Shop Costumes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon $5 Albums All-New Fire TV Stick with Voice Remote Grocery Introducing Handmade New Kitchen Scale from AmazonBasics Amazon Gift Card Offer redoaks redoaks redoaks  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage UnchartedBundle Shop Now Kids Halloween

Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:$7.69+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

83 of 96 people found the following review helpful
on April 9, 2012
All hell breaks loose (literally) in this non-mythological based sequel to "Clash of the Titans." This story bridges the time of the gods and legends to the time of men. The gods have been losing their power because people have stopped praying to them. Hades, the god of the underworld (Ralph Fiennes) and Ares, god of war (Édgar Ramírez) join forces to release Kronos from Tartus and destroy the gods. Zeus (Liam Neeson) is taken captive and held prisoner as his power is slowly drained from him.

Perseus, son of Zeus (Sam Worthington) teams up with Queen Andromeda(Rosamund Pike), Hephaestus (Bill Nighy) and Agenor (Toby Kebbell) to enter the ever shifting labyrinth of Tartus and free Zeus. Apparently ordering everyone to pray to Zeus to give him power is no longer an option. Alexa Davalos played the original Andromeda...just pretend you are watching "Bewitched."

The movie gives you a brief intro, but there is no real character build-up with an assumption that you have seen the other film. The action hits the screen from almost the moment the movie starts and continues until it ends. There are a few brief scenes without fighting and killing, but they are designed to set up for the next action scene or action game as the case may be. The special effects were superb. The plot was good in keeping in line with the mythology, however the dialouge could have been better with less phrases designed to be truisms and with more funnier quips. Worthington, still living off his Avatar success, gives us his typical less than stellar performance.

No f-bomb, sex, or nudity. Plenty of killing, monster horror, and violence.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
67 of 77 people found the following review helpful
on March 29, 2012
It'd be difficult to approach Wrath of the Titans with a completely open mind. The film it follows, Clash of the Titans, was dull and almost single-handedly began the downfall of 3D in the US. Those low expectations though may actually be an advantage for Wrath. Though flawed it's an entertaining film with some spectacular special effects. Even more surprising - the 3D is worthwhile and enhances the experience.

The story follows Perseus (Sam Worthington) who must travel into the underworld to rescue his father Zeus (Liam Neeson). Zeus' other son Ares (Edgar Ramirez) has turned on him and handed him over to Hades (Ralph Fiennes). The plan is to sap Zeus' powers and transfer them to the leader of the imprisoned Titans - Kronos - (father to Zeus, Hades, and Poseiden) who would then unleash hell on the world.

Where the negativity towards Clash really makes an impact is in the early minutes of Wrath. There is no real emotional attachment to the characters - no real care for their fates or the conflicts that are at hand. I wasn't sure the film would be able to break out of that but it somehow did despite inherent confusion around their relationships and motivations without having Clash's plot fresh on the mind. It just took a little time for it to come together.

Wrath of the Titans isn't going to win any awards for dialogue which is sketchy to say the least and almost laughable at times. In fact the movie tends to just move from one set piece to the next with the story taking a back seat. The action is what ties it all together and ultimately leads into a massive final battle. It was actually somewhat startling just was how brisk the pace was and how quickly events advanced - by the time that battle came around it didn't feel as though it was already time for the film to be concluded.

That is a compliment as the first film was plodding and anything but an enjoyable experience. The effects in Wrath are extraordinary and the uniqueness of the various monsters, and the sheer size of Kronos, adds to the fun. While I rarely would recommend paying extra for 3D - and I still wouldn't necessarily with Wrath - there were some really cool moments that were taken advantage of with the technology and it added some valuable depth to scenes. All things being equal going with the 3D wouldn't be a bad decision here.

Wrath of the Titans achieved something unanticipated - it entertained and even made the prospect of a third film in the series somewhat appealing. Expectations, albeit very low, were easily exceeded. There are better overall options in theaters right now (21 Jump Street, The Hunger Games) but for the crowd seeking action Wrath of the Titans is worth considering.
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
61 of 73 people found the following review helpful
on March 31, 2012
Clash of the Titans was an okay remake that could have been great, but the trailers for Wrath of the Titans looked to be a huge improvement and in some cases it was.

From the Kraken to Kronos. Hades decides to join side Kronos to destroy the world and thus securing his immortality, but first he needs all the power Zeus contains to restore his daddy to his past glory. Perseus catches word of this and is on a mission to save his father, Zeus, and fights all kinds of creatures along the way.

The CGI is excellent this time around and there are far fewer corny moments. Even the acting seemed less forced, though still pretty average. Seeing this in IMAX 3-D was worth the extra money. It was fully shot in this format so the images were crystal clear and it made you feel you were actually in the movie, along with the usual random objects being shot towards your face.

Wrath of the Titans is pure mindless action with little need for dialogue or a well thought out story, but it is a fun movie to watch. Heck, I wouldn't mind seeing a third film in the series.

3 and 1/2 out of 5 stars
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on June 12, 2012
"The time of the Gods is ending but the son of Zeus cannot hide from his destiny forever." Perseus (Worthington) is doing is best to forget his old life and make it without the help of any of the Gods. Perseus is not the only one trying to make it alone and the Gods are beginning to lose control of the Titans. When Zeus' (Neeson) other son Ares teams with Hades to take control and kidnaps Zeus and imprisons him in Hell there is only one who can rescue him. I have to start by saying I have never been a fan of movies like this. I couldn't get into "Clash Of The Titans", "Immortals", or even "300". I say that so I can say that this was very entertaining and I really enjoyed this one a lot. Not only was this action packed with great effects the story was actually entertaining as well. There is enough mythology for purists, but not too much to scare off people like me. Another amazing thing about this one is that it is a rare sequel that is better then the first one. While this is not really a movie you have to pay attention to the entire time or you are lost it is still a very entertaining movie and it is fun and relaxing to watch something like this every once in a while. Overall, a very entertaining popcorn movie that is better then the original. I give it a B+
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on June 21, 2012
Watchable if humdrum sequel to the 2010 remake of "Clash of the Titans" brings back Sam Worthington as Perseus, once again living in his small fishing village with his young son when Zeus (Liam Neeson) comes calling. Unsurprisingly, Zeus demands Perseus' help once again when Hades (Ralph Fiennes) and Aries strike a deal with the nefarious Kronos to unleash the rest of the Titans and rule human kind. Setting out with a party that includes Queen Andromeda (Rosamund Pike, replacing Alexa Davalos), Perseus treks across ancient Greece in order to defeat another army of giants, monsters and similar CGI creatures.

Director Jonathan Liebesman ("Battle: Los Angeles") replaced Louis Leterrier for "Wrath of the Titans," a formulaic sequel that oddly jettisons the intention of its predecessor's reshot ending (which brought Gemma Arterton's heroine Io back from the grave, only to have her character be deceased from this sequel's opening frame!). The film also lacks Laterrier's set-pieces - not to mention its 2.35 widescreen dimensions - but still functions adequately enough as an effects-filled fantasy for genre fans and younger viewers. Worthington seems more relaxed here and the 3-D - though once again converted in post-production - is much more effective than "Clash," boasting little ghosting and an overall natural appearance.

Warner's combo pack includes a satisfying 3-D Blu-Ray presentation of the film plus a copy of the standard Blu-Ray, DVD and Ultraviolet copy. Extra features are highlighted again by a "Maximum Movie Mode" with behind the scenes featurettes plus storyboards and over 10 minutes of deleted scenes also offered on the regular BD disc. A lenticular 3-D cover also graces the 3-D combo pack.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on June 26, 2012
This movie is entertaining, fun to watch, interesting and engaging. The special effects are outstanding. The numerous monsters and creatures really seem alive and present in the scenes. There are fabulous scenes of temples, moving mazes, and lots and lots of creatures. The black Pegasus is back, better than ever. (there is one marvelous scene, where an annoyed Pegasus smacks Perseus with his wing) There is action and excitement and heroics. The movie does not suffer from the darkness that "Clash of the Titans" had, which made many scenes hard to make out. What it does have in common with the first movie, is the choice of colors. Really, if you are going to film in color, how about you use, well, some COLORS! The entire movie is filmed in sepia tints, with only the blue sky and sea to break up the browns, rusts, sands, beiges, and blacks. Still for all of that, the movie is well worth watching and buying.

Spoiler Alert----Just so you know, I am going to mention specifics of the movie, what I liked and didn't, and what I thought, so if you don't like to read that kind of thing, stop here.

The movie begins in the twilight of the gods of Olympus. Apparently following several years after the first film, "Clash of the Titans", the human race has continued to lose faith in the gods and to turn from worshipping them. The gods have depended for so long on the strength given them by the faith of humans that they are all losing their powers. The most immediate threat caused by this is that the barriers between earth and Tartarus are breaking down. All the demons and monsters imprisoned there are escaping to rampage in the human world. And if Kronos, the monstrous father of the elder gods, (Zeus, Hades and Poseidon) should escape, all of creation will be destroyed.

Zeus, Poseidon and Aries go to Hades realm to confront Kronos, only to be met with treachery and death. Zeus is captured and Poseidon mortally wounded. The other, younger gods (Apollo, Aphrodite, etc.) are all conspicuous by their absence. This is one of the places were I wished the movie had been longer and with more detail. Hades delivers a one line explanation that, like him, the other gods will live if they support Kronos. This really doesn't hang together. All the younger gods, and numerous demi-gods, all decided to run and hide, and trust their fates to Kronos? Doesn't really track. And if they did, wouldn't Zeus and Poseidon have noticed something wrong? Are the younger gods already dead, or so weak that they cannot offer any support? Nothing about them is really mentioned. In fact, why did Zeus travel to Tartarus with so little backup? Sure, Poseidon and Zeus are the most powerful of the gods, and maybe this is a case of hubris on their part. And a fatal error, as they do not suspect treachery of Hades and Aries, and underestimate how much their powers have been weakened.

The gods seem terribly human here. I found the scenes between Zeus and Hades very touching. There is guilt and forgiveness on both sides. Hades' greatest fear is very telling: humans have immortal souls, that pass on after the death of their mortal bodies---but what about the gods? Do they have souls as well, that will continue, or do they simply fade into oblivion if they should die? A truly human fear, and an interesting thought. Humans have their many religions and faiths to turn to in times of trial---but what of the gods? If you are a god, and your power fails you, where do you turn for succor, if you believe in nothing greater than yourself?

And the god Aries? His weaknesses are truly human. How sad it is that Aries, powerful, immortal god of war, is jealous of his half brother, Perseus. Perseus, who has no godly power, who is not immortal, who lives in a hut and works as a poor fisherman, lucky if he has enough to eat day to day? You would think that Perseus would be beneath Aries' notice, but Aries is jealous because he thinks that Zeus loves Perseus more than Aries himself. And he has allowed his bitterness to fester into unreasoning hatred. He is so fixated on hurting both Zeus and Perseus that he does not care about anything else. And so he makes a devil's bargain with Kronos. Supposedly Kronos has promised Hades and Aries their immortal lives, if they free him. Both ally themselves with Kronos out of their weaknesses: Hades out of his fear of perishing forever, Aries out of his hatred and jealousy. And neither one of them are using their heads----when Kronos is free, why should he keep his bargains with anyone? Zeus tries to warn the pair, to no avail.

Poseidon lives long enough to give warning to Perseus, setting off the action for the rest of the story. Interestingly enough, he sends Perseus to find his own half human son. The two demi-gods ally themselves and set off to rescue Zeus and stop Kronos.
There are some great scenes between them, although I would have liked to see more. The passing of the gods is very well done---they crumble to ash, leaving nothing behind.

Liam Neeson does a wonderful job as the god Zeus, making the character regal, godly, but loving and human as well. I am very pleased that Mr. Neeson has finally been getting the appreciation from the public that he deserves. He appears in more movies, in better roles and with far better acting than half the so called "super-stars" of today combined. Neeson makes the character of Zeus seem alive, both noble and human, with faults and strengths. In Greek and Roman mythology, none of the gods were particularly noble or admirable characters, much less people who's passing you would mourn. But Liam Neeson gives Zeus all those qualities. He has some short but truly fine scenes with Hades, where both of the brothers ask for, and grant, forgiveness to each other. Hades seems far less the monster than he was in the last movie. Hades realizes that he has been controlled by his fear, and has a "What have I done?!" moment. Faced with their final ends, both gods forgive their offences against each other, and remember their loving bonds as brothers. I loved the scenes where both godly brothers go to war against Kronos to save the world and the human race, even though they both know the probable consequence for that action. Between them, and Perseus, Kronos is destroyed and earth is saved.

Zeus is killed, living only long enough to give a loving farewell to Perseus. I really objected to this part of the story, although it is very dramatic. I really thought that Hades should have been killed, and Zeus should have survived to rebuild Olympus. Although perhaps this was really a better punishment for Hades, as his godly powers are now mostly gone, and he may have only a short time to live. He must face his worst fear, all alone.

I, for one, do not believe that the gods had no souls. No beings capable of such depths of feeling, of such great deeds, of such great hopes, could be bereft of immortal souls. So rest in peace Zeus. And Poseidon, and yes, Hades as well. You all did well.

And they left the race of man behind them. Just as flawed, but just as capable of greatness. And perhaps we are better for it, because our accomplishments take so much more effort.

In a way, the ending of this movie reminded me slightly of the end of the story "The Lord of the Rings". The end of both stories see the beginning of the reign of man, and the end of all things of magic. With the gods gone, we have to assume that all the wonders (like Pegasus) and terrors (monsters, demons) will slowly fade away, leaving man in sole possession of the world. The torch is passed, from Zeus to Perseus, to his son, Helios. The gods have gone, but left the half-gods, like Perseus, behind. And they are more human than not.

This movie was fun, a good watching experience. I would recommend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on June 28, 2012
Clash of the Titans gave us a modern view of greek mythology filled with beautiful sets and scenery, handsome actors and stunning actresses all wrapped up in amazing special effects and no room for a story. The first film was entertaining enough to warrant a look at the sequel "Wrath of the Titans" but unfortunately not even Ralph "Voldemort" Fiennes and Liam "Qui-Gon" Neeson could save this disaster.

First, Io, the lovely Gemma Arterton, is no where to be seen in this film, we are left to assume that Perseus (Sam Worthington) fathered her baby, she dies off screen and he is alone to raise his son. Ares conspires with Hades to sap all of Zeus' energy to release Kronos (the only titan) from Tartarus and bring down humanity and the rest of Olympus. Perseus is called up by both man and god to fight off this evil threat and rescue the world.

The movie looks great, Kronos looks massive and menacing just like the titans from God of War 3, Ares is portrayed as the bad guy, once again a plot device from God of War, I think the writers need to brush up on their literature, Ares is the God of War not the God of Deception and Cowardice. Andromeda has become this generation's Zena warrior princess and Perseus looks disinterested in his own adventure. I have to say this but in my review of Clash of the Titans: The Video Game, I mentioned that this series is ripping off the God of War franchise and this movie proves it. A quick Youtube search of God of War gameplay will reveal the "source" material the writers got their inspiration from and do not even try to hide (similar copy of a lava titan, a shifting puzzle area to overcome,a villianous Ares)

Many respected actors make an appearance in this film and at the end when Zeus and Hades take to the battlefield to stop Kronos's forces is short and unfulfilling. After all with today's technology and our unlimited imagination, why cut short the awesome powers Neeson and Fiennes could unleash and keep the ONE titan's fight scene so tedious. The only trick the filmmakers seem to manage is that they keep fooling us to come back to them in the hopes of a better film, they must have graduated from the George Lucas school of film and special effects.

It is a good film to enjoy if you do not want to think about a plot or invest yourself in a character or their outcome. Looks great in Blu-ray.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on July 11, 2012
After watching the dissappointing Clash of the Titans, I was a bit worried about watching Wrath, yet decided to give it a shot, good thing too. The story has some typical ancient Greek mythos- some hero/demigod decides to take a break from action and be "normal" and have a family... until an offer comes up to help out with war, between gods and titans.
Said hero, Perseus, the son of Zeus, doesn't want to. At all. Yet when his village is attacked after a disturbing vision, it seems that he'll have to join the cause. Along the way, he meets beautiful Sergeant Andromeda who has plenty of brains to go with her beauty, and together, with the son of Poseidon, Agenor, they journey to stop the father of Zeus, Poseidon, and Hades, Chronos, from fulfilling his wrath upon the world.
Throughout the journey, the effects have been massively improved from the first to be much better, along with a more interesting story, full of more intriguing characters from Greek mythology, as well as settings, such as the living labyrinth. The story, itself, has more intelligence and personal pathos than Clash, as well as heartbreaking moments. The people and gods are more fleshed out than before, less cardboard cutouts.
All this to say Wrath of the Titans has been a massive improvement over its very dissappointing predecessor.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on June 29, 2012
OK, ive seen all Sinbad movies from the past, ive seen lots of stopmotion effects
and i do enjoy the good, the bad and even the ugly fantasy science fictions movies
that have come my way in the last 40 years. And then this movie comes out with a
great trailer...but still some reviewers put in their negative reviews. But i still
shell out my money for a blue ray version, brought it home and hoped for the best.
A good movie reviewer, will know within 5 minutes which way the movie will go...up or down. From the first few seconds of the musical score and the opening scenes i felt a winner. And then for the full duration of the movie i had quite a smile.
Good costumes...great monsters..great action all the way to the end.
Note: glad they had a few deleted scenes...after viewing some of them ...they
would have slowed down the movie for sure....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on May 17, 2012
This is a review of the 3D in the movie, for those interested in 3D:

With Clash of the Titans 3D, movie goers new to 3D were excited to see the next big 3D movie starring Sam Worthington (also from Avatar) shortly after Avatar 3D hit theaters and became a world wide phenomenon, igniting a new wave of 3D entertainment in theaters and at home.

Prime Focus had the task of converting Clash on an extremely short, tight schedule to meet a deadline, and the results showed in the execution, which paled drastically in comparison to the strong three dimensions seen in Avatar 3D. Clash 3D didn't live up to the expectations of how great 3D can be, as seen in Avatar 3D, as Clash 3D offered a generally weak 3D experience, with very little 3D parallax layer separation, resulting in a flat look.

So with Wrath of the Titans 3D, the expectations were much higher with better 3D software and more time to convert the 2D film (again, a 2D to 3D conversion instead of being filmed in 3D), because how could they go much lower than Clash 3D afterall?

Wrath of the Titans 3D is thankfully a step up from Clash 3D, but not by much. The 3D is apparent throughout, and fairly consistent from shot to shot, but don't expect Avatar strength 3D here. Yes, it is a conversion, where they have to duplicate a single film into two separate files, then offset one eye file to create three dimensions, filling in the gaps as they progress.

Unfortunately, they didn't push the offset far enough, and the results are average 3D at best. At no point did the 3D "wow" me like Avatar 3D did. That translates to 3D that doesn't take things very far, and we end up with low to average parallax layer separation, with minimal distance between foreground to background objects and characters. It's not bad at all, it's just not as great as it could have been. Most of the film feels a bit flat, but some shots stand out, in particular the finale. Maybe we'll get strong 3D for the 3rd film. Ultimately, worth a look if you enjoyed the first film, Clash of the Titans 3D.

3D Overall: 3/5
3D Parallax Layers: 3/5
3D Depth: 3/5
3D Character Dimension: 3/5

STORY: The story here is pretty basic, a quest adventure with a small team led by Worthington's character, the son of Zeus, with the aid of his father played by Liam Neeson, on their way to confront Hades and his evil companion determined to re-ignite the father of all gods, a lava giant. Plenty of great mythical monsters throughout, and a generally decent adventure movie with some nice performances and brilliant special effects.

Movie: 4/5 for Adventure Fantasy
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Customers who viewed this also viewed

Clash of the Titans [Blu-ray]
Clash of the Titans [Blu-ray] by Sam Worthington (Blu-ray - 2010)

Legend of Hercules [Blu-ray]
Legend of Hercules [Blu-ray] by Kellan Lutz (Blu-ray - 2014)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.