Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The rightful heir to the mantle of Joe Strummer
Tom Morello is the rightful heir to the mantle of Joe Strummer. He is uncompromising in both his politics and his music. Worldwide Rebel Songs expands upon the material and range of musical styles he debuted on his first two LPs and his Union Town EP. On Rebel Songs Mr. Morello is unafraid to experiment with different musical styles and combinations, the reuults may...
Published on September 8, 2011 by Louis the Kingsnake

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wordswordswords
Where previous Nightwatchman releases primarily featured Morello as an acoustic troubadour, his latest proffers more group interplay, at times recalling aspects of his other projects. "It Begins Tonight" bisects shamelessly heavy riffing with Bo Diddley beats, while "Union Town" hybridizes Morello's trademark turntablist-influenced shredding with a chorus ready-made for...
Published on September 3, 2011 by Tora


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The rightful heir to the mantle of Joe Strummer, September 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Wide Rebel Songs (Audio CD)
Tom Morello is the rightful heir to the mantle of Joe Strummer. He is uncompromising in both his politics and his music. Worldwide Rebel Songs expands upon the material and range of musical styles he debuted on his first two LPs and his Union Town EP. On Rebel Songs Mr. Morello is unafraid to experiment with different musical styles and combinations, the reuults may not always be music perfection but his warmth and genuine love for his material carries it through. In this respect, Mr. Morello joines Bruce Springsteen and Steve Earle as one of the few artists who should be readily forgiven for the occasional awkaward lyric because the authentic emotion behind it is so obvious. My personal favorites here are "Save the Hammer for the Man" a duet with Ben Harper, the rabble-rousing anthem, "It Begins Tonight" and his ode to his guitar, "Black Spartacus Heart Attack Machine." If you liked the other 2.5 Nightwatchman albums or are a fan of Joe Strummer or Tim Armstrong, this is your album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but not the Morello Everyone Knows, September 5, 2011
This review is from: World Wide Rebel Songs (Audio CD)
Personally, I am a fan of anything Morello...Rage Against the Machine, Audioslave, Street Sweeper Social Club. But, as the Nightwatchman, Tom's style vastly differs from his other acts, even from his previous Nightwatchman albums such as One Man Revolution and The Fabled City. This time Morello uses a full electric band to back his act, and the combination sounds amazing. Tracks such as the Fifth Horseman of Apocalypse and Stray Bullets are thought-provoking, well-constructed, and have hauntingly brilliant melodies. An instant favorite is It Begins Tonight - its soul-shredding guitar riffs and solo are reminiscent of Rage and Audioslave. Tom also mixes it up with slower, quieter tracks such as God Help us All, and even shows some country influence in songs like Save the Hammer for the Man, which features Ben Harper.

To put it simply, if you like Tom Morello, buy this album. If you don't really know Tom Morello, preview the album a little, then buy it. Tom's musicianship will continue to grow on you - it is impossible not to appreciate him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT BEGINS TONIGHT!, September 2, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Wide Rebel Songs (Audio CD)
THE NIGHTWATCHMAN'S BEST WORK YET!

Looking for an album from an artist who actually believes the music he writes? World Wide Rebel Songs is that album! Tom Morello brings guitar fury to the folk genre that really hasn't been seen before. It all starts from the first song and progresses onward. I'm going comment specifically on the songs I know the meaning to and like off the album.

1. BLACK SPARTACUS HEART ATTACK MACHINE - A great love song about his new steel string guitar. Yes, I know what you are saying "The Nightwatchman doesn't write love songs!" I was surprised as well but it's truly a great song.

3. IT BEGINS TONIGHT - A rocking jam that you could just imagine people belting out of their lungs as they protest their rights being taken away by the government.

4. SAVE THE HAMMER FOR THE MAN - Here are The Nightwatchman's exact words regarding this song. "Ben (Harper) and I have been friends for some time, and he's been very generous and performed at a number of benefit shows that I put on, including the last Justice tour. We had some problems getting a few people for some of the shows, and Ben sent me an e-mail saying, 'Dude, let me know if you want me to put the hammer down.' And I wrote back and said, 'Ben, save the hammer for The Man.'" From that this song was born featuring none other than Ben Harper.

6. SPEAK AND MAKE LIGHTNING - The Nightwatchman plays an epic solo on his Arm The Homeless guitar for this track (yes he names every guitar he has if you didn't already know that).

10. BRANDING IRON - Heavy lyrics about a true story in which "16 young female textile workers were killed in a factory where there was a fire and management had the doors chained against regulation 'cause the factory didn't have a union that could see to it that b.s. like that didn't go down."

11. WORLD WIDE REBEL SONGS - Workers from Sole Korea attempted to unionize, got fired, plant was moved to China, and traveled to the United States to enlist the Nightwatchman's help to put on a benefit show. The day before the benefit show the earthquake in Haiti happened and these workers who were struggling and desperate donated 100% of the proceeds to relief efforts in Haiti. This song is a little bit of the world that The Nightwatchman would like to see, meaning more instances of solidarity around the world. If struggling workers from Sole Korea with very little to call their own stand up and do their part why can't we all do the same?

13. UNION TOWN - It was written about the Madison, Wisconsin protests but speaks to union protests around the world.

The other songs also sound good but I'm not going to pretend that at this point I have figured out their meanings.

My overall opinion of the album is that it's better than ONE MAN REVOLUTION, THE FABLED CITY, and the UNION TOWN EP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars wordswordswords, September 3, 2011
This review is from: World Wide Rebel Songs (Audio CD)
Where previous Nightwatchman releases primarily featured Morello as an acoustic troubadour, his latest proffers more group interplay, at times recalling aspects of his other projects. "It Begins Tonight" bisects shamelessly heavy riffing with Bo Diddley beats, while "Union Town" hybridizes Morello's trademark turntablist-influenced shredding with a chorus ready-made for protest marches; "Facing Mount Kenya," meanwhile, balances personal introspection and political insight with sparse, atmospheric trip-hop. Surprisingly, the most appealing element here proves to be Morello's voice -- a weary, Leonard Cohen-esque rasp that makes all the sloganeering seem oddly soothing. That human element is what makes "World Wide Rebel Songs" compelling, and ultimately cathartic: What Morello lacks in subtlety, he makes up for in visceral feeling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A much needed point of view, September 24, 2011
By 
G. Brozeit (Fairlawn, OH, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: World Wide Rebel Songs (Audio CD)
I'm not a big fan of Rage Against the Machine, but I love this album. Morello really expands his audience and hopefully his influence on spreading the word: about honest work, good pay, reasonable benefits, and the importance of unions to help realize those goals for everyone--regardless if you are a member or not. It's a voice that's largely missing in today's political, historical, social, and cultural centers of thought. Having seen Morello on his tour with Wayne Kramer and Tom McIlrath in Cleveland recently, I'd have to say the message was received. Thankfully and willingly. I just hope that Morello's message (along with the support of McIlrath's Rise Against and Kramer) gets the hearing it deserves. And I hope that union leaders will pay attention to Morello and incorporate his work into their messaging. They need it and he can help. Excellent and highly recommended for the message, passion, and talent it encompasses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tom Morello Turns up The Heat, January 10, 2012
This review is from: World Wide Rebel Songs (Audio CD)
In his guise as The Nightwatchman, Tom Morello's first two albums were low key visceral affairs, heir apparent to Joe Strummer and Pete Seger protest folkies. Sometime in the last couple of years, he realized that his powerful guitar playing was not antithetical two his new music, and he began work on a new set of songs. Events of 2010 put even more urgency into his writing; Morello was one of the first musicians to take a stand with Wisconsin's Union Members when that state's Governor tried to crush the Wisconsin Unions. It's the place he debuted, on a snowy, cold Wisconsin street, "Union Town."

If you think political rock is a passe genre, then "World Wide Rebel Songs" will probably make you mad. Yet, in a world where tightly controlled radio-playlists won't play anything that rocks the corporate boat, Morello is coming on swinging. "Politics, apocalypse, start to look the same/The price of my redemption will mean the end of living" he barks (with Ben Harper on "Save The Hammer for The Man"), as if the world of conservative politics and rightwing religion were all too happy to get to the same end result. The pun is all but unavoidable in that Morello is raging against the machine on almost every track. "Speak and Make Lightning," he calls out. This time, with his guitar and a full band attack, "World Wide Rebel Songs" lift Morello to his best solo CD and a fighting fit of an album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Greats of rock and roll with a message., January 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Wide Rebel Songs (Audio CD)
excellent
great music from Tom Morello. what you'd expect in terms of high energy guitar rifts from one of the greats. oh, and there
is a message too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHOOOHOOOOO! YOU TELLEM TOM!!, June 8, 2012
This review is from: World Wide Rebel Songs (Audio CD)
Anyone who's totally fed up with today's politics, wars and billionaire bankers should give this a listen.
I've felt EXACTLY like the songs he sings for a very long time now and this is a seriously great mental and spiritual release for any tired battered and highly pissed off soul. YOU GO TOM! SING IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rebels, June 7, 2012
By 
Owl (Wisconsin) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Wide Rebel Songs (Audio CD)
Worthy of praise. Really enjoyable. Love Tom's "on the edge" songs. His commentary on the present times is to the point and what people need to hear. Not necessary to agree, but to reflect on and consider. Tom is powerful and his message is clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most relevant music today., March 15, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: World Wide Rebel Songs (Audio CD)
Tom Morello is saying things nobody else has the nerve to say and he does it with great music and lyrics that strike to the heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

World Wide Rebel Songs
World Wide Rebel Songs by The Nightwatchman (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.