Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whoops is no mistake!, November 9, 2005
I only wish this book had been out years ago when I decided to venture off into the world of start-ups. This book is a fantastic read if you are thinking of turning your passion into your own business. My suggestion for anyone thinking of starting their own company is to first buy this book and then think deeply about the risks involved, and if you still think they are truly worth it, then read this book AGAIN! Most people don't know that the chances of a start-up succeeding are pretty slim. However, if you are still convinced that your idea is brilliant and that starting up your own company is what you want to do then this book is a must have.

The book explains some of the obstacles that you will encounter and examines both the mundane and the meticulous details you will need to think about while trying to set up shop and navigate your way through the heady world of business ~ all while trying to get paid! The best part about Whoops is that it is optimistic yet honest in its assessment of starting up a new company. A very important fact Whoops touches upon, which is often overlooked is that perseverance alone isn't enough to keep your company in business. If you decide to take the plunge don't do it without Whoops!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Above and Beyond Most Small Business Books, May 24, 2006
This book can be read in an evening, and it's loaded with very specific information and resources for setting up shop on a limited budget. Whether it's finding an inexpensive way to design postcards or how to get a website up painlessly, the author goes way beyond general information about conducting business and suggests specific tools for getting typical business tasks done efficiently and cheaply. Written from a legal perspective in plain language, it arms you with the legal knowledge you'll need to set up your business properly and to avoid expensive penalties.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small Business Fundamentals, May 15, 2007
This is a delightful basic book that contains a wealth of useful and helpful information and ideas on starting a small business and ensuring that it is viable and successful. Richard Stim and Lisa Guerin came up with an enlightening book that provides a road map to success in a small business.

The book gives, step-by-step, a comprehensive guideline of a business start-up process, identifying target customers, promoting the business on a small budget, doing the cash flow forecasts, budgeting and other important issues. It also explains the business risks and challenges and how you can overcome them effectively. I found the information to be very practical and provide critical advice to help entrepreneurs avoid costly errors.

The book is well written in an easy to follow and understand format. The small business beginner will find the book useful, helpful and handy as it provides real life advice that will help your business to stay afloat and thrive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to Understand and Insightful, July 27, 2009
This review is from: Wow! I'm in Business: A Crash Course in Business Basics (Paperback)
I came to this book without any prior knowledge of how to start and operate a small business. This book really punctured my personal cloud of unknowing on the topic. The great thing is it doesn't drag your through minutiae, but gives just enough real-life examples to give you the basic understanding you need. Worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy Daughter, June 8, 2007
I bought this book for my Daughter because shes starting a business. She was extremely pleased with the book, she learned so much information that was vital to what she was doing. She loves the author,his book answered so many of her questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Information, January 3, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I wish I had this book ten years ago before my first business failed. It would have saved me much heartache and many sleepless nights. The tax withholding information alone is worth more than the price of the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best, January 13, 2009
By 
The Happy Artist (Northern New York) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wow! I'm in Business: A Crash Course in Business Basics (Paperback)
Inclusive, complete, easy to read, well organized, simple enough for the beginner.... everything one could want in a "I want to learn how to start a business" book. If you are thinking of starting your own business buy this book, you'll avoid a lot of costly amateur mistakes. Covers all the basics in an easy understandable format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wow! I'm in Business: A Crash Course in Business Basics
Wow! I'm in Business: A Crash Course in Business Basics by Richard Stim (Paperback - August 10, 2008)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.