Customer Reviews


107 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best WowWee Robot Yet!!
Of all the WowWee robots, I think Tribot is more fun than the Robosapien and far, far beyond WowWee Robotics RoboPanda. After being disappointed by Robopanda, we were really excited to see how Tribot would build off that failure.

Tribot does not look as human as WowWee Robosapien with Mini Robo - Silver, but it moves better, quicker, and more efficiently. The...
Published on September 19, 2008 by Telemachus

versus
77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great toy; but man, oh man......
This toy is wonderful, my son has been asking for it all year. Finally we bought it. It's huge its fun. He ABSOLUTELY loves it. The only catch is it's a battery eater. After putting 8 batteries in him the first day. The very next day he's saying his batteries are low. That's all he will say I need more batteries! I highly recommend anyone buying this toy buy rechargeable...
Published on November 29, 2008 by Elisa N. Abbott


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 73 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best WowWee Robot Yet!!, September 19, 2008
By 
Telemachus (Virginia, USA) - See all my reviews
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WowWee Tribot Talking Companion (Toy)
Of all the WowWee robots, I think Tribot is more fun than the Robosapien and far, far beyond WowWee Robotics RoboPanda. After being disappointed by Robopanda, we were really excited to see how Tribot would build off that failure.

Tribot does not look as human as WowWee Robosapien with Mini Robo - Silver, but it moves better, quicker, and more efficiently. The three-wheel configuration works great!! The biggest innovation is the tilt-sensitive remote control combined with a very intuitive remote which makes it much simpler to operate than Robosapien.

Like the RoboPanda, the sarcastic dialogue might get tiresome, but its not as immediately annoying. Still, there is something familiar and friendly with Robosapien's grunts. I wish Tribot had two modes to allow users to choose coherent or incoherent dialogue!! Uh-huh!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great toy; but man, oh man......, November 29, 2008
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WowWee Tribot Talking Companion (Toy)
This toy is wonderful, my son has been asking for it all year. Finally we bought it. It's huge its fun. He ABSOLUTELY loves it. The only catch is it's a battery eater. After putting 8 batteries in him the first day. The very next day he's saying his batteries are low. That's all he will say I need more batteries! I highly recommend anyone buying this toy buy rechargeable and take the time to recharge him at night.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 74 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Did not meet expectations, December 11, 2008
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WowWee Tribot Talking Companion (Toy)
I can't remember the last time I was so utterly disappointed with a toy to return it, but this robot did it. It is such a half-baked product on so many levels.

Let me get the positives out of the way first - the three-wheel omni-directional drive is neat and gives the robot great mobility.

That's about it.

Negatives:
* The controls are annoying - IR is good for remote controlling your TV, but not motion control; IR has too much delay, its range is too limited, and requires line of sight. All remote controlled toys should use RF. The IR control is very laggy and sometimes plain unresponsive. For example, Even though the robot is capable of of some pretty neat maneuvers due to the wheel design, it is nearly impossible to accurately control the robot - just trying to stop at the correct angle when spinning in place is frustratingly difficult. The tilt control is gimmicky at best.

*After you play with the robot for a while, you realize just how utterly simple the toy is, there is no depth. So it can record and playback your input. So what? Given how inaccurate the controls are, even if you did record your control input, the robot will not be following the same path on playback because of how imprecise it is. So what's the point of playback? The roaming free feature is also poorly implemented and of little value, as the robot will just sit there grinding its wheels against an obstacle that's too low for it to "see". In the end, the play value of this robot is not much more than that of a remote controlled car, but even there the IR control system will aggravate you to no end.

* If you look at the robot on display, you might expect for it to have a bit more motorized features. But actually it doesn't. Other than that the wheels turn, eyebrows, ears, and a little light pops out on occasion, nothing else on this robot is motorized. Not the arms, not the torso, and not the neck joint. It will sit in whatever pose you put it in.

* The robot has to be played on a hardwood floor. Yes it will run on carpet, but it will be very slow and sort of sway back and forth as it moves around. Its wheel design depends on being able to slip around. And if it runs full speed into an area rug edge, it will tip over.

After letting my kid have at it for 3 days, I decided it was not worth the money. It is just a poorly designed toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ROBBIE THE ROBOT, MOVE ASIDE !!, December 9, 2008
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WowWee Tribot Talking Companion (Toy)
Not a bad robot - looks great - kinda like the ideal toy company robot of the 60's with all of the moving gears...it's pretty neat with all of it's infrared stuff - and smart robot features....it's a little difficult to steer and you would think a robot of this age would steer more like a remote control race car. I can't slam it for the Amazon price...I wouldn't pay $100 for it like Target and KB Toys has it marked. It does have some really neat features like the "guard robot" feature or the alarm. The games can be neat for a kid with patience. I purchased this product because I have a robbie the robot that I purchased from the early 90's...so this is an added one.
I'd say it's a pretty nice toy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very Fun Toy!, January 1, 2010
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WowWee Tribot Talking Companion (Toy)
This was my #1 wish for Christmas and my husband bought it for me off Amazon - what a great price ($39). He read the reviews on Amazon and realized that there were some unhappy customers but for the price, it was worth the risk to buy me what I'd wanted. He also bought rechargeable batteries (we'd already planned to do so eventually so why not now).

When I opened Tribot on Christmas, I was so excited! He was exactly how I thought he would be based on the videos I'd seen on WowWee's site with a very likable voice. You can't expect TOO much from a $40 robot. He is going to be able to maneuver around, entertain you, but he isn't going to be able to perform brain surgery! In other words, lower your expectations and just enjoy how cool it is to have a robot.

You can play games with him (which are actually kind of hard), set him to be an alarm, set him into "guard" mode, move him around at will or just watch him move around. He says the cutest little things! I love it! And after 1 week of playing with him a little each day, he is still going strong with the batteries that we put in him on the first day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's easy to play with, December 2, 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WowWee Tribot Talking Companion (Toy)
Compared with Robosapien, Wow wee seems to be more fun to play with, and easier to operate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay purchase ................, June 11, 2009
By 
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WowWee Tribot Talking Companion (Toy)
I purchased the Tribot for my son's 8th birthday (which he asked for one). Since then he rarely plays with it. It is very durable because it has been dropped several times. However, it just keeps doing the same things over and over. It appears to be more fun than it actually is. I would suggest making a different purchase especially for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great remote control toy, May 18, 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WowWee Tribot Talking Companion (Toy)
This is a really great toy, not only educational but fun to play with. I bought this toy as a gift for Christmas gift for a child that has Autism and I highly recommend this Robotic Toy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars wish i'd picked another toy, December 27, 2008
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: WowWee Tribot Talking Companion (Toy)
purchased two for christmas....one works okay the other doesn't work at all. the one that works will only let you play the pattern game not the other two games. it also freezes up after playing the game and you have to turn it off and back on to reset it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tribot Rocks The House., August 22, 2008
By 
Yooper (Upper Michigan) - See all my reviews
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: WowWee Tribot Talking Companion (Toy)
If you like Robots, this is the unit for you. Fast, Durable and Easy to use. The entire family will enjoy this toy. You may want to purchase 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

WowWee Tribot Talking Companion
$240.28
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.