Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


91 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collector's Edition Specifics
People who want to know about the expansion in general should also look at the standard Burning Crusade edition. I'm just going to add some information here about what's different with the Collector's Edition.

The most important thing to know is that each copy of the expansion, for either version, comes with a key code that you have to put in to upgrade your...
Published on January 18, 2007 by B.L.

versus
9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Burning Crusades Collector's Edition
When I ordered this product I ordered it for the in game pet that I was sure that would come with it. My sad mistake is that when I just opened the box the loot card is not in it. So now I have a collectors edition without the loot card. Thanks for that. When I read the product description it did not mention that the loot card had been removed. Makes me wonder about the...
Published on May 12, 2012 by Michelle Carroll


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

91 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Collector's Edition Specifics, January 18, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World Of Warcraft Burning Crusade Collector's Edition - PC/Mac (CD-ROM)
People who want to know about the expansion in general should also look at the standard Burning Crusade edition. I'm just going to add some information here about what's different with the Collector's Edition.

The most important thing to know is that each copy of the expansion, for either version, comes with a key code that you have to put in to upgrade your account. Without the code, you won't be able to access the new content even if you have the software installed. [Edit: As of January 22, 2007 Blizzard has announced on their forums that they're working on allowing players who already upgraded using the basic expansion to then also upgrade using the collector's edition in order to get the limited edition pet. You'll have to call Blizzard's billing service line with the unused collector's edition expansion key, so it's slightly more work than upgrading directly with the CE, but it can now be done.]

The only real difference between the versions so far as playing the actual game goes, is that those who buy the CE will receive a special pet called a netherwhelp on all of their characters. It's basically a baby version of the flying mounts available in Outland.

Most of the benefit of this version is outside of the game. You get a nicer box with it, of course. Inside that box you'll find that you get the game in both CD (4 of them) form, and DVD form (just 1, so you don't have to mess around with changing the one in the drive).

In addition to the game itself, you get a number of other items. There's a very nice mousepad with a map of Outland on it (though I've heard that the glossy surface works poorly with laser mice). There's a hardcover book of art from World of Warcraft. They include some cards from the WoW collectible card game, along with directions for those who want to play. If you love the music you find in Burning Crusade, you'll also be happy to see that there's a soundtrack included in the box. Finally, there's an additional DVD that contains two hours of behind the scenes material, including things like interviews.

Keep in mind, however, that the only in game benefit is the pet. If you don't want the pet but want everything else, you'll probably be able to get the other items cheaply from someone who wanted the pet and not the rest. Or, you could buy the set and then sell the activation code to someone who wants the pet, while you keep the extra items for yourself.

Due to the need for an activation code, though, be careful about buying this item used. Make sure that you confirm with the seller that the activation code in their set has NOT been used, because it can only be used to upgrade a single account. After that, even if you use the software in the box to upgrade the version on your computer, you WILL NOT have access to the new content. An expansion upgrade code is REQUIRED and it must be one that has never been used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review on Collector's Edition, January 19, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Of Warcraft Burning Crusade Collector's Edition - PC/Mac (CD-ROM)
When I buy a certian edition of software or DVD or whatever on Amazon, I often see people reviewing the actual software or movie and never the EDITION they purchased. This review is more for the Collector's edition, although the game itself is five stars, no doubt.

As far as Collector's Editions go, Blizzard has always done very well, and this is pretty much no exception. Packaged exactly like the WoW CE, this one fits nicely on the shelf next to it, and has the same (cheap but cool) felt on the inside holding everything in place. The extras in this edition are pretty standard for Blizzard.

*Soundtrack CD

*DVD - The DVD's are getting pretty lame. The more they release for each of their three universes, the less you have to put on each one. This one doesn't have very many features on it, but it is good, nonetheless.

*Game on DVD and 4 CD's plus a couple of codes for 30-day trials to give to friends. (My advice: Wait until they do another offer for a free month of game play when you get someone else signed up).

*Mousepad map - Definately more useful than some fabric map print that will never be used.

*In game pet - Netherwhelp hatchling - Too cute, not cool enough. I like the original CE where we got to choose form three pets, give us back some options.

*Trading Card game - Two starter sets, and a couple of extra hero cards - I don't know anything about the TCG, haven't played this one before, but it's nice to get the cards because God knows the last thing I need is one more hobby to collect, and when they do things like give me these cards for free, I am no doubt going to fork over some money to buy more.

*Book: Art of BC - Nice, but only half the book has new stuff, the other half is stuff on all the old additions to WoW and is freely available on any fan website. Still anice coffee table book though for fans of the game.

To the reviewer below who hasn't gotten their copy yet, I am sorry, but Amazon does get a lot of pre-orders for this, and they have no idea how many copies they will actually get to send out, which is why they cut off pre-orders early, but I hope you get your copy soon. The launch has been smoother than I ever thought possible, so getting on and playing is pretty quick once you get it installed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Burning Crusade, January 22, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World Of Warcraft Burning Crusade Collector's Edition - PC/Mac (CD-ROM)
I was pleasantly surprised to find that there has not been too many issues playing the game with this expansion.

I enjoy the new content, yet find it strange to run around with the opposite faction next to you, and no one usually attacks each other.

As for the Collector's extras, the art book is an excellent piece to have, I also enjoyed being able to install via DVD.

I DID feel that the ingame pet was not enough to warrant the price, though I knew what I was getting into. I am into having "extras" but for the most part can easily live with the regular version of the game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just to let you know., October 28, 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Of Warcraft Burning Crusade Collector's Edition - PC/Mac (CD-ROM)
Everything had came in the box like it was stated. Though the only problem is that the CD in the box was not the original Soundtrack it was a copy.

I had went to put the tracks on my computer and it had songs from a band call "Akwid".

So for those who are wanting to buy this item, be warned it has been tampered with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All that AND a tiny pet, April 28, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World Of Warcraft Burning Crusade Collector's Edition - PC/Mac (CD-ROM)
I got this copy to get the free non-combat companion pet, the netherwhelp hatchling. He is SO adorable... and every single character you create or transfer to this account will get one. You can also transfer characters off that account and they will keep the pet (warning, transfer is $25 each and can not be transfered again for 30 days). To transfer a character from one account to another the name on both accounts must be the same, so don't think you can sell characters with this pet attached to anyone willing to pay.

What I didn't expect (because I didn't read the product description) was the book of artwork... it's gorgeous! It also comes with a soundrack (music you hear in the background) but if you are level 40 and lower, most of the music will be unfamiliar... perhaps I'll hear more of it when I get to higher levels. There are also cards from the card version of the game... and quite a few, at that... a mousepad with a map of outlands on it and a DVD of how the scenery and characters were "created"... all in all, this is a pretty cool set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He Sparkles!, February 16, 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World Of Warcraft Burning Crusade Collector's Edition - PC/Mac (CD-ROM)
In this collector's edition you get a cute little netherwhelp 'vanity pet' for all your characters ... when I first got mine EVERYONE asked where I got it, since then, non-sparkly netherwhelps have become available, OH WOE. Of course, they are bound to each character, but you always get one ... and if you're a vanity pet addict like I am, this is a special addition to your collection. The guides that come along in addition to the game, the book and the mouse pad are very nice - albeit, I am often concerned because the books are printed on very delicate paper ... ah well. Now to find GOOD maps of instances ...

Oh, and if you already have the game and buy this Collector's Edition, call Blizz, they will upgrade your account AND you can give your previous keys to someone else ... OR sell them, sorta nice.

This game should have a warning label "ADDICTIVE - NO 12 STEP PROGRAM AVAILABLE'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lots of fun, despite the weak raid game, May 28, 2007
By 
Scott Burton (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Of Warcraft Burning Crusade Collector's Edition - PC/Mac (CD-ROM)
"World of Warcraft: The Burning Crusade" is a great expansion pack. The world of Outland is big and beautiful, with plenty of variety and lots to see and do. In contrast to other MMO's, it feels a lot more like a standalone game than an expansion pack; there are hundreds of new quests and items, factions, the Arena PvP system, the list goes on. And while the level cap has only extended from 60 to 70, those 10 levels are a very satisfying journey, as there are plenty of quests to keep you out of the grind.

Blizzard has clearly focused on a "back to basics" strategy with instances, too. 5-man instances abound, and they're all excellent. The intent is to spotlight hybrid classes and small-group tactics, which is a welcome change. All of the 5-man content can be relived later in "Heroic Mode", which raises the difficulty to an acceptably fun level, and provides a good challenge for experienced players to work on.

The only major failure here is the raid game. It's hard to criticize Blizzard for making the decision to spotlight the 5-man game (players were howling for it), but it came as a shock to experienced raiders that they'd have nothing to do on their scheduled raid days. The first raid you encounter, Karazhan, comes with an attunement, requires a cookie-cutter 10-man lineup, and has a serious gear check halfway through. That's no fun. Kara alone has smashed many raid groups accustomed to the more forgiving 40-man game, to say nothing of the road to Serpentshrine Cavern and The Black Temple.

The Collector's Edition is worth having, particularly if you're a fan. There's an excellent coffee table book that shows the evolution of the art & design of The Burning Crusade. I thought the DVD was a little short on content, but well-produced. It highlights many aspects of game design that players tend to overlook. The packaging is great and hey, you get a Nether Drake!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Burning Crusades Collector's Edition, May 12, 2012
By 
Michelle Carroll (Sherman,Texas USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Of Warcraft Burning Crusade Collector's Edition - PC/Mac (CD-ROM)
When I ordered this product I ordered it for the in game pet that I was sure that would come with it. My sad mistake is that when I just opened the box the loot card is not in it. So now I have a collectors edition without the loot card. Thanks for that. When I read the product description it did not mention that the loot card had been removed. Makes me wonder about the rest of the products you offer. I tried to not rate this but of course Amazon insists so I give it a one star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning : Warcrack, February 27, 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: World Of Warcraft Burning Crusade Collector's Edition - PC/Mac (CD-ROM)
Only buy this game if you are independently wealthy and have no need for a job or any social life outside of the game. WoW and the expansion together create a gaming force so powerful that you will not be able to resist playing. It will vacuum out your soul and leave you an empty shell of a person, haggard and broken. You will lose your apartment, spouse, job, and friends and end up shattered and desperate, mindlessly searching for an internet cafe so you can hook up your next fix. At night, your fingers will twitch, clicking a phantom mouse as you dream of ore deposits and herbs that don't exist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I don't know why i bought this...., May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Of Warcraft Burning Crusade Collector's Edition - PC/Mac (CD-ROM)
I like to play WOW, and still I already own this expansion, so I don't know why I bought the collectors editions, I guess i was to much into the game that want to have everything...

If you are not a hardcore gamer of this game, just get the copy, and don't bother with this, is really expensive and the in-game items are not so good to pay for them...

but if you are hardcore gamer, well what can I say, you will not read the review anyways, you know what you want...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

World Of Warcraft Burning Crusade Collector's Edition - PC/Mac
$188.90
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.