Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great parody of the "style guide" for writing... lots of laughs on every page...
As a writer, there are certain "rules" you're supposed to follow in terms of style. Even if you're not a writer, you're affected by these styles as they dictate what you read in media stories. A couple of guys decided to take some liberties with those guidelines and created a Twitter account named fakeapstylebook to parody the rules, and that led to this book... Write...
Published on April 5, 2011 by Thomas Duff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny satire of the newspaper business
Very funny book satirizing the newspaper business. I was hoping for more grammar and writing jokes, that I used to see come across the @FakeAPStyleGuide twitter account, and as implied by the title. Nevertheless, it was a great commentary on politics and the news of the last 3,000 years, broken into categories like Computers and Legal. I LOLed in a few places...
Published on April 17, 2012 by Luna Lindsey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great parody of the "style guide" for writing... lots of laughs on every page..., April 5, 2011
This review is from: Write More Good: An Absolutely Phony Guide (Paperback)
As a writer, there are certain "rules" you're supposed to follow in terms of style. Even if you're not a writer, you're affected by these styles as they dictate what you read in media stories. A couple of guys decided to take some liberties with those guidelines and created a Twitter account named fakeapstylebook to parody the rules, and that led to this book... Write More Good: An Absolutely Phony Guide by The Bureau Chiefs. If you've ever had to write an article for some publication (and you have a sense of humor), this is a great parody that offers plenty of laughs and hits close to the truth on more than one occasion.

Contents:
News & Headline Writing & You & Journalism
Politics: When The Horse Race Lasts 30 Months
Entertainment: The Glitz, The Glamour, The Death of the Superego
Sex: Ew
Religion
Sports: The Sport of Kings
The Shiny Money Box, Or, Technology and the Death of All Paper
Science (and the Blinding By Thereof)
Pseudoscience and the Supernatural: Ya Rly
Weapons and the Military: Shoot First, Then Ask Questions About Shooting
Citation and Attribution: Do Not Hit the Snooze Button
Punctuation and Grammar: LOL
Media Law: You Are So Screwed
The Morgue: The Dead Live!
The Ghost of Basics Past
Glossary

Each chapter starts out with a few snide comments about the topic, slides into the "basics" along with related detail that spares nothing and no one, and then ends with a topic glossary that is far more interesting than any other glossary you've ever read. Do you want to be an entertainment writer? Learn how to become a blogging review quote machine so you'll get free tickets and videos! Sports writer? Get a nickname and a stance, and then market yourself shamelessly!

But there are always things to remember... For instance, if you're a sports writer, remember that professional bowlers should never be referred to as "heavy-set." It's assumed. If you're writing about soccer for North American audiences, remember to consider the fact that no one cares. And of course, any story on Brett Favre's retirement should end with the ;) emoticon.

What I found impressive about this book (and which was also pointed out by Roger Ebert in the forward) is that it's not a book composed solely of tweets from the authors. Too often a book based on a blog or Twitter account is just a compilation of the same material that's already been used. Fine if you don't follow them online, but a waste of money for regular readers. Write More Good borrows the attitude and style of the fakeapstylebook tweets, but that's where it ends. As such, this is an entertaining read regardless of how much you've read on Twitter.

One small caution... if you're easily offended when someone pokes fun or parodies something that is close to your heart, then you might want to stay away. Everything is fair game here... you have been warned. :)

Write More Good is one of the more entertaining books I've read of late, and I know plenty of writer colleagues who will enjoy it as much as I did. They just need to remember the warning on the cover... "If you use this, you will get FIRED!"

Disclosure:
Obtained From: Publicist
Payment: Free
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The El Santo of Writing Guides., April 5, 2011
This review is from: Write More Good: An Absolutely Phony Guide (Paperback)
In her TRANSGRESSIVE GRAMMAR Valerie Greenberg writes that "Transgressing grammar boundaries is a subversive undertaking since it is likely to violate the sanctuaries of accepted modes of expression. Among the most fortified boundaries have been those between the proper grammar and writers."

The pseudonymous and possibly fictional members of The Bureau Chiefs, who may or may not be members of a cabal of sinister brains in a jar, have little but contempt for the Greenbergs of the world. in the view of The Bureau Chiefs, grammar, syntax and usage were put there for a reason, young lady, and so you should leave them alone. No, you heard me the first time. Leave them alone. Do it, young lady, or we're going home right now.

Sadly, too many new writers follow Greenberg's lead and are dedicated to transgressing boundaries, both through the daring application of a tattoo to the small of their back and through the subversive use of willfully incorrect spelling, grammar, and syntax. Too many new writers think, because Henry James was an O.G. pimp hustler when it came to usage, that they, too, can flaunt the rules with no more regard for them than for the poor television commercials they fast forward through on their way to the next segment of My Little Pony.

Thank heavens for The Bureau Chiefs! They have finally taken a stand against the nonsense that has taken hold of the writerly world since 1894. They have finally said, "Enough! The line is drawn...here!"

Thanks to WRITE MORE GOOD, anyone, from a bored six year old to middle aged bloggers, can learn how to write pellucid prose so clean you could eat off it and so professional that even Eustace Tilley would embrace it, weeping.

The book also cleared up my Treponema pallidum. But that may have just been coincidence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MIRACLE!!, April 5, 2011
By 
Joe Cucinotti (Allen, TX United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Write More Good: An Absolutely Phony Guide (Paperback)
This book is an absolute revelation. I used to have inverted nipples but now, thanks to @fakeAPStylebook, they're normal again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Teached me good, July 15, 2011
By 
This review is from: Write More Good: An Absolutely Phony Guide (Paperback)
I had more fun reading this book than an overseas traveling American businessman with two Thai ladyboys. I've been a journalist for well over 20 years and found much of the Bureau Chiefs' sarcastic, cynical humour a little closer to the truth than perhaps some may realize. For example, the bit on sourcing in the Politics chapter (pg. 31) is intended to be funny, but is probably really accurate in news: "Source on the inside" is defined as a "drunk guy at a bar ranting about something he heard someone say on 'the Hill.' No actual conversation required."

There are also the grade school jokes that we, as journalists, embrace and love. Lots of fart jokes, references to robots, sex, your mom, the Roman numeral for 509 (look it up) and pithy, vague references akin to Dennis Miller on ether. It's fun.

It made me a gooder writer. I plan to apply all that was teached me in my future newspaper stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LOL, May 3, 2011
This review is from: Write More Good: An Absolutely Phony Guide (Paperback)
I loved this book. It made me laugh so hard in places that I woke up my cat who was napping by my computer. The cat is used to all kinds of noises, the clack of the keyboard, the announcement, "You've got mail" and the ring of the telephone. What he isn't used to is a loud snort accompanied by coffee splattering all over his resting place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not even in journalism!, April 24, 2011
This review is from: Write More Good: An Absolutely Phony Guide (Paperback)
We grabbed this book and just started laughing.

Not just for journalists or writers, this book has enough laughs for everyone. It covers everything from politics to history, with a very quick bit on religion even. This is going to definitely end up in a few people's stockings later this year. Thanks Bureau Chiefs!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, April 23, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Write More Good: An Absolutely Phony Guide (Paperback)
Loved this book... years of working in, with and near the media have made me appreciate this brand of humor. Oh, and I'm not just being ironic. It's REALLY funny. A real hoot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Revelation, June 18, 2012
By 
This review is from: Write More Good: An Absolutely Phony Guide (Paperback)
I did not glance at the cover to this book before reading it, and took all its advice to heart. That said, I have now been fired from my job.
It was worth it, however. The book itself was so funny any suffering incurred is welcomed as fair payment.

Note: This is a parody review, but the book really is VERY funny. I recommend it to everyone even remotely interested in a writing career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laugh out loud funny!, August 6, 2011
By 
This review is from: Write More Good: An Absolutely Phony Guide (Paperback)
As a college journalism instructor, I am constantly amazed at the poor writing skills most students possess today. But that has absolutely nothing to do with this book! From the very first chapter, this book had me laughing out loud with their writing rules and definitions of key terms at the end of each chapter. If you've ever had to follow strict writing guidelines or think the AP Stylebook is the devil incarnate, this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book makes me laugh. Out loud., May 17, 2011
By 
James (The Colony, TX) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Write More Good: An Absolutely Phony Guide (Paperback)
I guess my title says it all, right?

I'm not a writer, but do enjoy the works of writers. When I heard the Twitter feed @FakeAPStylebook was having a book published I first thought, "Great! All their Twitter posts in a book!" Roger Ebert's forward quickly quashed that and I discovered it was a really real book!

It is not a rehash of the writers Twitter feed, but a sarcastic take on how to write about topics (science, politics, sports, etc). It is a community effort from the authors, but unlike other community efforts, the authors are in sync with style of humor.

Write More Good has been a very enjoyable read for me. It doesn't ramble on, is genuinely funny and makes you want more when it's done. In fact, it saved my life on a 6 hour flight with 3 layovers. That may be a bit dramatic, but there's only so many times you can re-read the Sky Mall magazine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Write More Good: An Absolutely Phony Guide
Write More Good: An Absolutely Phony Guide by The Bureau Chiefs (Paperback - April 5, 2011)
$13.00 $11.16
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.