Professional restaurant supplies Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV with 4k Ultra HD Subscribe & Save Mother's Day Gifts Amazon Gift Card Offer bschs2 bschs2 bschs2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Fire, Only $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl ReadyRide Bikes from Diamondback SnS

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$3.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 9, 2012
All hell breaks loose (literally) in this non-mythological based sequel to "Clash of the Titans." This story bridges the time of the gods and legends to the time of men. The gods have been losing their power because people have stopped praying to them. Hades, the god of the underworld (Ralph Fiennes) and Ares, god of war (Édgar Ramírez) join forces to release Kronos from Tartus and destroy the gods. Zeus (Liam Neeson) is taken captive and held prisoner as his power is slowly drained from him.

Perseus, son of Zeus (Sam Worthington) teams up with Queen Andromeda(Rosamund Pike), Hephaestus (Bill Nighy) and Agenor (Toby Kebbell) to enter the ever shifting labyrinth of Tartus and free Zeus. Apparently ordering everyone to pray to Zeus to give him power is no longer an option. Alexa Davalos played the original Andromeda...just pretend you are watching "Bewitched."

The movie gives you a brief intro, but there is no real character build-up with an assumption that you have seen the other film. The action hits the screen from almost the moment the movie starts and continues until it ends. There are a few brief scenes without fighting and killing, but they are designed to set up for the next action scene or action game as the case may be. The special effects were superb. The plot was good in keeping in line with the mythology, however the dialouge could have been better with less phrases designed to be truisms and with more funnier quips. Worthington, still living off his Avatar success, gives us his typical less than stellar performance.

No f-bomb, sex, or nudity. Plenty of killing, monster horror, and violence.
22 comments|83 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2012
It'd be difficult to approach Wrath of the Titans with a completely open mind. The film it follows, Clash of the Titans, was dull and almost single-handedly began the downfall of 3D in the US. Those low expectations though may actually be an advantage for Wrath. Though flawed it's an entertaining film with some spectacular special effects. Even more surprising - the 3D is worthwhile and enhances the experience.

The story follows Perseus (Sam Worthington) who must travel into the underworld to rescue his father Zeus (Liam Neeson). Zeus' other son Ares (Edgar Ramirez) has turned on him and handed him over to Hades (Ralph Fiennes). The plan is to sap Zeus' powers and transfer them to the leader of the imprisoned Titans - Kronos - (father to Zeus, Hades, and Poseiden) who would then unleash hell on the world.

Where the negativity towards Clash really makes an impact is in the early minutes of Wrath. There is no real emotional attachment to the characters - no real care for their fates or the conflicts that are at hand. I wasn't sure the film would be able to break out of that but it somehow did despite inherent confusion around their relationships and motivations without having Clash's plot fresh on the mind. It just took a little time for it to come together.

Wrath of the Titans isn't going to win any awards for dialogue which is sketchy to say the least and almost laughable at times. In fact the movie tends to just move from one set piece to the next with the story taking a back seat. The action is what ties it all together and ultimately leads into a massive final battle. It was actually somewhat startling just was how brisk the pace was and how quickly events advanced - by the time that battle came around it didn't feel as though it was already time for the film to be concluded.

That is a compliment as the first film was plodding and anything but an enjoyable experience. The effects in Wrath are extraordinary and the uniqueness of the various monsters, and the sheer size of Kronos, adds to the fun. While I rarely would recommend paying extra for 3D - and I still wouldn't necessarily with Wrath - there were some really cool moments that were taken advantage of with the technology and it added some valuable depth to scenes. All things being equal going with the 3D wouldn't be a bad decision here.

Wrath of the Titans achieved something unanticipated - it entertained and even made the prospect of a third film in the series somewhat appealing. Expectations, albeit very low, were easily exceeded. There are better overall options in theaters right now (21 Jump Street, The Hunger Games) but for the crowd seeking action Wrath of the Titans is worth considering.
66 comments|67 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 31, 2012
Clash of the Titans was an okay remake that could have been great, but the trailers for Wrath of the Titans looked to be a huge improvement and in some cases it was.

From the Kraken to Kronos. Hades decides to join side Kronos to destroy the world and thus securing his immortality, but first he needs all the power Zeus contains to restore his daddy to his past glory. Perseus catches word of this and is on a mission to save his father, Zeus, and fights all kinds of creatures along the way.

The CGI is excellent this time around and there are far fewer corny moments. Even the acting seemed less forced, though still pretty average. Seeing this in IMAX 3-D was worth the extra money. It was fully shot in this format so the images were crystal clear and it made you feel you were actually in the movie, along with the usual random objects being shot towards your face.

Wrath of the Titans is pure mindless action with little need for dialogue or a well thought out story, but it is a fun movie to watch. Heck, I wouldn't mind seeing a third film in the series.

3 and 1/2 out of 5 stars
44 comments|61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2012
"The time of the Gods is ending but the son of Zeus cannot hide from his destiny forever." Perseus (Worthington) is doing is best to forget his old life and make it without the help of any of the Gods. Perseus is not the only one trying to make it alone and the Gods are beginning to lose control of the Titans. When Zeus' (Neeson) other son Ares teams with Hades to take control and kidnaps Zeus and imprisons him in Hell there is only one who can rescue him. I have to start by saying I have never been a fan of movies like this. I couldn't get into "Clash Of The Titans", "Immortals", or even "300". I say that so I can say that this was very entertaining and I really enjoyed this one a lot. Not only was this action packed with great effects the story was actually entertaining as well. There is enough mythology for purists, but not too much to scare off people like me. Another amazing thing about this one is that it is a rare sequel that is better then the first one. While this is not really a movie you have to pay attention to the entire time or you are lost it is still a very entertaining movie and it is fun and relaxing to watch something like this every once in a while. Overall, a very entertaining popcorn movie that is better then the original. I give it a B+
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 21, 2012
Watchable if humdrum sequel to the 2010 remake of "Clash of the Titans" brings back Sam Worthington as Perseus, once again living in his small fishing village with his young son when Zeus (Liam Neeson) comes calling. Unsurprisingly, Zeus demands Perseus' help once again when Hades (Ralph Fiennes) and Aries strike a deal with the nefarious Kronos to unleash the rest of the Titans and rule human kind. Setting out with a party that includes Queen Andromeda (Rosamund Pike, replacing Alexa Davalos), Perseus treks across ancient Greece in order to defeat another army of giants, monsters and similar CGI creatures.

Director Jonathan Liebesman ("Battle: Los Angeles") replaced Louis Leterrier for "Wrath of the Titans," a formulaic sequel that oddly jettisons the intention of its predecessor's reshot ending (which brought Gemma Arterton's heroine Io back from the grave, only to have her character be deceased from this sequel's opening frame!). The film also lacks Laterrier's set-pieces - not to mention its 2.35 widescreen dimensions - but still functions adequately enough as an effects-filled fantasy for genre fans and younger viewers. Worthington seems more relaxed here and the 3-D - though once again converted in post-production - is much more effective than "Clash," boasting little ghosting and an overall natural appearance.

Warner's combo pack includes a satisfying 3-D Blu-Ray presentation of the film plus a copy of the standard Blu-Ray, DVD and Ultraviolet copy. Extra features are highlighted again by a "Maximum Movie Mode" with behind the scenes featurettes plus storyboards and over 10 minutes of deleted scenes also offered on the regular BD disc. A lenticular 3-D cover also graces the 3-D combo pack.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2015
I'm a rather tough grader on films and books so I only gave this movie three stars. It is certainly a fun ride, and the special effects are first rate, but the story and acting were a bit weak in my opinion. Its a great way to pass an evening, but not a movie I would particularly want to watch a second time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2013
A really fun film for fans of the Claymation films of the '50s. CG I is much more capable of recreating reality, or redefining it. I thank my lucky stars every day for having had the opportunity to work in the Video Game Industry back in the '90s and early 2Ks. It gave em a great deal of insight into the 'how to' of CGI. That knowledge makes me even more appreciative of what's being done to entertain us. Buy the film, enjoy the film, it's FUN! Nothing is meant to be historically accurate except perhaps the architecture, and the clothing. Enjoy the movie, make popcorn.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2014
This movie sequel didn't hold my attention the way that the first one did (Clash of the Titans). It seemed as if the characters weren't well-defined or really cared about being in the film. By the ending, I didn't care that much what happened to any of them or if they accomplished their mission.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2013
"Clash of....." & this follow up are awesome movies despite it's numerous mixed reviews. A fantasy period piece that's action packed to the gills & epic with loads of monsters with some of the best special effects ever, & a star studded cast. This movie I rate right up there with others of the genre like 300 & Immortals. Some people are just way too critical. This is a cool film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2016
I rented this because I couldn't remember if I had seen it or not. I apparently have seen it. It's a great movie. The rental price was fair on Amazon. The story line is really great, a spin off of the Original Clash of the Titans. This is the second in the two remakes from the original. Really great looking special effects, monsters and acting. Really had me into the movie. Loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse