Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection!
First of all, it should be stated that this is not truly a book that covers the "World's Most Haunted Places" because there is only one story from continental Europe and none from Africa, Asia, or South America. Mostly, this is an account of some very haunted places in what could be termed the Anglo-Saxon world, in other words the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, and...
Published on June 29, 2005 by Dennis Phillips

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something's Missing
I enjoyed this book. However, a more apt title would have been "Some of the World's Favorite Haunts," for it is by no means inclusive. I won't contest the author's belief that the sites he lists are indeed very haunted, but why does he believe these particular sites are more haunted than others? He doesn't give a criteria for why this is so, and I think it would have...
Published on October 10, 2005 by Payton Lockett


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection!, June 29, 2005
By 
First of all, it should be stated that this is not truly a book that covers the "World's Most Haunted Places" because there is only one story from continental Europe and none from Africa, Asia, or South America. Mostly, this is an account of some very haunted places in what could be termed the Anglo-Saxon world, in other words the United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, and the United States. Of course to do the extensive examination of each case that the author presents here and cover the entire world would require a tome of Biblical proportions or collection of many volumes. Maybe we can hope for the second possibility and can expect many more books from this very talented writer.

This is quite frankly one of the best ghost story books that I have come across in a very long time. The author has taken the time to do all of the three things that go into making a good book of this type. First he presents the history of the place where the haunting is located and does so accurately but without getting bogged down in detail. Therefore, the reader will learn something of the history of places like the Queen Mary, Big Nose Kate's Saloon or the White House but just enough to get a real feel for the place and not enough to make this into a history book. On top of this, Mr. Belanger has his facts straight and doesn't spout historical fallacies that are so glaring that the entire book's credibility is ruined.

Next, the author presents a clear and logical history of the haunt itself. He relates the story behind the ghost or ghosts in question by telling his readers the theories about whom the ghost might be. Sometimes there is more than one school of thought when it comes to this question and Belanger relates them all, letting the reader decide which theory best fits. He then proceeds to relate the early sightings involving the haunt he is writing about and some of these apparitions have been reported for hundreds of years.

Finally, each and every story related in this book is backed up with modern eyewitness accounts, a trait that is often missing from these books. Mr. Belanger has most certainly done his homework and has talked to at least one person who has experienced each haunt first hand, and in many cases he has testimony from several witnesses. Many of the cases covered in this book contain accounts of paranormal experiences that have occurred in the last five years and nowhere does the author rely on old legends which no living person can attest to. Some of the haunts to be found in the book are well known, such as the Whaley House and the Tower of London, but even with these well worn haunts Mr. Belanger is able to shed some new light. He does this once again by actually talking with people who have had some kind of experience is the last few years.

The author's writing style is pleasing, his research is meticulous and he has done the leg work necessary to bring his stories to life and make them believable. It has been a long time since I enjoyed a book of ghost stories as much as I have enjoyed this one. I wish that everybody who plans on writing a book of this type would read this book so that they could see how it should be done. This is as close to the perfect ghost story book as I think I am ever likely to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ***** HAUNTINGLY WONDERFUL!, August 27, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is SUPERB.

It is from the folks at ghostvillage.com.

Websites, phone numbers and great black and white photos of each haunted location are included.

Here are the haunted locations covered in this book:

Ch. 1- Ballygally Castle Hotel (Ballygally, Ireland)

Ch. 2- The RMS Queen Mary (Long Beach, California)

Ch. 3- The 1891 Castle Inn (New Orleans, Louisiana)

Ch. 4- Rose Hall Great House (Montego Bay, Jamaica)

Ch. 5- Hibbing High School (Hibbing, Minnesota)

Ch. 6- The Deane House (Calgary, Alberta)

Ch. 7- Imperial Casino Hotel (Cripple Creek, Colorado)

Ch. 8- The Catacombs Museum (Paris, France)

Ch. 9- Big Nose Kate's Saloon (Tombstone, AZ)

Ch. 10- Ordsall Hall (Salford, England)

Ch. 11- The White House (Washington, DC)

Ch. 12- The Alaskan Hotel (Juneau, Alaska)

Ch. 13- Monte Cristo Homestead (Junee, New South Wales)

Ch. 14- Mercy Brown, The Rhode Island Vampire (Exeter, Rhode

Island)

Ch. 15- Empress Theatre- (Fort Macleod, Alberta)

Ch. 16- Thornewood Castle (Lakewood, Washington)

Ch. 17- The Skirrid Mountain Inn (Llanvihangel Crucorney, Wales)

Ch. 18- Archer Avenue's Resurrection Mary (Chicago, Illinois)

Ch. 19- Billy Bishop Legion Hall (Vancouver, BC)

Ch. 20- South Bridge Underground Vaults (Edinburgh, Scotland)

Ch. 21- The Pirates' House (Savannah, Georgia)

Ch. 22- Boggo Road Gaol Museum (Brisbane, Queensland)

Ch. 23- Stone's Public House (Ashland, Massachusetts)

Ch. 24- Muncaster Castle (Ravenglass, England)

Ch. 25- The Andrew Bayne Memorial Library (Pittsburgh,PA)

Ch. 26- The Spaghetti Warehouse (Houston, TX)

Ch. 27- The Olde Angel Inn (Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario)

Ch. 28- The Whaley House (San Diego, CA)

Ch. 29- The Tower of London (London, England)

I highly recommend this book- it's SUPERB and very well-researched!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A "must have" ghost book, September 27, 2004
When I first picked up this book I was concerned that it was going to be another one of those "ghost hunters" who thinks they know everything about the afterlife and was going to preach it to me. I love reading about ghost stories, but I don't go in for a lot of that ghost hunting stuff. I was pleasantly surprised at how objective the reporting is in this book. Clearly the author did his homework. I learned something new about some places I

already knew were haunted, and I had no idea about many of the other places covered. It's amazing how similar a ghost encounter can be on opposite sides of the world. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting., August 27, 2004
By 
Gregory DiFalco "Greg DiFalco" (Hicksville, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What makes this book better than most other "true ghost story" collections is that it offers a lot more history and background. The history sets the stage for the first-hand accounts of the many witnesses of ghosts from all over the world. The author clearly did his homework. The other great thing is that each chapter is its own story. I went to the White House chapter first because I had heard it was haunted but never knew why or who. My only complaint is that it seemed too short and didn't cover the Amityville House.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blown Away!, August 26, 2004
There have been many books written of the same type. They don't hold a candle to this book. This book includes many obscure places that go outside the everyday constantly reported hauntings that you hear about. It also provides a very brilliantly colored painting in your mind of the location and all the details. It pulls you right into the haunting. This is the best read I have had in a very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Overviews, Legend, and Lore, January 14, 2006
By 
Debra Morse (Southern California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a wonderful little compendium of hauntings; perfect for the paranormal explorer's use in planning travel. Author Jeff Belanger has assembled data on the twenty-nine locations he deems the most haunted in the world, and presents his research in a highly readable, enjoyable manner.

More a travel guide than an investigative journal, each essay contains useful historical lore, legend, photos, and contact information for a site. Each venue is in the Western- essentially- Anglo world, and therefore easily traveled to and explored by the American reader. Descriptions of the Paris catacombs, the Tower of London, the White House, and The Pirate's House in Savannah Georgia are particularly insightful.

I have visited and investigated one of the venues, the Whaley House, several times, and can vouch for the accuracy of Belanger's description. Information is appropriately minimal; just enough to point the investigator in the proper direction, but not prejudice her thought or experience. This is a fine `overview' book, and would make a good addition to a ghosthunter's library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Supernaturally Awesome!, September 16, 2004
This is not my usual book buy but I am so happy I bought it. It's so well written and interesting that it makes me feel that I'm at the location. This is a great gift idea for anyone. What impressed me so much was these stories are not the normal ones you see as repeats on Travel Channel or Discovery Channel. I find these are all new and awesome. Some of them made my hair stand on end. Hauntingly good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great collection, February 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The World's Most Haunted Places, Revised Edition: From the Secret Files of Ghostvillage.com (Paperback)
This book added now sites to the classics! I read it thru in one night! I cold not put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Time Reading, August 30, 2011
By 
Daniel J. Haley (SAN JOSE, CA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book reads like a campfire story, and I am enjoying this immensely. I liked the speed of which I got the book and the price that I paid. I am not done with reading, but I think I will be enjoying it for months, perhaps years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter At Your Own Risk, September 18, 2011
This review is from: The World's Most Haunted Places, Revised Edition: From the Secret Files of Ghostvillage.com (Paperback)
The World's Most Haunted Places by Jeff Belanger
consists of a group of spooky stories about
unexplained behaviors and happenings in various
parts of the world.

One such place is the Suicide Forest in
Aokigahara Jukai,Japan. A local described the woods
as having eyes below you due to a volcano from
Mt.Fuji in 1707. The sensation is as though the
underworld is peering straight at you through
holes in the earth.

Locals refuse to venture into the forests
at night. Compasses don't work. Visitors get lost
and become insane. Suicide victims can go for
months or even years before being found. Sometimes,
only skeletons in ripped clothing are found
after exhaustive searches by police and families.

Muncaster Castle in Ravenglass, England is
another popular haunting site. There are random
sounds of babies crying throughout the night,
darting shadows and full-bodied apparitions.

The Olde Angel Inn of Ontario,Canada has been haunted
since the early 1800s. Footsteps have been heard
at night although the source of the sound
was indeterminate. The clinking of glasses,
laughter and conversation echoed throughout the Inn.

The tools of professional paranormal investigators
include an EMF meter, night-vision camera,
a digital thermometer, motion detectors and
Instrumental TransCommunication devices.
Old school tricks of the trade include sprinkling
flour on the floor to see if footprints appear.

Tony Savoy, White House Operations Foreman,
related an encounter with the ghost of President Lincoln.
" It was early one morning... When I turned the
light on, he (President Lincoln) was sitting there
outside his office with his hands over top of each
other, legs crossed and was looking straight ahead.
He had a gray charcoal pinstriped suit on, and he
had a pair of three buttoned spats turned over on
the side with black shoes on. He was sitting there,
and he startled me and I stopped.And when I blinked,
he was gone."

Overall, "The World's Most Haunted Places" contains
interesting recitations of hauntings throughout the
world. Buy this book for Halloween. Reading it will
be an adventure in unexplained phenomena. The
presentation is easy to read and there is an
extensive appendix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

The World's Most Haunted Places, Revised Edition: From the Secret Files of Ghostvillage.com
$15.99 $11.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.