Customer Reviews


191 Reviews
5 star:
 (178)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


161 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to raise consciousness and bring peace to our world.
This book is a must-read for anyone who wants to grow spiritually, who wants to live a conscious and compassionate life, and who wants to contribute to world peace. I have read many books on the topic of vegetarianism, animal rights and animal welfare, spiritual growth, and peace and nonviolence. This book stands alone in its ability to make the connection between all of...
Published on October 13, 2005 by Delisa Renideo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good on principles of diet change for those who aren't ...
Good on principles of diet change for those who aren't convinced about their role in earth stewardship. However, will probably only be read by those who already embrace it.
Published 12 days ago by Ella M. Rydzewski


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

161 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book to raise consciousness and bring peace to our world., October 13, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Peace Diet: Eating for Spiritual Health and Social Harmony (Paperback)
This book is a must-read for anyone who wants to grow spiritually, who wants to live a conscious and compassionate life, and who wants to contribute to world peace. I have read many books on the topic of vegetarianism, animal rights and animal welfare, spiritual growth, and peace and nonviolence. This book stands alone in its ability to make the connection between all of these subjects.

Will Tuttle, Ph.D. is a rare combination of extraordinary compassion, scholarly research and education, spiritual commitment and wisdom, intuitive insights, and the courage to challenge a worldview which goes back 10,000 years

In this book, Tuttle explores humanity's relationship with the foods we eat. He points out, very convincingly, that when humans began herding animals, it began to create a consciousness of exploitation which then spread to the control and domination of other humans, as well as animals. So the roots of human's violence to humans are found in the practice of seeing animals as objects to exploit for our own purposes: for food, furs, labor, entertainment, "sport" and experimentation. The use of humans as slaves and the subjugation of women followed the subjugation and enslavement of animals.

One thing that sets this book apart from any of the others that describe the problems associated with a meat-based diet is the focus on the spiritual aspects of our diet. When we take food into our bodies, we are also ingesting the energy contained in this food. Animals that are tortured and filled with terror and agony as they are killed are filled with this very negative energy. When humans eat their flesh, we are also ingesting this fear and anger. This affects us deeply. We cannot live with peace in our hearts as long as we are filling our bodies with the pain and suffering of other beings.

Tuttle helps us to see that none of us have actually chosen a diet based upon meat. Our mothers fed us meat from our infancy. As we got old enough to understand that we were eating animals, we were told that animals were put here for us to eat, so it was okay. We didn't question this, any more than we questioned wearing clothes or taking baths. Thus, we absorbed the acceptance of exploitation of animals so naturally that we didn't know it was happening. And being unconscious, it is hard to recognize the violence that is part of our everyday lives through the eating of animals. Therefore, it is also hard to recognize how insensitive we have become to violence, because we have to protect ourselves from an awareness of the violence we are part of 3 times a day.

This is a very important book for everyone who wants their lives to contribute to more peace in the world, rather than more suffering and violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


72 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful and passionate., March 6, 2006
By 
Melanie "mongoliamel" (Cass Lake, MN, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World Peace Diet: Eating for Spiritual Health and Social Harmony (Paperback)
What would happen if everyone ate with consideration of the damage they are causing the environment and other creatures? According to Will Tuttle, author of The World Peace Diet, we would all be vegan, and a lot less hostile.

Tuttle's hypothesis says that if people really stopped to consider how sacred the act of eating is, the fact that you are literally taking on the energy and life force of another piece of matter, people would be a lot more mindful of their choices. And naturally following from that would be a meat-free diet.

As long as we continue to try to dominate the animals we share the planet with, we will continue to have violence. He takes the idea of reaping what you sow to the ultimate end, arguing that humans live in cramped, ugly conditions with no joy because that is what we force animals to do; we have diets of highly processed, chemical-filled foods because that is what we give to animals; we are fat as we fatten our food unnaturally; we suffer more disease, chronic worry and pain because we give these things to animals.

"Our cultural predicament - the array of seemingly intractable problems that beset us, such a chronic war, terrorism, genocide, starvation, the proliferation of disease, environmental degradation, species extinction, animal abuse, consumerism, drug addiction, alienation, stress, racism, oppression of women, child abuse, corporate exploitation, materialism, poverty, injustice, and social malaise - is rooted in an essential cause that is so obvious that it has managed to remain almost completely overlooked," he writes.

It's a powerful, passionate argument, one that many who are already vegetarians or vegans will read and find themselves nodding their heads over. It makes sense that in addition to the environmental damage and the health problems meat-based diets cause on a personal level, eating meat can also cause social ills across societies; it's just not something a lot of people have expressed this clearly before.

It may not be an argument that will convert many meat-eaters, but this is a thoughtful, well-reasoned book that draws on mythology, physiology, religion, science, systems theory and more to get people to think about what they put in their bodies, not just for individual health but for the well-being of society at large.-Sarah White
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars World Peace Diet: Eat for Spiritual Health and Social Harmony, September 15, 2005
By 
Thomas Johnson (New Gloucester, Me USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World Peace Diet: Eating for Spiritual Health and Social Harmony (Paperback)
Doctor Will Tuttle's World Peace Diet is unlike any other "diet book" that I have ever read. Books such as Dr. Atkins' Health Revolution, The Zone, Protein Power, and The South Beach Diet attempt to give the reader guidance on how to lose weight. However, they fail to spell out the psychological health, ethical, environmental, and spiritual implications of their guidance.

The World Peace Diet does give information to the reader on how a balanced vegetarian diet can help someone improve their health and lose weight. However, this book is much more than simply a self help "diet book." This book illustrates the many dark sides of eating just to lose weight without considering how we ( and other creatures) are affected emotionally and spiritually by our eating habits.The diet books mentioned above include animal foods as well as plant foods.This book does not consider animals, their milk or eggs to be suitable food for humans. Eating animals causes suffering to the humans eating them as well as the animals being eaten.

Dr. Tuttle's book is based in veganism which is not simply a set of food preferences but is actually a form of ethical vegetarianism. Vegans only eat plant foods and are thereby able to show "Reverence" for all forms of life. In the process they practice ahimsa (harmlessness) and contibute to world peace. No animals or " animal products" are consumed. This approach to eating is really a way of being in the world and not simply a set of food preferences.

This author brings great compassion and a very scholarly/ethical approach to his writing. At the same time he offers practical suggestions on how to eat in ways that enhance physical, emotional and spiritual health. I recommend this book to anyone interested in improving their own health in ways that also show respect and consideration for all animals and the planet itself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars important book, November 11, 2005
This review is from: World Peace Diet: Eating for Spiritual Health and Social Harmony (Paperback)
This book is a unique contribution to understanding the direct relationship between the food we eat and the vast range of the world's problems--hunger, poverty, disease, war, terrorism, genocide, environmental degradation, and the massive exploitation and slaughter of defenseless animals.

To explain how the ugly reality of the abuse and killing of animals became the centerpiece of our civilization, Dr. Tuttle begins by examining the emergence of our herding culture that began roughly 10,000 years ago in the Near East with the enslavement (euphemistically called "domestication") of sheep and goats, and later cattle, camels, horses, and other animals, for food, clothing, transport, and labor.

This herding culture introduced a higher level of coercion into human history and led to oppressive hierarchical societies and large-scale warfare never seen before. The enslavement of animals and the intensive animal agriculture that resulted from it injected large doses of ruthlessness, detachment, and socially accepted cruelty into the fabric of our civilization. It also produced assorted ideologies of human supremacy and speciesist attitudes that define our relationship to animals today.

His dedication to his vegan, non-violent worldview suffuses every page of this insightful and important book. The World Peace Diet is sure to help human consciousness move from our present herder mindset, based on might makes right and the exploitation of others, to a more humane attitude toward the earth and all its inhabitants.

--reviewed by Charles Patterson, author of ETERNAL TREBLINKA: Our Treatment of Animals and the Holocaust
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Will Tuttle's "World Peace Diet" - A MUST Read for Every Vegan/Vegetarian & Non-Vegetarian, March 10, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Peace Diet: Eating for Spiritual Health and Social Harmony (Paperback)
I have read many, many books on vegetarian diets; ranging from health issues to animal rights issues to environmental issues to human rights issues for slaughterhouse workers (the slaughterers and packers, etc.) to what is best for the planet and the starving human beings of this world. This Book encompasses it all; yet much more eloquently and profoundly than any other book I have read, some of which also cover all the issues surrounding what we use as fuel for our human bodies. I also have met and listened to Will Tuttle lecture at a conference. He is extremely well-educated in all the subject areas; in addition, he is highly informed/educated on the spiritual and/or religious aspect of how what and WHOM we eat affects our psychology/spirituality, etc. I CANNOT MORE HIGHLY RECOMMEND ANY OTHER BOOK - EXCEPT FOR ONE TITLED "THE CHINA STUDY," which thoroughly explains the health implications of the "Other Animal Whoms" that our society eats and uses for any and all purposes for monetary gain. Don't get me wrong, there are many good books on these subjects. PLEASE READ AND GET AS MANY OTHER HUMAN ANIMALS TO READ "WORLD PEACE DIET" AS YOU CAN!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Simple and Ancient Truth Compassionately Explored: Be Kind to All Creatures and We Will Have Peace, January 15, 2007
By 
Gary Loewenthal (Falls Church, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World Peace Diet: Eating for Spiritual Health and Social Harmony (Paperback)
In The World Peace Diet, Will Tuttle makes a compelling and comprehensive case for showing compassion to the earth, and all the creatures in it, in large part by adopting a vegan diet. The book shows that we cannot achieve peace if we are engaged in violence three times a day; we cannot be honest if we practice lifelong denial about the effects of participating in a system that breeds, confines, manipulates, and slaughters animals by the billions, mainly for pleasure and profit.

Dr. Tuttle is passionate and articulate without being condescending or pedantic. He weaves together the accumulated wisdom of religious, philosophical, and scientific thinkers through the ages. The World Peace Diet really gets to the heart of the matter: until we rid ourselves of the well-entrenched, government-subsidized, highly profitable, socially reinforced, intensely promoted meat- and dairy-centered diet that destroys animals, the environment, and our bodies - and our integrity, efforts to bring about peace and better health are almost futile. The world is as violent as ever. The U.S. spends more on health care and medical research than any other country, yet has some of the highest rates of heart disease, cancer, diabetes, and obesity in the history of humankind. We have Earth Day and thousands of environmental organizations but we're depleting the oceans of fish and cutting down pristine habitat for livestock grazing.

The book is a little on the long side; although the solutions are breathtakingly simple, our tangled web of rationalizations for violence against the helpless, and the machinery and institutions that perpetuate it are vast and complex. But the book is enthralling. You're pulled in from the very beginining, when the author talks about the intimate nature and profound ramifications of the simple act of deciding what to eat.

As Dr. Tuttle explains, and personalizes by recounting his own and others' transformations, once we bring our diet more in line with our basic morals - being decent, being kind, being unselfish, refraining from inflicting aoidable harm - the rewards are profound, and the possibilities for positive change in the world are dazzling with promise.

As other reviewers have said, this book ties it all together, cohesively; from every angle and with love and spirit, Will Tuttle implores us to stop the institutionalized oppression of animals and destruction of the earth, and replace it with lovingkindness and communion with Creation. His message is an updated version of an ancient goal - peace on earth, goodwill toward all beings - and his book helps propel us on that glorious journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Enlightening Book On The Merits Of Veganism, September 21, 2007
By 
ML775 (Midwest, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: World Peace Diet: Eating for Spiritual Health and Social Harmony (Paperback)
As long as governments wage wars and people endure violence and oppression, compassionate individuals will ask themselves, "What can I do to make the world a more peaceful place?"
This book offers an answer. It contains eye-opening revelations about the food choices we make and the ramifications of those choices. It provides insight into how our food choices affect our attitudes toward our fellow creatures and toward other human beings. The book also explores the way our food choices impact the environment and human health.
Author Will Tuttle insightfully points out how the unimaginable cruelty of factory farming is suppressed and hidden away from the general public --- and from our own conscience. He demonstrates a link between the brutality and terror inflicted on factory farm animals and the brutality and terror human beings inflict on each other.
Unlike many animal rights advocates, Tuttle uses no disturbing images to make his points. He doesn't need to --- the facts he presents are shocking enough. His tone is informative, not vindictive, and his message draws upon examples from ancient history through the present day.
The book illustrates the total disregard factory farm practices have for an animal's natural instincts to socially interact, mate and nurture its offspring. It tells how extinguishing both human and non-human inclinations to nurture life and protect the vulnerable results in a culture of hardened, self-centered people who focus on the differences between themselves and others rather than the similarities. Tuttle sees this focus on differences, rather than similarities, as the fundamental problem behind many of the world's problems such as racism, elitism and war.
"The World Peace Diet," delves into the long history of today's profit driven factory farm operations. It reaches back thousands of years to show how nomadic life gave way to the domestication of animals and the herding culture that remains in practice today, with feed lots and factory farms. I found some of the historical anecdotes extremely enlightening. I didn't know the word, "capital," derives from, "capita," Latin for, "head;" as in head of cattle or sheep and how the first capitalists were ancient herders.
"The World Peace Diet," shows it's possible for anyone to diminish cruelty, violence and terror in the world by making compassionate food choices. The book advocates a vegan lifestyle that excludes the use or consumption of animal products. Tuttle examines the challenges of transitioning to veganism and shares his own experiences moving from a typical meat eating lifestyle to vegetarianism and, finally, to veganism.
With American attitudes inclined toward healthier lifestyles, and worldwide concern over diseases and contaminated food supplies, "The World Peace Diet," is a book for our times. It tells how the widespread, savage use of animals as commodities damages our health, our planet and our relationships with each other. At the same time, the book provides a solution; demonstrating how we can all make the world a more peaceful place through our daily food choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most Important Book on Veganism, January 24, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Peace Diet: Eating for Spiritual Health and Social Harmony (Paperback)
The World Peace Diet is the most eloquent and important book ever written on why we must go vegan and it seems Divinely inspired. Dr. Tuttle says, "To meditate for world peace, to pray for a better world, and to work for social justice and environmental protection while continuing to purchase the flesh, milk, and eggs of horribly abused animals exposes a disconnect that is so fundamental that it renders our efforts absurd, hypocritical, and doomed to certain failure." He doesn't just make such powerful statements, he very clearly and convincingly explains why it is so. This book has the power to change our world for the better. I give it the highest rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected awareness, May 4, 2009
By 
C. Helton (Waxahachie, TX USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Peace Diet: Eating for Spiritual Health and Social Harmony (Paperback)
This book, while starting out gently, soon elevates, by both words and facts, to a reality I was not completely prepared for. That being said, because of the thoroughness of both the research and presentation by the author, my prespective relative to the compassionate choices of what I eat have been profoundly changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Book is a Blessing, November 2, 2007
This review is from: World Peace Diet: Eating for Spiritual Health and Social Harmony (Paperback)
In October 2007 in Kansas City I attended Will Tuttle's talk on The World Peace Diet. He is a peaceful, brilliant man with a passion for sharing the hidden truths--correlating animal commodity to the human dysfunctions on a global scale. Living with compassion for all beings is the way to deep spiritual happiness. I understand so much better the philosophy of being vegan since his talk. The whole experience has brought a wonderful sense of peace and clarity. A real aha moment. Will and his wife have been living in an RV for the past twelve years travelling the country and world dedicated to spreading the truth about compassionate towards animals, spirituality, veganism and so much more.

To quote Ghandi, "Be the change you want to see in the world." This book has brough me one big step closer. We are blessed to have Tuttle's wisdom captured in this beautiful book. It's like a vegan bible in respects to animal compassion. He's a voice for the animals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

World Peace Diet: Eating for Spiritual Health and Social Harmony
World Peace Diet: Eating for Spiritual Health and Social Harmony by Will M. Tuttle (Paperback - July 1, 2005)
$22.00 $14.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.