Customer Reviews


583 Reviews
5 star:
 (214)
4 star:
 (149)
3 star:
 (131)
2 star:
 (47)
1 star:
 (42)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MORE TO LIFE THAN GODS AND TITANS
All hell breaks loose (literally) in this non-mythological based sequel to "Clash of the Titans." This story bridges the time of the gods and legends to the time of men. The gods have been losing their power because people have stopped praying to them. Hades, the god of the underworld (Ralph Fiennes) and Ares, god of war (Édgar Ramírez) join forces to...
Published on April 9, 2012 by The Movie Guy

versus
58 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Though considerably flawed Wrath of the Titans is surprisingly entertaining.
It'd be difficult to approach Wrath of the Titans with a completely open mind. The film it follows, Clash of the Titans, was dull and almost single-handedly began the downfall of 3D in the US. Those low expectations though may actually be an advantage for Wrath. Though flawed it's an entertaining film with some spectacular special effects. Even more surprising - the 3D is...
Published on March 29, 2012 by pastapadre


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars MORE TO LIFE THAN GODS AND TITANS, April 9, 2012
All hell breaks loose (literally) in this non-mythological based sequel to "Clash of the Titans." This story bridges the time of the gods and legends to the time of men. The gods have been losing their power because people have stopped praying to them. Hades, the god of the underworld (Ralph Fiennes) and Ares, god of war (Édgar Ramírez) join forces to release Kronos from Tartus and destroy the gods. Zeus (Liam Neeson) is taken captive and held prisoner as his power is slowly drained from him.

Perseus, son of Zeus (Sam Worthington) teams up with Queen Andromeda(Rosamund Pike), Hephaestus (Bill Nighy) and Agenor (Toby Kebbell) to enter the ever shifting labyrinth of Tartus and free Zeus. Apparently ordering everyone to pray to Zeus to give him power is no longer an option. Alexa Davalos played the original Andromeda...just pretend you are watching "Bewitched."

The movie gives you a brief intro, but there is no real character build-up with an assumption that you have seen the other film. The action hits the screen from almost the moment the movie starts and continues until it ends. There are a few brief scenes without fighting and killing, but they are designed to set up for the next action scene or action game as the case may be. The special effects were superb. The plot was good in keeping in line with the mythology, however the dialouge could have been better with less phrases designed to be truisms and with more funnier quips. Worthington, still living off his Avatar success, gives us his typical less than stellar performance.

No f-bomb, sex, or nudity. Plenty of killing, monster horror, and violence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 66 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Though considerably flawed Wrath of the Titans is surprisingly entertaining., March 29, 2012
It'd be difficult to approach Wrath of the Titans with a completely open mind. The film it follows, Clash of the Titans, was dull and almost single-handedly began the downfall of 3D in the US. Those low expectations though may actually be an advantage for Wrath. Though flawed it's an entertaining film with some spectacular special effects. Even more surprising - the 3D is worthwhile and enhances the experience.

The story follows Perseus (Sam Worthington) who must travel into the underworld to rescue his father Zeus (Liam Neeson). Zeus' other son Ares (Edgar Ramirez) has turned on him and handed him over to Hades (Ralph Fiennes). The plan is to sap Zeus' powers and transfer them to the leader of the imprisoned Titans - Kronos - (father to Zeus, Hades, and Poseiden) who would then unleash hell on the world.

Where the negativity towards Clash really makes an impact is in the early minutes of Wrath. There is no real emotional attachment to the characters - no real care for their fates or the conflicts that are at hand. I wasn't sure the film would be able to break out of that but it somehow did despite inherent confusion around their relationships and motivations without having Clash's plot fresh on the mind. It just took a little time for it to come together.

Wrath of the Titans isn't going to win any awards for dialogue which is sketchy to say the least and almost laughable at times. In fact the movie tends to just move from one set piece to the next with the story taking a back seat. The action is what ties it all together and ultimately leads into a massive final battle. It was actually somewhat startling just was how brisk the pace was and how quickly events advanced - by the time that battle came around it didn't feel as though it was already time for the film to be concluded.

That is a compliment as the first film was plodding and anything but an enjoyable experience. The effects in Wrath are extraordinary and the uniqueness of the various monsters, and the sheer size of Kronos, adds to the fun. While I rarely would recommend paying extra for 3D - and I still wouldn't necessarily with Wrath - there were some really cool moments that were taken advantage of with the technology and it added some valuable depth to scenes. All things being equal going with the 3D wouldn't be a bad decision here.

Wrath of the Titans achieved something unanticipated - it entertained and even made the prospect of a third film in the series somewhat appealing. Expectations, albeit very low, were easily exceeded. There are better overall options in theaters right now (21 Jump Street, The Hunger Games) but for the crowd seeking action Wrath of the Titans is worth considering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 69 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Release the Sequel !!!, March 31, 2012
By 
Monkdude (Hampton, Virginia) - See all my reviews
Clash of the Titans was an okay remake that could have been great, but the trailers for Wrath of the Titans looked to be a huge improvement and in some cases it was.

From the Kraken to Kronos. Hades decides to join side Kronos to destroy the world and thus securing his immortality, but first he needs all the power Zeus contains to restore his daddy to his past glory. Perseus catches word of this and is on a mission to save his father, Zeus, and fights all kinds of creatures along the way.

The CGI is excellent this time around and there are far fewer corny moments. Even the acting seemed less forced, though still pretty average. Seeing this in IMAX 3-D was worth the extra money. It was fully shot in this format so the images were crystal clear and it made you feel you were actually in the movie, along with the usual random objects being shot towards your face.

Wrath of the Titans is pure mindless action with little need for dialogue or a well thought out story, but it is a fun movie to watch. Heck, I wouldn't mind seeing a third film in the series.

3 and 1/2 out of 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I have never been into these types of movie but I really liked this. A rare sequel that's better then first. I say B+, June 12, 2012
By 
Tony Heck (Belgrade, MT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wrath of the Titans (DVD)
"The time of the Gods is ending but the son of Zeus cannot hide from his destiny forever." Perseus (Worthington) is doing is best to forget his old life and make it without the help of any of the Gods. Perseus is not the only one trying to make it alone and the Gods are beginning to lose control of the Titans. When Zeus' (Neeson) other son Ares teams with Hades to take control and kidnaps Zeus and imprisons him in Hell there is only one who can rescue him. I have to start by saying I have never been a fan of movies like this. I couldn't get into "Clash Of The Titans", "Immortals", or even "300". I say that so I can say that this was very entertaining and I really enjoyed this one a lot. Not only was this action packed with great effects the story was actually entertaining as well. There is enough mythology for purists, but not too much to scare off people like me. Another amazing thing about this one is that it is a rare sequel that is better then the first one. While this is not really a movie you have to pay attention to the entire time or you are lost it is still a very entertaining movie and it is fun and relaxing to watch something like this every once in a while. Overall, a very entertaining popcorn movie that is better then the original. I give it a B+
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better 3-D Than its Predecessor -- But The Film's Just OK, June 21, 2012
Watchable if humdrum sequel to the 2010 remake of "Clash of the Titans" brings back Sam Worthington as Perseus, once again living in his small fishing village with his young son when Zeus (Liam Neeson) comes calling. Unsurprisingly, Zeus demands Perseus' help once again when Hades (Ralph Fiennes) and Aries strike a deal with the nefarious Kronos to unleash the rest of the Titans and rule human kind. Setting out with a party that includes Queen Andromeda (Rosamund Pike, replacing Alexa Davalos), Perseus treks across ancient Greece in order to defeat another army of giants, monsters and similar CGI creatures.

Director Jonathan Liebesman ("Battle: Los Angeles") replaced Louis Leterrier for "Wrath of the Titans," a formulaic sequel that oddly jettisons the intention of its predecessor's reshot ending (which brought Gemma Arterton's heroine Io back from the grave, only to have her character be deceased from this sequel's opening frame!). The film also lacks Laterrier's set-pieces - not to mention its 2.35 widescreen dimensions - but still functions adequately enough as an effects-filled fantasy for genre fans and younger viewers. Worthington seems more relaxed here and the 3-D - though once again converted in post-production - is much more effective than "Clash," boasting little ghosting and an overall natural appearance.

Warner's combo pack includes a satisfying 3-D Blu-Ray presentation of the film plus a copy of the standard Blu-Ray, DVD and Ultraviolet copy. Extra features are highlighted again by a "Maximum Movie Mode" with behind the scenes featurettes plus storyboards and over 10 minutes of deleted scenes also offered on the regular BD disc. A lenticular 3-D cover also graces the 3-D combo pack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Throughly Enjoyable!, June 26, 2012
By 
This review is from: Wrath of the Titans (DVD)
This movie is entertaining, fun to watch, interesting and engaging. The special effects are outstanding. The numerous monsters and creatures really seem alive and present in the scenes. There are fabulous scenes of temples, moving mazes, and lots and lots of creatures. The black Pegasus is back, better than ever. (there is one marvelous scene, where an annoyed Pegasus smacks Perseus with his wing) There is action and excitement and heroics. The movie does not suffer from the darkness that "Clash of the Titans" had, which made many scenes hard to make out. What it does have in common with the first movie, is the choice of colors. Really, if you are going to film in color, how about you use, well, some COLORS! The entire movie is filmed in sepia tints, with only the blue sky and sea to break up the browns, rusts, sands, beiges, and blacks. Still for all of that, the movie is well worth watching and buying.

Spoiler Alert----Just so you know, I am going to mention specifics of the movie, what I liked and didn't, and what I thought, so if you don't like to read that kind of thing, stop here.

The movie begins in the twilight of the gods of Olympus. Apparently following several years after the first film, "Clash of the Titans", the human race has continued to lose faith in the gods and to turn from worshipping them. The gods have depended for so long on the strength given them by the faith of humans that they are all losing their powers. The most immediate threat caused by this is that the barriers between earth and Tartarus are breaking down. All the demons and monsters imprisoned there are escaping to rampage in the human world. And if Kronos, the monstrous father of the elder gods, (Zeus, Hades and Poseidon) should escape, all of creation will be destroyed.

Zeus, Poseidon and Aries go to Hades realm to confront Kronos, only to be met with treachery and death. Zeus is captured and Poseidon mortally wounded. The other, younger gods (Apollo, Aphrodite, etc.) are all conspicuous by their absence. This is one of the places were I wished the movie had been longer and with more detail. Hades delivers a one line explanation that, like him, the other gods will live if they support Kronos. This really doesn't hang together. All the younger gods, and numerous demi-gods, all decided to run and hide, and trust their fates to Kronos? Doesn't really track. And if they did, wouldn't Zeus and Poseidon have noticed something wrong? Are the younger gods already dead, or so weak that they cannot offer any support? Nothing about them is really mentioned. In fact, why did Zeus travel to Tartarus with so little backup? Sure, Poseidon and Zeus are the most powerful of the gods, and maybe this is a case of hubris on their part. And a fatal error, as they do not suspect treachery of Hades and Aries, and underestimate how much their powers have been weakened.

The gods seem terribly human here. I found the scenes between Zeus and Hades very touching. There is guilt and forgiveness on both sides. Hades' greatest fear is very telling: humans have immortal souls, that pass on after the death of their mortal bodies---but what about the gods? Do they have souls as well, that will continue, or do they simply fade into oblivion if they should die? A truly human fear, and an interesting thought. Humans have their many religions and faiths to turn to in times of trial---but what of the gods? If you are a god, and your power fails you, where do you turn for succor, if you believe in nothing greater than yourself?

And the god Aries? His weaknesses are truly human. How sad it is that Aries, powerful, immortal god of war, is jealous of his half brother, Perseus. Perseus, who has no godly power, who is not immortal, who lives in a hut and works as a poor fisherman, lucky if he has enough to eat day to day? You would think that Perseus would be beneath Aries' notice, but Aries is jealous because he thinks that Zeus loves Perseus more than Aries himself. And he has allowed his bitterness to fester into unreasoning hatred. He is so fixated on hurting both Zeus and Perseus that he does not care about anything else. And so he makes a devil's bargain with Kronos. Supposedly Kronos has promised Hades and Aries their immortal lives, if they free him. Both ally themselves with Kronos out of their weaknesses: Hades out of his fear of perishing forever, Aries out of his hatred and jealousy. And neither one of them are using their heads----when Kronos is free, why should he keep his bargains with anyone? Zeus tries to warn the pair, to no avail.

Poseidon lives long enough to give warning to Perseus, setting off the action for the rest of the story. Interestingly enough, he sends Perseus to find his own half human son. The two demi-gods ally themselves and set off to rescue Zeus and stop Kronos.
There are some great scenes between them, although I would have liked to see more. The passing of the gods is very well done---they crumble to ash, leaving nothing behind.

Liam Neeson does a wonderful job as the god Zeus, making the character regal, godly, but loving and human as well. I am very pleased that Mr. Neeson has finally been getting the appreciation from the public that he deserves. He appears in more movies, in better roles and with far better acting than half the so called "super-stars" of today combined. Neeson makes the character of Zeus seem alive, both noble and human, with faults and strengths. In Greek and Roman mythology, none of the gods were particularly noble or admirable characters, much less people who's passing you would mourn. But Liam Neeson gives Zeus all those qualities. He has some short but truly fine scenes with Hades, where both of the brothers ask for, and grant, forgiveness to each other. Hades seems far less the monster than he was in the last movie. Hades realizes that he has been controlled by his fear, and has a "What have I done?!" moment. Faced with their final ends, both gods forgive their offences against each other, and remember their loving bonds as brothers. I loved the scenes where both godly brothers go to war against Kronos to save the world and the human race, even though they both know the probable consequence for that action. Between them, and Perseus, Kronos is destroyed and earth is saved.

Zeus is killed, living only long enough to give a loving farewell to Perseus. I really objected to this part of the story, although it is very dramatic. I really thought that Hades should have been killed, and Zeus should have survived to rebuild Olympus. Although perhaps this was really a better punishment for Hades, as his godly powers are now mostly gone, and he may have only a short time to live. He must face his worst fear, all alone.

I, for one, do not believe that the gods had no souls. No beings capable of such depths of feeling, of such great deeds, of such great hopes, could be bereft of immortal souls. So rest in peace Zeus. And Poseidon, and yes, Hades as well. You all did well.

And they left the race of man behind them. Just as flawed, but just as capable of greatness. And perhaps we are better for it, because our accomplishments take so much more effort.

In a way, the ending of this movie reminded me slightly of the end of the story "The Lord of the Rings". The end of both stories see the beginning of the reign of man, and the end of all things of magic. With the gods gone, we have to assume that all the wonders (like Pegasus) and terrors (monsters, demons) will slowly fade away, leaving man in sole possession of the world. The torch is passed, from Zeus to Perseus, to his son, Helios. The gods have gone, but left the half-gods, like Perseus, behind. And they are more human than not.

This movie was fun, a good watching experience. I would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a surprise!, June 27, 2012
First off i would like to say that i am a big fan of clash of the titans, and wrath of the titans is 10 times better than clash. That being said, this is one of the better movies i have seen this year. obviously not as good as the avengers by a long shot but the acting was good and the action was great. I like how in this movie you get to see the gods use there powers and fight. Also there is actually a titan "Kronos" and the cgi for him is outstanding. Give this movie a shot, you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Satisfying, July 4, 2012
This review is from: Wrath of the Titans (DVD)
I saw this film in a theatre in March 2012. I just bought the dvd. I found it to be very entertaining action film. Not sure why it was ripped apart by the critics. I felt the same way about John Carter. Another good film that was bashed by film critics. Leave your brain at the door and enjoy the ride. Defintely for sci-fi fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Afternoon Adventure, June 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie was exciting, action-packed, and had great special effects. There was no nudity, no foul language, and it would be good viewing for an afternoon when you have time. Not every movie is, "Casablanca," or even similar but every movie must strive to entertain. This movie accomplished this goal, in my estimation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 3D, May 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This movie has great 3D effects. Found myself ducking a couple of times as objects looked like they were actually coming at me, really liked it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 259 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wrath of the Titans (Blu-ray)
Wrath of the Titans (Blu-ray) by Worthington (Blu-ray - 2012)
$19.89 $9.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.