Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Wright books out there
This is a beautiful picture book that keeps its title's promise. Maddex actually identifies the specific FLW solutions for making small houses feel big. Her description of these solutions are well-written and aimed at appealing to the intelligent layman. Mercifully, she avoids the academic, pedantic and patronizing tone. A real pleasure. Couldn't recommend more...
Published on May 10, 2006 by P. Smith

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wright-Sized Houses
Nice ..... but the houses within are VERY expensive to build unless one is a contractor oneself. They are also not small.
Published 6 months ago by cbbop


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Wright books out there, May 10, 2006
By 
This review is from: Wright-Sized Houses: Frank Lloyd Wright's Solutions for Making Small Houses Feel Big (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful picture book that keeps its title's promise. Maddex actually identifies the specific FLW solutions for making small houses feel big. Her description of these solutions are well-written and aimed at appealing to the intelligent layman. Mercifully, she avoids the academic, pedantic and patronizing tone. A real pleasure. Couldn't recommend more highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars inspiring, January 6, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Wright-Sized Houses: Frank Lloyd Wright's Solutions for Making Small Houses Feel Big (Hardcover)
The pictures and text boxes do a terrific job of explaining the reasons that Wright's architecture works. The themes of unity, making walls disappear with windows, use of natural materials and building for the site can be applied to many architectural styles, not just the prarie style he is known for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good synthesis of Wright's work, February 23, 2007
By 
L. Dubarry (Aquitaine, FRANCE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wright-Sized Houses: Frank Lloyd Wright's Solutions for Making Small Houses Feel Big (Hardcover)
I really liked this book. Quite well structured, it presents first key characteristics of Wright's architecture apearing in Prairie but also Usonian houses.

The second part gives full details of some houses (mainly Usonian since the theme is about "making small houses feel big")

Special interest for Isabel Roberts house, River Forest (on front and back cover pages) which is to my mind Wright's Masterwork joining Prairie and Usonian concepts.

Photos are nice and drawings are also indicated (with scale and orientation).

The only point I disliked is the fact comments relative to photos are not always fully precise : they could have highlighted a bit more key characteristics quoted in book's first part. The author has also preferred giving some details about Owners rather than focusing only on architecture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wright-Sized Book for custom homes., August 2, 2007
By 
This review is from: Wright-Sized Houses: Frank Lloyd Wright's Solutions for Making Small Houses Feel Big (Hardcover)
I am building a custom home and I keep going back to this book for inspiration and important details. I have a library of at least 20 other FLW (Frank Lloyd Wright) books, but this is the most up-to-date and most on target reference for new home design. The photographs are large and focused on details, not just exterior elevations. Doors, windows, roofs, entrances and many other important features are explained and given an indepth perspective. This is a must have for any FLW library and I guarantee you will be handing this to to your architect if you want FLW details in your custom home. A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great pictures. Terrible text., March 8, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Wright-Sized Houses: Frank Lloyd Wright's Solutions for Making Small Houses Feel Big (Hardcover)
I think the premise of the book is right on target. FLW best work was in his small houses. They are much harder to design, build and were done so on a tight budget. The pictures of the houses in the book are fantastic. They are current day pictures versus pictures taken 10 or 20 years ago.
The text is not well written. Could have done a better job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Illustrates Wright's Ideas - Easy to understand, March 8, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wright-Sized Houses: Frank Lloyd Wright's Solutions for Making Small Houses Feel Big (Hardcover)
I'm a Wright fan and an architect, so it was good to find a book the describes and illustrates FLLW's architecture "gems" to be considered in home design. Well done and useful, whether you are considering a "FLLW-inspired" or another architectural style. I think this book is a good compliment to Sarah Susanka's books (i.e., "the not so big house", etc.).

I my opinion, Wright's approach is universal to many architectual style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, February 26, 2006
This review is from: Wright-Sized Houses: Frank Lloyd Wright's Solutions for Making Small Houses Feel Big (Hardcover)
This book is a very good analisis of the elements of Wrightian architecture. Takes the parts 1 by 1, (windows, continuity of spaces, carports, etc.) and explain the central idea of FLW.

Good for those who want to digest the roots of FLW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book!, August 4, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wright-Sized Houses: Frank Lloyd Wright's Solutions for Making Small Houses Feel Big (Hardcover)
Very easy read to further understand Frank Lloyd Wright's Usonian designs. Great pictures and floor plan presentations!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nice presentation to FLLW, March 8, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wright-Sized Houses: Frank Lloyd Wright's Solutions for Making Small Houses Feel Big (Hardcover)
For folks wanting an introduction to how FLLW designed spaces, this one is the one you should start with. It has excellent photos, nice presentations of floor plans with orientations and explanations about why the author believes Wright designed the space in that manner.

I am probably one of few who think we will never really know the mind of the Master. I think a lot of people have benefited from being around him, educated by him, and enlightened by him. But I think what he was really thinking was in a language that none of us understand. Nobody since FLLW has designed spaces like he did. But this book is probably one of the best attempts I have read recently to interpret that thinking into a language we can understand.

This book belongs in your FLLW section of your private library, no question.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is very readable and I love the photographs, July 8, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Wright-Sized Houses: Frank Lloyd Wright's Solutions for Making Small Houses Feel Big (Hardcover)
For me, it is a new look at the architecture of Frank Lloyd Wright. It is very readable and I love the photographs. Not just a coffee table book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Wright-Sized Houses: Frank Lloyd Wright's Solutions for Making Small Houses Feel Big
$35.00 $23.74
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.