Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good survey of the material
If you're looking at this book, it's probably as a textbook for a class. At least that's what role it was for me. In my Introduction to International Relations class, virtually this entire book was required reading, and as such I got to be very familiar with FLS, sorry I should say Frieden, Lake, and Schultz.

FLS takes the bargaining perspective and applies...
Published 24 months ago by B. Sherman

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poly book
Some stories that the authors illustrate are just boring. Also, they take lots of words to spell out common sense ideas. However, seems like the breadth of concepts is covered well. Like most paperbacks, the cover gets torn up.
Published on February 11, 2011 by jmmdem


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good survey of the material, July 13, 2012
By 
B. Sherman (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Politics: Interests, Interactions, Institutions (Paperback)
If you're looking at this book, it's probably as a textbook for a class. At least that's what role it was for me. In my Introduction to International Relations class, virtually this entire book was required reading, and as such I got to be very familiar with FLS, sorry I should say Frieden, Lake, and Schultz.

FLS takes the bargaining perspective and applies it to any situation imaginable (and in a few cases is a bit less than fully justifiable). However, it does this through very enigmatic figures and diagrams that do little to elucidate the complex points of the prose. Another interesting aspect in FLS is how in a few places the flowing text (the white pages) and the side-bars (colored pages) contradict one another, or at least are in a bit of difference in opinion. When reading this book, that internal conflict was rather confusing to me, and my class did spend quite a bit of time in trying to work through these ambiguities.

Overall, however, FLS is a good survey of the field of International Relations. No book is ideal, especially for a survey level class, but FLS certainly comes about as close as any book I've seen. FLS pays a good deal of attention to the many competing theories of IR, and it works especially well at captivating those members of the class who are less thrilled to be taking a political science-themed class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Problem-driven instead of theory-driven approach, October 20, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Politics: Interests, Interactions, Institutions (Paperback)
This book provides an innovative approach to IR and IR theory in line with Lake's critique of 'isms' conventionally governing teaching and debates in IR. It is definitely a good read and a well-structured book - for professors and students alike!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars World Politics as a textbook, October 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Politics: Interests, Interactions, Institutions (Paperback)
Overall this is a good over view of modern politic conditions snd theories. As an International Realtions college student, I have made use of the book as a generalized resource for understanding concepts like game theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poly book, February 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Politics: Interests, Interactions, Institutions (Paperback)
Some stories that the authors illustrate are just boring. Also, they take lots of words to spell out common sense ideas. However, seems like the breadth of concepts is covered well. Like most paperbacks, the cover gets torn up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great buy, September 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Politics: Interests, Interactions, Institutions (Paperback)
the condition of textbook is good and matches the description. great value as well. Do not have much idea about the shipping speed cuz I sent it to my friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sorry, September 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Politics: Interests, Interactions, Institutions (Paperback)
sorry but i don't need it any more, my friend bought me a book when the course begins and I have finished the course right now
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, September 1, 2010
This review is from: World Politics: Interests, Interactions, Institutions (Paperback)
Needed it for a class. Am really happy about the quality of the book and the layout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Satisfied, February 9, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Politics: Interests, Interactions, Institutions (Paperback)
The book arrived really quickly and matched the product description. No markings inside the book at all. The price was very good. My one complaint is that the binding is less than perfect and some of the pages have begun to fall out with use. I don't think that is the Seller's fault, but it should have been mentioned. Other than that I am completely satisfied.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

World Politics: Interests, Interactions, Institutions
World Politics: Interests, Interactions, Institutions by Jeffry A. Frieden (Paperback - July 9, 2009)
Used & New from: $0.06
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.