using the basic expansion to then also upgrade using the collector's edition in order to get the limited edition pet. You'll have to call Blizzard's billing service line with the unused collector's edition expansion key, so it's slightly more work than upgrading directly with the CE, but it can now be done.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
on January 19, 2007
Edition: Burning CrusadeVerified Purchase
When I buy a certian edition of software or DVD or whatever on Amazon, I often see people reviewing the actual software or movie and never the EDITION they purchased. This review is more for the Collector's edition, although the game itself is five stars, no doubt.

As far as Collector's Editions go, Blizzard has always done very well, and this is pretty much no exception. Packaged exactly like the WoW CE, this one fits nicely on the shelf next to it, and has the same (cheap but cool) felt on the inside holding everything in place. The extras in this edition are pretty standard for Blizzard.

*Soundtrack CD

*DVD - The DVD's are getting pretty lame. The more they release for each of their three universes, the less you have to put on each one. This one doesn't have very many features on it, but it is good, nonetheless.

*Game on DVD and 4 CD's plus a couple of codes for 30-day trials to give to friends. (My advice: Wait until they do another offer for a free month of game play when you get someone else signed up).

*Mousepad map - Definately more useful than some fabric map print that will never be used.

*In game pet - Netherwhelp hatchling - Too cute, not cool enough. I like the original CE where we got to choose form three pets, give us back some options.

*Trading Card game - Two starter sets, and a couple of extra hero cards - I don't know anything about the TCG, haven't played this one before, but it's nice to get the cards because God knows the last thing I need is one more hobby to collect, and when they do things like give me these cards for free, I am no doubt going to fork over some money to buy more.

*Book: Art of BC - Nice, but only half the book has new stuff, the other half is stuff on all the old additions to WoW and is freely available on any fan website. Still anice coffee table book though for fans of the game.

To the reviewer below who hasn't gotten their copy yet, I am sorry, but Amazon does get a lot of pre-orders for this, and they have no idea how many copies they will actually get to send out, which is why they cut off pre-orders early, but I hope you get your copy soon. The launch has been smoother than I ever thought possible, so getting on and playing is pretty quick once you get it installed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
on June 2, 2007
Edition: Burning Crusade
ABOUT ME: I have played an Undead Rogue since day 1, and after around 20 days played at 70 I have taken the plunge to roll a paladin and I am loving it. Also, I have raided all dungeons up to Naxxramas.

The Burning Crusade is by far the best expansion, and expands the formula of World of Warcraft even more. Blizzard really fixed the problems with gear, the lack of endlevel dungeons, lack of raid content, boss design, and quest rewards. I will discuss these five things in detail.

~ GEAR ~

Pre-BC: The difference between raiders and casual players was huge. Players who werent decked in epic gear didnt stand a chance against other players who did. Even players in Tier 1 (easiest epic set to get at the time) could kill players in blues without even trying.

BC: The difference between raid gear and dungeon gear isnt very big any longer. I replaced my entire Tier 2 set and my epic weapons from raiding by the time I hit around level 66ish. After having over 20 days /played at 70, I have to say I am having a lot more to do at 70. Very good trinkets and weapons are easily obtainable by dungeon runs, and endgame content is fairly easy (with the exception of Serpentshrine Cavern, The Eye, and Black Temple). However, it is now fair competition between epic'd players and blue'd players. Gladiator PVP gear is amazingly powerful and the weapons are on-par with most of the weapons from Karazhan and Serpentshrine. If you have a team of skilled players, it wont be long to obtain these crazy Gladiator sets.

~ DUNGEONS ~

Pre-BC: After getting your attunements done, you had 2 options in terms of dungeons: do UBRS, scholomance, or stratholme for sub-par gear, or spend 4 hours a night raiding MC, BWL, AQ40, Naxx, ZG, and AQ20 for epic gear that is nearly 2x as powerful as non-epic gear. The dungeons were boring and got old quickly.

BC: As soon as you enter the outlands, you are greeted by 4 dungeon hubs of ~4 dungeons of different levels. The gear from these dungeons will most definitely replace your level 60 gear. Every level you gain you will be able to do another dungeon to get shiny new gear. And as soon as you hit 70, over 5 dungeons open up for you (all hosting INCREDIBLY powerful gear). There are plenty of quests for these dungeons, and they are all very interesting and look different from one another. They are all very straight forward and dont really get old.

~ RAID CONTENT ~

Pre-BC: Most people finished with content very quickly and ended up waiting for a new dungeon to come out. Yes, I was there when Blackwing Lair came out and it was BUGGY as hell and no one got ANYWHERE. Yes, I endured through the horribly designed pre-C'Thun trash in AQ40, and yes I was there when the C'Thun encounter was terribly buggy and no one could do anything in phase 2. Then Naxxramas came out and raiders rejoiced because it was the best dungeon made and I couldnt agree more.

BC: The new dungeons and bosses (which I will get into later) are amazing to say. The environments and atmosphere of each raid dungeon is different and they all have a certain feel to them. A Karazhan run feels like an adventure through an old abandoned run-down castle full of monsters and the undead. Gruuls lair feels like an epic journey through the cave of an incredibly powerful monster. Magtheridon's Lair (whom you are teased by in Blood Furnace) feels like a prison holding an ancient, wise, and destructive monster...and it is! These dungeons are all these things, they are alive, they are vibrant, and they are FUN.

~ BOSS DESIGN ~

Pre-BC: Ragnaros was the introduction of the horrible resistance checks in WoW. I can think of around 8-10 encounters that were resist checks and stupid gear checks (Vael/huhuran and twin emps/patchwerk, respectively) that prevented progression in the 4 40 mans. With the exception of Naxxramas and Blackwing Lair, all these dungeons were filled with trash mobs and you spent more time clearing trash than doing bosses. The bosses just were NOT fun.

BC: The boss encounters in the Burning Crusade are a HUGE improvement over their predecessors. New, different encounters such as netherspite and shade of aran, and just plain fun ones like the chess event are just a few to name. They are all very fun, and are definitely worth wiping on, the pleasure and burst of excitement when you down these challenging bosses after nights of wiping are awesome. Also, with the 10/25 man caps, it is much easier to start/join a raiding guild that gets somewhere. The content isnt as crazy as Naxxramas was at 60, but they still require the same level of organization, skill, and teamwork.

~ QUEST DESIGN ~

Pre-BC: Not much to say besides that the quests in Azeroth are stupid, annoying, and the rewards are HORRIBLE and USELESS. They are all very similar and they are very repetitive.

BC: All the quests are awesome and different. While you still have those grind + kill + get x of this quests, you have an assortment of new quests as well. You can summon bosses, and do bombing missions, they are all new, and they are all pure fun. I even love questing at 70, the money and even some of the loot are great to have. I am working on the Netherdrake questline at the moment, and I cant wait to have my own transparent giant dragon to fly around the outlands on. There are loads of quests leftover at 70, and they all have very good rewards at the end of each chain.

Why doesn't the Burning Crusade get a 5/5 overall? For one reason: they did not revamp Azeroth. Revisiting Azeroth at 70 is like attending a funeral, its stupid, and its pathetic how useless anything from Azeroth is at 70. The quests leading up to level 58 (when you can enter outlands)still have sub par rewards, and besides the opening of Karazhan and Caverns of Time, they have done absolutely NOTHING with the world outside of BC. I believe they really need to revamp the questlines and the rewards to make it more rewarding for people to go back to Azeroth to do the old quests and content.

Other than that, The Burning Crusade is the most extensive expansion to a game I have seen, and it is definitely worth the $40 to jump on the ship. I tip my hat to Blizzard for making an incredibly fun and rewarding game even better.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on August 10, 2011
Edition: Burning CrusadeVerified Purchase
-=-=-=-=-=-=-PLEASE DO NOT PURCHASE THIS ITEM!!!-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-

I recently bought the entire WoW suite through Amazon only to find that the Burning Crusade discs and keys are no longer needed. When you purchase the original game, the key for it works as though it was the "Battle Chest" Edition. Burning Crusade now comes with the original game at NO EXTRA COST!

I have already contacted Blizzard and requested that they remove this item from the Amazon Cart, those who are sellers of new discs are recommended to request a reimbursement for any costs that they have accrued while providing this product.

Anyone who has regrettably purchased this item already are suggested to contact Blizzard's Support Queue by following the link below and requesting that they reimburse you in some way (I have asked for game time myself) though it is still at their discretion to authorize any kind of benefits to those that were tricked into thinking they needed this former expansion.

To file a ticket to the Blizzard Support Channel, follow the link below:
[...]
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on January 22, 2007
Edition: Burning Crusade
World of Warcraft (WoW) expansion pack technical aspects have been covered in previous reviews. This is a synopsis:

You must have WoW (the pre expansion game) installed before installing the WoW expansion pack. The expansion pack consists of four CD disks with your CD key on the first disk. Install the disks and enter your CD key (installation will prompt you for your key).

Gave the expansion pack five stars, so we'll cover its negatives first...

1) There were a large number of level 60s when the expansion pack was released on January 16th 2007. Immediately after release, Outland starting areas like Hellfire Peninsula and Zangarmarsh were packed with level 60s all competing aggressively for the same quests. Players were compelled to group, not because quest mobs were difficult, but because so many players were trying to kill them.

2) Maps need more visual detail. For example, after you discover the zeppelin crash in the Hellfire Peninsula, its name doesn't appear on the map. You must mouse over it too see it.

3) Expansion pack quests are annoyingly vague. Strongly recommend Thottbot and Allakhazam for clarifications. Either that or your toon will be killing a lot of unnecessary mobs and doing a lot of unnecessary dying.

Now some of its many positives...

Visually and musically the expansion pack is outstanding! Zones have a strong Myst influence, i.e. Teledahn inspired Zangarmarsh. That's an excellent influence. After entering each new zone, your initial reaction will be an invariable, "Oh, wow!"

Expansion game play is precisely the same as pre expansion game play. WoW has the best game play in the MMORPG genre. Game play is intuitive; you don't need to read the game manual to begin playing.

There's an abundance of challenging quests. Blizzard has increased quest log size from 20 to 25 quests (It should be increased more, say 75 quests). The vast majority of quests do not require grouping. If you wish, you can easily solo your way to level 70.

Don't want to give away any spoilers, but here's a hint:

Get to Shattrath City (Terokkar Forest) ASAP. You'll find its banks and portals useful. Moreover, Shattrath City is yet another example of, "Oh, wow!"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on January 17, 2007
Edition: Burning Crusade
So I went to the game store and waited in line to get my pre-order at release. Got home, installed it in about 45minutes or so with the updates, which was nice.

Lag wasn't bad on my server (Malygos) and had fun getting a few levels on a new Blood Elf paladin. Until the next day...tried to take my lvl 60 into Outlands...Questing was painful with all the lag, then the various world servers kept crashing, no mobs...or insanely fast respawns. No NPC's for quests, etc. I played the beta a bit and release was much improved over it, however I think that this kind of performance should be expected for the first days/weeks after release.

Overall the new content seems to be interesting and the quest reward items seem to be significantly better than what you could get raiding the 40 man instances, which is very depressing for those of us who spent MONTHS raiding to get the 'epic' gear just to have it replaced with green quest rewards in one day.

If you are addicted to World of Warcraft, I am sure you will become just as addicted to Burning Crusade. :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
on January 17, 2007
Edition: Burning Crusade
For those of you who are wondering if you should buy the BC expansion and how it is faring on the live servers, let me put your mind at ease. The servers are up, the game is wonderful, and the new content puts the original content of WoW to shame. This is an expansion that Blizzard should stand up and be proud of!

Contrary to other players experiences, I played the expansion for about 10 hours of the first day of its official live release (not the beta), and it is not buggy. The lag in the Outland can be a bit much at times, but then again when every level 60 on your server is in one zone trying to do quests, what do you expect? The mobs are constantly respawning at a rate so fast that once you kill the mob a respwan happens almost instantly (due to the frequency of kills in the zone). I have seen only one "evade" mob bugging out, and been disconnected twice in 10 hours, each time for less than a minute. With the score and breadth of the expansion, these are small problems that will not hamper your gameplay in the least (unless you are a Mr. Grumpy-Pants).

The bottom line: buy the expansion if you play Warcraft. You won't regret it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on September 21, 2007
Edition: Burning Crusade
The Burning Crusade is more of the same old same old - grinding for gear, reputation, and gold. The storyline would be much better if Blizzard actually incorporated it into the game, instead of adding it as an afterthought. The very nature of this game is showing off how fast you can level your toon and whom has the best gear. I prefer to play a game that actually has an end-game I can participate in. I spent 7 months playing WoW and enjoyed it. Now I am moving on though. Wrath of the Lich King? No thanks. What is the difference between level 70 and level 80? Not much, just more expensive gear and another month of my life grinding to 80 so I can get bored with it. Thanks for the memories Blizzard. /cancel
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on May 6, 2007
Edition: Burning CrusadeVerified Purchase
I have fun playing this, but found the original more captivating. I was disappointed with the size of the new world, felt it was too small and was easy to explore very quickly. As for the new raid content, I consider it to be too complicated and elaborate in the extremely long chain of events that you have to accomplish just to move into each new raid dungeon. I also don't like the fact that you have to grind forever in the various 5 mans to get rep to unlock heroic mode to be able to get keys to various higher level raid dungeons. Grinding is the most boring thing in the world to me and this game has way too much of it. Overall, enjoyed a lot of the new world content but the elaborate raid system eventually drove me out of the game due to boredom.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question

     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
World of Warcraft - PC/Mac
World of Warcraft - PC/Mac by Blizzard Entertainment (Linux, Mac OS 9 and below / X / X Intel, Windows 2000 / 95 / 98 / Me / Vista / XP)
$9.99

World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor Expansion - PC/Mac
World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor Expansion - PC/Mac by Blizzard Entertainment (Mac, Windows 7 / 8 / 8.1 / Vista / XP)
$39.99

World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor Collector's Edition - PC/Mac
World of Warcraft: Warlords of Draenor Collector's Edition - PC/Mac by Blizzard Entertainment (Mac, Windows 7 / 8 / 8.1 / Vista / XP)
$78.21
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.