Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun historical mystery
Wrapped is a historical mystery with a hint of romance and plenty of humor. Agnes is a fun, spunky and smart heroine who can quote Jane Austen in several different languages. Her bravery and intelligence aid her as she tries to solve the mystery and outwit the villain. While I found the mystery to be straightforward and not very surprising I did enjoy reading about...
Published on May 21, 2011 by Christina Thurairatnam

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pride and Prejudice...and Mummies? (From Back to the Bookshelf!)
In 1815, multilingual Agnes Wilkins would much rather be traveling the world on archaeological adventures than preparing to make her debut to London society. She gets more than she bargained for when her potential suitor Lord Showalter holds a mummy unwrapping at his garden party (something that was actually a fad in the 1800s, according to the author's note). Agnes...
Published on December 14, 2011 by Bonny Kate


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun historical mystery, May 21, 2011
This review is from: Wrapped (Hardcover)
Wrapped is a historical mystery with a hint of romance and plenty of humor. Agnes is a fun, spunky and smart heroine who can quote Jane Austen in several different languages. Her bravery and intelligence aid her as she tries to solve the mystery and outwit the villain. While I found the mystery to be straightforward and not very surprising I did enjoy reading about Agnes's near escapes and how she pieced together the truth. The romance was also nice without taking over the storyline and I like how it developed. I also loved all the references to Jane Austen which was a nice touch. The historical information about Napoleon and Egyptology was interesting but not overly detailed. Something else that pleased me was Agnes's relationship with her family. While her mother didn't always understand Agnes she did mean well and they had a cordial relationship but it was her father who really stood out to me with the way he respected Agnes and encouraged her education. It was nice to see how close they were which isn't often the case in YA fiction.

Overall I really liked this book even though I quickly figured out who the villain was and the story could be a little unbelievable at times. I found that I didn't care about those minor flaws because I was having too much fun reading about Agnes and her adventures! Bradbury leaves room for a sequel and I certainly hope there will be one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cute mystery-probably better for younger readers, May 29, 2011
This review is from: Wrapped (Hardcover)
Wrapped by Jennifer Bradbury
Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 2011
309 pages
YA; Historical
4/5 stars

Source: Received a free e-galley via Simon & Schuster's GalleyGrab in exchange for an honest review.

Agnes Wilkins is surprised to find a jackal brooch when she participates in a mummy-unwrapping party at Lord Showalter, her prospective husband and the most eligible bachelor in London. As she seeks to uncover the message within, with the assistance of the surprisingly dashing Caedmon at the British Museum, she realizes that it might have more modern repercussions than just ancient Egypt. For there is a spy who is working so that Napoleon just might receive supernatural benefits during his return from Elba. (I worked hard on this summary because the Goodreads summary for the kindle edition has a major spoiler in it!)

What a cute book! Just about all I knew going in to this book was that the cover was gorgeous and it hooked me right away as the main character Agnes Wilkins adores Jane Austen's writing. That is my kind of heroine! Besides her appreciation for "A Lady's" writing, Agnes is also learned in ten languages with varying degrees of fluency and possessed with a strong sense of adventure and a keen intellect. Her partnership with Caedmon begins uneasily but they quickly form a rapport as they seek out threats to England. Although most of the supporting characters do not play a big role, I was able to create images of them in my head to complement Agnes and Caedmon's story.

The pacing of the story is pretty good although I felt there wasn't much suspense over who the spy might be. There was a good mix between Agnes attempting to be a proper debutante but also puzzling out the mystery with Caedmon. I believed in their relationship and rooted for them to be together. The writing is fine; there were a few funny moments and the language seemed formal enough for the time period.

A point of interest is that issues of gender and class pepper the book. Agnes is piqued when her father consigns her to the ladies area at one point and makes the decision to NOT tell him about the message despite the fact that she had said she would. She bristles at being looked down on by men although in general her father is a man committed to gender equality. She also laments her position in life that prepares her only to be the wife of some lord without being able to travel and study as she'd liked to do. Caedmon is a lowly duster for the British Museum who wants to be so much more, especially in the heart of Agnes, but finds structures stacked against him.

Overall: A fun mystery with dollops of history and romance!

Cover: Beautiful-this is what originally intrigued me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pride and Prejudice...and Mummies? (From Back to the Bookshelf!), December 14, 2011
This review is from: Wrapped (Hardcover)
In 1815, multilingual Agnes Wilkins would much rather be traveling the world on archaeological adventures than preparing to make her debut to London society. She gets more than she bargained for when her potential suitor Lord Showalter holds a mummy unwrapping at his garden party (something that was actually a fad in the 1800s, according to the author's note). Agnes uncovers a mysterious artifact, and possibly a curse as well once a murder and burglaries start sweeping the neighborhood. Not one to ignore a mystery, Agnes aims to get to the bottom of it all...and still be home in time for tea.

What I liked: Agnes had a lot of spunk and I enjoyed her Jane Austen quotes in multiple languages. In addition, kudos to Ms. Bradbury for knowing that Austen's books were first published anonymously. The tie-ins to the war with Napoleon was unique to this book - it seems that in many novels of the same setting, the war is barely mentioned. The ending tied up enough loose ends to satisfy me, while still leaving the door wide open for sequels, which sound more potentially interesting than the first book.

What I was not so crazy about: There is really nothing wrong with this book. My biggest problem was simply that it did not feel very original. Yes, the Egyptology plot was different, but besides that it felt quite a bit like other historical mysteries. The characters felt like archetypes, and the plot twists were fairly predictable. Lots of "talking heads" scenes, and nothing too exciting.

In short: This is a fun, very quick mystery with a bit of romance, but not outstanding. Still, I would be willing to read sequels in the future.

Something similar: The Season, The Agency 1: A Spy in the House

Something better: Sorcery and Cecelia or The Enchanted Chocolate Pot

Cover: I love it! I like that it's drawn and not a photo like the vast majority of YA books today. Cover girl who looks like the main character? Also a check. Upon closer inspection, the ribbon from Agnes' dress connects with part of the mummy's wrapping to form the title. Very clever :)

Check out my book blog at backtothebookshelf.wordpress.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Library Lady Hylary - Fun homage to Jane Austen!, July 4, 2011
This review is from: Wrapped (Hardcover)
In 1815 London, seventeen-year-old Agnes Wilkins is about to make her debut into society in hopes of making a good match. Agnes, however, would rather spend her time studying languages and reading books by her favorite author, A Lady (actually Jane Austen), than fret over her debut gown like her mother. To make matters worse, Agnes has attracted the attentions of a very rich suitor, Lord Showalter, who seems intent on marrying her. One night at a party held by Showalter, Agnes and the other guests are invited to partake in the unwrapping of a mummy in hopes of finding treasures and trinkets to take home. Agnes does find a trinket, a small item in the shape of a dog's head. Intrigued by the item, Agnes decides to keep it even when Lord Showalter suddenly announces that the mummy in question is not the correct specimen and all of the trinkets must be returned. After the party, however, inexplicable things start occurring and Agnes' social circle begins to believe that a mummy's curse has been wrought upon their group. Agnes isn't convinced, and begins to believe that the strange things that have been happening are actually part of a plot by Napoleon to infiltrate London. Agnes is determined to thwart the plot and, together with the handsome Caedmon who she meets at the British Museum, pushes the concerns about her debut aside to find out the truth of the "mummy's curse."

Chock full of Jane Austen references, this fun historical mystery is a must read for any fans of the Regency time period. Bradbury does an excellent job of integrating the adventure aspects of the story with the more Austen-like plotline of Agnes' impending engagement to Lord Showalter. Agnes is a very likable protagonist and Bradbury makes a point to highlight the fact that her leading lady is not only beautiful but brave and intelligent. Through Agnes, Bradbury also comments on the life of women during this time period as well, and how society was far from equitable. The inclusion of Napoleon and his antics are a good introduction for younger readers who might not be familiar with all of the intrigue surrounding the controversial Emperor. Serving both as a history lesson, homage to Jane Austen, and fun mystery, Wrapped is an excellent choice for both teen and adult readers.

This was a fun book, and I especially loved all the Jane Austen references! Jennifer Bradbury does a good job of combining the adventure elements with Regency society, and throws in some Napoleon too. Overall, a fun story that can be enjoyed by Jane Austen fans of all ages!

Like my review? Go to my profile to find the link to my blog to see other books I recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wrapped Up In You, January 8, 2014
This review is from: Wrapped (Hardcover)
Review also on my Goodreads Account:

[...]

I am absolutely in love with this book! Agnes is such a wonderfully smart and witty heroine. I had no problems attaching myself to her plight and waiting in suspense to see how her life would turn out. I definitely appreciated that although living in 1815, she wasn't dumbed down. She knew how to read and speak 10 LANGUAGES!!! Plus Caedmon was her perfect match, he treated her like and equal - he's even compared by her to Mr. Darcy when she first sees him at a ball she attends. Mr. Showalter is the perfect competition for Caedmon in that he's (seemingly) nice but not for Agnes. I also love the Egyptology mystery, the hieroglyphic difficulties with the Rosetta Stone and the rather startling conclusion of the novel. It incorporates the war with Napoleon Bonaparte rather skillfully whereas most novels of the time period of such a nature usually ignore or glance over the subject. Also, I loved that Agnes was such a fervent admirer of Jane Austen's novels. She was definitely as spirited, if not more so, than many an Austen heroine. Ms. Bradbury is a very exceptional author and I look forward quite a lot to reading more from her in the hopefully near future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good light read, November 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wrapped (Kindle Edition)
This book is very enjoyable and has a pleasant good natured feel to it. One problem the book has, is that it possesses a almost childish predictability to it, and a very stereotypical feel to the writing. The book has a nice flow to it that keeps the reader captivated without any boring blithering speeches, and the historical references are accurate. How the author ties in all the
different facts from so many different periods in history is written nicely. All in all this is a good book for a nice, sweet, light read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Jane Austen quoting heroine!! Perfect!, April 7, 2013
This review is from: Wrapped (Paperback)
A historical mystery with love and humour -- but not so much unsuitable romance to make a young person uncomfortable-- perfect for young adult readers or the young at heart. I purchased this at the Young Writers conference for my 11 yr old daughter. She loved it. Said it was a great page turner and the heroine, Agnes, was fun, clever, brave and smart. My daughter loved telling me how Agnes could even quote Jane Austen, my favorite author! She said the historical details about Napoleon and Egypt were interesting and added much to the overall believability. Great read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Nice Historical Mystery, September 8, 2012
This review is from: Wrapped (Hardcover)
Wrapped is an engaging story set in Regency England in 1815, about a young woman named Agnes Wilkins, a debutante. But she's very intelligent, knows multiple languages, and wishes that she could take control of her own fate. "Agnes Wilkins is standing in front of an Egyptian mummy, about to make the first cut into the wrappings, about to unlock ancient (and not-so-ancient) history. Maybe you think this girl is wearing a pith helmet with antique dust swirling around her. Maybe you think she is a young Egyptologist who has arrived in Cairo on camelback. Maybe she would like to think that too. Agnes Wilkins dreams of adventures that reach beyond the garden walls, but reality for a seventeen-year-old debutante in 1815 London does not allow for camels--or dust, even. No, Agnes can only see a mummy when she is wearing a new silk gown and standing on the verdant lawns of Lord Showalter's estate, with chaperones fussing about and strolling sitar players straining to create an exotic "atmosphere" for the first party of the season. An unwrapping. This is the start of it all, Agnes's debut season, the pretty girl parade that offers only ever-shrinking options: home, husband, and high society. It's also the start of something else, because the mummy Agnes unwraps isn't just a mummy. It's a host for a secret that could unravel a new destiny--unleashing mystery, an international intrigue, and possibly a curse in the bargain. Get wrapped up in the adventure . . . but keep your wits about you, dear Agnes."

I enjoyed Wrapped, partly because Agnes reads a lot of Jane Austen, though she knows her only as 'A Lady'. Pride and Prejudice, Sense and Sensibility, and Mansfield Park are mentioned in the book. I liked the cover of the hardcover edition too. Wrapped is a mystery-romance, and I loved Agnes, a young woman taking her own fate into her own hands- and possibly saving the whole kingdom too!

All of my reviews can be read at my blog novareviews.blogspot.com.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If Theodosia Throckmorton Was a Jane Austen Heroine, August 1, 2012
This review is from: Wrapped (Paperback)
"Wrapped" is a delightful romp of a novel. Unlike many contemporary YA novels, the love story is kept strictly PG. I had no problem allowing my 'tween daughter to read this book.

Agnes Wilkins reminds me very much of a grown-up Theodosia Throckmorton, the heroine of R. L. LaFevers' middle grades series. Like Theodosia, Aggie is intelligent, fascinated with Ancient Egypt, and chafes at the restrictions British society placed on well-bred young ladies in the 19th century. "Wrapped" has less of the supernatural element and more politics than the Theodosia series but I suspect that is due to the novel targeting an older audience.

The big revelation of the villain was a bit of a letdown because it was so predictable. I kept hoping for a plot twist that never came. The ending also seemed rather implausible even if it was the one the reader was rooting for throughout the book. That's why I decided to give "Wrapped" 4 stars instead of 5.

Fun read for fans of Jane Austen and Ancient Egypt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars High jinks in history, June 23, 2012
This review is from: Wrapped (Paperback)
In 1815 London, a popular party event was an "unwrapping" -- of a mummy! When archaeologists first discovered Egyptian mummies, there were so many of them that they were sold like jewelry, scarabs, and other artifacts from the tombs. Grisly as it may seem, affluent Londoners found the unwrappings to be exotic and exciting.

Seventeen-year-old Agnes Wilkins finds herself at an unwrapping just before her presentation as a debutant in London's high society. The experience leaves her dreaming of foreign adventures, which is just the opposite of the dull arranged marriage her mother has planned for her. After some outrageous -- and highly secret -- adventures, Agnes finds she has more possibilities in her life than she had thought.

Not exactly a mystery, since it was pretty clear who was up to what, and not exactly an historical novel, since there were too many little historical inaccuracies. Perhaps best described as a teen romance set in London 200 years ago. Enjoyable for girls 14-18.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wrapped
Wrapped by Jennifer Bradbury (Hardcover - May 24, 2011)
$16.99 $14.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.